Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, i.e. Venna et al. (US 20170236079 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 21-22, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venna et al. (US 20170236079 A1) in view of Piehler et al. (90266552 B1).
Claim 1 Venna teaches a method comprising:
accessing, by a web browser of a user device, (FIG. 16, Client 21, ¶0092, running a web browser) a target web asset; (FIG. 26, ¶0093, accessing a web asset, for example, an XMPP resource)
collecting, via a set of functions of the web browser of the user device accessing the target web asset, (¶0089, Active Collection; ¶0092, collecting via functions of a web browser) at least a portion of native code of the target web asset, (FIG. 6, ¶0142, wherein the response using HTTP protocol from the server comprises native code of the target web asset) wherein the at least the portion of native code comprises an embedded reference to first code associated with a first web service of a set of web services; (FIG. 6, ¶0142, comprising a reference to code associated with a first webs service of a set of webservices, such as identification within headers like “Server: cloudflare-nginx” 68 and the presence of the “CF-RAY” header 72; FIG. 6, ¶0143, or web services such as Google Sitemaps or Pinterest)
analyzing the embedded reference of the at least the portion of native code collected via the set of functions of the web browser to identify the first code of the native code, wherein the first code is executable by the web browser to load the first web service; (Examiner interprets “the first code of the native code” that is identified from the native code as not necessarily being distinct from the native code itself; FIG. 6, ¶0142, the first code may load Cloudflare service 76; and FIG. 6, ¶0143, wherein the first code may load content from social networks such as Pinterest or Facebook)
determining, based on the first code associated with the first web service, a set of relationships between the target web asset, the first web service of the set of web services, and a second web service of the set of web services, (¶0061, determining relationships between entities based on data collected that implies relationships) wherein the set of relationships comprises:
a first relationship indicating that the target web asset dynamically loads the first web service at runtime of the native code; (¶0050, a third party relationship, wherein the first entity, i.e. the web asset, has a direct relationship and calls a third-party entity) and
a second relationship indicating that the first web service loads the second web service to the target web asset. (¶0053-¶0054, a fourth party relationship, wherein a web hosting service, i.e. a web asset, hosts or loads a third-party entity such as a website, and that website loads advertisers onto the website, the advertisers on the website are in a fourth party relationship with the web asset)
However, Venna does not explicitly teach generating a log including information identifying the target web asset, the first web service, the second web service, and the set of relationships.
From a related technology, Piehler teaches determining, based on the first code associated with the first web service, a set of relationships (FIG. 4, Col. 9, Lines 36-41, determining based on the identified other web services, i.e. the first code, inter-relationship between web services) between the target web asset, (FIG. 4, Col. 9, 42-45, for example, the particular web service) the first web service of the set of web services, and a second web service of the set of web services, (FIG. 4, Col. 9, Lines 42-44, wherein a first and second web service of the set of web services are consumed by the particular web service) wherein the set of relationships comprises:
a first relationship indicating that the first target web asset dynamically loads the first web service at runtime of the native code; (Col. 9, Lines 42-43, a first relationship wherein the target web asset consumes another web service, Col. 9, Line 31-33, wherein consuming of a web service being used during execution, i.e. at runtime of the native code) and
a second relationship indicating that the first web service loads the second web service to the target web asset; (Col. 9, Lines 52-61, a second relationship of one web services consuming another web service, for example, Service A consume Service B) and
generating a log including information identifying the target web asset, the first web service, the second web service, and the set of relationships. (FIG. 4, 404c, Col. 10, Lines 26-45, wherein the relationships between the web assets and services is stored, and wherein the stored relationships comprises a log including information)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Venna to incorporate the teachings of Piehler to analyze native code to determine relationships between web services and web assets in order to effectively understand and manage relevant network resources.
Claim 2 Venna in view of Piehler teach Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first web service is loaded by the target web asset by code of the target web asset (Piehler, Col. 9, Lines 42-43, a first relationship wherein the target web asset consumes another web service, Col. 9, Line 31-33, wherein consuming of a web service being used during execution, i.e. at runtime of the native code) or one or more tools of a website comprising the target web asset.
Claims 21-22 are taught by Venna in view of Piehler as described for Claims 1-2 and 5 respectively.
Claims 26-27 are taught by Venna in view of Piehler as described for Claims 1-2 and 5 respectively.
Claims 5, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venna et al. (US 20170236079 A1) in view of Piehler et al. (US 9026652 B1) and in further view of Rosenthal (US 20150163279 A1).
Claim 5 Venna in view of Piehler teach Claim 1, does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more data attributes comprise information identifying one or more communications between the first web service and the second web service.
From a related technology, Rosenthal teaches wherein the one or more data
attributes comprise information identifying one or more communications between the
first web service and the second web service. (FIG. 6, ¶0053, wherein user input data
comprises information that identifies communications between a first and second web service,
for example, the input identifying data transfers between Web Service S and Web Service D)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of Venna in view of Piehler to monitor and gather data
that details communications between web services as taught in Rosenthal in order to better
manage content and user activity across various web services.
Claim 25 is taught by Venna in view of Piehler, & Rosenthal as described for Claim 5.
Claim 30 is taught by Venna in view of Piehler, & Rosenthal as described for Claim 5.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444