DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status:
Claims 1, 14-25 and 27-38 are pending.
Claims 28-36 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 2-13 and 26 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 19 and 23-24 are amended.
Claims 1, 14-25, 27 and 37-38 are examined as follow:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
In claim 1, the newly amended limitation “…the water system feed and return connects directly to the cooling channels…”, fig 5-7 in the current application showing the water system feed and return (#35) is not directly connected to the cooling channels (#24 in figs), the water system feed and return is clearly connected to the coupling (#31) and then connected to inner channel (#27) then finally the cooling channel (#24).
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14-28 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, the newly amended limitation “…wherein the water system feed and return connects directly to the cooling channels, without the need of a chamber, and wherein the cooled panel does not contain a water chamber.…” are not described in the specification at all, there is not description or explanation of what is considered as chamber or clarification of such terms, such that constitute as new matter.
Claims 14-28 and 37-38 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claims 1, 14-28 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the newly amended limitation “…wherein the water system feed and return connects directly to the cooling channels, without the need of a chamber, and wherein the cooled panel does not contain a water chamber.…” is indefinite, since the term “chamber/water chamber” is a new matter and not described or disclosed in the specification, it is unclear what is considered as “chamber/water chamber”, per dictionary Merriam-Webster definition1, a chamber is an enclosed space or cavity, in broadest reasonable interpretation, a space or cavity that at least some sides are enclosed, such that any space or cavity that has some kind of walls would read on such definition. Therefore, with such definition and interpretation, the “chamber” can read on nearly any part of the claimed cooled panel, and with a negative limitation on the “chamber”, such amendment would destroy the cooled panel in the independent claim.
Furthermore, there isn’t a clear structural relationship between the “water system feed and return” or the “cooled panel”, with the “chamber/water chamber” cited in the claim or disclosed in the specification. Such that the “chamber” can even be the space that the cited cooled panel occupied.
Not to mention, the previously cited limitation “…at least one set of couplings (31) for connecting with a water system feed and return, a plurality of cooling channels (24) built-in the body (25) and a plurality of tubes (27) connecting the cooling channels (24) to each set of couplings (31) of the at least one set of couplings (31)…” already claiming there is a coupling between the water system feed and return and the cooling channel, such that also created conflicting limitation and indefinite within claim 1 (refer to the Examiner note and the respond to argument for clarification and more detailed explanation).
Claims 14-28 and 37-38 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Examiner note: for examination purposes, according to fig. 7 of the current application, the best understanding of the specification and as a person skilled in the art, Examiner assumed that such newly added limitation is mean to cite similar structure shown in fig.7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16-18, 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by CN105744805A (previously cited) herein set forth CN4805A.
Regarding claim 1, CN4805A discloses a cooled panel (refer to fig.3) for blast furnaces and other industrial furnaces, comprising: a body (#1, fig.3) cooled through cooling channels (refer to “cooling channels” annotated in fig.3), at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) for connecting with a water system feed and return (refer to the 2 #9 in fig. 3), a plurality of cooling channels (refer to “cooling channels” annotated in fig.3) built-in the body (#1, fig.3) and a plurality of tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) connecting the cooling channels (refer to “cooling channels” annotated in fig.3) to each set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) of the at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3); wherein the at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) has a panel's side (#5, fig.3); and wherein the panel's side of each coupling (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) of the at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) branches into the plurality of tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) before getting in the panel body (#1, fig.3);
wherein the water system feed and return (refer to the 2 #9 in fig. 3) connects directly to the cooling channels (refer to “cooling channels” annotated in fig.3), without the need of a chamber (Examiner note: from prior art coupling to cooling channel there is no chamber, refer to respond to argument), and wherein the cooled panel (refer to fig.3) does not contain a water chamber (Examiner note: from prior art does not have a water chamber, refer to respond to argument).
Regarding claim 16, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses characterized by the fact that each set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) has two cooling channels (refer to the multiple tube in #1 in fig.1-3) built-in in the body (#1, fig.1-3).
Regarding claim 17, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein the at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) has three or more cooling channels (refer to the multiple tube in #1 in fig.1-3) built-in the body (#1, fig.1-3).
Regarding claim 18, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein a respective set of the plurality of tubes (#4, fig.1-3), connects with a respective set of the plurality of cooling channels (#1, fig.1-3), and, wherein each respective set of the plurality of tubes (#4, fig.1-3) converges into a single coupling (#9, fig.1-3) of the at least one set of couplings when leaving the panel body (#1 and #3, fig.1 and 2), and, wherein each respective set of the plurality of tubes (#4, fig.1-3) is contained in a single protected sleeve (#7 fig.2), fixed to the panel (#1 and #3, fig.1 and 2).
Regarding claim 23, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein each pipe (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) of the plurality of tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) has a cross-section (referring to fig.2, showing the cross-section), and wherein the convergence of the inlet or outlet flows of water (refer to the two of the #9 in fig.1 and 3) from internal cooling channels (refer to “cooling channels” annotated in fig.3) come together to converge (#8, fig.2, refer to NPL machine translation attach May 19th 2025 cited: “…the connection mode of the flow passage is water chamber baffle 7 divides the chamber 2 into several smaller water chamber 8…”) in a respective one of the couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) of the at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3), by making the plurality of tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5), relative to a respective one of the couplings coupling (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3), converge within a single conduct channel (refer to #8 in fig.2), in the panel's side (#5, fig.1-3) of the respective one of the couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3), and wherein the cross-section of all the plurality of tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) that converge in the respective one of the couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) direct their water flows to the respective one of the couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3).
Regarding claim 24, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein each of the tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) has an end, and wherein each of the tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) connects the cooling channels (refer to the multiple tube in #1 in fig.1-3) built-in the body (refer to #1’s body, fig.1-3) of the panel (#1, fig.1-3), to the at least one set of couplings (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3), and wherein each of the tubes (#4 and “pipes” annotated in fig.3 which is between #3 and #5) has its respective pipe end (refer to the end of the tube #4 at #5 in fig.1-3) towards the coupling (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) directly visible and accessible throughout its section (Examiner note: the coupling #4 and #5 is outside the #3, therefore is visible and accessible), when the coupling (refer to #5 and #6 in fig.3) is disconnected.
Regarding claim 26, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein the at least one set of couplings includes an inlet coupling and an outlet coupling, wherein the panel includes a top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) and a bottom edge, wherein at least one cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) passes horizontally on the top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.3 below) and at least one cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) passes horizontally on the bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.3 below), wherein the at least one cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) passes horizontally on the top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.1-3) and the at least one cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) that passes horizontally on the bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.1-3) include curves that constitute the entrance and exit of each cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3), wherein the at least one cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) that passes horizontally on the top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.1-3) remains parallel to the top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3), and wherein the at least one cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) that passes horizontally on the bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.1-3) remains parallel to the bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3), and wherein each respective cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) passes without deviations or interruptions (refer to fig. 1-3 that there is no deviations or interruptions on #1) between the curves (refer to the curves of #4 in fig.1) that constitute the entrance and exit of the cooling channel (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) and wherein the channel (or channels) (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) that run(s) through the top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) and the channel (or channels) (refer to the channels of #1 in fig.1-3) that run(s) through the bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3) originate in the same inlet coupling (#4 and #5, fig.1-3) of the set of coupling (#4 and #5, fig.1-3) and converge in the outlet coupling (#9, fig.1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN105744805A (previously cited) herein set forth CN4805A.
Regarding claim 15, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A does not specifically disclose the body (25) is cast, rolled, forged or extruded.
However, such “cast, roller, forged or extruded” limitation are all process of making, and current claim group is a device claim, process of making would hold very limitation patentability in a device claim, unless it structurally and materially distinct from the prior art because of the process, therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have produce the body with cast, rolled, forged or extruded, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Since the applicant does not state what problem solve or benefit of such limitation, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with CN4805A’s teaching.
Claims 14, 19-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN105744805A (previously cited) herein set forth CN4805A, in view of Schmeler (US7217123B2 previously cited) herein set forth as Schmeler.
Regarding claim 14, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein the panel's side (refer to fig.1) side of the at least one set of couplings (#9, fig.1) branches into a plurality of tubes (refer to the #4 between #3 and #5) before getting in the panel (refer to fig.1), defining as a limit the line that limits the inside face (refer to the tip and/or edges of the #1 in fig.1-3) of the panel (refer to fig.1).
CN4805A does not specifically discloses wherein the blast furnaces and other industrial furnaces having a housing (7) with an inside face, and wherein before getting in the blast furnace or other industrial furnace (1) is defined by the defining as a limit the line that limits the inside face of the furnace housing (7).
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses the use of cooling panel (#14 and #15, fig.2) for furnace having a housing (#12, fig.2) with an inside face (refer to the face that facing #14 and #15 in fig.2) (refer to the title, and #12 as the housing of the furnace in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilize CN4805A’s cooling panel for Schmeler’s furnace, in order to increase the industrial utility and marketability of the CN4805’s cooling panel.
Regarding claim 19, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein a respective set of tubes (refer to the #4 between #3 and #5), connects with a respective set of the plurality of cooling channels (#1, fig.1 and 2) and, wherein each respective set of the plurality of tubes (refer to the #4 between #3 and #5) converges into a single coupling (#5 and #6 fig.1-3) of the at least one set of couplings (#5 and #6 fig.1-3) that connects to the water cooling system (refer to “water cooling” in the title); and that connects to the furnace cooling system (refer to “water cooling” in the title) and that the pipe inlet (refer to the connection on #5 in fig.2) in the coupling (#4 and #5, fig.1-3) is sealed by welding (refer to Page 2 line 16-18 cited: “…A water-based porous flat tube cold plate, porous flat tube material is used as a substrate, opening as outlet and water pipe joint is welded on the pipe wall of the porous flat pipe…”).
CN4805A does not explicitly disclose when leaving the body (25) of the panel (23), is contained in a single protection sleeve (26), fixed to the body (25) of the panel (23), and that the tubes (27), after leaving the sleeve (26), are connected sealed by welding into a single coupling (31) that connects to the furnace cooling system and that the pipe inlet in the coupling is sealed by welding.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses when leaving the body (#12, fig.2) of the panel (#10, fig.2), is contained in a single protection sleeve (#48, fig.2), fixed to the body (#12, fig.2) of the panel (#10, fig.2), and that the tubes (#26 and #26’, fig.2), after leaving the sleeve (#48, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with when leaving the body of the panel, is contained in a single protection sleeve, fixed to the body of the panel, and that the tubes, as taught by Schmeler, in order to provide protection to the tube or coupling outside the panel body, such that would reduce possible damage and improve operational lifespan of the cooling panel.
Regarding claim 20, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A further discloses wherein a respective set of the plurality set of tubes (refer to the #4 between #3 and #5), connects with a respective set of cooling channels (#1, fig.1 and 2) that converge in a single coupling (#5 and #6 fig.1-3) that connects to the water cooling system (refer to “water cooling” in the title); and welding as the mean construct the cooling plate (refer to Page 2 line 16-18 cited: “…A water-based porous flat tube cold plate, porous flat tube material is used as a substrate, opening as outlet and water pipe joint is welded on the pipe wall of the porous flat pipe…”).
CN4805A does not explicitly disclose when leaving the body (25) of the panel (23), is contained in a single protection sleeve (26), fixed to the body (25) of the panel (23), and that the tubes (27), after leaving the sleeve (26), are connected sealed by welding into a single coupling (31) that connects to the furnace cooling system and that the pipe inlet in the coupling is sealed by welding.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses when leaving the body (#12, fig.2) of the panel (#10, fig.2), is contained in a single protection sleeve (#48, fig.2), fixed to the body (#12, fig.2) of the panel (#10, fig.2), and that the tubes (#26 and #26’, fig.2), after leaving the sleeve (#48, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with when leaving the body of the panel, is contained in a single protection sleeve, fixed to the body of the panel, and that the tubes, as taught by Schmeler, in order to provide protection to the tube or coupling outside the panel body, such that would reduce possible damage and improve operational lifespan of the cooling panel.
Regarding claim 21, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A does not explicitly disclose including a space between the inside surface of the protection sleeve (26) and the outside surface of the tubes (27), wherein the passage between the panel's side of the coupling (28) and the space (36) between the inside surface of the protection sleeve (26) and the outside surface of the tubes (27) is sealed.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses including a space between the inside surface of the protection sleeve (#52, fig.2) and the outside surface of the tubes (#26 and #26’ fig.2), wherein the passage (refer to the passage space of #52 in fig.2) between the panel's side (refer to #12 side facing the “coupling” annotated in fig.2) of the coupling (refer to “coupling” annotated in fig.2) and the space (#49 and #49’ in fig.2) between the inside surface (refer to the inside surface of #52) of the protection sleeve (#52, fig.2) and the outside surface of the tubes (#26 and #26’ fig.2) is sealed (refer to Col 6 line 56-58 cited: “…Each connection end 46, 46' is in this case connected in a sealed manner to the socket piece 48 by means of a compensator 50, 50'…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with the passage between the panel's side of the coupling and the space between the inside surface of the protection sleeve and the outside surface of the tubes is sealed, as taught by Schmeler, in order to provide protection to the tube or coupling outside the panel body, such that would reduce possible damage and improve operational lifespan of the cooling panel.
Regarding claim 22, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 17, CN4805A does not explicitly disclose wherein the protection sleeve has a circular or other section and is fixed to the body by being embedded during casting process, by welding or by mechanical union, such as thread or flange with screws, or a combination of such fastening methods.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses wherein the protection sleeve (#52, fig.2) has other section (examiner note: unspecific shape which read on prior art) and is fixed to the body (#10, fig.2) by being embedded by thread (#50, fig.2) and flange (#48, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with the protection sleeve has other section and is fixed to the body by being embedded during casting process, by thread and flange, as taught by Schmeler, in order to provide protection to the tube or coupling outside the panel body, such that would reduce possible damage and improve operational lifespan of the cooling panel.
Regarding claim 25, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN4805A does not explicitly discloses wherein each of the plurality of cooling channels (24) has a water passage section, wherein each coupling (31) of the at least one set of couplings (31) has a water passage section, and wherein the area of the water passage section in each of the plurality of cooling channels built-in the panel body is less than half of the water passage section in the respective coupling.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses wherein each of the plurality of cooling channels (#14, fig.3) has a water passage section (refer to the panel section where #14 is on in fig.3), wherein each coupling (refer to respective #32 in fig.3) of the at least one set of couplings (refer to respective #32 in fig.3) has a water passage section (refer to the panel section where #14 is on in fig.3), and wherein the area of the water passage section (refer to the panel section where #14 is on in fig.3) in each of the plurality of cooling channels (#14, fig.3) built-in the panel body (refer to the panel that #14 is on in fig.3) is less than half (refer to fig.3 , noted that the panel have 4 cooling channels, therefore, one of four cooling channels would have ¼ of the area of the water passage section) of the water passage section (refer to the panel section where #14 is on in fig.3) in the respective coupling (refer to respective #32 in fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with the area of the water passage section in each of the plurality of cooling channels built-in the panel body is less than half of the water passage section in the respective coupling, as taught by Schmeler, in order to ensure sufficient cooling on the cooling panel, since 4 cooling channels would provide more cooling than 3 or 2 or even 1 cooling channel.
Regarding claim 37, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 18, CN4805A does not explicitly disclose wherein the protection sleeve has a circular or other section and is fixed to the body by being embedded during casting process, by one or more welding or by mechanical union, thread or flange, screws.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler discloses wherein the protection sleeve (#52, fig.2) has other section (examiner note: unspecific shape which read on prior art) and is fixed to the body (#10, fig.2) by being embedded by thread (#50, fig.2) and flange (#48, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with the protection sleeve has other section and is fixed to the body by being embedded during casting process, by thread and flange, as taught by Schmeler, in order to provide protection to the tube or coupling outside the panel body, such that would reduce possible damage and improve operational lifespan of the cooling panel.
Regarding claim 38, the modification of CN4805A and Schmeler discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 19, CN4805A does not explicitly disclose wherein the protection sleeve has a circular or other section and is fixed to the body by being embedded during casting process, by one or more welding or by mechanical union, thread or flange, screws.
In the field of cooling panel for furnace, Schmeler further discloses characterized by the fact that the protection sleeve (#52, fig.2) has other section (examiner note: unspecific shape which read on prior art) and is fixed to the body (#10, fig.2) by being embedded by thread (#50, fig.2) and flange (#48, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with the protection sleeve has other section and is fixed to the body by being embedded during casting process, by thread and flange, as taught by Schmeler, in order to provide protection to the tube or coupling outside the panel body, such that would reduce possible damage and improve operational lifespan of the cooling panel.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN105744805A (previously cited) herein set forth as CN4805A, in view of KNYAZIK et al (US2017/0133244A1 previously cited) herein set forth as KNYAZIK.
Regarding claim 27, CN4805A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 18, CN4805A further discloses wherein the panel (#1, fig.3) includes a top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) and a bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3), wherein at least one cooling channel (refer to “channel” annotated in fig.3) passes horizontally (refer to the “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) on the top edge (refer to “horizontally on the top” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.3) and at least one cooling channel (refer to “channel” annotated in fig.3) passes horizontally (refer to the “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3) on the bottom edge (refer to “horizontally on the bottom” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#1, fig.3).
CN4805A does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the channels (30) that passes on the top or bottom edges of the panel travels the panel clockwise while at least another of the channels travels the panel counterclockwise.
In the field of cooling panel for a processing chamber, KNYAZIK discloses that at least one of the channels (#300, fig.3) that passes on the top or bottom edges (refer to “horizontally on the top” or “bottom” annotated in fig.3) of the panel (#130, fig.3) travels the panel clockwise (refer to arrow #370 in fig.3) while at least another of these channels (#315, fig.3) travels the panel (#130, fig.3) counterclockwise (refer to arrow #366 in fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4805A’s cooling panel with that at least one of the channels (30) that passes on the top or bottom edges of the panel travels the panel clockwise while at least another of these channels travels the panel counterclockwise, as taught by KNYAZIK, in order to provide a better cooling distribution and better average temperature drop across the panel, such that would generate a more even cooling field and better result of cool through the effect area.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Drawing Objection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on June 15, 2026 overcame the Drawing objection in the previous office action.
With respect to the Claim Objection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on June 15, 2026 overcame the Claim Objection in the previous office action.
With respect to the 112(a) Rejection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on June 15, 2026 overcame the 112(a) Rejection in the previous office action. However, newly amended limitation raised another 112(a) issue.
With respect to the 112(b) Rejection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on June 15, 2026 overcame the Rejection 112(b) in the previous office action. However, the newly amended claim has raised another issue of 112(b) Rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the newly amended limitation “chamber” and “water chamber”, applicant argued: “…Applicant has amended claim 1, which each of the other claims (dependent claims) depend, and which through their dependency also now recite this feature. Claim 1 recites that the water system feed and return connects directly to the cooling channels.
wherein the water system feed and return connects directly to the cooling channels, without the need of a chamber, and wherein the cooled panel does not contain a water chamber.
Accordingly, Applicant's cooled panel, as disclosed and claimed, does not contain a water chamber. The cited reference (CN 105744805), unlike Applicant's cooled panel, does not disclose a direct supply connection to the cooling channels, but instead has a water chamber, and indirect distribution is carried out from the water chamber. Applicant's arrangement does not include or require the water chamber, and therefore provides for access to each cooling tube.
Applicant's amended claim 1 now includes the negative limitation that excludes a water chamber (which the examiner asserted was argued but not recited in claim 1). Applicant however has noted the examiner's comments in the Office Action, and in addition to reciting that the cooled panel does not contain a water chamber (the negative limitation), claim 1 also has been amended to recite that the water system feed and return connects directly to the cooling channels. This further distinguishes the Applicant's cooled panel from the cited prior art reference (CN 105744805). Although the examiner attempts to argue that the water chamber of CN 105744805 are part of the pipes/tubes/couplings, this is not a broadest reasonable interpretation, but is largely unreasonable and contrary to the prior art and what it discloses. Mere refashioning an element that is provided for a purpose (water chamber) and turning it or other elements into what they are not is not a reasonable interpretation, but instead, a machination of the actual prior art.
Applicant's novel construction of its cooled panel provides improvements by conserving space and allowing ready access to the tube ends which otherwise would be difficult to reach (if the tube ends were otherwise connected to a water chamber).
CN 105744805 does not provide this because the pipe joint (9) does not give access to each pipeline. The feature recited in Applicant's amended claim 1 distinguishes the invention and is not disclosed or taught by the cited reference.…”, Remark Page 9-10.
The examiner's response: The applicant's arguments above are not persuasive.
It is noted that the newly amended limitation has raised new 112(a) and (b) issues, the reason is that the “chamber” and “water chamber” are not recited or clarified in the specification at all. Such that the limitation of “chamber” or “water chamber” are destroying the invention of claim 1, just as the raised issues with the definition of “chamber” cited in the 112 sections, for compacted prosecution, examiner provide a figure comparison below for a better understand why the prior art of record CN4805A still read on the rejected claim, especially that the “coupling” in the current application do have a cavity that functionally identical to the prior art’s “coupling”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wenckus et al (US4049384) discloses a cold crucible system that read on a lot of the limitation cited in claim 1, such as cooling panel, a plurality tube and cooling channels.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 October 5, 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 Refer to CHAMBER Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/chamber, - a natural or artificial enclosed space or cavity