DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 15-23, and 25 are current pending. Claims 2, 7, 13, 14, and 24 are cancelled. New claim 25 has been added. The previously stated 112, 1st paragraph rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, and 15-23 is withdrawn. The amended claims do not overcome the previously stated 103 rejections. Therefore, upon further consideration, claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 15-23, and 25 are rejected under the following 103 rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the second battery pack the wire” should be changed to “the second battery pack by a wire”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-2014-0087520 A, machine translation) in view of Matsumoto et al (US 2017/0072807).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 9, and 19-23, Kim discloses an electric vehicle comprising: a driving motor generator “200” (motor) and a battery dual chain gong system “100” (battery system) configured to drive the driving motor generator, including a plurality of rechargeable battery packs, the battery system comprising:
a number 1 battery “150” (first battery pack) that is rechargeable;
a number 2 battery “170” (second battery pack) that is rechargeable independently of the number 1 battery;
a switching unit “190” including a number 1 switch “193” (first switching element) and a number 2 switch “197” (second switching element), the switching unit switching the number 1 battery between a charging node and a discharging node and switching the number 2 battery between a charging node and the discharging node;
a control unit “500” (controller / battery management system) that controls switching states of the number 1 switch and the number 2 switch;
a battery sensor “430” that senses the discharge state of charge (first state of charge (SOC)) of number 1 battery and the discharge state of charge (second state of charge (SOC)) of number 2 battery;
a tilt sensor “450” that senses the operation state of the electric vehicle, i.e. whether the electric vehicle is in a parking state, cruising state, or traveling through a downslope;
wherein the battery sensor outputs a control signal to the control unit which controls the switching states of the number 1 switch and number 2 switch based on usage states and states of charge of the number 1 battery and the number 2 battery;
wherein the discharging node is electrically connected to a driving motor generator “200” (motor);
wherein both of the number 1 battery and the number 2 battery is connected to one of the charging node and the discharging node;
wherein the control unit is inherently capable of measuring a first state of charge (SOC) of the first battery pack and a second SOC of the second battery pack, acquiring a traveling state of a vehicle that drives based on at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack (“Description of Embodiments” and Figs. 1 and 2).
However, Kim does not expressly teach a first battery pack including a first wireless power transmission/reception module and a second battery pack including a second wireless power transmission/reception module; and determining a first wireless power transmission/reception state of the first battery pack and a second wireless power transmission/reception state of the second battery pack based on the first SOC, the second SOC, and the traveling state of the vehicle; controlling switching states of the first and second switching elements and operation states of the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules based on the first and second wired power transmission/reception states, the first and second wireless power transmission/reception states, and the traveling state of the vehicle (claim 1).
Matsumoto et al teaches the concept of a power receiving unit switching means “4” (first switching element/second switching element) having an open node that provides a state of the switching between a wired power reception from an external power source “21” (outside) and a wireless power reception between a power source “23” and a battery “9” (first battery pack/second battery pack); wherein the battery includes a [wireless power receiving unit “3”/wireless power transmitting device “22” (wireless power transmission/reception module) and a wireless communication unit that is provided in a control device (not illustrated) ([0032],[0033],[0035] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim battery system to include a first battery pack including a first wireless power transmission/reception module and a second battery pack including a second wireless power transmission/reception module in order to provide an electric power converter that performs a resistance conversion operation when electric power is received from the wireless power receiving unit and performs a power-factor improvement operation when electric power is received from the wired power receiving unit ([0016]).
In addition, the Kim/Matsumoto control unit is inherently capable of determining a first wired power transmission/reception state and a first wireless power transmission/reception state of the first battery pack and a second wired power transmission/reception state and a second wireless power transmission/reception state of the second battery pack based on the first SOC, the second SOC and the traveling state of the vehicle; controlling switching states of the first and second switching elements and operation states of the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules based on the first and second wired power transmission/reception states, the first and second wireless power transmission/reception states, and the traveling state of the vehicle; determining whether the vehicle requires high driving output based on the traveling state; and equalizing the first SOC and the second SOC when the vehicle requires the high driving output; equalizing the first SOC and the second SOC based on the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules when the vehicle requires the high driving output; and simultaneously discharging the first and second battery packs by connecting the first and second battery packs in parallel to provide power for the high driving output because any control unit is capable of carrying out that function without modification.
Regarding claim 9, Kim does not expressly teach a plurality of additional battery packs that are rechargeable independently of the first battery pack and the second battery pack, and wherein the first battery pack, the second battery pack, and the plurality of additional battery packs are divided into a plurality of groups, each group including at least one battery pack.
However, it is well known in the art that electric vehicles comprise battery packs that are divided into a plurality of groups, each group including at least one battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Kim/Matsumoto battery system to include a plurality of additional battery packs that are rechargeable independently of the first battery pack and the second battery pack, and wherein the first battery pack, the second battery pack, and the additional battery packs are divided into a plurality of groups, each group including at least one battery pack because the duplication of parts was held to have been obvious (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). In addition, the addition of a plurality of groups of battery packs to the Kim battery system is an obvious matter of design choice which one of ordinary skill would have been able to make in order to provide sufficient power for an electric vehicle.
Claims 3 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Matsumoto et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song (US 2022/0001755).
However, Kim as modified by Matsumoto et al does not expressly teach one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack that is connected to the charging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the first or second wireless power transmission/reception module (claim 3); wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the first or second wireless power transmission/reception module (claim 15); wherein both of the first battery pack and the second battery pack are connected to the open node, and one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the first or second wireless power transmission/reception module (claim 16); wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the discharging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the first or second wireless power transmission/reception module (claim 17); wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node, the other of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to one of the charging node and the discharging node (claim 18).
Song discloses a first battery pack “10” and a second battery pack “20” that may be connected in a non-contact wireless power transmission connection to supply power to each other ([0045]). Examiner’s note: since the Kim/Matsumoto first switching element and the second switching element each includes the open node for wireless power transmission, each of the first battery pack and second battery pack would independently be capable of charging and discharging while wirelessly transmitting power to the other battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Matsumoto battery system to include wireless power transmission or wireless power reception between the first battery pack and the second battery pack; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the charging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein both of the first battery pack and the second battery pack are connected to the open node, and one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the discharging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node, the other of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to one of the charging node and the discharging node in order to minimize a voltage difference between a main battery and an auxiliary battery, while omitting a physical connection member between a main battery and an auxiliary battery ([0026],[0027]).
Claims 3 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Matsumoto et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al (JP 2017135795 A, machine translation).
However, Kim as modified by Matsumoto et al does not expressly teach one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack that is connected to the charging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module (claim 3); wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module (claim 15); wherein both of the first battery pack and the second battery pack are connected to the open node, and one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module (claim 16); wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the discharging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module (claim 17); wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node, the other of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to one of the charging node and the discharging node (claim 18).
Ito et al discloses a first electronic device having a first battery unit (first battery pack) having a first interface surface for contactless power transmission and a second electronic device having a second battery unit (second battery pack) having a second interface surface for contactless power transmission wherein in response to contact between the first interface surface and the second interface surface, charging power is supplied from the first electronic device to the second electronic device to charge the second battery unit ([0018]). Examiner’s note: since the Kim/Matsumoto first switching element and the second switching element each includes an open node for wireless power transmission, each of the first battery pack and second battery pack would independently be capable of charging and discharging while wirelessly transmitting power to the other battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Matsumoto battery system to include wireless power transmission or wireless power reception between the first battery pack and the second battery pack; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the charging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein both of the first battery pack and the second battery pack are connected to the open node, and one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the discharging node and wirelessly transmits power to the other battery pack among the first battery pack and the second battery pack through the wireless power transmission module; wherein one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to the open node, the other of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is connected to one of the charging node and the discharging node in order to easily share the amount of electricity between the first battery unit and the battery unit by simply bring the interface surfaces into contact with each other ([0019]).
Claims 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Matsumoto et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ono et al (JP 2014239619 A, machine translation).
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 8, Kim as modified by Matsumoto et al does not expressly teach the charging node is electrically connected to a power source from renewable energy (claim 5); further comprising a power storage device for storing power generated from the renewable energy and a power generation device for generating power from the renewable energy (claim 6); wherein the power generation device includes at least one of devices for generating power by solar energy, wind energy, pressure energy and kinetic energy (claim 8).
Ono et al discloses a vehicle including a solar cell “101” (power generation device) and power storage device “130” (power storage device), wherein power generated by the solar cell can be stored in the power storage device ([0016],[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Matsumoto battery system to include a charging node that is electrically connected to a power source from renewable energy; further comprising a power storage device for storing power generated from the renewable energy; further comprising a power generation device for generating power from the renewable energy; wherein the power generation device includes at least one of devices for generating power by solar energy in order to suppress power loss when power is supplied from a vehicle to a power system external to the vehicle ([0005]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Matsumoto et al as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kitano et al (WO 2013098928 A1).
Regarding claims 10-12, Kim as modified by Matsumoto et al does not expressly teach each of the plurality of groups that has a corresponding switching element and a discharging node, and wherein each of the plurality of groups is electrically connected to a different corresponding motor through the corresponding switching element and the discharging node to perform charging and discharging operations independently of other groups (claim 10); wherein the plurality of groups correspond to motors installed, each motor corresponds to a respective wheel of a vehicle (claim 11); wherein the controller controls charging and discharging operations of each of the plurality of groups according to a drive type of the vehicle (claim 12).
Kitano et al discloses motor units “M1 to M4” that are powered by plurality of second batteries “212a” to 212d” (plurality of groups), wherein the motor units correspondingly mounted to respective wheels of the vehicle ([0051],[0055],[0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Matsumoto battery system to include each of the plurality of groups that has a corresponding switching element and a discharging node, and wherein each of the plurality of groups is electrically connected to a different corresponding motor through the corresponding switching element and the discharging node to perform charging and discharging operations independently of other groups; wherein the plurality of groups correspond to motors installed, each motor corresponds to a respective wheel of a vehicle; wherein the controller controls charging and discharging operations of each of the plurality of groups according to a drive type of the vehicle in order to eliminate the need to install a large capacity power transmission cable between the vehicle and the wheels and to control the power transfer between the batteries so that the capacity of the batteries on the wheel side always approaches a target remaining capacity value, thereby supplying a stable power to the motor at all times ([0201]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-2014-0087520 A, machine translation) in view of Matsumoto et al (US 2017/0072807) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2011/0156636).
However, Kim ‘520 as modified by Matsumoto et al does not expressly teach controlling the switching states of the first wireless power transmission/reception module and the second wireless power transmission/reception module independently of a first circuit for charging and discharging the first battery pack by a wire and a second circuit for charging and discharging the second battery pack the wire, respectively, so that: the first battery pack is charged or discharged while simultaneously wirelessly transmitting power to or wirelessly receiving power from the second battery pack, or the second battery pack is charged or discharged while simultaneously wirelessly transmitting power to or wirelessly receiving power from the first battery pack.
Kim ‘636 discloses a control circuit “50” that controls the switching states of a wireless charging circuit “20” and a wired charging circuit “40” that are operated independently so that wireless and wired charging of a battery cell “1” (first battery pack) are simultaneously performed ([0046],[0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim/Matsumoto battery system to include controlling the switching states of the first wireless power transmission/reception module and the second wireless power transmission/reception module independently of a first circuit for charging and discharging the first battery pack by a wire and a second circuit for charging and discharging the second battery pack the wire, respectively, so that: the first battery pack is charged or discharged while simultaneously wirelessly transmitting power to or wirelessly receiving power from the second battery pack, or the second battery pack is charged or discharged while simultaneously wirelessly transmitting power to or wirelessly receiving power from the first battery pack in order to allow for more rapid charging of the battery pack ([0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “the combination of Kim and Matsumoto fails to disclose a controller configured to determine a first wired power transmission/reception state and a first wireless power transmission/reception state of the first battery pack and a second wired power transmission/reception state and a second wireless power transmission/reception state of the second battery pack based on the first SOC, the second SOC and the traveling state of the vehicle; and control switching states of the first and second switching elements and operation states of the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules based on the first and second wired power transmission/reception states, the first and second wireless power transmission/reception states, and the traveling state of the vehicle.
For example, this application provides that, not only the traveling state of the vehicle is determined by the controller, but the controller is able to control switching states of the first and second switching elements and operation states of the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules based on the first and second wired power transmission/reception states and, the first and second wireless power transmission/reception states, and the traveling state of the vehicle.
That is, this application is able to provide wireless power transmission/reception to the batteries that takes account of the traveling state of the vehicle (see FIGS. 9 and 10A of this application), whereby when a high-output is required, such maybe an instance where the wireless charge is performed SO that the first and second battery packs can be connected in parallel (see operations S103, S104, S105 and S106 of FIG. 10A).
On the other hand, Kim fails to provide wireless power transmission/reception states, and Matsumoto provides wireless power transmission/reception states without regard to the traveling state of the vehicle. In contrast, this application takes account of the traveling state of the vehicle when providing control of the switching states of switching elements and operation states of wireless power transmission/reception modules”.
In response, the Office first points out that Kim teaches a sensing part 400 that includes a battery sensor 430 and a tilt sensor 450; the battery sensor senses the state of charge (SOC) of the first battery 150 and the second battery 170 or discharge acceptance and rejection or it does with sensing data1 whether any battery (150 or 170) supply electricity to the current drive motor generator 200; the tilt sensor sensing the transport condition (operation state) of the electric vehicle, i.e. whether starts after stop, whether it travels at constant speed, whether traveling through a downslope, whether traveling upgrade with sensing data2; wherein according to the sensing result (data2 and data1), the control unit 500 (controller) is transmitted from the sensing part, the role of choosing which battery (at least any one among 150 and 170) supplies electricity to the drive motor generator 200 and battery (at least one among 150 and 170) filling the electricity of being generated from the generation motor generator is performed (first wired power transmission/reception state / second wired power transmission/reception state); that is the control unit 500 transmits the electricity in the drive motor generator 200 to the switching unit 190 of the battery part 130 the first control signal (cs1) which is for the battery supplying to choose is produced and it transmits with the switching unit 190 of the battery part 130. In other words, the Kim control unit determines a first wired power transmission (supply electricity) / reception (fills electricity) state of the first battery pack 150 and a second wired power transmission (supply electricity) / reception (fills electricity) state of the first battery pack 170 based upon the sensing results (data1 and data2) of the first battery pack SOC, the second battery pack SOC, and the traveling state of the vehicle. Matsumoto discloses a wireless power receiving unit 3 + wireless power transmitting device 22 (first wireless power transmission/reception module / second wireless power transmission/reception module), a power receiving unit switching means 4, and a wireless communication unit that is provided in a control device (not illustrated), wherein the control device is inherently capable of determining a first wireless power transmission/reception state of a first battery pack and a second wireless power transmission/reception state of a second battery pack and controlling switching state of the first and second switching elements and operation states of the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules based on first and second wireless power transmission/reception states.
Therefore, based upon these teachings, the Kim/Matsumoto control unit (controller) is inherently capable of determining a first wired power transmission/reception state and a first wireless power transmission/reception state of the first battery pack and a second wired power transmission/reception state and a second wireless power transmission/reception state of the second battery pack based on the first SOC, the second SOC and the traveling state of the vehicle; and controlling switching states of the first and second switching elements and operation states of the first and second wireless power transmission/reception modules based on the first and second wired power transmission/reception states-and, the first and second wireless power transmission/reception states, and the traveling state of the vehicle because any control unit is capable of carrying out that function without modification.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/2/2026