DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of WO 2021/256587, the WIPO publication of PCT/KR2020/007949 filed June 19, 2020.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks and Claim Amendments filed September 11, 2025.
Claims Filing Date
September 11, 2025
Amended
1
Cancelled
2-3
Pending
1, 4-7
Withdrawn
4-7
Under Examination
1
The applicant argues the claim 1 amendment is supported by [0033] of applicant’s specification (Remarks p. 4 para. 4 Support).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues performing QST within the 765°C-800°C temperature range is critical to achieving the invention’s property profile including high-temperature yield strength of at least 273 MPa at 600°C, a yield ratio ≤ 0.8, and impact toughness ≥ 200 J at 0°C, where comparative examples (Composition Systems 1 vs. 2) depart from the claimed ranges of at least one of these properties (Remarks para. spanning pp. 5-6).
In applicant’s Table 2, Comparative Examples 3-6 have tensile strength, yield strength, and yield ratio within the scope of the claimed properties, despite performing QST outside of the temperature range of 765°C-800°C. Further, applicant’s Table 2 presents the high temperature yield strength at 600°C as a range of values, where the ranges for Comparative Examples 3-5 overlap with the claim scope of being at least 273 MPa. Therefore, it appears that performing QST outside the 765°C-800°C temperature range achieves the claimed invention’s property profile.
Further, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” MPEP 716.02(d). Applicant’s objective evidence includes one inventive Example 1 with one inventive composition with a QST of 785°C, such that the object evidence is not commensurate in scope with the claims because it does not span the range of claimed compositions and it does not span the argued QST range of 765°C-800°C.
Also, to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. MPEP 716.02(d)(II). The data presented in applicant’s specification is insufficient to establish criticality. For example, a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the argued QST temperature range of 765°C-800°C has not been presented.
Therefore, the data in applicant’s specification does not establish unexpected results of the claimed section steel.
Kimura
The applicant argues the controlled thermal regime of producing the claimed section steel by a continuous quenching-and-self-tempering (QST) process in which both the water-cooling end temperature and the self-tempering temperature fall within a narrow window of 765°C to 800°C are not taught by Kimura (Remarks para. spanning pp. 4-5) because Kimura rapidly cools to about 500°C or lower to promote bainite formation, which suppresses self-tempering by residual heat in the 765°C to 800°C and teaches away from the claimed QST (Remarks p. 5 para. 2).
The pending claims are directed to a section steel product. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113(I).
Kimura discloses a section steel (p. 1 paras. 1-2) with an overlapping composition (p. 2 para. 3 to p. 3 para. 3), a final microstructure of bainite (p. 3 para. 4), and with overlapping properties of tensile strength, yield strength, yield ratio, and shock absorption energy at a temperature of 0°C (p. 4 para. 2, Table 2). Since the claimed composition, microstructure, and properties are disclosed by the prior art, then, absent evidence to the contrary, the section steel of the prior art (Kimura) is obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C.
Suwa in view of Ichikawa
The applicant argues the controlled thermal regime of producing the claimed section steel by a continuous quenching-and-self-tempering (QST) process in which both the water-cooling end temperature and the self-tempering temperature fall within a narrow window of 765°C to 800°C are not taught by Suwa in view of Ichikawa (Remarks para. spanning pp. 4-5) because Suwa employs a dual-stage thermal schedule of reheating above 600°C followed by secondary quenching, which does not leverage residual heat for self-tempering in as in the claimed continuous QST treatment and does not specify the 765°C-800°C (Remarks p. 5 para. 3).
The pending claims are directed to a section steel product. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113(I).
Suwa in view of Ichikawa discloses a section steel (Suwa [0001], [0008]; Ichikawa [0001]) with an overlapping composition (Suwa [0010]-[0032]; Ichikawa [0033], [0036]), a final microstructure of bainite (Suwa [00009], [0029], [0038]), with overlapping properties of tensile strength, yield strength, and high-temperature yield strength at a temperature of 600°C (Suwa examples Tables 2, 4), and a desired low yield ratio (Suwa [0006], [0026]). Therefore, since the claimed composition, microstructure, and properties are disclosed by the prior art, then, absent evidence to the contrary, the section steel of the prior art (Suwa in view of Ichikawa) is obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C.
Yamamoto ‘473
The applicant argues the controlled thermal regime of producing the claimed section steel by a continuous quenching-and-self-tempering (QST) process in which both the water-cooling end temperature and the self-tempering temperature fall within a narrow window of 765°C to 800°C are not taught by Yamamoto ‘473 (Remarks para. spanning pp. 4-5) because Yamamoto ‘473 does not disclose a QST process in which both the water-cooling end temperature and the self-tempering temperature are controlled within 765°C-800°C (Remarks p.5 para. 4).
The pending claims are directed to a section steel product. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113(I).
Yamamoto ‘473 discloses a section steel ([0005]-[0009], [0027]) with an overlapping composition ([0006], [0009]-[0021]), a final microstructure of bainite ([0005]-[0008]), and with overlapping properties of tensile strength, yield strength, yield ratio at room temperature, high-temperature yield strength at 600°C, and shock absorption energy at 0°C ([0034], Tables 6, 8). Therefore, since the claimed composition, microstructure, and properties are disclosed by the prior art, then, absent evidence to the contrary, the section steel of the prior art (Yamamoto ‘473) is obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C.
Minagawa
The applicant argues Minagawa does not disclose a QST process in which both the water-cooling end temperature and the self-tempering temperature are controlled within 765°C-800°C (Remarks p.5 para. 4).
Miagawa is cited as related art. A rejection is not made over Minagawa, such that applicant’s arguments are not directed to a pending rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (JP 2004-256894 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a section steel (p. 1 paras. 1-2) with an overlapping composition (p. 2 para. 3 to p. 3 para. 3), wherein a final microstructure of the section steel comprises bainite (p. 3 para. 4).
With respect to tensile strength (TS), yield strength (YP), yield ratio (YR), and shock absorption (Charpy impact) at a temperature of 0°C (vE0), the examples in Kimura (p. 4 para. 2, Table 2) overlap with the respectively claimed ranges, rendering the tensile strength, yield strength, yield ratio, and shock absorption energy at a temperature of 0°C prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The high-temperature yield strength at 600°C being 273 MPa or greater has been considered and determined to recite a property of the claimed section steel. The prior art discloses a substantially similar product (section steel with an overlapping composition, Kimura p. 1 paras. 1-2, p. 2 para. 3 to p. 3 para. 3), such that the claimed properties naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including the high-temperature yield strength at 600°C. This position is supported by the overlapping tensile strength, yield strength, yield ratio, and shock absorption at a temperature of 0°C of the prior art product (Kimura Table 2) with that claimed.
The claims are directed to a section steel product. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113(I). The limitation of the section steel being obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C has been considered. Kimura discloses a section steel (p. 1 paras. 1-2) with an overlapping composition (p. 2 para. 3 to p. 3 para. 3), a final microstructure of bainite (p. 3 para. 4), and with overlapping properties of tensile strength, yield strength, yield ratio, and shock absorption energy at a temperature of 0°C (p. 4 para. 2, Table 2). Therefore, since the claimed composition, microstructure, and properties are disclosed by the prior art, then the section steel of the prior art (Kimura) is obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C.
Feature
Claim 1
Kimura Disclosure
Kimura Citation
C
0.16 to 0.17 wt%
0.01 to 0.20 mass%
p. 3 para. 2
Mn
1.38 to 1.60 wt%
0.1 to 3.0
p. 3 para. 2
Si
0.20 to 0.50 wt%
0.05 to 1.0
p. 3 para. 2
Cr
0.62 to 0.70 wt%
1.0 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 3
Cu
0.2 to 0.5 wt%
3.0 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 3
Mo
0.35 to 0.70 wt%
1.0 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 3
P
0.019 to 0.02 wt%
0.030 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 2
S
0.009 to 0.01 wt%
0.030 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 2
N
0.01 to 0.012 wt%
0.010 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 3
B
0.002 to 0.003 wt%
0.0040 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 3
Ni, V, Nb, and/or Ti
0.01 to 0.5 wt%
Ni: 5.0 or less mass%
V: 0.1 or less mass%
Nb: 0.1 or less mass%
Ti: 0.1 or less mass%
p. 3 para. 3
Fe
Remainder
Balance
p. 2 para. 3
Tensile strength
490 to 620 MPa
500 to 672 MPa
Table 2
Yield strength
355 MPa or greater
302 to 459 MPa
Table 2
Yield ratio at room temperature
0.8 or less
0.55 to 0.68
Table 2
High-temperature yield strength at 600°
273 MPa or greater
-
-
Shock absorption energy at 0°
200 J or greater
100 to 221 J
Table 2
Microstructure
Bainite
Bainite
p. 3 para. 4
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa (JP 2001-279323 machine translation) in view of Ichikawa (JP 2016-141834 with citations from JP 6409598 B2 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Suwa discloses a section steel ([0001], [0008]) with an overlapping composition ([0010]-[0032]), wherein a final microstructure of the section steel comprises bainite ([0009], [0029], [0038]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The P content of the examples in Suwa overlap with the claimed range, rendering the P content prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The S and N contents of the examples in Suwa do not overlap with the respectively claimed ranges.
Ichikawa discloses a section steel ([0001]) comprising 0.0010 to 0.0150 % N ([0033]) and 0.02% or less S ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the steel of Suwa to limit the N to 0.0010 to 0.0150% and the S to 0.02% or less because 0.0010 to 0.0150% N contributes to grain refinement and precipitation strengthening without decreasing the toughness of the base material, causing surface cracks during casting and poor material properties due to strain aging (Ichikawa [0033]) and 0.02% or less S is an impurity that is limited to prevent weld cracks and reduced toughness due to solidification segregation (Ichikawa [0036]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
With respect to tensile strength, yield strength, and high-temperature yield strength at a temperature of 600°C, the examples in Suwa overlap with the respectively claimed ranges, rendering the tensile strength, yield strength, and high-temperature yield strength at a temperature of 600°C prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
With respect to the claimed property of yield ratio at room temperature, Suwa discloses prior art section steels with low yield ratio ([0006]) and within the inventive steel of Suwa limiting the Nb content so that it does not make it difficult to reduce the yield ratio ([0026]). Further, the prior art discloses a substantially similar product (section steel with an overlapping composition, Suwa [0001], [0008], [0010]-[0032]), such that the claimed properties naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including the yield ratio and a shock absorption of 200 J or greater at a temperature of 0°C. This position is supported by the overlapping tensile strength, yield strength, and high-temperature yield strength at a temperature of 600°C of the prior art product (Suwa Tables 2, 4) with that claimed.
The claims are directed to a section steel product. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113(I). The limitation of the section steel being obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C has been considered. Suwa in view of Ichikawa discloses a section steel (Suwa [0001], [0008]; Ichikawa [0001]) with an overlapping composition (Suwa [0010]-[0032]; Ichikawa [0033], [0036]), a final microstructure of bainite (Suwa [00009], [0029], [0038]), with overlapping properties of tensile strength, yield strength, and high-temperature yield strength at a temperature of 600°C (Suwa examples Tables 2, 4), and a desired low yield ratio (Suwa [0006], [0026]). Therefore, since the claimed composition, microstructure, and properties are disclosed by the prior art, then the section steel of the prior art (Suwa in view of Ichikawa) is obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C.
Feature
Claim 1
Suwa Disclosure
Suwa Citation
C
0.16 to 0.17 wt%
0.02 to 0.20 mass%
[0017]
Mn
1.38 to 1.60 wt%
0.8 to 1.8 mass%
[0019]
Si
0.20 to 0.50 wt%
0.05 to 0.7 mass%
[0018]
Cr
0.62 to 0.70 wt%
0.05 to 1.0 mass%
[0025]
Cu
0.2 to 0.5 wt%
0.02 to 1.5 mass%
[0023]
Mo
0.35 to 0.70 wt%
0.3 to 0.7 mass%
[0020]
P
0.019 to 0.02 wt%
0.015 to 0.025 mass%
Tables 1, 3
S
0.009 to 0.01 wt%
0.002 to 0.004 mass%
Tables 1, 3
N
0.01 to 0.012 wt%
0.0029 to 0.0053 mass%
Tables 1, 3
B
0.002 to 0.003 wt%
0.0005 to 0.003 mass%
[0029]
Ni, V, Nb, and/or Ti
0.01 to 0.5 wt%
Ni: 0.02 to 1.5 mass%
V: 0.005 to 0.3 mass%
Nb: 0.005 to 0.1 mass%
Ti: 0.005 to 0.1 mass%
[0024]
[0027]
[0026]
[0028]
Fe
Remainder
Balance
[0014]
Tensile strength
490 to 620 MPa
509 to 628 MPa
Tables 2, 4
Yield strength
355 MPa or greater
382 to 480 MPa
Tables 2, 4
Yield ratio at room temperature
0.8 or less
-
-
High-temperature yield strength at 600°
273 MPa or greater
222 to 312 MPa
Tables 2, 4
Shock absorption energy at 0°
200 J or greater
-
-
Microstructure
Bainite
Bainite
[0009], [0029], [0038]
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto ‘473 (JP H07-90473 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto ‘473 discloses a section steel ([0005]-[0009], [0027]) with an overlapping composition ([0006], [0009]-[0021]) and overlapping claimed properties ([0034], Tables 6, 8), wherein a final microstructure of the section steel comprises bainite ([0005]-[0008]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The claims are directed to a section steel product. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. MPEP 2113(I). The limitation of the section steel being obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C has been considered. Yamamoto ‘473 discloses a section steel ([0005]-[0009], [0027]) with an overlapping composition ([0006], [0009]-[0021]), a final microstructure of bainite ([0005]-[0008]), and with overlapping properties of tensile strength, yield strength, yield ratio at room temperature, high-temperature yield strength at 600°C, and shock absorption energy at 0°C ([0034], Tables 6, 8). Therefore, since the claimed composition, microstructure, and properties are disclosed by the prior art, then the section steel of the prior art (Yamamoto ‘473) is obtainable by a quenching and self-tempering treatment having a water-cooling end temperature and a self-tempering temperature in the range of 765°C to 800°C.
Feature
Claim 1
Yamamoto ‘473 Disclosure
Yamamoto ‘473 Citation
C
0.16 to 0.17 wt%
0.04 to 0.20 wt%
[0009]
Mn
1.38 to 1.60 wt%
0.5 to 1.8 wt%
[0010]
Si
0.20 to 0.50 wt%
0.05 to 0.50 wt%
[0010]
Cr
0.62 to 0.70 wt%
1.0 wt% or less
[0020]
Cu
0.2 to 0.5 wt%
1.0 wt% or less
[0021]
Mo
0.35 to 0.70 wt%
4.0 to 1.0 wt%
[0011]
P
0.019 to 0.02 wt%
Less than 0.02 wt%
[0019]
S
0.009 to 0.01 wt%
Less than 0.02 wt%
[0019]
N
0.01 to 0.012 wt%
0.004 to 0.015 wt%
[0012]
B
0.002 to 0.003 wt%
0.003 wt% or less
[0021]
Ni, V, Nb, and/or Ti
0.01 to 0.5 wt%
Ni: 0.1 to 2.0 wt%
V: 0.05 to 0.2 wt%
Nb
Ti: 0.005 to 0.025 wt%
[0015], [0019]
[0011]
[0013]
Fe
Remainder
Balance
[0006]
Tensile strength
490 to 620 MPa
541 to 627 MPa
Tables 6, 8
Yield strength
355 MPa or greater
389 to 453 MPa
Tables 6, 8
Yield ratio at room temperature
0.8 or less
0.8 or less
[0034], Tables 6, 8
High-temperature yield strength at 600°
273 MPa or greater
281 to 327 MPa
Tables 6, 8
Shock absorption energy at 0°
200 J or greater
103 to 254 J
Tables 6, 8
Microstructure
Bainite
Bainite
[0005]-[0008]
Related Art
Minagawa (JP 2006-002211 machine translation)
Minagawa discloses steel ([0001]) with an overlapping composition ([0009], [0014]-[0032]), properties (Table 3), and microstructure ([0010]-[0011]).
Feature
Claim 1
Minagawa Disclosure
Minagawa Citation
C
0.16 to 0.17 wt%
0.05 to 0.20 mass%
[0015]
Mn
1.38 to 1.60 wt%
0.6 to 2.0 mass%
[0017]
Si
0.20 to 0.50 wt%
0.05 to 1.0 mass%
[0016]
Cr
0.62 to 0.70 wt%
0.05 to 1.0 mass%
[0028]
Cu
0.2 to 0.5 wt%
0.05 to 1.5 mass%
[0028]
Mo
0.35 to 0.70 wt%
<= 0.50 mass%
[0023]
P
0.019 to 0.02 wt%
<= 0.025 mass%
[0020]
S
0.009 to 0.01 wt%
<= 0.010 mass%
[0020]
N
0.01 to 0.012 wt%
0.0010 to 0.0080 mass%
[0019]
B
0.002 to 0.003 wt%
0.0002 to 0.0030 mass%
[0031]
Ni, V, Nb, and/or Ti
0.01 to 0.5 wt%
Ni: 0.05 to 3.5 mass%
V: 0.005 to 0.10 mass%
Nb: 0.003 to 0.050 mass%
Ti: 0.005 to 0.10 mass%
[0029]
[0023]
[0022]
[0030]
Fe
Remainder
Balance
[0009]
Tensile strength
490 to 620 MPa
562 to 805 N/mm2
Table 3
Yield strength
355 MPa or greater
469 to 673 N/mm2
Table 3
Yield ratio at room temperature
0.8 or less
-
-
High-temperature yield strength at 600°
273 MPa or greater
380 to 518 N/mm2 at 400°
Table 3
Shock absorption energy at 0°
200 J or greater
-
-
Microstructure
Bainite
Bainite
[0010]-[0011]
Yamamoto ‘901 (JP H08-283901 machine translation)
Yamamoto ‘901 discloses a section steel ([0001]) with an overlapping composition ([0009], [0012]-[0021]) and overlapping claimed properties ([0031], Tables 6, 7), wherein a final microstructure of the section steel comprises bainite ([0005]-[0006], [0010]).
Feature
Claim 1
Yamamoto ‘901 Disclosure
Yamamoto ‘901 Citation
C
0.16 to 0.17 wt%
0.04 to 0.20 wt%
[0012]
Mn
1.38 to 1.60 wt%
0.4 to 1.8 wt%
[0009]
Si
0.20 to 0.50 wt%
0.05 to 0.50 wt%
[0013]
Cr
0.62 to 0.70 wt%
1.0 wt% or less
[0020]
Cu
0.2 to 0.5 wt%
1.0 wt% Cu or less
[0020]
Mo
0.35 to 0.70 wt%
0.4 to 1.0 wt%
[0014]
P
0.019 to 0.02 wt%
0.02 wt% or less
[0019]
S
0.009 to 0.01 wt%
0.02 wt% or less
[0019]
N
0.01 to 0.012 wt%
0.004 to 0.015 wt%
[0014]
B
0.002 to 0.003 wt%
-
-
Ni, V, Nb, and/or Ti
0.01 to 0.5 wt%
Ni: 2.0 wt% or less
V: 0.1 wt% or less
Nb: 0.01 wt% or less
Ti: 0.005 to 0.025 wt%
[0021]
[0021]
[0021]
[0015]
Fe
Remainder
Balance
[0009]
Tensile strength
490 to 620 MPa
510 to 582 MPa
Tables 6, 8
Yield strength
355 MPa or greater
350 to 421 MPa
Tables 6, 8
Yield ratio at room temperature
0.8 or less
0.66 to 0.73
Tables 6, 8
High-temperature yield strength at 600°
273 MPa or greater
252 to 303 MPa
Tables 6, 8
Shock absorption energy at 0°
200 J or greater
187 to 297 J
Tables 6, 8
Microstructure
Bainite
Bainite
[0005]-[0006], [0010]
Chung (KR 20200012145 machine translation)
Chung discloses a high strength and high-performance section steel ([0001]) with an overlapping composition ([0005]-[0006], [0016]-[0046], [0053]-[0054]) and a microstructure that includes bainite ([0005]) manufactured by quenching and self-tempering (QST) at 630 to 810°C ([0008], [0010], [0057]-[0058]) with a yield strength of 355 MPa or more, a tensile strength of 490 MPa or more, a yield ratio of 0.80 or less, and a yield strength at high temperature of 600°C that is more than 2/3 the yield strength at room temperature ([0047], [0060]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735