DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment, filed 9/30/2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 3-7, 10-16, 19-25, 28, 30-46, 48-50, 52-54, 56, 57, 61-64, 66-68, 70-76, 78-85, 88, 91-93, 95-100, 104-108, 110-114, 116-119, 121-142, 145-153, 155-163, 168, 169, 171-175, 177-181, 183-205, and 207-215 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 17, 18, 26, 27, 29, 47, 51, 55, 58-60, 65, 69, 77, 86, 87, 89, 90, 94, 101-103, 109, 115, 120, 143, 144, 154, 164, 165, 167, 170, 176, 182, 206, and 216 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s claim amendments, filed 9/30/2025, have amended claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 17, 18, 26, 27, 29, 47, 51, 55, 58-60, 65, 69, 77, 86, 87, 89, 90, 94, 101-103, 109, 115, 120, 143, 144, 154, 164, 165, 167, 170, 176, 182, 206 to recite the unelected species of “hematologic malignancy”.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 17, 18, 26, 27, 29, 47, 51, 55, 58-60, 65, 69, 77, 86, 87, 89, 90, 94, 101-103, 109, 115, 120, 143, 144, 154, 164, 165, 167, 170, 176, 182, 206 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and/or species.
Claim 216 is under examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 216 is objected to because the claim recites the acronyms “CXCR4”, “ADRB2”, which are not readily recognized acronyms in the art, such as “DNA” for 5’-deoxyribonucleic acid. Please define the acronyms “CXCR4” and “ADRB2”, when these are first used in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 216 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required to practice the claimed invention are summarized In re Wands (858 F2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). The factors most relevant to this rejection are the scope of the claim, the amount of direction or guidance provided, the lack of sufficient working examples, the unpredictability in the art and the amount of experimentation required to enable one of skill in the art to practice the claimed invention.
Breadth of claims and nature of invention:
Claim 216 encompasses a method of treating glioblastoma comprising administration of burixafor and the elected species of carvedilol.
The specification discloses testing of cancer cells lines, or patient derived cancer cells, for CXCR4/ADRB2 expression, heteromer association in cells, and effects of inhibiting the heteromer (Examples 1-22).
Amount of direction and existence of working examples:
Endogenous expression of CXCR4 and ADRB2, and association of these receptors in a cell, were tested (Examples 6, 7, and 18). Examples 6 and 7 disclose testing for CXCR4/ADRB2 heteromers via proximity ligation assay (PLA) in patient derived glioblastoma cells (Example 6, Fig. 11) and patient derived glioblastoma xenograft samples (Example 7, Fig. 12).
Notably, there is no disclosure in the instant specification of working examples of a method of treating glioblastoma in a subject comprising administration of burixafor and carvedilol.
Applicant has pointed to Example 15 and ¶[00183] as support for (Remarks filed 9/30/2025): “[a] nexus between the suppression of enhanced downstream signaling and inhibition of tumor growth”.
This has been fully considered, however has been found to be not convincing. Example 15 discloses a method of treating A549 lung cancer cells artificially overexpressing CXCR4 and ADRB2 with different CXCR4 inhibitors, including burixafor (Fig. 21D). Notably, this example 1) does not disclose a method of treating a subject with glioblastoma, or with a combination of burixafor and carvedilol; and 2) Fig 21D discloses that there is no significant reduction in tumor progression in subjects after administration with burixafor:
This is supported by ¶[00182] of the instant specification: “[a]s shown in FIGS. 21A-21D, most of the CXCR4 inhibitors tested showed limited inhibition of tumor growth”.
Additionally, ¶[00183] discloses additional examples of changes in calcium mobilization and changes in cell proliferation resulting from CXCL12 stimulation, however this does not disclose any methods of treating glioblastoma with a combination of burixafor and carvedilol.
Level of predictability, state of prior art, and quantity of experimentation needed:
The instant disclosure and working examples do not disclose a method of treating glioblastoma in a subject comprising administration of burixafor and carvedilol. Additionally, sufficient guidance to enable this method is not found in the prior art. Given the lack of guidance in the prior art and instant specification, undue experimentation would be required by one with ordinary skill in the art to make and use a method of treating glioblastoma in a subject comprising administration of carvedilol and burixafor.
The specification does not reasonably provide enablement to make and use the invention of instant claims 216.
Reasonable correlation must exist between the scope of the claims and scope of the enablement set forth. In view on the quantity of experimentation necessary the limited working examples, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the unpredictability of the art and the breadth of the claims, it would take undue trials and errors to practice the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 216 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burman et al. (U.S. Patent No 6,632,832) in view of Gravina et al. (Tumour Biol. 2017 Jun; 39(6): 1010428317695528. doi: 10.1177/1010428317695528) and Hsu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,375,406).
Burman et al. teaches using carvedilol in the treatment of glioblastoma (Abstract): “…the invention related to the use of carvedilol for treatment of cancers….glioblastoma…”. Burman et al. teaches (Col. 6, lines 63-67 and Table 2): “[c]arvedilol shows good in vitro cytotoxicity in Human Colon, Ovary, melanoma, Leukemia, Glioblastoma, Prostate, oral and Lung tumor cell lines…”
Burman et al. does not teach CDCR4 antagonists such as burixafor to use in combination with carvedilol in the treatment of glioblastoma.
Gravina et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches using CXCR4 inhibitors in the treatment of glioblastoma (Abstract). Specifically, Gravina et al. teaches (Introduction):
“The first and most studied CXCR4 antagonist, AMD3100 (Plerixafor), represents a clinically advanced compound and it has been reported to inhibit the growth of GBM and reduce GBM stem cell survival in preclinical studies. AMD3100 is an allosteric agonist of CXCR7, the second SDF1α receptor. AMD31000 also shows elevated cardiotoxicity associated with some other adverse events after long-term usage of drug, prompting the search for new safer and selective CXCR4 inhibitors suitable as anti-GBM agents.”
Thus, Gravina et al. teaches: 1) inhibition of CXCR4 using small molecules such as AMD3100 can successfully inhibit glioblastoma tumor progression; and 2) there is a motivation to try other CXCR4 inhibitors in the treatment of glioblastoma, as the most studied CXCR4 antagonist AMD3100 shows elevated cardiotoxicity.
Gravina et al. does not teach the CXCR4 antagonist burixafor (a.k.a. TG-0054 or GPC100).
Hsu et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches the CXCR4 inhibitor TG-0054 for use in the treatment of cancer (Abstract, claims 1-10, Compound 5):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the teachings of Burman et al. in view of Gravina et al. and Hsu et al. to make and use a method of treating glioblastoma in a subject comprising administration of carvedilol and the CXCR4 inhibitor burixafor with a reasonable expectation of success, as all of the references are teaching compounds to be used to treat cancers. One would have been motivated to make this change for the purposes of treating glioblastoma with both carvedilol and a CXCR4 inhibitor combination therapy. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980. See MPEP 2144.06. In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
Additionally, one would have been motivated to use burixafor instead of other CXCR4 inhibitors in the treatment of glioblastoma because Gravina et al. teaches that another well-studied CXCR4 inhibitor AMD3100 has elevated cardiotoxicity in subjects, providing motivation to try other CXCR4 inhibitors such as burixafor that is taught by Hsu et al. Additionally, in absence of evidence to the contrary, the CXCR4 inhibitors taught by Gravina et al. and Hsu et al. are considered art-recognized equivalent CXCR4 inhibitor compounds. See Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.). Thus, it would have been obvious to try a different CXCR4 inhibitor such as burixafor/TG-0054.
The functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claim flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 216 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,709,763 (herein Pat '763, in Office Action mailed 7/31/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The invention of instant claim 216 is anticipated by Pat ‘763 for the same reasons set forth in the Office Action mailed 7/31/2025. Briefly, Pat ‘763 claims a method of treating cancer in a subject comprising administration of burixafor and carvedilol, wherein the cancer is a brain cancer (claims 1 and 16), which includes glioblastoma (Col. 78 lines 45-53).
Thus, the invention of claim 216 is anticipated by Pat ‘763.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ALEC JON PETERS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MAHER M HADDAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641