DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the amendment made on 12/15/2025; after entry of this amendment, claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-33 are currently pending in this Application with claims 20-33 being withdrawn from further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 11-106697 to Ukai et al. (hereinafter Ukai) with evidence provided from 2010/0272693 to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
References made to the page numbers and/or paragraph numbers in Ukai are based off of the machine translation of this reference (see attached).
With respect to claim 1, Ukai discloses an antimold coating composition comprising chitosan, which has excellent antifungal and antibacterial properties, solvent to make chitosan water soluble, stabilizer and surfactant (Ukai, pages 2 and 3). Ukai teaches chitosan bonds to the cell wall of the mold or bacteria to inhibit the growth of the mold or bacteria (Ukai, page 2, pages [0006]); also, the reference teaches the solvent is used to make chitosan water soluble (page 3). Thus, these disclosures are seen to read on the claimed recitation of the carrier agent being a “cleaning” agent. Also, the fact that chitosan inhibits the growth of mold and bacteria, chitosan is seen to read on the claimed “preservative”.
Ukai teaches the solvent is organic acids such as acetic acid and citric acid (Ukai, pages 2 and 3, [0009]) which are among the acids used to make the chitosan water soluble (Ukai, page 3, [0010]). The disclosed solvent is seen to read on the claimed “carrier agent”.
Ukai does not expressly and/or literally disclose chitosan citrate acetate solution or salts thereof; however, Ukai discloses acids such as citric acid and acetic acid make chitosan water soluble, which means they react with chitosan (Ukai, page 5, [0015]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the disclosed acids such as citric acid and acetic acid to make chitosan water soluble. Thus, even though Ukai may not literally disclose an embodiment teaching the use of these two acids as the only acids, the fact that the reference recognizes the effect of such acids on chitosan would reasonably suggest that the acids can be acetic and citric acids. Also, it is noted that according to MPEP 2144.06 I, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Lee teaches chitosan is an aminopolysaccharide (Lee, [0045]). Lee teaches a variety of acids can be used for forming aminopolysaccharide salts like chitosan salt and discloses acids such as citric acid and acetic acid to make chitosan salts (Lee, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have recognized the composition of Ukai results in the presence of compounds such as chitosan citrate acetate because of the presence of chitosan, acetic acid, and citric acid which would react with each other, as evidence provided from Lee, to produce chitosan salts such as chitosan citrate acetate.
With respect to claim 2, considering the fact that Ukai teaches citric acid as well as acetic acid, and the fact that the combination of Ukai in view of Lee shows a reaction of these acids with chitosan, it would have been well within the scope of a skilled artisan, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that some chitosan inevitably may react with only one acid. In short, the presence of both chitosan citrate acetate solution as well as chitosan acetate solution are expected in the composition of Ukai in view of Lee.
With respect to claim 4, Ukai teaches the use of 0.02-10 wt% of chitosan (Ukai, page 4, [0013]); this teaches an overlapping range of concentration with the claimed concentration of 0.01-5 wt%.
Assuming this is not found persuasive because the disclosed concentration of 0.02-10 wt% is for chitosan, the claimed concentration is the concentration of “chitosan based agent”, it is noted a chitosan based agent is produced as a result of a reaction between chitosan and solvents, i.e. citric acid and acetic acid. Ukai teaches 0.01-10 wt% of solvent (Ukai, page 4, [0013]) as well. The combined concentrations of chitosan and solvents, as disclosed by Ukai, overlaps with the claimed concentration of chitosan based agent.
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claims 5 and 9, Ukai teaches the use of 0.02-10 wt% of chitosan (Ukai, page 4, [0013]); this teaches an overlapping range of concentration with the claimed concentration of 0.01-1.0 wt% as claimed in claim 5 and 0.01-0.4 wt% as claimed in claim 9.
Assuming this is not found persuasive because the disclosed concentration of 0.02-10 wt% is for chitosan, the claimed concentration is the concentration of “chitosan based agent”, it is noted a chitosan based agent is produced as a result of a reaction between chitosan and solvents, i.e. citric acid and acetic acid. Ukai teaches 0.01-10 wt% of solvent (Ukai, page 4, [0013]) as well. The combined concentrations of chitosan and solvents, as disclosed by Ukai, overlaps with the claimed concentration of chitosan based agent.
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 7, Ukai discloses an antimold coating composition comprising chitosan, which has excellent antifungal and antibacterial properties, solvent to make chitosan water soluble, stabilizer and surfactant (Ukai, pages 2 and 3). Ukai teaches chitosan bonds to the cell wall of the mold or bacteria to inhibit the growth of the mold or bacteria (Ukai, page 2, pages [0006]); also, the reference teaches the solvent is used to make chitosan water soluble (page 3). Thus, these disclosures are seen to read on the claimed recitation of the carrier agent being a “cleaning” agent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-9, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10 under 103 obviousness have been fully considered and, in view of the amendments, are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ukai in view of Lee.
It is important to note that claim 1 has not been amended with the limitation of claim 3 because claims limits the chitosan based agent to chitosan citrate acetate, but claim 1 is amended to recite, in part, “the chitosan based agent comprises chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof”.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-9, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 11, 13-15, 17-19 over Mikalsen, Feng with evidence from Cardinal and Winston, and Quadir have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 11, 13-15, 17-19 has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13-15, 17-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art do not disclose or suggest the a coating system comprising a carrier agent, wherein the carrier agent is a polishing agent and a preservative comprising a chitosan based agent, wherein the chitosan based agent is chitosan acetate solution and salts thereof, chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof, or combinations thereof, wherein the coating system comprises 0.01-0.8 wt% chitosan based agent.
Moreover, the prior art do not disclose or suggest a coating system comprising a carrier agent, wherein the carrier agent is a polishing agent, and a preservative comprising a chitosan based agent, wherein the chitosan based agent is chitosan acetate solution and salts thereof, chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof, or combination thereof, wherein the chitosan based agent has a pH of 6 to 9.
Furthermore, the prior art do not disclose or suggest a coating system comprising a carrier agent, wherein the carrier agent is a finishing agent, and a preservative comprising a chitosan based agent, wherein the chitosan based agent is chitosan acetate solution and salts thereof, chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof, or combination thereof, wherein the coating system comprises 0.01-0.8 wt% chitosan based agent.
In addition, the prior art do not disclose or suggest a coating system comprising a carrier agent, wherein the carrier agent is a finishing agent, and a preservative comprising a chitosan based agent, wherein the chitosan based agent is chitosan acetate solution and salts thereof, chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof, or combinations thereof, wherein the chitosan based agent has a pH of 6 to 9.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art do not disclose the cumulative limitations of claims 1 and 3 wherein the chitosan based agent is chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof. Claim 1, as currently amended, recites, in part, the chitosan based agent “comprises” chitosan citrate acetate, which is open to have other chitosan based agents as well. However, claim 3 limits the chitosan based agent is chitosan citrate acetate solution and salts thereof without the option of having any other chitosan based agent being present.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEGAH PARVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731