DETAILED ACTION
A summary of this action:
Claims 1-7 have been presented for examination.
This action is Final.
Response to Arguments
Following Applicants arguments and amendments, and in light of the 2019 Patent Eligibility guidance, the 101 rejection of the Claims is Maintained.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant’s arguments directed to 101 rejection are based on newly amended subject matter." Applicant argues that claim 1 as a whole cannot be performed in the human mind because scanning accuracy of the lidar is required to reach 400,000 dots per second and a resolution of the panoramic camera is required to reach 20 million pixels and is well integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, Applicant argues that the claimed method greatly improves the accuracy of visual perception evaluations, and avoids the subjectivity of conventional manual methods where claim 1 provides significant improvements in the technical field of dynamic interactive simulation of urban viewing corridor using VR technology.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectively disagrees because Applicant’s proposed claim 1 amendments include a scanning a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space, having a lidar and panoramic camera, and combining the current three-dimensional rate scene data elements that constitute Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. Even if Applicant’s proposed amendments could not be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, the proposed claim limitations are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Therefore, the 101 rejection of the claims is Maintained.
Following Applicants arguments and amendments, the 103 rejection of the claims is Maintained.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant’s arguments directed the 103 rejection are based on newly amended subject matter and argues that the prior art references used for claims 1-7 are traversed because the CHEN reference does not disclose or suggest the claim 1 scanning a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space and argues that the SuperMap platform in the CAO reference is different from combining the current 3D real scene data in Applicant’s proposed claimed amendments.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because the combination of the prior art references including CHEN discloses the scanning a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space limitation. Although the SuperMap platform in the CAO may be different from Applicant’s claim limitation of combining the current 3D scene data, Examiner’s broadest reasonable interpretation of the CAO reference provides sufficient and persuasive evidence that the CAO prior art reference teaches Applicant’s claim limitations. All arguments are addressed in the 103 rejection of the claims below.
Therefore, the 103 rejection is Maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental process or mathematical concept without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-7 are directed to a method, which is a process and is a statutory category invention. Therefore, claims 1-7 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Claim 1
Step 2A, Prong 1: Independent claim 1 recites an abstract idea because the claim is derived from Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Claim 1 has the limitation constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads, cover mental processes including following a series of steps that pertain to constructing a sand table based on vector data as described in [Summary | Page 3 ] of the specification.
Claim 1 has the limitation creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance, calculating a blocking point set, acquiring a three-dimensional view field of the viewing point, and obtaining an effective projection plane of a sight line of the viewing point, cover mental processes including evaluating the viewing point and a maximum visual distance as described in the [DETAILED DESCRIPTION| Page 8] of the specification or in the alternative “Mathematical Concepts” including quantifying the coordinates O (x,y,z) of the viewing point by using a maximum visible distance R in a current environment as a radius as described in [Label (21) | Page 4] of the specification.
Claim 1 has the limitation extracting a visual three-dimensional road model, calculating projection curvatures of road centerlines at points equidistant from each other, and screening and recognizing a viewing corridor cover mental processes including following a series of steps that pertain to extracting a visual three-dimensional road model, calculating projection curvatures of road centerlines at points equidistant from each other, and screening and recognizing a viewing corridor as described in [Label (3) | Page 3 ] of the specification.
Thus, the claims recite the abstract idea of a mental process performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Dependent claims 2-7 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims. See analysis below.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 5 recites the additional element of “device" as in dependent claim 5, "externally connected drawing device" as in dependent claim 7, "auxiliary device" as in dependent claim 7, “measuring device” as in dependent claim 7, “built-in global positioning system (GPS) device” as in dependent claim 7, “fixing device” as in dependent claim 7, “sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device” as in dependent claim 7, “computer analysis device” as in dependent claim 7, “dedicated drawing device” as in dependent claim 7, this limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Alternatively, this additional element merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional limitation of scanning a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space with a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner, having a lidar and a panoramic camera, creating current three-dimensional real scene data based on the scanned recognized current urban viewing corridor space, and inputting the collected real scene to a three dimensional interactive display platform, in independent claim 1, can be viewed as mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions. MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitation of combining the current three-dimensional rea scene data with the visual three-dimensional road model to generate a new planning scheme, inputting the generated new planning scheme to the three-dimensional interactive display platform, and simulating an urban viewing corridor with the planning scheme superimposed, in independent claim 1, can be viewed as mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions. MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitations of outputting, by using augmented reality glasses, a dynamic interactive VR scene of the urban viewing corridor space after the urban planning scheme is superimposed in independent claim 1, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional limitation of inputting the viewing corridor automatically recognized in step (3) to a two dimensional plane database, placing a 5 m * 5 m flat grid in the database and inputting the collected data to the SuperMap three-dimensional data platform by using a computer recited in claim 5, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional limitation of setting a plurality of viewing corridor points in the new three-dimensional model database according to the viewing corridor generated in step (3) recited in claim 6, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional limitations of outputting a view field image of the urban dynamic viewing corridor by using an externally connected dedicated drawing device, and inputting an urban dynamic viewing corridor at each designated measurement point and a number corresponding to the urban dynamic viewing corridor to an Excel form, to obtain standard measurement panel data, recited in claim 7, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Dependent claims 2-7 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims, and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application. Therefore, the dependent claims do not integrate the claimed invention into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claims do not amount to significantly more. The judicial exception does not amount to significantly more. Claim 5 recites the additional element of “device" as in dependent claim 5, "externally connected drawing device" as in dependent claim 7, "auxiliary device" as in dependent claim 7, “measuring device” as in dependent claim 7, “built-in global positioning system (GPS) device” as in dependent claim 7, “fixing device” as in dependent claim 7, “sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device” as in dependent claim 7, “computer analysis device” as in dependent claim 7, “dedicated drawing device” as in dependent claim 7, this limitation does not amount to significantly more because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Alternatively, this additional element merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional limitation of scanning a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space with a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner, having a lidar and a panoramic camera, creating current three-dimensional real scene data based on the scanned recognized current urban viewing corridor space, and inputting the collected real scene to a three dimensional interactive display platform, in independent claim 1, can be viewed as mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions. MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitation of combining the current three-dimensional rea scene data with the visual three-dimensional road model to generate a new planning scheme, inputting the generated new planning scheme to the three-dimensional interactive display platform, and simulating an urban viewing corridor with the planning scheme superimposed, in independent claim 1, can be viewed as mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions. MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitations of outputting, by using augmented reality glasses, a dynamic interactive VR scene of the urban viewing corridor space after the urban planning scheme is superimposed in independent claim 1, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not amount to significantly more.
The additional limitation of inputting the viewing corridor automatically recognized in step (3) to a two dimensional plane database, placing a 5 m * 5 m flat grid in the database and inputting the collected data to the SuperMap three-dimensional data platform by using a computer recited in claim 5, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not amount to significantly more.
The additional limitation of setting a plurality of viewing corridor points in the new three-dimensional model database according to the viewing corridor generated in step (3) recited in claim 6, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional limitations of outputting a view field image of the urban dynamic viewing corridor by using an externally connected dedicated drawing device, and inputting an urban dynamic viewing corridor at each designated measurement point and a number corresponding to the urban dynamic viewing corridor to an Excel form, to obtain standard measurement panel data, recited in claim 7, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Dependent claims 2-7 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims, and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in to determine whether they amount to significantly more. Therefore, the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, the claims as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As stated in Section I.B. of the December 16, 2014 101 Examination Guidelines, “[t]o be patent-eligible, a claim that is directed to a judicial exception must include additional features to ensure that the claim describes a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.”
The dependent claims include the same abstract ideas recited as recited in the independent claims, and merely incorporate additional details that narrow the abstract ideas and fail to add significantly more to the claims.
Dependent claim 2 recites “acquiring coordinates O (x, y, z) of the viewing point, wherein (x, y) are coordinate values of a plane where the viewing point is located, and z is a plane height of a highest point of a scene object where the viewing point is located; acquiring two-dimensional vector data comprising information about an urban terrain, an architecture, and a road within a certain range around an observation point, wherein the architecture data is a closed polygon and comprises information about a quantity of architecture storeys, and the road data comprises information about a centerline, a road width, and a road elevation point of each road,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 2 also recites “adjusting coordinates of the vector data to be consistent, loading the coordinates into a SuperMap platform, and performing stretching by using a storey height of 3 m based on the information about the architecture storeys, to obtain a three-dimensional architecture model,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
The additional limitation of generating a three-dimensional road model based on the information about the road centerline and the road elevation point and the road width value, so as to establish a basic sand table of the morphology data of the urban space and rasterizing, based on the obtained basic sand table of the morphology data of the urban space, a surface without the three-dimensional architecture model that is deemed a ground plane, in dependent claim 2, can be viewed as merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process or a mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 3 recites “creating a visual sphere according to the coordinates O (x, y, z) of the viewing point: creating the visual sphere by using a maximum visible distance R in a current environment as a radius, and drawing a vertical line from a center of the sphere to a surface of the sphere at an interval of an azimuth angle a, wherein the vertical line is deemed the sight line for observing the viewing point,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 3 also recites “acquiring a point of intersection 01 (x1, y1, z1) of each generated azimuth line and the covered three-dimensional architecture model in the sphere, wherein the point of intersection is deemed the blocking point of the sight line, and forming a blocking point set N {01, 02, 03, ... ,On}; and connecting all blocking points in the point set to acquire the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 3 also recites “performing upward lifting in unit of 1.6 m based on ground plane grids of the sand table, wherein the obtained plane grids are deemed a human viewing plane where the observation point is located; and performing projection onto the human viewing plane in a y axis direction according to the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point, wherein an obtained projection plane is denoted as the effective projection plane of the sight line of the viewing point,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 4 recites “calculating a point of intersection of the obtained effective projection plane of the sight line of the viewing point and the three-dimensional road model, and intercepting a road unit model in an effective sight line,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes” or in the alternative a “Mathematical Concept.”
Dependent claim 4 also recites “extracting a centerline of the intercepted road unit model, and dotting the centerline equidistantly at an interval of 2 m to obtain a point set n {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, wherein coordinates of a midpoint Pi are (Xi, Yi, Zi), and connecting adjacent points in the point set to form a continuous polyline; calculating a projection curvature Kp of the centerline on a horizontal plane, wherein a calculation formula is as follows:
wherein n is a total quantity of points in the set {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, i = 0, 1, ... , n, the points are arranged in ascending order according to a coordinate z of the midpoint Pi (Xi, Yi, Zi), n is a vector of a line connecting adjacent points, and,
” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mathematical Concepts.”
Dependent claim 4 also recites “eliminating a three-dimensional road model having Kp > 4/km according to the calculated road projection curvature, and using a remaining three-dimensional road model as a current viewing corridor of the viewing point,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mathematical Concepts.”
Dependent claim 5 recites “determining a real scene collection route according to the viewing corridor space in the planning scheme, so as to serially connect, by a shortest path, all streets and public spaces where the viewing corridor is located,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”.
Dependent claim 5 also recites “assembling a wearable high-precision three-dimensional scanner at a starting point of the collection route, wherein the scanning accuracy of the lidar is required to reach 300,000 dots per second, and a resolution of the panoramic camera is required to reach 20 million pixels; and debugging a device and setting parameters after the device is assembled,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 5 also recites “assisting, by auxiliary personnel, a tester in wearing the device on a back of the tester, adjusting laces and buttons of the device, to ensure that the device does not shake during normal walking, and adjusting a lens height to a human eye height of 1.6 m,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 5 also recites “walking, by a tester, at a constant speed of 1.0-1.5 mis according to the planned real scene collection route to collect data,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 6 recites “arranging the planning scheme, extracting objects in the scheme that have a large volume and affect a landscape of the viewing corridor, such as terrains, architectures, trees, and roads, classifying the objects into layers, and successively naming the objects after terrain architecture, tree, road, landscape, and others, and importing the data into the SuperMap three dimensional data platform,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 6 also recites “combining, in the three-dimensional data platform, the planning scheme data extracted in (51) with the current three-dimensional real scene data obtained in step (4), and adjusting the coordinates, so that the two pieces of data are in a same coordinate system,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 6 also recites “checking model errors after the combination, and modifying the errors in the planning scheme, wherein if there is a difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and a current situation, the real scene data is used; and when data about a planned new architecture exceeds a boundary line, a position of the architecture is required to be adjusted; removing planned to-be-removed current road and architectures from the current data; and obtaining the planned three-dimensional model data,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 6 also recites “generating, in the SuperMap database, a new urban viewing corridor after the planning simulation, and exporting the new urban viewing corridor.,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 7 also recites “wherein the auxiliary device comprises a measuring device, a built-in global positioning system (GPS) device of the measuring device, a fixing device of a gimbal tripod, a sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device, a computer analysis device capable of image transmission and sharing, and a dedicated drawing device externally connected to a computer.,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Accordingly, claims 1-7 are ineligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU (The Application of Urban Simulation in Urban Planning), herein ZHU, in view of WILLEMSEN (Ribbon Networks for Modeling Navigable Paths of Autonomous Agents in Virtual Urban Environments), herein WILLEMSEN, in further view of GU (CN 208477769 U), herein GU, in further view of CHEN (WO 2019232887 A1), herein CHEN, in further view of YANG (Optimization of Public Space Design Based on Reconstruction of Digital Multi-Agent Behavior), herein YANG, and in further view of GONG (CN 110211028 A), herein GONG.
Claim 1
Claim 1 is rejected because ZHU teaches dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor ZHU ([Abstract] “Urban simulation is a computer technology that you can create and experience the virtual world (dynamic interactive simulation method), this technology can provide a better sensory perceptions for urban planning and management (recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor). This article describes urban simulation, integrating some application of urban planning and management, summarizing some applied experience.”) See also ZHU ([Section III. THE KEY TECHNOLOGIES OF URBAN SIMULATION | Pages 371-372 ] “Urban simulation is city virtual with the computer three-dimensional dynamical function (dynamic interactive simulation method). Virtual reality is a human-computer interactive technology which can imitate effectively persons' vision, hearing, touching, smell, taste and other acts of in natural. The key technologies of Virtual reality include…Multi-system integrated technology: As the VR system includes a large number of perceptual information and model, the system integration technology plays a vital role. Integrated technology includes synchronization, model calibration, data transformation, data manage model, the technologies of pattern recognition and synthesis [1].”) See also ZHU ([Section IV | A. Urban Simulation in Urban Planning Design] “Urban Simulation in Planning Design (recognition and planning) contains the following aspects: 1) change the height of buildings; 2) change the color of the building facade materials; 3) change the green density; 4) Calculate building floor space; 5) see the situation of sunshine through the sunshine floors (urban viewing corridors – a designated open space that provides an unobstructed view of a natural feature or point of interest). Designers can amend through control the elements for the design, they only need to change the parameters (urban viewing corridor – point of interest) in virtual reality applications, and freely view the effect of design. We may change the building height to meet the high requirements; change the building space to meet the sunlight requirements (urban viewing corridor – natural feature); according to design requirements (urban viewing corridor – point of interest) of different visual styles, change colors of the building facades material.”)
The ZHU reference also teaches calculating a blocking point set ZHU ([Section IV | B. The application of Urban Simulation in approval of decision support for planning] “The application system of Virtual Reality City can provide supporting decision in the following aspects of planning management; 1) Calculate the total area of planning, with a total construction area and volume rates (calculating a blocking point set), check whether the land use planning program meet requirements.”)
The ZHU reference also teaches acquiring a three-dimensional view field of the viewing point ZHU ([Section III | THE KEY TECHNOLOGIES OF URBAN SIMULATION] “The modeling technologies in dynamic environment: the found of virtual environment is the core of VR technology, the purpose of dynamic environment modeling is to obtain (acquire) three-dimensional (3D) data (view field) on the actual environment (viewing point), and set the corresponding virtual environment model with three-dimensional data depending on the needs. The acquisition of three-dimensional data takes non-contact visual modeling techniques which are combined to improve the efficiency of data acquisition effectively.”) See also ZHU ([Section IV | B. The application of Urban Simulation in approval of decision support for planning] “Check the design (acquiring) of the road-traffic planning (viewing point), whether the transportation planning meet requirements; 6) through the three-dimensional effect (three-dimensional view field), compared to the status and future of planning project to compare the overall effect (view field) of planning project with the surrounding buildings environment. Through Virtual reality applications, the city's past, present and future situation can be displayed in the planning managers, who will make more accurate, fair and fast decision.”)
ZHU does not explicitly teach constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads, creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance, obtaining an effective projection plane of a sight line of the viewing point, extracting a visual three-dimensional road model, calculating projection curvatures of road centerlines at points equidistant from each other, screening and recognizing a viewing corridor, collecting a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space by using a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner using a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner, inputting the collected real scene to a three dimensional interactive display platform, inputting a new planning scheme to the three-dimensional interactive display platform, simulating an urban viewing corridor with the planning scheme superimposed, and outputting, by using augmented reality glasses, a dynamic interactive VR scene of the urban viewing corridor space after the urban planning scheme is superimposed.
However, WILLEMSEN teaches extracting a visual three-dimensional road model WILLEMSEN ([Section 2 Related Work] “Our work builds on two related bodies of research: urban modeling aimed at animating (extracting) humans in virtual (visual three-dimensional) environments and road modeling (road model) for driving simulation.”) See also WILLEMSEN ([Section 5 Paths – Overlay Ribbons] “Agents rely on the ribbon structure (visual three-dimensional road model) of a way to determine (extract) where they are, where they’re going, and what’s around them. The transitions at intersection boundaries can make it cumbersome to extract and interpret this information… To facilitate behavior programming, we created (extracting) a data object called a path (three-dimensional road model) that represents the short-term, intended route of an object. A path is a one-lane ribbon overlayed (three-dimensional) on the road network (road model). Paths consist of a composition of lanes on ways and intersection corridors that define a single, continuous coordinate system. As an example, in Figure 4, the path for a vehicle making a left turn is shown with shading.”) See also WILLEMSEN ([Figure 1] and [Figure 4].)
WILLEMSEN Figure 1 Reference
WILLEMSEN Figure 4 Reference
WILLEMSEN also teaches calculating projection curvatures of road centerlines at points equidistant from each other WILLEMSEN ([Section 2 Related Work] “Modern roads are composed of a sequence of straight and curved sections with a transition spiral interposed between them to smoothly blend from one curvature to another curvature. A desirable property of roads built to this standard is that curvature varies smoothly along the road contour. One problem with this approach is that many real roads do not conform to the design standards (especially roads in older urban areas). The work presented here uses (calculates) a spline based representation (projection curvatures), but provides code to translate standard road specifications (road centerlines at points equidistant from each other) into accurate spline approximations.”)
WILLEMSEN also teaches screening and recognizing a viewing corridor WILLEMSEN ([Section 3.3 Ribbon Structure and Attributes] “To guide (screen) agents across an intersection, we overlay the intersection with corridors (essentially invisible one lane roads) that splice together the lanes of incoming and outgoing ways. Agents track (recognize) corridors (viewing corridor) through intersections to reach outgoing ways.”)
WILLEMSEN also teaches inputting the generated new planning scheme to the three-dimensional interactive display platform WILLEMSEN ([Introduction] “This paper presents a scheme for representing (inputting) networks of ribbon-like pathways (generated new planning schemes) to support behavior and scenario programming in virtual environments (interactive display platforms). The scheme encodes (1) geometric information about the shape (three-dimensional) of pathways (new planning scheme), (2) topological information about interconnections (three-dimensional) among pathways (planning scheme), (3) logical information (three-dimensional) encoding rules governing behavior on the pathways (planning scheme), and (4) occupancy information giving the locations (three-dimensional) of nearby objects on the pathway (planning scheme).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of WILLEMSEN with ZHU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. WILLEMSEN would modify ZHU by screening and recognizing a viewing corridor. The benefits of doing so naturally defines spatial relationships among occupants which is essential for the virtual environment because dynamic objects need to know where they are and where nearby objects are located. (WILLEMSEN [Section 5.1 Occupancy ]).
The combination of ZHU and WILLEMSEN do not explicitly teach constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads, creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance, obtaining an effective projection plane of a sight line of the viewing point, collecting a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space with a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner, inputting the collected real scene to a three dimensional interactive display platform, simulating an urban viewing corridor with the planning scheme superimposed, and outputting, by using augmented reality glasses, a dynamic interactive VR scene of the urban viewing corridor space after the urban planning scheme is superimposed.
However, GU teaches obtaining an effective projection plane of a sight line of the viewing point GU ([Background | pdf page 2 of 6 | ¶ 3] “The system can detect (obtain) the position (an effective project plane) and the sight direction (sight line) of a user (viewing point) in real time, provide a position basis of virtual information on a projection plane (an effective project plane) for a computer, and display the information on the correct position (sight line of the viewing point) of a projection screen in real time.”)
GU also teaches scanning a real scene of a recognized current urban viewing corridor space GU ([Background | pdf page 2 of 6] “Augmented reality technology (AR for short) is a new technology developed on the basis of virtual reality (VR for short), and is a technology for increasing the perception of a user to the real world by providing (scanning) information through a computer system. The method can superimpose information such as virtual objects, scenes or system prompts generated by a computer into real scenes (real scene), thereby realizing 'enhancement' of the real world (recognized current urban viewing corridor space). Meanwhile, because the connection with the real world is not cut off, the interaction mode is more real and natural. Microsoft HoloLens MR head display device (uses laser technology to capture detailed measurements of an environment by allowing the user to walk through a space while collecting point cloud data, effectively creating a highly accurate 3D digital model of the area; it's often used in applications like building documentation, surveying, and mapping, where mobility and ease of access are crucial from Microsoft corporation and its related development tool are one of the AR products currently on the market.”)
GU also teaches having a lidar and a panoramic camera, creating current three-dimensional real scene data based on the scanned recognized current urban viewing corridor space GU ([Background | pdf page 2 of 6] “In order to realize the organic integration of the real world (real scene data) and the virtual world (based on the scanned recognized current urban viewing corridor), the information of the real world must be accurately scanned (based on the scanned recognized current urban viewing corridor) and sensed, the accurate information of the real world is acquired through equipment such as a camera (panoramic camera) and a sensor (LIDAR sensor), the relative relation between a receiver and each element of the real world is obtained through intelligent identification of a computer, and the relative relation is used as an important criterion for generation and release of each element of the virtual world (creating current three-dimensional real scene data).”)
GU also teaches combining the current three-dimensional real scene data with the visual three dimensional road model to generate a new planning scheme GU ([Background | pdf page 2 of 6] “The essence of the AR (visual three dimensional road model) is that various kinds of information which are difficult to experience in a certain time and space range of the real world (current three-dimensional real scene data) originally are simulated by related technologies, and then are superimposed to the real world (current three-dimensional real scene data) and perceived by human senses, so that a sense experience beyond reality is achieved (generate a new planning scheme). The appearance of AR (visual three dimensional road model) is closely related to the development and progress of a plurality of modern technologies, and the core technical characteristics of the AR (visual three dimensional road model) are represented by the organic fusion of the following technologies: one is virtual reality technology (visual three dimensional road model). An augmented reality user may wear transparent goggles through which the entire real world can be seen, with computer generated virtual world images (visual three dimensional road model) also projected onto the goggles, creating an augmented reality environment (visual three dimensional road model to generate a new planning scheme) in which the real world and virtual world are combined (combining the current three-dimensional real scene data with the visual three dimensional road model), thereby "seeing" the physical world scene beyond the user's daily experience. This enhanced information may be virtual objects that coexist with the real environment, or may be non-geometric information of the actual objects.”)
GU also teaches inputting the collected real scene data to a three-dimensional interactive display platform GU ([Description | Background | pdf page 2 of 6] “The method can superimpose (input) information such as virtual objects, scenes or system prompts generated (inputted) by a computer into real scenes (collected real scene data), thereby realizing 'enhancement' (three-dimensional interactive display platform) of the real world (collected real scene data). Meanwhile, because the connection with the real world (collected real scene data) is not cut off, the interaction mode (interactive display platform) is more real and natural (real scene data).”)
GU also teaches simulating an urban viewing corridor with the planning scheme superimposed GU ([Description | Background | pdf page 2 of 6 ] “Augmented reality technology (AR for short) is a new technology developed on the basis of virtual reality (VR for short), and is a technology for increasing the perception of a user to the real world by providing information through a computer system. The method can superimpose information (planning scheme) such as virtual objects, scenes (urban viewing corridor) or system prompt generated (simulated) by a computer into real scenes (urban viewing corridor), thereby realizing 'enhancement' of the real world. Meanwhile, because the connection with the real world is not cut off, the interaction mode is more real and natural.”)
GU also teaches outputting, by using augmented reality glasses, a dynamic interactive VR scene of the urban viewing corridor space after the urban planning scheme is superimposed GU ([Description | Background | pdf page 2 of 6 ] “The essence of the AR is that various kinds of information (urban planning schemes) which are difficult to experience in a certain time and space range of the real world originally are simulated by related technologies (augmented reality glasses), and then are superimposed to the real world (urban viewing corridor space) and perceived by human senses, so that a sense experience (dynamic interactive VR scene) beyond reality is achieved. The appearance of AR is closely related to the development and progress of a plurality of modern technologies, and the core technical characteristics of the AR are represented by the organic fusion of the following technologies: one is virtual reality technology (dynamic interactive VR). An augmented reality user may wear transparent goggles (augmented reality glasses) through which the entire real world (urban viewing corridor space) can be seen, with computer generated virtual world images (dynamic interactive VR scene) also projected (superimposed) onto the goggles, creating an augmented reality environment in which the real world and virtual world are combined, thereby "seeing" the physical world scene beyond the user's daily experience. This enhanced information may be virtual objects that coexist with the real environment, or may be non-geometric information of the actual objects.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of GU with ZHU and WILLEMSEN as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. GU would modify ZHU and WILLEMSEN by inputting the collected real scene data to a three-dimensional interactive display platform. The benefits of doing so reduces the component for needing to be worn on head, to significantly reduce the wearing burden of trainer. (GU [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU do not explicitly teach constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads, creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance, and with a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner.
However, CHEN teaches with a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner CHEN ([Description | Background Technique | pdf page 3 of 12] “Indoor location services require indoor maps, indoor space environmental data, and indoor positioning. These three types of data are currently collected separately at different times using different technologies (e.g., backpack three-dimensional laser scanner)…Indoor map production usually uses a ground laser scanner (backpack laser scanner) to scan the indoor three-dimensional space to obtain a three-dimensional point cloud, and then extract the indoor map from it. In order to deploy indoor navigation and location service applications, it is necessary to collect indoor map drawing data and application-related environmental information data, including indoor laser scanning point clouds, physical environment data, etc. These data often require special equipment to be collected separately at the job site. In order to produce indoor map data, the spatial geometric structure of the indoor space needs to be scanned or measured in three dimensions.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CHEN with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CHEN would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU by using a backpack three-dimensional laser scanner. The benefits of doing so improves operation efficiency of a navigation and position service data acquisition site, has high usability, and remarkably reduces data acquisition, application maintenance and updating cost. (CHEN [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, and CHEN do not explicitly teach constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads, and creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance.
However, YANG teaches constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads YANG ([pdf page 4 of 10] “In the simulation process, the interaction of the particle swarm (a computer optimization technique of constructing a sand table of morphology data) is limited to the walkable area in the entire site (urban space), that is to say, we distinguish the walkable area from the non-walkable area (urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads), and the actual form of the public space (urban space) in the area is obtained. This morphological boundary (morphology data) will squeeze or obstruct the particle’s travel, making it possible to study the walking state (urban space) and visual perception state (urban viewing point) of the user in the field (based on vector data comprised of terrains, architectures, and roads).”) See also YANG ([Figure 2] and Figure 3] where Figure 2 illustrates (urban viewing point based on vector data comprised of terrains, architecture and roads) and where Figure 3 illustrates a sand table of morphology data of an urban space including functional areas and sight parameters.
YANG Figure 2 Reference
YANG Figure 3 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of YANG with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, and CHEN as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. YANG would modify ZHU, WILLIAMSEN, GU, and CHEN by constructing a sand table of morphology data of an urban space around an urban viewing point based on vector data comprising terrains, architectures, and roads. The benefits of doing so help determine the degree of demand for some infrastructure in public spaces, and set weights in the simulation software to distinguish the attractiveness of different venue facilities to users in order to obtain better simulation results. (YANG [Section 3. Refinement of North Bund Public Space Elements]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, and YANG do not explicitly teach creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance.
However, GONG teaches creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance GONG ([pdf page 3 of 6] “FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a fisheye image ortho-transformation and spherical fitting scheme. As shown in Fig. 5, Fig. 5(c) is a three-dimensional perspective view of a spherical surface (a visual sphere), and Fig. 5(b) is a plane approximate fit sector diagram peeled off from the spherical surface. It can be considered that Fig. 5(b) can be approximately fitted to a three-dimensional spherical surface (creating a visual sphere). The image ortho-transformation (B) process of the present invention is the operation of transforming the two-dimensional plane sector diagram shown in FIG. 5(a) into a plane diagram that can approximate a three-dimensional fit in FIG. 5(b). As shown in Figure 5(a), the radius of the sector is R and the unit interval angle is D. For any point M (according to the viewing point) on the edge of the sector in Figure 5(a), the distance t (maximum visual distance) from the point to the vertex of the sector is the radius, and the sector. The vertex is the center of the circle to make an arc, and it intersects with the two radii of the fan to obtain an arc, and the arc length is taken as s; after the orthophoto transformation, the corresponding point on the plane transformation graph is M', as shown in Figure 5 (b) shown. Take the distance (maximum visual distance from the point M' (according to the viewing point) to the polygon vertex as the radius, the polygon vertex is the center of the circle to make an arc, and the two sides of the polygon are respectively intersected to obtain an arc, and the arc length is taken as s'; as shown in Figure 5(c), the radius of the sphere (visual sphere) is R. After the point M' is attached to the spherical surface, the point M' is positioned in the three-dimensional coordinate system. At this time, the height of the point M' in the z direction is h, and the connection line between the point M' and the origin is The angle formed by the projection of the connection line on the xOy plane is The height of the M' point in Fig. 5(b) is L', which is the arc of longitude from M' to the equator in Fig. 5(c).”) See also GONG ([Figure 5(a), (b), and (c)] and [Figure 7].)
GONG Figure 5 (a), (b), and (c) Reference
GONG Figure 7 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of GONG with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN and YANG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. GONG would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, and YANG by creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (GONG [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of WILLEMSEN, in further view of GU, in further view of CHEN, in further view of YANG in further view of GONG, and in further view of CAO (CN 109883401 A), herein CAO.
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected because the combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG teach claim 1.
ZHU teaches performing stretching by using a storey height of 3 m based on the information about the architecture storeys, to obtain a three-dimensional architecture model ZHU ([Section A. Urban Simulation in Planning Design | pdf page 4 of 14] “Urban Simulation in Planning Design contains the following aspects: 1) change the height of buildings (perform stretching by using the storey height or vertical distance between finished floor levels); 2) change the color of the building facade materials (based on the information about the architecture storeys); 3) change the green density; 4) Calculate building floor space (obtain three-dimensional architectural model); 5) see the situation of sunshine through the sunshine floors. Designers can amend through control the elements for the design, they only need to change the parameters in virtual reality applications (obtain three-dimensional), and freely view the effect of design (architectural design). We may change the building height (storey height) to meet the high requirements; change the building space to meet the sunlight requirements; according to design requirements of different visual styles, change colors of the building facades material.”)
ZHU also teaches rasterizing, based on the obtained basic sand table of the morphology data of the urban space, a surface without the three-dimensional architecture model that is deemed a ground plane ZHU ([Preface] “ At present, the performance of urban planning and design mainly depend on sand table models and computer renderings (rasterizing) to examine (obtain) the harmonious relations between the program and the urban environment (basic morphology data of the urban space). Although the sand table model has a strong three-dimensional sense, landscape (a surface without the three-dimensional architecture) can't be analyzed and evaluated from a normal perspective for landscape. While the renderings (rasterizing) can adjust the effect through any perspective (ground plane), but it is only discrete, static, individual and visual dimension (might be not as well as sand table model.”)
ZHU does not explicitly teach acquiring coordinates 0 (x, y, z) of the viewing point, wherein (x, y) are coordinate values of a plane where the viewing point is located, and z is a plane height of a highest point of a scene object where the viewing point is located; acquiring two-dimensional vector data comprising information about an urban terrain, an architecture, and a road within a certain range around an observation point, wherein the architecture data is a closed polygon and comprises information about a quantity of architecture storeys, and the road data comprises information about a centerline, a road width, and a road elevation point of each road; adjusting coordinates of the vector data to be consistent, loading the coordinates into a SuperMap platform, and generating a three-dimensional road model based on the information about the road centerline and the road elevation point and the road width value, so as to establish a basic sand table of the morphology data of the urban space.
However WILLEMSEN teaches wherein the architecture data is a closed polygon and comprises information about a quantity of architecture storeys, WILLEMSEN ([Introduction] “Building dynamic, active content for use in virtual environments is a difficult and time consuming process. Quite often, the information required for programming the behaviors that might populate such environments, such as vehicle or pedestrian navigation (architecture data, quantity of architecture storeys, and road data information), is not easily computed or inferred from sets of polygons (including closed polygons) into a usable form. Such behavior codes are generally complex and require significant spatial, logical, and socio-cultural information about the environment. The research addressed in this paper involves creating a run-time environment database to facilitate behavior programming in virtual environments.
WILLEMSEN also teaches generating a three-dimensional road model based on the information about the road centerline and the road elevation point and the road width value, so as to establish a basic sand table of the morphology data of the urban space WILLEMSEN ([Section 3 Representing Ways as Ribbons in Space] “We represent a ribbon by an annotated 3-dimensional space curve (generating a three-dimensional road model). This curve acts as a central axis or spine (road centerline) for the way. A surface normal is defined at each point on the curve (morphology data) allowing the ribbon (urban space, i.e. roads) to twist about its spine. The ribbon establishes a curvilinear coordinate system (sand table) in which 3-dimensional points are expressed in coordinates of distance along the spine, D, offset on the ribbon surface from the spine, O, and loft (displacement above or below the ribbon), L. Figure 2 illustrates the ribbon based frame of reference. See also WILLEMSEN ([Figure 2].)
WILLEMSEN Figure 2 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of WILLEMSEN with ZHU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. WILLEMSEN would modify ZHU by screening and recognizing a viewing corridor. The benefits of doing so naturally defines spatial relationships among occupants which is essential for the virtual environment because dynamic objects need to know where they are and where nearby objects are located. (WILLEMSEN [Section 5.1 Occupancy ]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG do not explicitly teach acquiring coordinates O (x, y, z) of the viewing point, wherein (x, y) are coordinate values of a plane where the viewing point is located, and z is a plane height of a highest point of a scene object where the viewing point is located, acquiring two-dimensional vector data comprising information about an urban terrain, an architecture, and a road within a certain range around an observation point, the road data comprises information about a centerline, a road width, and a road elevation point of each road, adjusting coordinates of the vector data to be consistent, and loading the coordinates into a SuperMap platform.
However, CAO teaches acquiring coordinates O (x, y, z) of the viewing point, wherein (x, y) are coordinate values of a plane where the viewing point is located, and z is a plane height of a highest point of a scene object where the viewing point is located CAO ([Summary of the Invention] “Further, step (2) extracts observation area, and carries out rasterizing to model surface, and the specific method is as follows (3.2) spheroidal coordinate system is created. The point of observation O observer in city space converted in three-dimensional space (x0, y0 ,z0) namely grid point of observation (acquiring coordinates O (x,y,z) of the viewing point). Wherein, (x0 ,y0) (wherein x,y) be observer where plane coordinate value (coordinate values of a plane where the viewing point is located), z0 (plane height). For the level of point of observation Face height (where z is a plane height of a highest point of a scene object). With the horizontal plane V of height where point of observationnh (viewing point is located).”)
CAO also teaches acquiring two-dimensional vector data comprising information about an urban terrain, an architecture, and a road within a certain range around an observation point CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “The overall scene construction module collects (acquires) and constructs real 3D model (includes two-dimensional vector data) scenes including mountains and urban areas (information about urban terrain, architecture, and roads); Observation area (certain range around an observation point) full surface rasterization module, extract the observation area, and rasterize the model surface; Observation point spherical coordinate system creation module, set the observation point and create a spherical coordinate system according to the boundary of the field of view.”)
CAO also teaches the road data comprises information about a centerline, a road width, and a road elevation point of each road CAO ([Summary of Invention | Section 6.3 | pdf page 7 of 14] “A kind of measurement method of city outlook mountain visible range (road width) proposed by the present invention, can be in set city scope to including city Gamut surface within city's road, Urban Streets, including facade, building roof etc. carries out city outlook mountain as point of observation (road elevation point). The measurement of visible range (road width) avoids limitation of the existing measuring technique in point of observation selection; Ball is created by point of observation visual field boundary Whether body coordinate system is cut into the effective perspective plane (centerline) of massif in spheroidal coordinate system, and generate and see mountain sight, and be blocked to sight It is calculated, effectively improves and see mountain visible range (road width) ground measurement accuracy, avoid that traditional measurement method precision is high, working efficiency. The problems such as low; Output is seen the visual numeric field data in mountain and is imaged, and ultimately generates and sees mountain visible range map, and effect is more intuitive, is city City's planning and designing further analysis and decision provide the foundation rationality support.”)
CAO also teaches adjusting coordinates of the vector data to be consistent and loading the coordinates into a SuperMap platform CAO ([Summary of Invention | Section 1.2 | pdf page 4 of 14] “A series of processing such as the geometric correction (adjusting coordinates of vector data) of oblique photograph automation modeling software, simultaneous adjustment, multi-view images matching (to be consistent) obtain. The data of natural object full spectrum information are to generate outdoor scene three dimensional model; Automation modeling software can be French DIGINEXT company and grind Send out Virtual Geo software, EFS Electronic Field Study software of Pictometry company, the U.S. etc. (1.3) the outdoor scene three dimensional model obtained according to oblique photograph data is loaded by SuperMap platform (loading the coordinates into a SuperMap platform).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CAO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, and GONG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CAO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG by creating a visual sphere according to the viewing point and a maximum visual distance. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (CAO [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected because the combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG teach claim 1.
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG do not explicitly teach creating a visual sphere according to the coordinates O (x, y, z) of the viewing point.
However, CAO teaches creating a visual sphere according to the coordinates O (x, y, z) of the viewing point CAO ([Summary of Invention | Section (3.2)] “spheroidal coordinate system is created (creating a visual sphere). The point of observation O (viewing point) observer in city space converted in three-dimensional space (x0,y0 ,z0) namely grid point (according to the coordinates O (x,y,z)) of observation (viewing point).
CAO also teaches creating the visual sphere by using a maximum visible distance R in a current environment as a radius CAO ([Summary of Invention | Section (3.2)] “Wherein, (x0 ,y0) be observer where plane coordinate value, z0. For the level of point of observation Face height. With the horizontal plane V of height where point of observationh. For plane, with the maximum visual distance R (maximum visible distance in a current environment as radius ) under current environmentvmax. For radius, make visual hemisphere face (creating a visible sphere), which is defined as standard projection face P5. With point of observation O (x0 ,y0 ,z0) (creating a visible sphere) it is the centre of sphere, respectively with ground. Manage the direct north and horizontal plane Vin coordinate systemh. Vertical direction be arrow base, establish spheroidal coordinate system. It is described current Environment can be the environment such as present air, sunlight.”)
CAO also teaches drawing a vertical line from a center of the sphere to a surface of the sphere at an interval of an azimuth angle a, wherein the vertical line is deemed the sight line for observing the viewing point CAO ([Summary of Invention | Section 1.1] “Create a spherical coordinate system (drawing a vertical line) to transform the observer in the urban space (surface of the sphere) into the observation point O (x O , y O , z O ) (center of the sphere) in the three-dimensional space, that is, the grid observation point, where (x O , y O ) is the coordinate value of the plane where the observer is located, z O is the height of the horizontal plane of the observation point, the horizontal plane V h of the height of the observation point is the plane, and the maximum visible distance R vmax under the current environment is the radius, as the visible hemisphere , define the hemisphere as the standard projection surface P s , take the observation point O (x O , y O , z O ) as the center of the sphere (center of the sphere), and take the true north direction in the geographic coordinate system and the vertical direction (vertical line) of the horizontal plane V h as the vector respectively base, establish a spherical coordinate system (3.3) Record the angle values (an azimuth angle a) a O and 13 0 between the field of view boundary of the observation point and the vector base (to a surface) of the true north direction (vertical line is deemed the sight line for observing the viewing point ) of the spherical coordinate system.”)
CAO also teaches acquiring a point of intersection Oi (xi, yi, zi) of each generated azimuth line and the covered three-dimensional architecture model in the sphere, wherein the point of intersection is deemed the blocking point of the sight line CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “The overall scene construction module collects and constructs real 3D model scenes including mountains and urban areas (three-dimensional architecture model in the sphere); Observation area full surface rasterization module, extract the observation area, and rasterize the model surface; Observation point spherical coordinate system creation module, set the observation point (acquiring a point of intersection Oi (xi, yi, zi)) and create a spherical coordinate system (three-dimensional architecture model) according to the boundary (generated azimuth line) of the field of view; The effective projection surface cutting module of the mountain body cuts out the effective projection surface (acquiring a point of intersection) of the mountain body in the spherical coordinate system (three-dimensional architecture model); The mountain-viewing sight blocking calculation module generates the mountain-viewing sight line (point of intersection is deemed the blocking point of the sight line) and calculates whether the sight line is blocked; Data output and imaging module, output and image the view area data of the mountain view, and generate the view area map of the mountain view.”)
CAO also teaches forming a blocking point set N{Oi, 02, 03,..., On}; and connecting all blocking points in the point set to acquire the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “Calculation of line of sight occlusion (forming a blocking point set N{Oi, 02, 03,..., On}) Step 1: Search for the point whose abscissa is O (N{Oi, 02, 03,..., On}) in the point set {N 1 (x 1 ,y 1 ),N 2 (x 2 ,y 2 ), ... ,N s (x s ,y s )}, record. The subset formed by the retrieved points is {N 1 (O,y 1 ), ... ,Ni (O,y omax )}, where j is the total number of points (connecting all the blocking points in the point set) whose abscissa is 0, and the abscissa is 0… A measurement system for the visual field (view field) of a city view of mountains (viewing point), characterized in that the system comprises the following modules: The overall scene construction module collects and constructs real 3D model scenes (acquire the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point) including mountains and urban areas; Observation area full surface rasterization module, extract the observation area, and rasterize the model surface; Observation point spherical coordinate system creation module, set the observation point and create a spherical coordinate system according to the boundary of the field of view; The effective projection surface cutting module of the mountain body cuts out the effective projection surface of the mountain body (forming a blocking point set N{Oi, 02, 03,..., On}; and connecting all blocking points in the point set to acquire the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point) in the spherical coordinate system; The mountain-viewing sight blocking calculation module generates the mountain-viewing sight line (acquire the three- dimensional view field of the viewing point) and calculates whether the sight line is blocked (forming a blocking point set N{Oi, 02, 03,..., On}; and connecting all blocking points in the point set).”)
CAO also teaches performing upward lifting in unit of 1.6 m based on ground plane grids of the sand table, wherein the obtained plane grids are deemed a human viewing plane where the observation point is located CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “z O is the height of the horizontal plane (ground plane grids of the sand table) of the observation point (obtained plane grids deemed human viewing plane where the observation point is located), the horizontal plane (ground plane) V h of the height (upward lifting) of the observation point is the plane (ground plane grids of the sand table), and the maximum visible distance R vmax under the current environment is the radius, as the visible hemisphere , define the hemisphere as the standard projection surface P s , take the observation point O (x O , y O , z O ) as the center of the sphere, and take the true north direction (performing upward lift) in the geographic coordinate system and the vertical direction of the horizontal plane V h as the vector respectively base, establish a spherical coordinate system.”)
CAO also teaches performing projection onto the human viewing plane in a y- axis direction according to the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point, wherein an obtained projection plane is denoted as the effective projection plane of the sight line of the viewing point CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “Create a spherical coordinate system to transform the observer in the urban space into the observation point O (x O , y O , z O ) in the three-dimensional space (according to the three-dimensional view field), that is, the grid observation point (viewing point), where (x O , y O ) is the coordinate value (a y-axis direction) of the plane (projection plane denoted as effective projection plane) where the observer (human viewing plane) is located…denoted as sight line L 1 ,L 2, ... ,L s (sight line), the center point (viewing point) of each grid has weight w i, where oswi s1; (5.2) Calculation of line of sight occlusion Step 1: Search for the point whose abscissa is O in the point set {N 1 (x 1 ,y 1 ),N 2 (x 2 ,y 2 ), ... ,N s (x s ,y s )}, record The subset formed by the retrieved points is {N 1 (O,y 1 ), ... ,Ni (O,y omax )}, where j is the total number of points whose abscissa is 0, and the abscissa is 0.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CAO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, and GONG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CAO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG by performing projection onto the human viewing plane in a y- axis direction according to the three-dimensional view field of the viewing point. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (CAO [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of WILLEMSEN, in view of GU, in view of CHEN, in view of YANG in view of GONG, in further view of CAO, and in further view of GARRIDO (A Two-Stage Real-Time Path Planning: Application to the Overtaking Manuever), herein GARRIDO.
Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected because the combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG teach claim 1.
ZHU does not explicitly teach extracting a centerline of the intercepted road unit model, and dotting the centerline equidistantly at an interval of 2 m to obtain a point set n {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, wherein coordinates of a midpoint Pi are (Xi, Yi, Zi).
However, WILLEMSEN teaches extracting a centerline of the intercepted road unit model, and dotting the centerline equidistantly at an interval of 2 m to obtain a point set n {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, wherein coordinates of a midpoint Pi are (Xi, Yi, Zi), and connecting adjacent points in the point set to form a continuous polyline WILLEMSEN ([Section 4.1 Connecting Ways to Intersections] “Corridors start and end at junctures. By fixing the number and order of junctures along the boundary of the intersection, we can specify the interconnection topology (how junctures are linked by corridors) and dependency relations among corridors without knowing what specific roads will be connected to the intersection. This greatly simplifies modeling because many intersections come in standard configurations (centerlines of the road unit model with coordinates of a midpoint). These can be duplicated, transformed, and easily modified to adapt to new configurations. For many intersections, we can compute corridor geometry automatically using Hermite cubic spline curves (centerlines equidistantly spaced to obtain a point set with midpoint coordinates) constructed from the attachment points (point set) and tangent directions of the connecting ribbons. This curve is then sampled and converted (extracted) into an arc-length parameterized spline (equidistantly spaced). Complicated corridors must be explicitly modeled by specifying a series of interpolation points (coordinates of midpoints) in the intersection through which the corridor must pass. In addition to modeling road crossings, we use intersections to add or delete (extract) lanes on a continuous stretch of pavement (continuous) and to close a loop by connecting two ends of a road together (connecting adjacent points in the point set to form a continuous polyline). To add or delete (extract) a lane, we join two separate roads with n and n+1 lanes (centerline of the intercepted road unit model). We’ve found it convenient to build the intersection so that the endpoints of connecting lanes are coincident. Thus, the intersection becomes a line with lanes (dotting the centerline equidistantly) attached to junctures (midpoints) on both sides (intercepted road model) and, consequently, there are no corridors or dependency relations. The n + 1st lane (centerline of the intercepted road unit model) terminates on the intersection boundary. If the lane is deleted, vehicles must change from the terminating lane to an adjacent lane before reaching the intersection.”) See also WILLEMSEN ([Figure 3].)
WILLEMSEN Figure 3 Reference
WILLEMSEN also teaches calculating a projection curvature Kp of the centerline on a horizontal plane WILLEMSEN ([Section 4.1 Connecting Ways to Intersections] “For many intersections, we can compute corridor geometry automatically using Hermite cubic spline curves constructed from the attachment points and tangent directions of the connecting ribbons. This curve is then sampled and converted (calculated a projection curvature Kp) into an arc-length parameterized spline. Complicated corridors must be explicitly modeled by specifying a series of interpolation points (centerline on a horizontal plane) in the intersection through which the corridor must pass. If the lane is deleted, vehicles must change from the terminating lane to an adjacent lane before reaching the intersection. Vehicles can choose to change to an added lane after they cross the intersection. Zero-length intersections provide a convenient means to specify the topological relationship between connecting roads with differing numbers of lanes while maintaining a simple and consistent interface to the database.”)
WILLEMSEN also teaches eliminating a three-dimensional road model having Kp> 4/km according to the calculated road projection curvature WILLIAMSEN ([Section 5 Paths – Overlay Ribbons] “A path provides a local, egocentric coordinate system for database queries. Steering behaviors control motion trajectories (three-dimensional road model having Kp >4/km) by aiming for a succession of look-ahead points located on the path some distance ahead of the object’s current location (according to the calculated road projection curvature). By formulating the look-ahead queries with respect to the composite path, we avoid awkward bookkeeping to handle transitions from road to intersections and intersections to roads. The database maps path queries into the corresponding way or intersection queries and returns the results. As a consequence, the steering code is enormously simplified (eliminate a three-dimensional road model). Similarly, path-based occupancy queries return information about relative positions of other objects on the path. One commonly used query determines the next object in front of the reference object (called the leader of the object.) As with geometric queries, the path-based occupancy queries eliminate the need to cope with road and intersection boundaries (eliminate a three-dimensional road model) throughout the behavior code. The path provides a smooth, continuous frame of reference.”)
WILLEMSEN also teaches using a remaining three-dimensional road model as a current viewing corridor of the viewing point WILLEMSEN ([Section 5 Paths - Overlay Ribbons] “From the egocentric view (using a remaining three-dimensional road model) of an object traversing the road network, queries such as ”Where am I?”, ”Where am I going?”, ”What’s around me?”, and ”What rules apply to me?” are most naturally understood with respect to the near-term route the object plans to take. From the object’s point of view (current viewing corridor of the viewing point), this route forms a natural frame of reference for navigation and sets a context for interpreting spatial relations and right of way rules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of WILLEMSEN with ZHU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. WILLEMSEN would modify ZHU by extracting a centerline of the intercepted road unit model. The benefits of doing so naturally defines spatial relationships among occupants which is essential for the virtual environment because dynamic objects need to know where they are and where nearby objects are located. (WILLEMSEN [Section 5.1 Occupancy ]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG do not explicitly teach wherein n is a total quantity of points in the set {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, i = 0, 1, ... , n, the points are arranged in ascending order according to a coordinate z of the midpoint Pi (Xi, Yi, Zi), n is a vector of a line connecting adjacent points.
However, CAO teaches wherein n is a total quantity of points in the set {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, i = 0, 1, ... , n, the points are arranged in ascending order according to a coordinate z of the midpoint Pi (Xi, Yi, Zi), n is a vector of a line connecting adjacent points CAO ([Section 6.2 It is Imaged by Color] “Point of observation (n is a total of quantity of points), input maximum visual distance and the field-of-view angle for observing observer will be a little set (in a set {P1, P2, P3,…} as on three-dimensional map. Range can calculate the value for seeing mountain visibility fa ctor (vector “n” of a line) in real time. In addition, setting gradual change (arranged in ascending order) vitta, is such as become totally visible with green corresponding 1, with white Color represents O and can 1 (i = 0, …,n) see completely, and color is precipitated according to the size of MVF value, calculates by computer, can be to sights multiple on three-dimensional map. Color rendering of the region progress characterized by seeing mountain visibility factor (vector “n” of a line) is examined, i.e., the color that observation point (connecting to adjacent points ) corresponds to grid (the points) is arranged according to MVF value (arranged in ascended order according to a coordinate z of the midpoint), MVF value is bigger, and color is deeper, and the smaller color of MVF value is more shallow.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CAO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, and GONG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CAO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG wherein n is a total quantity of points in the set {P1, P2, P3, ... , Pn}, i = 0, 1, ... , n, the points are arranged in ascending order. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (CAO [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CAO do not explicitly teach calculating a point of intersection of the obtained effective projection plane of the sight line of the viewing point and the three-dimensional road model, and intercepting a road unit model in an effective sight line.
However, GARRIDO teaches calculating a point of intersection of the obtained effective projection plane of the sight line of the viewing point and the three-dimensional road model, and intercepting a road unit model in an effective sight line GARRIDO ([0102] “This approach can compute (calculating) the distance among different road elements such as turns, intersections (point of intersection), and roundabouts. For every turn (effective projection plane), the real-time algorithm plans the curve that better fits by considering a pair of turns: the upcoming and the following one (sight line of the viewing point).”) See also GARRIDO ([Figure 4(a) , Figure 4(b), and Figure 9].)
GARRIDO Figure 4(a) and Figure 4(b) Reference
GARRIDO Figure 9 Reference
GARRIDO Figure 10 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of GARRIDO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, GONG, and CAO as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. GARRIDO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CAO by calculating a point of intersection of the obtained effective projection plane of the sight line of the viewing point and the three-dimensional road model, and intercepting a road unit model in an effective sight line. The benefits of doing so provides encouraging results by generating real-time collision-free paths while maintaining the defined smoothness criteria. (GARRIDO [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of WILLEMSEN, in view of GU, in view of CHEN, in view of YANG in view of GONG, in view of CAO, and in further view of BESSERUD (Urban design, urban simulation, and the need for computational tools), herein BESSERUD.
Claim 5
Claim 5 is rejected because the combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG teach claim 1.
ZHU does not explicitly teach inputting the viewing corridor automatically recognized in step (3) to a two dimensional plane database, placing a 5 m * 5 m flat grid in the database.
However, WILLEMSEN teaches inputting the viewing corridor automatically recognized in step (3) to a two dimensional plane database, placing a 5 m * 5 m flat grid in the database WILLEMSEN ([Section 3.3 Ribbon Structure and Attributes] “To guide agents across an intersection, we overlay (input) the intersection with corridors (viewing corridor) (essentially invisible one lane roads) that splice together (automatically) the lanes of incoming and outgoing ways (two-dimensional plane database). Agents track corridors through intersections (database) to reach outgoing ways… To assist agents in determining priorities, we annotate corridors with right-of-way information (inputting the viewing corridor). This includes information about signs and traffic control devices that regulate passage on corridors and information about the relationships (automatically recognized) between corridors. Traffic control devices and signage define constraints on corridor traversal (placing a 5m*5m flat grid). For example, a stop sign indicates that approaching vehicles should stop at the entrance to the corridor and yield to traffic on unrestricted corridors that cross or merge with the corridor to be taken.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of WILLEMSEN with ZHU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. WILLEMSEN would modify ZHU by inputting the viewing corridor automatically. The benefits of doing so naturally defines spatial relationships among occupants which is essential for the virtual environment because dynamic objects need to know where they are and where nearby objects are located. (WILLEMSEN [Section 5.1 Occupancy ]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU do not explicitly teach assembling a wearable high-precision three-dimensional scanner at a starting point of the collection route.
However, CHEN teaches assembling a wearable high-precision three-dimensional scanner at a starting point of the collection route CHEN ([Background Technique | pdf page 3 of 12] “Indoor map production usually uses (assembles) a ground laser scanner (wearable high-precision scanner) to scan the indoor three-dimensional space (three-dimensional) to obtain a three-dimensional point cloud (a starting point of the collection route), and then extract the indoor map from it.”)
CHEN also teaches assisting, by auxiliary personnel, a tester in wearing the device on a back of the tester, adjusting laces and buttons of the device, to ensure that the device does not shake during normal walking, and adjusting a lens height to a human eye height of 1.6 m CHEN ([pdf page 4 of 14] “After determining the indoor space of the shopping mall where navigation and location service applications are to be established, conduct site surveys (assisting by auxiliary personnel) and plan the path for indoor data collection based on the topological structure of the indoor space. Then, an operator (tester) holds the device (wearing the device on a back of the tester) of the present invention, walks along the planned path, and collects multiple sensor (adjusting laces and buttons of the device) data simultaneously. The built-in micro-control unit of the device of the present invention processes the depth camera and inertial navigation sensor data in real time, runs synchronous positioning and mapping (SLAM) algorithm software based on the depth camera point cloud, and generates and visualizes the trajectory of walking (device does not shake during normal walking). At the same time, the device pre-processes other sensor data (lens height) collected, and adds geographic location tags to the data of different sensors through time synchronization. In this way, the operator (tester) can view the status information of different sensor data in different spatial locations in real-time during the process of field collection, such as the status of the WiFi signals collected at different spatial locations, and judge the ubiquitous positioning of the WiFi collected at each location. Whether the signal basic data quality meets the requirements and reduces the requirement for rework and retest (adjusting a lens height to a human eye height of 1.6 m) when the post-processing finds that the data quality is not good.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CHEN with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CHEN would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU by assembling a wearable high-precision three-dimensional scanner at a starting point of the collection route. The benefits of doing so improves operation efficiency of a navigation and position service data acquisition site, has high usability, and remarkably reduces data acquisition, application maintenance and updating cost. (CHEN [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, and YANG do not explicitly teach wherein the scanning accuracy of the lidar is required to reach 300,000 dots per second, and a resolution of the panoramic camera is required to reach 20 million pixels.
However, GONG teaches wherein the scanning accuracy of the lidar is required to reach 300,000 dots per second, and a resolution of the panoramic camera is required to reach 20 million pixels GONG ([Summary of the Invention | pdf 2 of 6] “The panoramic image (resolution of the panoramic camera) is input to the display (panoramic camera) through the video input interface (lidar), and the stored image pixels (reaching up to 20 million pixels) are displayed on the display panel one by one through the addressing scheme designed (scanning accuracy) by the present invention. Based on the structural characteristics of the spherical panoramic display (panoramic camera), there is a spherical upper electrode plate on the display, which is used for power supply of each module of the display. The spherical substrate on the electrode plate is used to patch the MiniLED. Based on the size of the MiniLED, it is feasible to perform a single particle patch on the spherical surface to form the entire display. The key to the panoramic display (panoramic camera) invented based on the size of the MiniLED is still addressing, that is, how to map the stored image to each MiniLED. The present invention makes the addressing circuit correspond to the grid divided in step 1, each grid area is driven to supply power independently, and the addressing sequence is also carried out according to the grid area. After addressing the pixels (resolution of the panoramic camera reaching 20 million pixels) in one grid, the next step is entered grid for addressing. The display driver can use the traditional determinant scan, can also use the LED driver chip design, or use the FPGA or ASIC method to design the SOC to design a brand-new display driver.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of GONG with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN and YANG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. GONG would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, and YANG wherein the scanner is required to have a lidar and a panoramic camera for collection. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (GONG [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG do not explicitly teach determining a real scene collection route according to the viewing corridor space in the planning scheme, so as to serially connect, by a shortest path, all streets and public spaces where the viewing corridor is located.
However, CAO teaches determining a real scene collection route according to the viewing corridor space in the planning scheme, so as to serially connect, by a shortest path, all streets and public spaces where the viewing corridor is located CAO (pdf page 1 of 14] Obtain oblique photography data (determine a real scene collection route) including mountains and urban areas (according to the viewing corridor space) through actual measurement; (1.2) According to the acquired oblique photographic data, a real 3D model based on the real image texture is generated (determining a real scene collection route); (1 .3) Load the 3D model of the real scene obtained (determining a real scene collection route) from the oblique photography data (in the planning scheme) through the SuperMap platform. 10. The measurement system of a city view mountain viewing area (serially connect, by a shortest path) according to claim 8 or 9, wherein the specific functions of the observation area (all streets and public spaces where the viewing corridor is located) full-surface rasterization module are as follows: (2.1) Extract the observation area in the 3D model of the real scene.”)
CAO also teaches walking, by a tester, at a constant speed of 1.0-1.5 m/s according to the planned real scene collection route to collect data CAO ([pdf page 1 of 14] “Load the 3D model of the real scene (planned real scene collection route) obtained from the oblique photography data (to collect data) through the SuperMap platform (allowing a tester to walk at a constant speed).”)
CAO also teaches inputting the collected data to the SuperMap three-dimensional data platform by using a computer CAO ([pdf page 8 of 14] “Further, step (2) extracts observation area (collected data), and carries out rasterizing to model surface (using a computer), and the specific method is as follows: (2.1) observation area is extracted, and is extracted (inputting) in the outdoor scene three dimensional model (three-dimensional data) that the load oblique photograph (collected data) of SuperMap platform (to the SuperMap three-dimensional data platform) obtains Observation area (collected data) is the region to be observed of selection from big region herein, observes massif from observation area.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CAO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, and GONG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CAO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG by inputting the collected data to the SuperMap three-dimensional data platform by using a computer. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (CAO [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CAO do not explicitly teach debugging a device and setting parameters after the device is assembled.
However, BESSERUD teaches debugging a device and setting parameters after the device is assembled BESSERUD ([Computational tools in the urban design process | pdf page 15 of 17] “The rules that were incorporated are sufficient to generate a captivating and convincing animation (setting parameters), but as stated above, they are really just “placeholder” rules that allowed a process of debugging the framework (debugging the device) in order to make progress in developing this system (after the device is assembled).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, GONG, and CAO as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. BESSERUD would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CAO by debugging the device and setting parameters after the device is assembled. The benefits of doing so provide economic vitality, infrastructural efficiencies, zoning efficacy, environmental sustainability, cultural sensitivity, aesthetics, and overall quality of life must all be accounted for in the design process. (BESSERUD [Summary and Conclusion]). Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of WILLEMSEN, in view of GU, in view of CHEN, in view of YANG in view of GONG, in view of CAO, and in further view of CHI (CN 106023044 A), herein CHI.
Claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected because the combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG teach claim 1.
ZHU teaches obtaining the planned three-dimensional model data ZHU ([Section III. THE KEY TECHNOLOGIES OF URBAN SIMULATION] “ The modeling technologies in dynamic environment: the found of virtual environment (planned model data) is the core of VR technology, the purpose of dynamic environment modeling is to obtain three-dimensional data on the actual environment (obtaining the three-dimensional model data), and set the corresponding virtual environment model (planned model data) with three-dimensional data (three-dimensional model data) depending on the needs.”)
ZHU also teaches exporting the new urban viewing corridor ZHU ([The application of Urban Simulation in approval of decision support for planning | pdf page 4 of 4] “For the large-scale planning projects (new urban viewing corridor) which public interest in, in project proposal design process, the application of virtual reality City can export the video file (exporting the new urban viewing corridor), make multimedia information, and to a certain degree of publicity, or release design program in the Internet in order to make the public true participation to the project. When the project is finalized, it can also be created multimedia videos through the video output to enhance the promotional display in further.”)
The combination of ZHU and WILLEMSEN do not explicitly teach arranging the planning scheme, extracting objects in the scheme that have a large volume and affect a landscape of the viewing corridor, such as terrains, architectures, trees, and roads, classifying the objects into layers, and successively naming the objects after terrain, architecture, tree, road, landscape, and others, and importing the data into the SuperMap three- dimensional data platform; combining, in the three-dimensional data platform, the planning scheme data extracted in (51) with the current three-dimensional real scene data obtained in step (4), and adjusting the coordinates, so that the two pieces of data are in a same coordinate system; checking model errors after the combination, and modifying the errors in the planning scheme, wherein if there is a difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and a current situation, the real scene data is used; and when data about a planned new architecture exceeds a boundary line, a position of the architecture is required to be adjusted; removing planned to-be-removed current road and architectures from the current data; setting a plurality of viewing corridor points in the new three-dimensional model database according to the viewing corridor generated in step (3), generating, in the SuperMap database, a new urban viewing corridor after the planning simulation.
However, GU teaches setting a plurality of viewing corridor points in the new three-dimensional model database according to the viewing corridor generated in step (3) GU ([pdf page 3 of 6] “Referring to fig. 4, the color blocks (corridor points) on the first positioning sticker 4 (according to the viewing corridor generated in step 3) may be arranged in four colors of red, yellow, blue, and green, and may be formed (setting) by a plurality of groups of consecutive color blocks (plurality of viewing corridor points) with different shapes, each group of color blocks (viewing corridor points) is not more than seven, and the first positioning sticker 4 (according to the viewing corridor generated in step 3) in fig. 3 is provided with seven rectangular color blocks and six triangular color blocks, so that the color blocks on both sides of each color block with the same color are unique, that is, the position of each color block is unique through the adjacent color blocks.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of GU with ZHU and WILLEMSEN as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. GU would modify ZHU and WILLEMSEN by setting a plurality of viewing corridor points in the new three-dimensional model database. The benefits of doing so reduces the component for needing to be worn on head, to significantly reduce the wearing burden of trainer. (GU [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG do not explicitly teach arranging the planning scheme, extracting objects in the scheme that have a large volume and affect a landscape of the viewing corridor, such as terrains, architectures, trees, and roads, classifying the objects into layers, and successively naming the objects after terrain, architecture, tree, road, landscape, and others, and importing the data into the SuperMap three- dimensional data platform; combining, in the three-dimensional data platform, the planning scheme data extracted in (51) with the current three-dimensional real scene data obtained in step (4), and adjusting the coordinates, so that the two pieces of data are in a same coordinate system; checking model errors after the combination, and modifying the errors in the planning scheme, wherein if there is a difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and a current situation, the real scene data is used; and when data about a planned new architecture exceeds a boundary line, a position of the architecture is required to be adjusted; removing planned to-be-removed current road and architectures from the current data; generating, in the SuperMap database, a new urban viewing corridor after the planning simulation.
However, CAO teaches importing the data into the SuperMap three- dimensional data platform CHI ([pdf page 2 of 7] “Observation area (data) is extracted, and is extracted in the outdoor scene three dimensional model that the load oblique photograph of SuperMap platform (into the SuperMap data three-dimensional platform) obtains (imports) Observation area (data) is the region to be observed of selection from big region herein, observes massif from observation area.
CAO also teaches combining, in the three-dimensional data platform, the planning scheme data extracted in (51) with the current three-dimensional real scene data obtained in step (4), CAO ([pdf 2 of 14] “(1.3) Load (combine) the 3D model of the real scene obtained from the oblique photography data through the SuperMap platform (three-dimensional data platform). 10. The measurement system of a city view mountain viewing area according to claim 8 or 9, wherein the specific functions of the observation area full-surface rasterization module are as follows: (2.1) Extract the observation area (planning scheme data extracted) in the 3D model of the real scene (current three-dimensional real scene data).”
CAO also teaches adjusting the coordinates, so that the two pieces of data are in a same coordinate system CAO ([pdf page 4 of 14] “A series of processing such as the geometric correction (adjusting the coordinates) of oblique photograph automation modeling software, simultaneous adjustment, multi-view images (two pieces of data) matching obtain the data of natural object full spectrum information (same coordinate system) are to generate outdoor scene three dimensional model.”)
CAO also teaches when data about a planned new architecture exceeds a boundary line, a position of the architecture is required to be adjusted CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “Observation point spherical coordinate system creation module, set the observation point and create a spherical coordinate system (data) according to the boundary of the field of view (boundary line not to exceed); The effective projection surface cutting module of the mountain body cuts out (a position of the architecture is required to be adjusted) the effective projection surface of the mountain body (planned new architecture) in the spherical coordinate system (data).”)
CAO also teaches removing planned to-be-removed current road and architectures from the current data CAO ([pdf page 2 of 14] “The effective projection surface cutting module (removing planned to-be-removed) of the mountain body (current road and architectures) cuts out (remove) the effective projection surface (current road) of the mountain body (architectures) in the spherical coordinate system (from the current data).”)
CAO also teaches generating, in the SuperMap database, a new urban viewing corridor after the planning simulation CAO ([pdf page 8 of 14] “(1.3) the outdoor scene (new urban viewing corridor) three dimensional model (after the planning simulation) obtained according to oblique photograph data is loaded (generated) by SuperMap platform (in the SuperMap database).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CAO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, and GONG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CAO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG by importing the data into the SuperMap three- dimensional data platform. The benefits of doing so provide a kind of display method while addressing compatibility traditional determinant methods resulting in for the Pisces eye panoramic picture of photosensitive acquisition and storage. (CAO [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CAO do not explicitly teach arranging the planning scheme, extracting objects in the scheme that have a large volume and affect a landscape of the viewing corridor, such as terrains, architectures, trees, and roads, classifying the objects into layers, and successively naming the objects after terrain, architecture, tree, road, landscape, and others, checking model errors after the combination, and modifying the errors in the planning scheme, wherein if there is a difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and a current situation, the real scene data is used.
However, GARRIDO teaches checking model errors after the combination GARRIDO ([Section II Related Work | pdf page 2 of 11] “They formulated an optimization problem (checking model errors) for the lane change trajectory considering maximal acceleration during the maneuver as the only dynamic constraint, minimizing jerk (after the combination). Murgovski and Sjöberg [13] also addressed the overtaking problem from an optimization point of view minimizing the error (checking model errors) on the reference velocity and position trajectory (after the combination) to plan the entire maneuver in one optimization step.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of GARRIDO with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN , YANG, GONG, and CAO as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. GARRIDO would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CAO by checking model errors after the combination. The benefits of doing so provides encouraging results by generating real-time collision-free paths while maintaining the defined smoothness criteria. (GARRIDO [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, CAO, and GARRIDO do not explicitly teach arranging the planning scheme, extracting objects in the scheme that have a large volume and affect a landscape of the viewing corridor, such as terrains, architectures, trees, and roads, classifying the objects into layers, and successively naming the objects after terrain, architecture, tree, road, landscape, and others, and modifying the errors in the planning scheme, wherein if there is a difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and a current situation, the real scene data is used.
However, CHI teaches arranging the planning scheme CHI ([Contents of the Invention | pdf page 3 of 7] “The planning scheme optimization module is equipped with various simulation analysis methods and simulation analysis algorithms.”)
CHI also teaches extracting objects in the scheme that have a large volume and affect a landscape of the viewing corridor, such as terrains, architectures, trees, and roads CHI ([Contents of the Invention | pdf page 3 of 7] “The virtual actuator feeds back the result to the simulation analysis module by cyclically executing the simulation analysis algorithm or simulation analysis method (affecting a landscape of the viewing corridor), and the planning scheme optimization module (scheme that have a large volume) extracts the result (extract the objects) and sends it to the virtual sensor, and the virtual sensor receives the result and automatically displays the data (affect a landscape of the viewing corridor).”)
CHI also teaches successively naming the objects after terrain, architecture, tree, road, landscape, and others CHI ([pdf page 1 of 7] “The data that acquisition module and video data acquiring module are collected and converted into physical model (objects after terrain, architecture, tree, road, landscape and others) and build module institute. The form that can identify (successfully naming the objects) is sent to three-dimension modeling module.”)
CHI also teaches modifying the errors in the planning scheme, wherein if there is a difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and a current situation, the real scene data is used CHI ([pdf page 2 of 7] “At the same time, all the data comes with Beidou positioning coordinates (planning scheme), which greatly improves the accuracy of the system (modifying the errros); through the setting of custom virtual actuators and virtual sensors, the optimization simulation analysis (the difference between data about planned to-be-retained architectures and landscapes and the current situation) of the planning scheme is realized; through the design of three-dimensional building blocks, the realization of the three-dimensional simulation of the urban planning model enables the staff to experience the planned urban model in person (real scene data is used).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CHI with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, CAO, and GARRIDO as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CHI would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, CAO, and GARRIDO by modifying the errors in the planning scheme. The benefits of doing so improves the ecological planning of the city and improves the comprehensive utilization rate of land, energy and geographical advantages. (CHI [Contents of the Invention]). Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of WILLEMSEN, in view of GU, in view of CHEN, in view of YANG in view of GONG, in view of CHI, and in further view of FAN (Development and Testing of a New Ground Measurement Tool to Assist in Forest GIS Surveys), herein FAN.
Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected because the combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG teach claim 1.
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU do not explicitly teach outputting a view field image of the urban dynamic viewing corridor by using an externally connected dedicated drawing device, and inputting an urban dynamic viewing corridor at each designated measurement point and a number corresponding to the urban dynamic viewing corridor to an Excel form, to obtain standard measurement panel data, wherein the auxiliary device comprises a measuring device, a built-in global positioning system (GPS) device of the measuring device, a fixing device of a gimbal tripod, a sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device, a computer analysis device capable of image transmission and sharing, and a dedicated drawing device externally connected to a computer.
However, CHEN teaches inputting an urban dynamic viewing corridor at each designated measurement point and a number corresponding to the urban dynamic viewing corridor to an Excel form, to obtain standard measurement panel data CHEN ([Background Technique | pdf page 3 of 12] “In order to deploy indoor navigation and location service applications, it is necessary to collect indoor map drawing data (obtain standard measurement panel data) and application-related environmental information data (an urban dynamic viewing corridor), including indoor laser scanning point clouds (measurement point), physical environment data (corresponding to the urban dynamic viewing corridor), etc. These data (number of corresponding to the urban dynamic viewing corridor) often require special equipment (Excel form) to be collected separately at the job site. In order to produce indoor map data (obtain standard measurement panel data), the spatial geometric structure of the indoor space needs to be scanned or measured (obtain standard measurement panel data) in three dimensions.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CHEN with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CHEN would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, and GU by inputting an urban dynamic viewing corridor at each designated measurement point. The benefits of doing so improves operation efficiency of a navigation and position service data acquisition site, has high usability, and remarkably reduces data acquisition, application maintenance and updating cost. (CHEN [Abstract]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG do not explicitly teach outputting a view field image of the urban dynamic viewing corridor by using an externally connected dedicated drawing device, and wherein the auxiliary device comprises a measuring device, a built-in global positioning system (GPS) device of the measuring device, a fixing device of a gimbal tripod, a sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device, a computer analysis device capable of image transmission and sharing, and a dedicated drawing device externally connected to a computer.
CHI teaches outputting a view field image of the urban dynamic viewing corridor by using an externally connected dedicated drawing device CHI ([pdf page 2 of 7] “a kind of Planning in Eco-city system (urban dynamic viewing corridor) as claimed in claim 1, it is characterized in that described man-machine Operation module includes picture input module, voice input module and word input module, and picture output module (outputting a view field image) is adopted importing with scanner (using an externally connected) or picture and upload (dedicated drawing device), voice input module uses mike, and word input module uses keyboard or touch screen.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of CHI with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. CHI would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, and GONG by outputting a view field image of the urban dynamic viewing corridor by using an externally connected dedicated drawing device. The benefits of doing so improves the ecological planning of the city and improves the comprehensive utilization rate of land, energy and geographical advantages. (CHI [Contents of the Invention]).
The combination of ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CHI do not explicitly teach wherein the auxiliary device comprises a measuring device, a built-in global positioning system (GPS) device of the measuring device, a fixing device of a gimbal tripod, a sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device, a computer analysis device capable of image transmission and sharing, and a dedicated drawing device externally connected to a computer.
However, FAN teaches wherein the auxiliary device comprises a measuring device, a built-in global positioning system (GPS) device of the measuring device, a fixing device of a gimbal tripod, a sunroof type or convertible mobile transportation device, a computer analysis device capable of image transmission and sharing, and a dedicated drawing device externally connected to a computer FAN ([Introduction] “In the second step, collecting attribute data such as DBH (diameter at breast height), tree height, and position is the most time-consuming and laborious in the whole operation process [4–7], because workers usually use some independent equipment to assist in the investigation, such as hypsometer or total stations (auxiliary device comprises a measuring device) to measure tree height, calipers or diameter tapes to measure DBH, and mobile phones or handheld GPS (a built-in GPS device) to obtain geographic location.”) See also FAN ([Appendix A] “The horizontal direction of RTK positioning accuracy is 0.02 m, the elevation is 0.04 m; the RTD/SBAS level is 1.5 m, and the elevation is 3 m. (c) Location refresh rate ≥1 Hz, Location data format is NMEA0183 and support inertial navigation. external antenna NMCX interface (externally connected) and weight is 75 g. (4) The main configuration of the photography platform (tripod + Rotating gimbal) is as follows: The height of the tripod (a fixing device of a gimbal tripod) is 150 cm, and the contraction height is 40 cm, and the pipe diameter is 20 mm and totaling 4 knots. The rotating gimbal can fix the mobile phone and is placed on the tripod.”) See also FAN ([Section 2.2 The Ground Measurement Tool] “The ground measurement tool developed in this paper can assist in forest GIS surveys. Since the total weight of the tool does not exceed 2 kg, it is easy to carry and operate. It also includes a mobile phone based on the Android 7.0 operating system (convertible mobile transportation device and a computer analysis device capable of image transmission and sharing), Beidou companion M1 positioning module (OLinkStar Co., Ltd., Beijing, China), laser pointer, and photographic platform (see Figure 2). The mobile phone is the data processing module of the ground measurement tool (a dedicated drawing device externally connected to a computer), which provides the running environment of the software and controls the interaction with other hardware modules.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of FAN with ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CHI as the references deal with a dynamic interactive simulation method for recognition and planning of an urban viewing corridor. FAN would modify ZHU, WILLEMSEN, GU, CHEN, YANG, GONG, and CHI by modifying the errors in the planning scheme. The benefits of doing so shows the advantages of high precision and high integration. (FAN [Section 4. Discussion]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are objected to, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 101 rejections of the claims and the 103 rejection of the base claim. The closest pieces of prior art are the ZHU (The Application of Urban Simulation in Urban Planning), WILLEMSEN (Ribbon Networks for Modeling Navigable Paths of Autonomous Agents in Virtual Urban Environments), and CAO (CN 109883401 A) references. The closest references alone and in combination do not teach the equations as claimed in the dependent claims. Therefore, the claims overcome the closest pieces of prior art such that none of the closest prior art references can be applied to form the basis of a 35 USC 102 rejection nor can they be combined to fairly suggest in combination, the basis of a 35 USC 103 rejection when the limitations are read in the particular environment of the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.K.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188