DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 67, 69-71, 73-85, 87-88 remain pending, of which claims 77-85 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 67, 69-71, 73-76, 87-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HENNESSY (US 2006/0067980) newly cited, in view of CHEN (US 2009/0024223) previously cited.
Regarding claim 67, 70, HENNESSY discloses a device 20 with holder 6 for a drug core (graft holder) comprising:
a base portion 10 (base surface);
a cavity formed from a wall 6,7 extended from the base 10 to top opening 12, configured so that the drug core (graft) is securely nestled therewith (Fig 1);
a cap 1 provided and sized to seal the top opening 12 of the holder 6 (configured to provide protection to a top portion of the graft while allowing fluid access to the graft through a passageway 9 (one or more fluid passages) (Fig 1);
wherein the holder 6 is made of silicone (0018), from which the entire device 20 is molded (integrally formed from molded silicone)(0029).
HENNESSY discloses passageway 9 can be placed in other portions of the holder 6 than the base (gaps in cavity wall) (0018), but does not explicitly disclose the cavity wall further comprises one or more gaps configured to permit passage of a tool.
However, CHEN discloses an osteochondral plug (graft) holder 61 comprising a bottom 60 (base) and a cavity formed from a cavity wall extended from the base 61, 63, the cavity configured so the osteochondral bone portion 7,29 (graft) is secured (securely nested therewith) during use (Fig 7-8, 0075, 0069-70), the holder is configured to provide protection to a top portion of the graft 7, 29 as the cavity walls extend beyond the height of the graft (internal walls of cavity are taller than graft) and has slots 62, 64 (fluid passages and/or one or more gaps) created along a longitudinal direction of the holder around the circumference that allow fluid access to the entirely of the graft and allow tools to move through the slots to access the graft (are capable of permitting passage of an appropriately sized graft retrieval tool) (Fig 7-8, 0075, 0130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the holder of HENNESSY to include the gaps in the cavity wall as taught by CHEN because they allow for the ability to access the graft inside the holder which would allow for precision placement of the graft to ensure it is entirely within the holder or for the injection of any additional substances deemed necessary by the implant team.
It is noted the limitation regarding “for securely transporting a graft” and “when being transported” refers to an intended use of the device and does not further limit the structure of the claimed device. The holder of HENNESSY in view of CHEN is capable of being transported and to protect the graft as it is fully surrounded by the holder (HENNESSY Fig 1, CHEN Fig 8).
Regarding claim 69, HENNESSY discloses there is an opening 12 (hole) to access the inner cavity that is capable of being used to remove the drug core (graft) out of the cavity, but does not disclose the hole is extended between the base surface and the cavity.
However, CHEN discloses between the bottom surface and the cavity is an opening 59 (hole) through which the graft can be removed when the bottom bolt is unscrewed (0075, Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the holder of HENNESSY to include the hole being located extending between the base and cavity as taught by CHEN because it allows the insertion of a support for the bottom portion of the graft (0075).
Furthermore, the location of the hole extending between the base and cavity merely represents a rearrangement of parts without substantially affecting functionality or operation, and therefore is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 71, HENNESSY discloses the cavity is largely open 12 to reveal a top portion of the drug core (graft) when a cap is not used (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 73, HENNESSY does not explicitly disclose the cavity wall further comprises peripheral surfaces that are reinforced structures.
However, CHEN discloses peripheral surfaces of the cavity wall as set screws positioned in an extremity of the wall for further securing the plug (graft), the screws 57 capable of providing extra support (reinforcing, enhancing structural integrity) and shielding (Fig 7-8, 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the holder of HENNESSY to include the peripheral surfaces with reinforced structures as taught by CHEN because they allow for further securing the graft, adjusting the centerline to the correct placement, and providing extra support on the graft to minimize stress while it is being manipulated (0075).
Regarding claim 74, HENNESSY discloses the dimension of the device can vary depending on the size of the inner drug core (diameter varies depending on size of graft) (0030), but does not explicitly disclose the cavity is configured to house a plurality of different sized grafts.
However CHEN discloses the diameter of the cavity is slightly larger than the largest diameter of graft and the screws adjusted to hold the graft securely (capable of housing a plurality of different sized grafts) (Fig 8d-f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the holder of HENNESSY to include the diameter of the cavity configured to house a plurality of different sized grafts as taught by CHEN because it allows for use of one holder for a range of sizes of grafts rather than needing to mold or machine each holder individually.
Regarding claim 75, HENNESSY discloses the inner walls of the cavity are taller than the drug core (graft) (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 76, HENNESSY does not explicitly disclose the cavity wall 6 further comprises regions of vertical cavities configured to permit flow of transport fluid to access the graft.
However, CHEN discloses the slots 62, 64 (regions of vertical cavities) in the cavity wall that would allow flow of fluid to access the graft (Fig 8 a, b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the holder of HENNESSY to include the vertical cavities in the cavity wall as taught by CHEN because they allow for the ability to access the graft inside the holder which would allow for precision placement of the graft to ensure it is entirely within the holder or for the injection of any additional substances deemed necessary by the implant team.
Regarding claim 87-88, CHEN discloses the holder has an open upper end and slots 62, 64 (gaps) created along a longitudinal direction of the holder around the circumference, (Fig 7-8, 0075) either of which are capable of permitting passage of an appropriately sized graft retrieval tool, such as forceps or threaded surfaces. It is noted the limitation regarding “wherein the graft tool is/comprises” are considered functional limitations merely describing the size of the gaps of the holder based on the tools it is used with. The graft retrieval tool itself is not a positively recited structure in the claimed device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 67, 69-71, 73-76, 87-88 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO 892 are considered related to the state of the art of applicant’s invention.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799