DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 13, 2026 has been entered. Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17, 23-24, and 27-28 remain cancelled. The amendment to the specification filed May 13, 2026 has been entered.
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2020/032547 filed May 12, 2020 which claims benefit of 62/849,019 filed May 16, 2019.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-26, and 29-32 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
According to the instant specification, the term "decolonization" refers, in embodiments, to the reduction of a specific pathogen (e.g., Candida auris) burden in a specific body site (e.g., skin) in a sufficient magnitude that common culture techniques are no longer able to identify the pathogen (pg. 19, para. 0076). In other embodiments, "decolonization" refers to reduction of a specific pathogen burden in a sufficient magnitude that a desired benefit (e.g., limit of pathogen transmission, or reduction of the risk of infection relapse) is achieved (pg. 19, para. 0076). The phrase decolonization is thus interpreted to encompass both definitions.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkow (Antimicrobial Agents of Chemotherapy, 2017, cited in previous action), in view of Schelenz et al (Antimicrobial Resistance and Infection Control, 2016, cited in previous action), and Greenlee (WO 2010/019203, cited in previous action) as evidenced by Juneja (European Congress of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, 2019, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-26, and 29: Berkow teaches SCY-078 is known in the art as a glucan synthase inhibitor that has in vitro activity against C. auris (pg. 1, para. 2, pg. 2, table 2). Berkow teaches SCY-078 is known in the art with both oral and intravenous formulations (pg. 2, para. 2). According to the instant specification ibrexafungerp or SCY-078 is the compound of formula (IIa), is the preferred compound of formula (I) and has the following structure:
(pgs. 9-10, para. 0025, pg. 12, para. 0042). Berkow teaches a method of administering SCY-078, which differs from the structure in instant claim 8 by an additional defined chiral center (see image):
. However, the pure chiral center is encompassed the racemate variant as recited by instant claims 8 and 12-13.
Berkow does not explicitly teach a method of decolonizing an anatomic area of a human subject, wherein the anatomic area is skin or mucosal tissue, and wherein the mucosal tissue is respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary tract mucosal tissue.
However, Schelenz teaches in the majority of cases C. auris was confined to colonization of skin sites or mucosa (pg. 4, col. 1, para. 3). Colonization with C. auris was defined as culture positive skin, oropharynx, vascular line exit site, respiratory, and urinary tract without clinical signs of Candida infection (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2). Greenlee teaches methods for inhibiting glucan synthase for treating fungal infections comprising administering enfumafungin derivatives (abstract, pg. 13, lines 24-32). The compound of formula (IIa), as recited by instant claim 30, is included as a possible compound (pg. 98, lines 5-10, compound 182). Greenlee teaches compounds/compositions can be provided as tablets for oral administration (pg. 14, lines 19-31). Greenlee teaches the compounds are useful for the treatment of mycotic infections in skin, oral mucosa, gastrointestinal tract, bronchus, and lung (i.e. respiratory, pg. 8, lines 14-20). Juneja discloses a method of treating Candida auris in a human subject comprising administering oral ibrexafungerp (col. 1, methods). The method resulted in decreasing amount C. auris in blood cultures (col. 2, results, table 2). Juneja states that a patient showed “no evidence of recurrence of the fungal infection” (i.e. decolonized, results).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of Berkow by administering SCY-078 orally or intravenously as taught by Berkow, for the treatment of a Candida auris infection, which would necessarily result in the decolonization of skin or mucosal tissues, such as respiratory tissues, as taught by Schelenz and Greenlee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as patients colonized by C. auris have culture positive skin and respiratory tissues, and the one would administer these established oral/intravenous antifungal agents for the purpose of treating the infection As disclosed by Juneja, administration of SCY-078 necessarily results in decolonizing the tissue. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant (See MPEP 2144 (IV)).
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkow (Antimicrobial Agents of Chemotherapy, 2017, cited in previous action), Schelenz et al (Antimicrobial Resistance and Infection Control, 2016, cited in previous action), Greenlee (WO 2010/019203, cited in previous action), and Juneja (European Congress of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, 2019, cited in previous action) as applied to claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 19-22, 25-26, and 29 above in view of Wring et al (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, 2017, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 30-32: As discussed above, the prior art teaches everything except wherein the SCY-078 is administered as a citrate salt (pharmaceutically acceptable salt) in tablet form.
However, Wring teaches the citrate salt of SCY-078 (i.e. a compound of formula (IIa)) has improved pharmacokinetic (solubility) properties in both i.v. and oral studies (pg. 6, para. 1). Greenlee teaches methods for inhibiting glucan synthase for treating fungal infections comprising administering enfumafungin derivatives (abstract, pg. 13, lines 24-32). The compound of formula (IIa), as recited by instant claim 30, is included as a possible compound (pg. 98, lines 5-10, compound 182). Greenlee teaches compounds/compositions can be provided as tablets for oral administration (pg. 14, lines 19-31). Greenlee teaches the compounds are useful for the treatment of mycotic infections in skin, oral mucosa, gastrointestinal tract, bronchus, and lung (i.e. respiratory, pg. 8, lines 14-20).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of Juneja, Berkow, Greenlee, and Schelenz by administering the citrate salt of SCY-078 in tablet form as taught by Wring and Greenlee for decolonization of C. auris in skin or mucosal tissues. One of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as the art recognizes tablet formulations of these compounds as a viable option for the treatment of fungal infections, the citrate salt of the compound improves pharmacokinetic properties, and these types of compounds are useful for the decolonization of fungal infections in the skin or mucosal tissue, such as respiratory tissue.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15, 18-20, 22, 25-26, 29-30, and 31-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,534,433 in view of Kumar et al (J. Infect. Dev. Ctries., 2015, cited in previous action), Schelenz et al (Antimicrobial Resistance and Infection Control, 2016, cited in previous action), Greenlee (WO 2010/019203, cited in previous action) as evidenced by Juneja (European Congress of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, 2019, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15, 18-20, 22, 25-26, 29-30, and 31-32: The patented claims teach a method of treating vulvovaginal candidiasis infection in a subject comprising administering the compound of formula (IIa):
, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or hydrate thereof, wherein the infection occurs in an anatomic area (claim 1). The patented claims also teach the citrate salt of the compound can be administered (claims 11 and 14). The patented claims teach the compound can be administered orally as a tablet (claims 8 and 15).
The present claims and the patented claims differ in that the patented claims do not teach a method of decolonizing C. auris, wherein the subject is human, or wherein the anatomic area is skin or mucosal tissue, such as respiratory tissue.
However, Kumar teaches vulvovaginal candidiasis can be caused by C. auris (pg. 1, col. 1, para. 1). Schelenz teaches in the majority of cases C. auris was confined to colonization of skin sites or mucosa (pg. 4, col. 1, para. 3). Colonization with C. auris was defined as culture positive skin, oropharynx, vascular line exit site, respiratory, and urinary tract without clinical signs of Candida infection (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2). Greenlee teaches methods for inhibiting glucan synthase for treating fungal infections comprising administering enfumafungin derivatives (abstract, pg. 13, lines 24-32). The compound is of formula (IIa), as recited by instant claim 30, is included as a possible compound is included as a possible compound and meets the structural requirements of formula (I) as recited by instant claim 1 (pg. 98, lines 5-10, compound 182). The compound differs from the structure in instant claim 8 by an additional defined chiral center (see image):
. However, the pure chiral center is encompassed by the racemate variant as recited by instant claims 8 and 12-13. Greenlee teaches compounds/compositions can be provided as tablets for oral administration (pg. 14, lines 19-31). Greenlee teaches the compounds are useful for the treatment of mycotic infections in skin, oral mucosa, gastrointestinal tract, bronchus, and lung (i.e. respiratory, pg. 8, lines 14-20). Juneja discloses a method of treating Candida auris in a human subject comprising administering oral ibrexafungerp (col. 1, methods). The method resulted in decreasing amount C. auris in blood cultures (col. 2, results, table 2). Juneja states that a patient showed “no evidence of recurrence of the fungal infection” (i.e. decolonized, results).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of the copending claims for the decolonization of C. auris skin or mucosal tissues, such as respiratory tissues, in human subjects as taught by Kumar, Schelenz and Greenlee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to do as vulvovaginal candidiasis can be caused by C. auris and patients colonized by C. auris have culture positive skin and respiratory tissues, and one would administer these established antifungal agents for the purpose treating the C. auris infection in tissue, thereby necessarily resulting in the decolonization of tissues in the subject, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7, 14, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,534,433, Kumar et al (J. Infect. Dev. Ctries., 2015, cited on previous action), Schelenz et al (Antimicrobial Resistance and Infection Control, 2016, cited on previous action), Greenlee (WO 2010/019203, cited on previous action), and Juneja (European Congress of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, 2019, cited in previous action) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15, 18-20, 22, 25-26, 29-30, and 31-32 in view of Wring et al (Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, 2017, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 21: The patented claims further differ from the instant claims in that the patented claims do not teach wherein the compound is administered intravenously.
However, Wring teaches the citrate salt of SCY-078 (an antifungal compound) has improved pharmacokinetic (solubility) properties in both i.v. and oral studies (abstract, pg. 6, para. 1). According to the instant specification ibrexafungerp or SCY-078 is the compound of formula (IIa) (pgs. 9-10, para. 0025, pg. 12, para. 0042).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the patented claims by administering the compound intravenously as taught by Wring. One of ordinary skill would have the motivation to do so in order to treat fungal infections (C. auris) with a reasonable expectation of success given that this administration route has been demonstrated for this compound.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the office improperly relies on a disqualified reference as substantive evidence in the office action (section I, bottom of page). Applicant argues Juneja is being used substantively to establish the missing decolonizing limitation. On page 10 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the Examiner relies on Juneja’s reported clinical outcome as the sole support for the assertion that SCY-078’s administration results in decolonization (para. 2). Applicant argues the disqualified reference cannot be reintroduced through the backdoor of inherency to supply a missing claim limitation.
However, the inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness (See MPEP 2112). In relying upon the theory of inherency, the examiner must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art (See MPEP 2112 (IV)). While a disqualified reference cannot be used as prior art, it can be utilized as an evidentiary reference to support an inherent characteristic. According to the instant specification, the term "decolonization" refers, in embodiments, to the reduction of a specific pathogen (e.g., Candida auris) burden in a specific body site (e.g., skin) in a sufficient magnitude that common culture techniques are no longer able to identify the pathogen (pg. 19, para. 0076). According to Juneja administration of SCY-078 resulted in decreasing amount C. auris in blood cultures (col. 2, results, table 2). Juneja states that a patient showed “no evidence of recurrence of the fungal infection” (i.e. decolonized, results). The teachings of Berkow suggest application of SCY-078 for the treatment of Candida auris, stating SCY-078 is a promising novel antifungal agent against Candida auris (pg. 2, para. 2). Berkow teaches SCY-078 is known in the art with both oral and intravenous formulations (pg. 2, para. 2). Schelenz teaches in the majority of cases C. auris was confined to colonization of skin sites or mucosa (pg. 4, col. 1, para. 3). Colonization with C. auris was defined as culture positive skin, oropharynx, vascular line exit site, respiratory, and urinary tract without clinical signs of Candida infection (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2). Nothing in the instant claims suggests that the instant claims are different from that which would be rendered obvious over the teachings of Berkow and Schelenz, other than usage of the phrase “decolonization”. While the prior art references do not show a specific recognition of that result, its discovery by applicants is tantamount only to finding a property that would have been present in the old composition upon practicing the method suggested by Berkow and Schelenz (See MPEP 2112.02 (II)).
On page 10 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that the strict standard required for establishing inherency has not been met (para. 3). Applicant argues that the possibility that SCY-078 may reduce fungal burden or may lead to absence of recurrence in certain patients is insufficient to establish inherency (para. 4).
However, according to the instant specification "decolonization" refers to reduction of a specific pathogen burden in a sufficient magnitude that a desired benefit (e.g., limit of pathogen transmission, or reduction of the risk of infection relapse) is achieved (pg. 19, para. 0076). The phrase decolonization in the specification only requires reduction of a specific pathogen burden in a sufficient magnitude that a desired benefit is achieved. Juneja states that a patient showed “no evidence of recurrence of the fungal infection” (i.e. decolonized, results), this is a benefit due to the reduction of pathogen burden. Berkow suggests SCY-078 as an antifungal therapeutic against Candida auris, and practicing such a method would necessarily achieve a benefit due to the reduction in the pathogen, absent evidence to the contrary.
On page 10 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that treatment is distinguished by colonization and that treatment does not establish that it inevitably eradicates colonization from skin or mucosal tissue (paras. 5-6). On page 10-11 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues Juneja does not demonstrate eradication of colonization across the claimed anatomical sites (bridging para.). On page 11 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the ability to decolonize is unsupported by any technical evidence and does not demonstrate reduction of pathogen burden at a level below detection by standard culture techniques (paras. 2-3).
However, the instant claims are not directed towards methods of eradication of colonization, but rather the decolonization of anatomic tissue. In addition to defining decolonization as reducing the pathogen burden to a level below detection, according to the instant specification, "decolonization" refers to reduction of a specific pathogen burden in a sufficient magnitude that a desired benefit (e.g., limit of pathogen transmission, or reduction of the risk of infection relapse) is achieved (pg. 19, para. 0076). Such an interpretation is open to the Examiner as does not require inherency be established for “complete eradication” but rather a desired benefit. Juneja states that a patient showed “no evidence of recurrence of the fungal infection” (i.e. decolonized, results), this is a benefit due to the reduction of pathogen burden.
On page 11 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the teachings fail to teach or suggest decolonizing Candida auris from the skin or mucosal tissues and can only be supported by Juneja (para. 4).
However, as discussed above in the 103 rejections, via administering the claimed antifungal agent for the purpose of eliminating/treating a Candida auris fungus infection, the method necessarily results in decolonizing that subject, as evidenced by Juneja. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant (See MPEP (IV)). In order to rely on inherency to establish the existence of a claim limitation in the prior art in an obviousness analysis – the limitation at issue necessarily must be present, or the natural result of the combination of elements explicitly disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2112 (IV)). Wherein the prior art establishes SCY-078 as an efficacious treatment for Candida auris infections, and Schelenz teaches in the majority of cases C. auris was confined to colonization of skin sites or mucosa (pg. 4, col. 1, para. 3). Colonization with C. auris was defined as culture positive skin, oropharynx, vascular line exit site, respiratory, and urinary tract without clinical signs of Candida infection. Juneja discloses a method of treating Candida auris in a human subject comprising administering oral ibrexafungerp (col. 1, methods). The method resulted in decreasing amount C. auris in blood cultures (col. 2, results, table 2). Juneja states that a patient showed “no evidence of recurrence of the fungal infection” (i.e. decolonized, results). The ability of SCY-078 to decolonize a tissue, is an innate feature of the specific compound, thus the resulting decolonization flows naturally from practicing the method.
On page 11 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that Wring does not cure the above deficiencies (para. 5).
See response to arguments above.
On page 12 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the ‘433 patent does not teach or suggest the claimed methods of decolonizing Candida auris from the skin or mucosal tissue (para. 3).
However, as discussed above the patented claims teach a method of treating vulvovaginal candidiasis infection in a subject comprising administering the compound of formula (IIa):
, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or hydrate thereof, wherein the infection occurs in an anatomic area (claim 1). Kumar establishes that vulvovaginal candidiasis can be caused by Candida auris infection. Thus, wherein the art suggests, treatment with SCY-078 of Candida auris infections one of ordinary skill in the art would have the motivation to do as vulvovaginal candidiasis can be caused by C. auris and patients colonized by C. auris have culture positive skin and respiratory tissues, and one would administer these established antifungal agents for the purpose treating the C. auris infection in tissue, thereby necessarily resulting in the decolonization of tissues in the subject, absent evidence to the contrary. The inherent ability to decolonize based on the definition in the specification naturally flows from practicing the method of treating vulvovaginal candidiasis subjects with Candida auris infections, as is described and argued above.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 103 rejections and double patenting rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693