DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of the Application
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 10/07/2026 is acknowledged. This listing of the claims replaces all prior versions and listings of the claims.
Applicant’s remarks filed on 10/07/2026 in response to the final rejection mailed on 07/08/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered.
Election
The elected invention is
Group I, corresponding to claims 1-8 and 14, drawn to the technical feature of a genetically modified organism in which a nucleic acid encoding any one of the polypeptides described in (a) to (c) below is introduced or the expression of the polypeptide is enhanced and the function of pyruvate kinase is impaired: (a) a polypeptide composed of an amino acid sequence represented by any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1 to 7; (b) a polypeptide composed of the same amino acid sequence as that represented by any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1 to 7, except that one or several amino acids are substituted, deleted, inserted, and/or added, and having an enzymatic activity that catalyzes a reaction to reduce 3-oxoadipyl-CoA to 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA; (c) a polypeptide composed of an amino acid sequence with a sequence identity of not less than 70% to the sequence represented by any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1 to 7 and having an enzymatic activity that catalyzes a reaction to reduce 3-oxoadipyl-CoA to 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA, and
Species A2) the polypeptide represented by SEQ ID NO: 2, and
relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is proline, and the 21st amino acid is methionine,
elected with traverse in the reply filed 05/08/2024.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2024.
Claims 1-8 and 14 are being examined on the merits only to the extent they read on the elected subject matter.
In view of the elected species
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is proline, and the 21st amino acid is methionine”
as recited by claim 3 being free of the prior art of record, the search and examination has been extended to the following species
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is arginine, and the 21st amino acid is valine”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to for the phrase “deletion of nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s).” In the interest of improving claim form, Applicant should consider an amendment to recite “deletion of the nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene”.
Claim 14 is objected to for the phrase “wherein a production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid … is increased as compared to the parent strain without genetic modification by said genetic modifications”. In the interest of improving claim form, Applicant should consider an amendment to recite “wherein production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid … is increased by said genetic modifications compared to a parent strain without said genetic modifications”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 1-8 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention are withdrawn in view of the instant claim amendments.
Claims 1-8 and 14 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The instant rejection is newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 1 (claims 2-8 dependent therefrom) and 14 recite “the parent strain” in line 9 of claim 1 and line 9 of claim 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 1 (claims 2-8 dependent therefrom) and 14 are indefinite for the recitation of “wherein the PykF and/or PykA activity of the microorganism is impaired as compared to the parent strain without genetic modification, wherein PykA and/or PykF activity of the microorganism is impaired by partial or complete deletion of the nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s)”. As “the partial or complete deletion of the nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s)” is not referred to as a genetic modification in the claims, one of skill in the art can interpret this limitation to be a genetic modification in addition to the recited genetic modifications in parts (a) and (b) of the claim, and therefore it is unclear which genetic modification the parent strain is/are required to lack to establish the required comparison of activity. Applicant may consider an amendment to recite, for example, “wherein the PykF and/or PykA activity of the microorganism is impaired by partial or complete deletion … as compared to an otherwise identical parent strain without partial or complete deletion …”.
Claim 1 (claims 2-8 dependent therefrom) and 14 are indefinite for the recitation of “wherein PykA and/or PykF activity of the microorganism is impaired by partial or complete deletion of nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s)”, as this phrase encompasses an embodiment wherein PykA activity is impaired by deletion of the pykF gene, and similarly wherein PykF activity is impaired by deletion of the pykA gene. As PykA is understood to be encoded by the pykA gene, and PykF is understood to be encoded by the pykF gene, it is unclear how deletion of one gene would impair the activity of an unrelated enzyme.
Response to remarks: beginning on page 6 of Applicant’s response to rejections under 35 USC 112(b); Applicant in summary contends the amendments to the claims have obviated the rejection.
Applicant’s remarks are considered and found not convincing for the reasons set forth in the rejection above regarding the limitations of the referenced parent strain and regarding antecedent basis issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
The rejection of claims 1-8 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement, and
the rejection of claims 1-8 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims
are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1 and 14 to establish the claimed microorganism has PykA and/or PykF activity impaired by partial or complete deletion of nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-5, 8 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Application No. JP 2011-515111A (cited on the Form PTO-892 mailed 03/08/2024; reference is made to the machine translation cited on the Form PTO-892 mailed 03/08/2024; herein referred to as 111A) in view of UniProt Accession No. A0A2V4GCF0_SERMA (09/12/2018, 1 page; cited on the Form PTO-892 mailed 08/04/2025; herein referred to as UNI1), and evidentiary references Vuoristo et al. (Trend Biotechnol, 2016, 34:191; cited on the Form PTO-892 mailed 01/17/2025; herein referred to as Vuoristo) and Bueno et al. (Antioxidant Redox Signal, 2012, 16:819; cited on the Form PTO-892 mailed 01/17/2025; herein referred to as Bueno), and
the rejection of claims 6-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 111A and UNI1, and further in view of Parthasarathy et al. (Biochem, 2011, 50:3540; cited on the Form PTO-892 mailed 01/17/2025; herein referred to as Parthasarathy)
are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1 and 14 to recite the PykA and/or PykF activity of the microorganism is impaired by partial or complete deletion of a nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s).
Claims 1-5, 8 and 14 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 111A in view of UNI1, Zhao et al. (Metabolic Eng, 2018, 47:254; cited on the attached Form PTO-892; herein referred to as Zhao), and Zhao et al. (BMC Biotechnol, 2016, 16:52; cited on the attached Form PTO-892; herein referred to as Zhao2), and evidentiary references Vuoristo and Bueno.
The instant rejection newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 1 (claims 2-5 and 8 dependent therefrom) are drawn to a genetically modified microorganism in which a nucleic acid encoding any one of the polypeptides described in (a) to (b) below is introduced for the expression of the polypeptide by a genetic modification:
(a) a polypeptide composed of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2;
(b) a polypeptide composed of the amino acid sequence with a sequence identity of not less than 90% to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and having an enzymatic activity that catalyzes a reaction to reduce 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA;
wherein PykA and/or PykF activity of the microorganism is impaired as compared to the parent strain without genetic modification,
wherein PykA and/or PykF activity of the microorganism is impaired by partial or complete deletion of nucleotide sequences of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s).
Claim 14 is drawn to a genetically modified microorganism wherein a nucleic acid encoding any one of the polypeptides described in (a) to (b) below is introduced for the expression of the polypeptide by a genetic modification:
(a) a polypeptide composed of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2;
(b) a polypeptide composed of the amino acid sequence with a sequence identity of not less than 90% to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and having an enzymatic activity that catalyzes a reaction to reduce 3-oxoadipyl-CoA to 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA;
wherein PykF and/or PykA activity of the microorganism is impaired as compared to the parent strain without genetic modification,
wherein PykA and/or PykF activity of the microorganism is impaired by partial or complete deletion of nucleotide sequence of an endogenous pykF and/or pykA gene(s),
wherein a production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid is increased as compared to the parent strain without genetic modification by said genetic modifications.
The limitation in claims 1 and 14 of regarding PykA and/or PykF activity are being interpreted for the sake of compact prosecution as meaning the activity of said enzymes in the claimed microorganism are impaired due to a partial or complete deletion of the corresponding encoding genes pykA and/or pykF, respectively, as compared to an otherwise identical parent strain that lacks the partial or complete deletion of the corresponding encoding genes pykA and/or pykF.
111A discusses microorganisms to produce adipic acid and other compounds [title], and discloses non-naturally occurring microorganisms with an adipate pathway and methods to produce adipate [abstract].
Regarding claim 1, 111A discloses a genetically modified E. coli strain for the production of adipate wherein the strain has been engineered by introducing nucleic acids encoding enzymes that include PaaH, a 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2-3] which is used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA [p 15, para 5]. Therefore 111A teaches the introduction of nucleic acid encoding polypeptides used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA via genetic modification in order for the organism to produce adipate.
Regarding the limitation of PykA and/or PykF activity, 111A describes the engineering of an organism for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. One of skill in the art would be expected to reason that acetyl-CoA is produced from pyruvate, and pyruvate is produced from phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) via pyruvate kinase (PK) activity as evidenced by Vuoristo [Figure 1A depicting conventional glucose metabolism], wherein PK corresponds to the protein encoded by the genes pykA and/or pykF [instant specification, para 0009].
111A does not teach the introduction of a polypeptide recited in parts (a) and (b) of claim 1, or the impairment of PykA and/or PykF activity by deletion of the respective encoding genes.
Regarding claim 1, UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that shares 94.3% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 [see Appendix A], and as the polypeptide of UNI1 is encompassed by the sequence requirements of the claim, it is considered to have the enzymatic activity of catalyzing the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA, as the function of the polypeptide is presumed to be inherent to its structure (see MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Zhao relates to the metabolic engineering of E. coli for producing adipic acid through the reverse adipate-degradation pathway [title], and discusses that adipic acid is an important molecule used in the production of nylon fibers and resins, and the elimination of pathways for major metabolites competing for carbon flux in an engineered organism aimed at the accumulation of succinyl-CoA resulted in the highest adipate acid titer reported in E. coli [abstract].
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches enhancing the carbon flow through the TCA cycle to produce more succinyl-CoA via the genetic modification to remove sucD responsible for cycling succinyl-CoA, wherein accumulated succinyl-CoA can be shunted out of the TCA to react with acetyl-CoA to produce 3-OA-CoA that is further reduced to 3-HA-CoA on the path to adipate production [Figure 1].
Zhao2 relates to the optimization of central carbon metabolism for engineering succinate production in E. coli [title], and discusses succinate as an important chemical for the synthesis of high value products, and optimizing central carbon metabolism at the PEP node improves succinate production [abstract].
Regarding claim 1, Zhao2 teaches the use of small RNA (sRNA) to interfere with pykF translation to pyruvate kinase (PK), an enzyme responsible for converting phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) to pyruvate [Figure 1], in order to fine tune its activity to increase succinate production [p 5, col 2, para 2], and noted an increase in succinate titer compared to a control that did not have impaired pyruvate kinase activity [Figure 4D, and p 6, col 2, para 1] which corresponds to the impairment of PK activity from the enzyme PykF. One of skill in the art would recognize that increased succinate titer through this pathway would involve carbon flow from PEP to oxaloacetate (OAA) and subsequently through the TCA through succinyl-CoA as well [Figure 1]. As such, Zhao2 is considered to teach the impairment of PK activity via disrupted translation. Additionally, Zhao2 teaches the inactivation and mutation of genes involved in the phosphotransfer system (PTS) is beneficial to succinate production [p 2, col 2, para 3].
Furthermore, as Zhao2 teaches reduced pykF translation increases succinate production, and Zhao teaches the removal of sucD impairs the sucD function to increase succinate yield, one of skill in the art would be motivated to impair PK activity as taught by Zhao2 by removing the encoding gene as taught by Zhao, as one of skill in the art would recognize that both gene deletion and the use of sRNA are techniques for impairing gene translation and therefore impairing the encoded enzyme’s activity.
In view of 111A and UNI1, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell of 111A by using the polypeptide of UNI1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PaaH of 111A and the enzyme of UNI1 are both 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenases, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the cell described by 111A. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the PaaH of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because both the 111A and UNI1 disclose enzymes with 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity.
In view of Zhao and Zhao2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined cell of 111A and UNI1 by deleting the endogenous gene encoding PK, as taught by Zhao and Zhao2, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to carry out the genetic modification of gene removal as taught by Zhao on the gene of Zhao2 to impair activity of PK, because Zhao2 teaches this modification increases succinate titer, and Zhao teaches increased carbon flow through succinyl-CoA is a metabolic engineering strategy to increase adipate production. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and Zhao relate to strategies for improving adipate production, and Zhao and Zhao2 relate to strategies for tuning carbon through succinyl-CoA.
In view of the elected species
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is proline, and the 21st amino acid is methionine”
as recited in claim 3 being free of the prior art of record, the search and examination has been extended to the following species:
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is arginine, and the 21st amino acid is valine”.
Regarding claims 2-3, UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that contains the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 and relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 has a 13th amino acid of phenylalanine (F), 15th amino acid of glutamine (Q), a 16th amino acid of lysine (K), a 17th amino acid of glycine (G), a 19th amino acid of arginine (R), and a 21st amino acid of valine (V) [see Appendix B].
Regarding claim 4, 111A discloses the modified organism is E. coli.
Regarding claim 5, the combined microorganism of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 has the ability to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and CoA from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA and 3-hydroxyadipic acid from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA [p 7, para 3 of 111A].
Regarding claim 8, the combined microorganism of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as described above is engineered for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2 in 111A], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. It is understood in the art that acetyl-CoA plays a role in central metabolism for feeding into the TCA cycle to ultimately reduce NAD+ to NADH as part of the generation of energy [as evidenced by Vuoristo, p 191, para 2 and Figure 1A], wherein these reduced NADH molecules are oxidized again to NAD+ during respiration as part of the activity of the phosphotransfer system enzyme ATPase to produce ATP [as evidenced by Bueno, Fig 1A]. Therefore one of skill in the art would recognize a reverse adipate degradation pathway which consumes acetyl-CoA would thereby reduce the activity of the TCA cycle, further reducing the activity of the phosphotransfer system enzyme ATPase used to generate ATP via respiration. Therefore, the combined microorganism of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 satisfies the limitations recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the cell of claim 14 is substantially similar to the cell of claim 1, except the cell of claim 14 is limited to additionally have increased production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid as a result of said genetic modifications.
Regarding claim 14, as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above regarding the limitations in common with claim 14, 111A discloses a genetically modified E. coli strain for the production of adipate wherein the strain has been engineered by introducing nucleic acids encoding enzymes that include PaaH, a 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2-3] which is used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA [p 15, para 5].
Regarding claim 14 and the limitation of production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid is increased by said genetic modification, 111A describes in Example V [p 25, para 3] a modified E. coli cell with three introduced heterologous genes, wherein the cell is capable of forming adipic acid, which is considered to correspond to a genetic mutation resulting in increased production of adipic acid.
Regarding claim 14 and the limitations of polypeptides (a) and (b), UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that shares 94.3% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 [see Appendix A], and as the polypeptide of UNI1 is encompassed by the sequence requirements of the claim, it is considered to have the enzymatic activity of catalyzing the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA, as the function of the polypeptide is presumed to be inherent to its structure (see MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 14 and the limitation of PykA and/or PykF activity, 111A describes the engineering of an organism for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. One of skill in the art would be expected to reason that acetyl-CoA is produced from pyruvate, and pyruvate is produced from PEP via pyruvate kinase activity as evidenced by Vuoristo [Figure 1A depicting conventional glucose metabolism], wherein pyruvate kinase corresponds to the protein encoded by the genes pykA and/or pykF [instant specification, para 0009].
Regarding claim 14 and the limitation of PykA and/or PykF activity, Zhao teaches enhancing the carbon flow through the TCA cycle to produce more succinyl-CoA via the genetic modification to remove sucD responsible for cycling succinyl-CoA, wherein accumulated succinyl-CoA can be shunted out of the TCA to react with acetyl-CoA to produce 3-OA-CoA that is further reduced to 3-HA-CoA on the path to adipate production [Figure 1].
Regarding claim 14 and the limitation of PykA and/or PykF activity, Zhao2 teaches the use of small RNA (sRNA) to interfere with pykF translation to pyruvate kinase (PK), an enzyme responsible for converting phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) to pyruvate [Figure 1], in order to fine tune its activity to increase succinate production [p 5, col 2, para 2], and noted an increase in succinate titer compared to a control that did not have impaired pyruvate kinase activity [Figure 4D, and p 6, col 2, para 1], which corresponds to the impairment of PK activity from the enzyme PykF. One of skill in the art would recognize that increased succinate titer through this pathway would involve carbon flow from PEP to oxaloacetate (OAA) and subsequently through the TCA through succinyl-CoA as well [Figure 1]. As such, Zhao2 is considered to teach the impairment of PK activity via disrupted translation of the encoding gene. Additionally, Zhao2 teaches the inactivation and mutation of genes involved in the phosphotransfer system (PTS) is beneficial to succinate production [p 2, col 2, para 3].
Furthermore, as Zhao2 teaches reduced pykF translation increases succinate production, and Zhao teaches the removal of sucD impairs the sucD function to increase succinate yield, one of skill in the art would be motivated to impair PK activity as taught by Zhao2 by removing the encoding gene as taught by Zhao, as one of skill in the art would recognize that both gene deletion and the use of sRNA are techniques for impairing activity of the enzyme encoded by the target gene.
In view of 111A and UNI1, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell of 111A by using the polypeptide of UNI1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PaaH of 111A and the enzyme of UNI1 are both 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenases, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the cell described by 111A. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the PaaH of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because both the 111A and UNI1 disclose enzymes with 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity.
In view of Zhao and Zhao2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined cell of 111A and UNI1 by deleting the endogenous gene encoding PK, as taught by Zhao and Zhao2, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to carry out the genetic modification of gene removal as taught by Zhao on the gene of Zhao2 to impair activity of PK, because Zhao2 teaches this modification increases succinate titer, and Zhao teaches increased carbon flow through succinyl-CoA is a metabolic engineering strategy to increase adipate production. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and Zhao relate to strategies for improving adipate production, and Zhao and Zhao2 relate to strategies for tuning carbon through succinyl-CoA.
Therefore, the invention of claims 1-5, 8 and 14 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claims 6-7 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as applied to claims 1-5, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Parthasarathy.
The instant rejection is newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 6 is drawn to the genetically modified microorganism of claim 1, which has an ability to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and coenzyme A from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA, an ability to generate 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA, and an ability to generate alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA.
Claim 7 is drawn to the genetically modified microorganism of claim 1, which has an ability to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and coenzyme A from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA, an ability to generate 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA, an ability to generate adipyl-CoA from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA, and an ability to generate adipic acid from adipyl-CoA.
It is noted that the specification defines alpha-hydromuconic acid as (E)-hex-2-enedioic acid [para 0002] and 2,3-dehydroadipate [para 0005], which is also known in the art as 2-hexenedioic acid, beta-dihydromuconic acid. It is noted that the instant application refers to 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA which is known in the art as 5-carboxy-2-pentenoyl-CoA.
The teachings of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as applied to claims 1-5, 8 and 14 are discussed above, and include the microorganism with the ability to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and CoA from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA [p 7, para 3].
These references do not teach the limitation of generating 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and coenzyme A from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA, generating 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA, and generating alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA.
Regarding claim 6, 111A describes in Example IX the generation of a genetically modified microorganism capable of carrying out the 3-oxoadipate pathway [p 30, paras 1-2 under heading Example IX] characterized by Figure 2, which show the reactions of converting 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA to 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA [reaction 3 of Figure 2].
Parthasarathy discusses substrate specificity of 2-hydroxyglutaryl-CoA dehydratase for the production of adipic acid [title], wherein it is described that expression of six genes from two glutamate fermenting clostridia can also be used to dehydrate the 2-hydroxyapidic acid CoA thioester to 2-hexendioic acid, an unsaturated precursor of the biotechnologically valuable adipic acid [abstract].
Regarding claim 6 and the limitation of generating alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA, Parthasarathy discloses the production of alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA via the activity of the enzymes glutaconate CoA-transferase (GctAB) from Acidaminococcus fermentans [p 3540, col 1, para 2], the scheme of which is shown in the [Figure within the abstract, and Figure 1].
In view of Parthasarathy, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined cell of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 with the genes GctAB, as taught by Parthasarathy, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the combined cell of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2, because Parthasarathy teaches that expression of six genes from two glutamate fermenting clostridia can also be used to dehydrate the 2-hydroxyapidic acid CoA thioester to 2-hexendioic acid, an unsaturated precursor of the biotechnologically valuable adipic acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both 111A and Parthasarathy discuss engineering microorganisms to produce adipate.
Regarding claim 7, 111A describes in Example IX the generation of a genetically modified microorganism capable of carrying out the 3-oxoadipate pathway [p 30, paras 1-2 under heading Example IX] characterized by Figure 2, which show the reactions of converting 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA to 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA and further converting 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA to adipyl-CoA [reactions 3 and 4 of Figure 2].
Therefore, the invention of claims 6-7 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Response to Remarks: beginning on page 7 of Applicant’s response to rejections under 35 USC 103; Applicant in summary contends 111A does not teach or suggest the introduction of a nucleic acid encoding the polypeptides of either section (a) or (b) in amended claim 1, and does not teach or suggest deleting the genes pykA and/or pykF to impair pyruvate kinase activity; Applicant further contends that inherency does not teach or suggest the use of a nucleic acid encoding a polypeptide; Applicant further contends there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the sequence of the art and introduced it into the microorganism of 111A; Applicant further contends the art rejections are the result of hindsight reasoning.
Applicants remarks are considered and found not convincing.
Regarding the assertion that 111A does not teach or suggest the introduction of a nucleic acid encoding the polypeptides of either section (a) or (b) in amended claim 1; as stated in the rejection above, 111A is drawn to a cell wherein a nucleic acid encoding the PaaH enzyme was introduced into a microorganism for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA in the process of producing adipate, but 111A does not teach a polypeptide that satisfies the structural limitations of parts (a) or (b) of amended claim 1. UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that shares 94.3% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2, which is considered to have the enzymatic activity of catalyzing the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA (see MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, as 111A teaches the introduction of a nucleic acid encoding an enzyme with a specific function, and UNI1 teaches an enzyme with the same function, it would have been obvious to replace the enzyme of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1.
Regarding the limitation of deleting the genes pykA and/or pykF to impair pyruvate kinase activity; 111A does not teach these limitations as stated in the rejection above, and this limitation is taught by the references Zhao and Zhao2 above.
Regarding the assertion that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have selected the sequence of the art and introduced it into the microorganism of 111A; Applicant appears to be referring to the rationale for obviousness described in MPEP 2143.I.G which requires some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. The rationale used to combine 111A and UNI1 is Simple Substitution described in MPEP 2143.I.B, which does not require a teaching, suggestion or motivation to combine. Based on MPEP 2143.I.B, the fact that the enzyme of UNI1 and its function were known at the art before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to replace the enzyme of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1 in view of the teachings of 111A, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both enzymes are 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenases, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the cell described by 111A.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Double Patenting
The provisional double parenting rejections A-B set forth on pp. 28-47 of the previous office action over co-pending Applications 18/848,396 and 17/924,145 are withdrawn in view of the instant claim amendments.
A. Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 are newly provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 and 19 of co-pending Application 18/848396 in view of 111A, UNI1, Zhao, Zhao2 and evidentiary references Vuoristo and Beuno.
The instant rejection is newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
Regarding instant claim 1,
claim 1 of the reference application recites a genetically modified microorganism having an ability to produce 3-hydroxyadipic acid and/or 3-oxoadipic acid, wherein the activity of an enzyme that catalyzes the reaction to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and CoA from succinyl-CoA and acetyl-CoA is enhanced, and wherein the expression level of an organophosphate efflux transporter is increased;
claim 4 of the reference application recites the genetically modified microorganism of claim 1, wherein the expression level of the organophosphate efflux transporter is increased by introducing a gene encoding any of the polypeptides (A) to (C) below: (A) a polypeptide consisting of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, 3, 28-30, 46, 48, or 50; (B) a polypeptide having a sequence identity of 60% or more to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, 3, 28-30, 46, 48, or 50, and having a function to improve the productivity of 3-hydroxyadipic acid and/or 3-oxoadipic acid; and (C) a polypeptide consisting of the same amino acid sequence as the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, 3, 28-30, 46, 48, or 50 except that one or several amino acids are replaced, deleted, inserted and/or added, and having a function to improve the productivity of 3-hydroxyadipic acid and/or 3-oxoadipic acid;
claim 7 of the reference application recites the genetically modified microorganism of claim 1, wherein the microorganism is a microorganism belonging to the genus Escherichia or Serratia; and
claim 19 of the reference application recites the genetically modified microorganism of claim 4, further having enhanced activities of enzymes that catalyze the reaction to reduce 3-oxoadipyl-CoA to generate 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA and/or the reaction to generate 3-hydroxyadipic acid from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA.
The claims of the reference application do not recite a polypeptide with the sequence limitations of the instant claims and the impairment of PykA and/or PykF activity.
111A discusses microorganisms to produce adipic acid and other compounds [title], and discloses non-naturally occurring microorganisms with an adipate pathway and methods to produce adipate [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 1, 111A discloses a genetically modified E. coli strain for the production of adipate wherein the strain has been engineered by introducing nucleic acids encoding enzymes that include PaaH, a 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2-3] which is used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA [p 15, para 5]. Therefore 111A discloses the introduction of nucleic acid encoding polypeptides used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA via genetic modification in order for the organism to produce adipate.
Regarding instant claim 1 and the limitation of PykA and/or PykF activity, 111A describes the engineering of an organism for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. One of skill in the art would be expected to reason that acetyl-CoA is produced from pyruvate, and pyruvate is produced from phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) via pyruvate kinase (PK) activity as evidenced by Vuoristo [Figure 1A depicting conventional glucose metabolism], wherein PK corresponds to the protein encoded by the genes pykA and/or pykF [instant specification, para 0009].
Regarding instant claim 1, UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that shares 94.3% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 [see Appendix A], and as the polypeptide of UNI1 is encompassed by the sequence requirements of the claim, it is considered to have the enzymatic activity of catalyzing the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA, as the function of the polypeptide is presumed to be inherent to its structure (see MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Zhao relates to the metabolic engineering of E. coli for producing adipic acid through the reverse adipate-degradation pathway [title], and discusses that adipic acid is an important molecule used in the production of nylon fibers and resins, and the elimination of pathways for major metabolites competing for carbon flux in an engineered organism aimed at the accumulation of succinyl-CoA resulted in the highest adipate acid titer reported in E. coli [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 1, Zhao discloses enhancing the carbon flow through the TCA cycle to produce more succinyl-CoA via the genetic modification to remove sucD responsible for cycling succinyl-CoA, wherein accumulated succinyl-CoA can be shunted out of the TCA to react with acetyl-CoA to produce 3-OA-CoA that is further reduced to 3-HA-CoA on the path to adipate production [Figure 1].
Zhao2 relates to the optimization of central carbon metabolism for engineering succinate production in E. coli [title], and discusses succinate as an important chemical for the synthesis of high value products, and optimizing central carbon metabolism at the PEP node improves succinate production [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 1, Zhao2 discloses the use of small RNA (sRNA) to interfere with pykF translation to pyruvate kinase (PK), an enzyme responsible for converting phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) to pyruvate [Figure 1], in order to fine tune its activity to increase succinate production [p 5, col 2, para 2], and noted an increase in succinate titer compared to a control that did not have impaired pyruvate kinase activity [Figure 4D, and p 6, col 2, para 1]. One of skill in the art would recognize that increased succinate titer through this pathway would involve carbon flow from PEP to oxaloacetate (OAA) and subsequently through the TCA through succinyl-CoA as well [Figure 1]. As such, Zhao2 is considered to disclose the impairment of PK activity via disrupted translation. Additionally, Zhao2 discloses the inactivation and mutation of genes involved in the phosphotransfer system (PTS) is beneficial to succinate production [p 2, col 2, para 3].
Furthermore, as Zhao2 discloses reduced pykF translation increases succinate production, and Zhao discloses the removal of sucD impairs the sucD function to increase succinate yield, one of skill in the art would be motivated to reducing pykF translation as disclosed by Zhao2 by removing the gene as disclosed by Zhao, as one of skill in the art would recognize that both gene deletion and the use of sRNA are techniques for impairing gene translation.
In view of 111A and UNI1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell of the claims of the reference application by using the microorganism of 111A and the enzyme of UNI1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the microorganism of the reference application and the microorganism of 111A are both microorganisms genetically modified for the production of adipic acid, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the claim of the reference application. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the microorganism of the claim of the reference application with the microorganism of 111A, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because the claim of the reference application and 111A disclose microorganisms genetically modified to produce adipic acid.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the enzyme of the 111A and the enzyme of UNI1 both have 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the combined microorganism of the reference application and 111A. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the enzyme of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and UNI1 disclose enzymes with 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity.
In view of Zhao and Zhao2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined cell of the reference application, 111A and UNI1 by deleting the endogenous gene encoding PK, as disclosed by Zhao and Zhao2, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to carry out the genetic modification of gene removal as disclosed by Zhao on the gene of Zhao2 to impair activity of PK, because Zhao2 discloses this modification increases succinate titer, and Zhao discloses increased carbon flow through succinyl-CoA is a metabolic engineering strategy to increase adipate production. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and Zhao relate to strategies for improving adipate production, and Zhao and Zhao2 relate to strategies for tuning carbon through succinyl-CoA.
In view of the elected species
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is proline, and the 21st amino acid is methionine”
as recited in claim 3 being free of the prior art of record, the search and examination has been extended to the following species:
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is arginine, and the 21st amino acid is valine”.
Regarding instant claims 2-3, UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that contains the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 and relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 has a 13th amino acid of phenylalanine (F), 15th amino acid of glutamine (Q), a 16th amino acid of lysine (K), a 17th amino acid of glycine (G), a 19th amino acid of arginine (R), and a 21st amino acid of valine (V) [see Appendix B].
Regarding instant claim 4, claim 7 of the reference application recites the microorganism is a microorganism belonging to the genus Escherichia or Serratia.
Regarding instant claim 5, the combined microorganism of the reference application, 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 has the ability to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and CoA from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA and 3-hydroxyadipic acid from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA [p 7, para 3 of 111A].
Regarding instant claim 7, 111A describes in Example IX the generation of a genetically modified microorganism capable of carrying out the 3-oxoadipate pathway [p 30, paras 1-2 under heading Example IX] characterized by Figure 2, which show the reactions of converting 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA to 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA and further converting 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA to adipyl-CoA [reactions 3 and 4 of Figure 2].
Regarding instant claim 8, the combined microorganism of the reference application, 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as described above is engineered for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2 in 111A], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. It is understood in the art that acetyl-CoA plays a role in central metabolism for feeding into the TCA cycle to ultimately reduce NAD+ to NADH as part of the generation of energy [as evidenced by Vuoristo, p 191, para 2 and Figure 1A], wherein these reduced NADH molecules are oxidized again to NAD+ during respiration as part of the activity of the phosphotransfer system enzyme ATPase to produce ATP [as evidenced by Bueno, Fig 1A]. Therefore one of skill in the art would recognize a reverse adipate degradation pathway which consumes acetyl-CoA would thereby reduce the activity of the TCA cycle, further reducing the activity of the phosphotransfer system enzyme ATPase used to generate ATP via respiration. Therefore, the combined microorganism of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 satisfies the limitations recited in the claim.
Regarding instant claim 14, the cell of instant claim 14 is substantially similar to the cell of instant claim 1, except the cell of instant claim 14 is limited to additionally have increased production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid as a result of said genetic modifications. As such the limitations in common with claim 1 are discussed above.
Regarding instant claim 14 and the limitation of production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid is increased by said genetic modification, 111A describes in Example V [p 25, para 3] a modified E. coli cell with three introduced heterologous genes, wherein the cell is capable of forming adipic acid, which is considered to correspond to a genetic mutation resulting in increased production of adipic acid.
In view of 111A and UNI1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell of the claims of the reference application by using the microorganism of 111A and the enzyme of UNI1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the microorganism of the reference application and the microorganism of 111A are both microorganisms genetically modified for the production of adipic acid, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the claim of the reference application. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the microorganism of the claim of the reference application with the microorganism of 111A, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because the claim of the reference application and 111A disclose microorganisms genetically modified to produce adipic acid.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the enzyme of the 111A and the enzyme of UNI1 both have 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the combined microorganism of the reference application and 111A. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the enzyme of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and UNI1 disclose enzymes with 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity.
In view of Zhao and Zhao2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined cell of 111A and UNI1 by deleting the endogenous gene encoding PK, as disclosed by Zhao and Zhao2, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to carry out the genetic modification of gene removal as disclosed by Zhao on the gene of Zhao2 to impair activity of PK, because Zhao2 discloses this modification increases succinate titer, and Zhao discloses increased carbon flow through succinyl-CoA is a metabolic engineering strategy to increase adipate production. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and Zhao relate to strategies for improving adipate production, and Zhao and Zhao2 relate to strategies for tuning carbon through succinyl-CoA.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 6 is newly provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 and 19 of co-pending Application 18/848396 in view of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 above, and further in view of Parthasarathy
The instant rejection is newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
The claims of the reference application and the disclosures of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 are discussed above. The claims of the reference application do not recite a microorganism with an ability to generate a-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA.
Parthasarathy discusses substrate specificity of 2-hydroxyglutaryl-CoA dehydratase for the production of adipic acid [title], wherein it is described that expression of six genes from two glutamate fermenting clostridia can also be used to dehydrate the 2-hydroxyapidic acid CoA thioester to 2-hexendioic acid, an unsaturated precursor of the biotechnologically valuable adipic acid [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 6 and the limitation of generating alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA, Parthasarathy discloses the production of alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA via the activity of the enzymes glutaconate CoA-transferase (GctAB) from Acidaminococcus fermentans [p 3540, col 1, para 2], the scheme of which is shown in the [Figure within the abstract, and Figure 1].
In view of Parthasarathy, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of the reference application with the genes GctAB, as disclosed by Parthasarathy, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the claims of reference application, because Parthasarathy discloses that expression of six genes from two glutamate fermenting clostridia can also be used to dehydrate the 2-hydroxyapidic acid CoA thioester to 2-hexendioic acid, an unsaturated precursor of the biotechnologically valuable adipic acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the claims of the reference application, 111A and Parthasarathy are related to engineering microorganisms to produce adipate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
B. Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 are newly provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application 17/924145 in view of 111A, UNI1, Zhao, Zhao2 and evidentiary references Vuoristo and Beuno.
The instant rejection is newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites a genetically modified microorganism belonging to the genus Escherichia, comprising a gene encoding a mutated protein in which the amino acid residue corresponding to position 84 in the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 is substituted from alanine to another amino acid, wherein said genetically modified Escherichia microorganism further comprises a gene encoding an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA to 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and coenzyme A, an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of 3-oxoadipyl-CoA to 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA, an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA to 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA, an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA to adipyl-CoA, an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA to 3-hydroxyadipic acid, an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA to a-hydromuconic acid and/or an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of adipyl-CoA to adipic acid.
The claims of the reference application do not recite a polypeptide with the sequence limitations of the instant claims and the impairment of PykA and/or PykF activity.
111A discusses microorganisms to produce adipic acid and other compounds [title], and discloses non-naturally occurring microorganisms with an adipate pathway and methods to produce adipate [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 1, 111A discloses a genetically modified E. coli strain for the production of adipate wherein the strain has been engineered by introducing nucleic acids encoding enzymes that include PaaH, a 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2-3] which is used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA [p 15, para 5]. Therefore 111A discloses the introduction of nucleic acid encoding polypeptides used for the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA via genetic modification in order for the organism to produce adipate.
Regarding instant claim 1 and the limitation of PykA and/or PykF activity, 111A describes the engineering of an organism for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. One of skill in the art would be expected to reason that acetyl-CoA is produced from pyruvate, and pyruvate is produced from phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) via pyruvate kinase (PK) activity as evidenced by Vuoristo [Figure 1A depicting conventional glucose metabolism], wherein PK corresponds to the protein encoded by the genes pykA and/or pykF [instant specification, para 0009].
Regarding instant claim 1, UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that shares 94.3% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 [see Appendix A], and as the polypeptide of UNI1 is encompassed by the sequence requirements of the claim, it is considered to have the enzymatic activity of catalyzing the reduction of 3-OA-CoA to 3-HA-CoA, as the function of the polypeptide is presumed to be inherent to its structure (see MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Zhao relates to the metabolic engineering of E. coli for producing adipic acid through the reverse adipate-degradation pathway [title], and discusses that adipic acid is an important molecule used in the production of nylon fibers and resins, and the elimination of pathways for major metabolites competing for carbon flux in an engineered organism aimed at the accumulation of succinyl-CoA resulted in the highest adipate acid titer reported in E. coli [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 1, Zhao discloses enhancing the carbon flow through the TCA cycle to produce more succinyl-CoA via the genetic modification to remove sucD responsible for cycling succinyl-CoA, wherein accumulated succinyl-CoA can be shunted out of the TCA to react with acetyl-CoA to produce 3-OA-CoA that is further reduced to 3-HA-CoA on the path to adipate production [Figure 1].
Zhao2 relates to the optimization of central carbon metabolism for engineering succinate production in E. coli [title], and discusses succinate as an important chemical for the synthesis of high value products, and optimizing central carbon metabolism at the PEP node improves succinate production [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 1, Zhao2 discloses the use of small RNA (sRNA) to interfere with pykF translation to pyruvate kinase (PK), an enzyme responsible for converting phosphoenol pyruvate (PEP) to pyruvate [Figure 1], in order to fine tune its activity to increase succinate production [p 5, col 2, para 2], and noted an increase in succinate titer compared to a control that did not have impaired pyruvate kinase activity [Figure 4D, and p 6, col 2, para 1]. One of skill in the art would recognize that increased succinate titer through this pathway would involve carbon flow from PEP to oxaloacetate (OAA) and subsequently through the TCA through succinyl-CoA as well [Figure 1]. As such, Zhao2 is considered to disclose the impairment of PK activity via disrupted translation. Additionally, Zhao2 discloses the inactivation and mutation of genes involved in the phosphotransfer system (PTS) is beneficial to succinate production [p 2, col 2, para 3].
Furthermore, as Zhao2 discloses reduced pykF translation increases succinate production, and Zhao discloses the removal of sucD impairs the sucD function to increase succinate yield, one of skill in the art would be motivated to reducing pykF translation as disclosed by Zhao2 by removing the gene as disclosed by Zhao, as one of skill in the art would recognize that both gene deletion and the use of sRNA are techniques for impairing gene translation.
In view of 111A and UNI1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell of the claims of the reference application by using the microorganism of 111A and the enzyme of UNI1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the microorganism of the reference application and the microorganism of 111A are both microorganisms genetically modified for the production of adipic acid, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the claim of the reference application. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the microorganism of the claim of the reference application with the microorganism of 111A, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because the claim of the reference application and 111A disclose microorganisms genetically modified to produce adipic acid.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the enzyme of the 111A and the enzyme of UNI1 both have 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the combined microorganism of the reference application and 111A. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the enzyme of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and UNI1 disclose enzymes with 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity.
In view of Zhao and Zhao2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined cell of the reference application, 111A and UNI1 by deleting the endogenous gene encoding PK, as disclosed by Zhao and Zhao2, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to carry out the genetic modification of gene removal as disclosed by Zhao on the gene of Zhao2 to impair activity of PK, because Zhao2 discloses this modification increases succinate titer, and Zhao discloses increased carbon flow through succinyl-CoA is a metabolic engineering strategy to increase adipate production. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and Zhao relate to strategies for improving adipate production, and Zhao and Zhao2 relate to strategies for tuning carbon through succinyl-CoA.
In view of the elected species
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is proline, and the 21st amino acid is methionine”
as recited in claim 3 being free of the prior art of record, the search and examination has been extended to the following species:
“relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 that the 13th amino acid is phenylalanine, the 15th amino acid is glutamine, the 16th amino acid is lysine, the 17th amino acid is glycine, the 19th amino acid is arginine, and the 21st amino acid is valine”.
Regarding instant claims 2-3, UNI1 discloses a 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA dehydrogenase enzyme from Serratia marcescens that contains the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 and relative to SEQ ID NO: 173 has a 13th amino acid of phenylalanine (F), 15th amino acid of glutamine (Q), a 16th amino acid of lysine (K), a 17th amino acid of glycine (G), a 19th amino acid of arginine (R), and a 21st amino acid of valine (V) [see Appendix B].
Regarding instant claim 4, claim 1 of the reference application recites the organism belongs to the genus Escherichia.
Regarding instant claim 5, the combined microorganism of the reference application, 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 has the ability to generate 3-oxoadipyl-CoA and CoA from acetyl-CoA and succinyl-CoA and 3-hydroxyadipic acid from 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA [p 7, para 3 of 111A].
Regarding instant claim 7, 111A describes in Example IX the generation of a genetically modified microorganism capable of carrying out the 3-oxoadipate pathway [p 30, paras 1-2 under heading Example IX] characterized by Figure 2, which show the reactions of converting 3-hydroxyadipyl-CoA to 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA and further converting 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA to adipyl-CoA [reactions 3 and 4 of Figure 2].
Regarding instant claim 8, the combined microorganism of the reference application, 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as described above is engineered for the reverse adipate degradation pathway [p 20, section “Example II”, para 2, pathway shown in Figure 2 in 111A], wherein the initial reaction involves the consumption of acetyl-CoA and ultimately produces adipic acid in addition to oxidizing NADH to NAD+ along the way. It is understood in the art that acetyl-CoA plays a role in central metabolism for feeding into the TCA cycle to ultimately reduce NAD+ to NADH as part of the generation of energy [as evidenced by Vuoristo, p 191, para 2 and Figure 1A], wherein these reduced NADH molecules are oxidized again to NAD+ during respiration as part of the activity of the phosphotransfer system enzyme ATPase to produce ATP [as evidenced by Bueno, Fig 1A]. Therefore one of skill in the art would recognize a reverse adipate degradation pathway which consumes acetyl-CoA would thereby reduce the activity of the TCA cycle, further reducing the activity of the phosphotransfer system enzyme ATPase used to generate ATP via respiration. Therefore, the combined microorganism of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 satisfies the limitations recited in the claim.
Regarding instant claim 14, the cell of instant claim 14 is substantially similar to the cell of instant claim 1, except the cell of instant claim 14 is limited to additionally have increased production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid as a result of said genetic modifications. As such the limitations in common with claim 1 are discussed above.
Regarding instant claim 14 and the limitation of production of 3-hydroxyadipic acid, α-hydromuconic acid or adipic acid is increased by said genetic modification, 111A describes in Example V [p 25, para 3] a modified E. coli cell with three introduced heterologous genes, wherein the cell is capable of forming adipic acid, which is considered to correspond to a genetic mutation resulting in increased production of adipic acid.
In view of 111A and UNI1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell of the claims of the reference application by using the microorganism of 111A and the enzyme of UNI1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the microorganism of the reference application and the microorganism of 111A are both microorganisms genetically modified for the production of adipic acid, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the claim of the reference application. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the microorganism of the claim of the reference application with the microorganism of 111A, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because the claim of the reference application and 111A disclose microorganisms genetically modified to produce adipic acid.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the enzyme of the 111A and the enzyme of UNI1 both have 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity, and as such both are capable of being incorporated into the combined microorganism of the reference application and 111A. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the enzyme of 111A with the enzyme of UNI1, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and UNI1 disclose enzymes with 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity.
In view of Zhao and Zhao2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined cell of 111A and UNI1 by deleting the endogenous gene encoding PK, as disclosed by Zhao and Zhao2, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to carry out the genetic modification of gene removal as disclosed by Zhao on the gene of Zhao2 to impair activity of PK, because Zhao2 discloses this modification increases succinate titer, and Zhao discloses increased carbon flow through succinyl-CoA is a metabolic engineering strategy to increase adipate production. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 111A and Zhao relate to strategies for improving adipate production, and Zhao and Zhao2 relate to strategies for tuning carbon through succinyl-CoA.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 6 is newly provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable claim 1 of co-pending Application 17/924145 in view of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 above, and further in view of Parthasarathy
The instant rejection is newly stated and necessitated by claim amendment.
The claims of the reference application and the disclosures of 111A, UNI1, Zhao and Zhao2 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 are discussed above. The claims of the reference application do not recite a microorganism with an ability to generate a-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA.
Parthasarathy discusses substrate specificity of 2-hydroxyglutaryl-CoA dehydratase for the production of adipic acid [title], wherein it is described that expression of six genes from two glutamate fermenting clostridia can also be used to dehydrate the 2-hydroxyapidic acid CoA thioester to 2-hexendioic acid, an unsaturated precursor of the biotechnologically valuable adipic acid [abstract].
Regarding instant claim 6 and the limitation of generating alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA, Parthasarathy discloses the production of alpha-hydromuconic acid from 2,3-dehydroadipyl-CoA via the activity of the enzymes glutaconate CoA-transferase (GctAB) from Acidaminococcus fermentans [p 3540, col 1, para 2], the scheme of which is shown in the [Figure within the abstract, and Figure 1].
In view of Parthasarathy, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of the reference application with the genes GctAB, as disclosed by Parthasarathy, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the claims of reference application, because Parthasarathy discloses that expression of six genes from two glutamate fermenting clostridia can also be used to dehydrate the 2-hydroxyapidic acid CoA thioester to 2-hexendioic acid, an unsaturated precursor of the biotechnologically valuable adipic acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the claims of the reference application, 111A and Parthasarathy are related to engineering microorganisms to produce adipate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Remarks: beginning on page 10 of Applicant’s response to double patenting rejections; Applicant in summary request the rejections be held in abeyance until the allowable subject matter is found.
Applicant’s request is acknowledged, and the rejections above have been updated in view of the current amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Status of the Application:
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-8 and 14 are rejected.
No claim is in condition for allowance.
/JOSEPH R SPANGLER/
Examiner
Art Unit 1656
/David Steadman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656
APPENDIX A
SEQUENCE ALIGNMENT OF SEQ ID NO: 2 WITH UNIPROT ACCESSION NO. A0A2V4GCF0_SERMA (REFERENCE UNI1)
APPENDIX B
SEQUENCE ALIGNMENT OF SEQ ID NO: 173 WITH UNIPROT ACCESSION NO. A0A2V4GCF0_SERMA (REFERENCE UNI1)