DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 were originally filed November 12, 2021.
The amendment received May 25, 2022 amended claims 1-14 and 17.
The amendment received February 28, 2025 amended claims 1, 2, 10-12, and 17 and canceled claims 3-9, 13, and 14.
The amendment received November 13, 2025 amended claims 1 and 17 and canceled claim 2.
Claims 1, 10-12, and 15-18 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 10-12, and 17 are currently under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elected, without traverse, Group I (claims 1-14 and 17) in the reply filed on August 23, 2024. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 15, 16, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected products and methods, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicants elected, without traverse, SEQ ID NO: 11, N-terminal acetylation, neurotrophic keratitis, and human as the species in the reply filed on August 23, 2024. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 23, 2024.
Priority
The present application is a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/JP2020/019347 filed May 14, 2020 which claims foreign priority to Japan 2019-091700 filed May 14, 2019.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome any rejection of record because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Sequence Interpretation
The Office interprets claims comprising SEQ ID NOs: in the following manner: “comprising a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires only a 2mer of SEQ ID NO: 1, “comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 with any N-/C-terminal additions or any 5’/3’ additions, “consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 and the same length as SEQ ID NO: 1, and “selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, and 3” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, or 3 and the same length as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, or 3.
Present SEQ ID NO: 1 (PACAP38) is HSDGIFTDSYSRYRKQMAVKKYLAAVLGKRYKQRVKNK.
SEQ ID NO: 3 wherein X1, X2, and X3 are S/Ser/serine; X4 is K/Lys/lysine; X5 is Q/Gln/glutamine; X6 is M/Met/methionine; X7 is V/Val/valine; X8 and X9 are K/Lys/lysine; and X10 is L/Leu/leucine.
Present SEQ ID NO: 2 (PACAP27) is HSDGIFTDSYSRYRKQMAVKKYLAAVL.
SEQ ID NO: 3 wherein X1, X2, and X3 are S/Ser/serine; X4 is K/Lys/lysine; X5 is Q/Gln/glutamine; X6 is M/Met/methionine; X7 is V/Val/valine; X8 and X9 are K/Lys/lysine; and X10 is L/Leu/leucine.
Please note: due to the closed consisting of language in claims 1 and 17, only PACAP27 now reads on present SEQ ID NO: 3.
Withdrawn Objections
The objection to claim 1 regarding an extra space between “administering” and “a” (see line 2) is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The objection to claim 1 regarding embedded periods within the claim (see lines 9-13) is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The objection to claim 1 regarding the second wherein clause should read as follows: “wherein the partially modified sequence comprises SEQ ID NO: 3 as above with 1-3 amino acid deletion(s) from the C-terminus or the addition of an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of:” is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The objection to claim 1 regarding the semicolon after G should be removed is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The objection to claim 17 regarding embedded periods within the claim (see lines 8-12) is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The objection to claim 17 regarding the second wherein clause should read as follows: “wherein the partially modified sequence comprises SEQ ID NO: 3 as above with 1-3 amino acid deletion(s) from the C-terminus or the addition of an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of:” is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The objection to claim 17 regarding the semicolon after G should be removed is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 10-12, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends is withdrawn in view of the amendment received November 13, 2025 which cancelled the claim.
Maintained and/or Modified* Rejections
*wherein the modification is due to amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0212899 published September 1, 2011 and Popova et al., 2015, Synthesis and biological properties of amino acids and peptides containing a tetrazolyl moiety, Russian Chemical Reviews, 84(9): 891-916.
For present claims 1, 10-12, and 17, Takayama et al. teach methods of treating keratitis, keratopathy, and/or corneal neutritogenesis via administering PACAP38 (i.e. present SEQ ID NO: 1), PACAP27 (i.e. present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3), or a derivative thereof which may also have deletions (i.e. modified sequence) and/or N-terminal acetylation (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 4, 6, 8-23, 35, 57, 66, 71).
For present claims 1, 10-12, and 17, Popova et al. teach replacing aspartic acid with tetrazole to enhance peptide stability (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Introduction; pages 904, 908, 910, 912, and 913).
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. replacing aspartic acid with tetrazole to enhance peptide stability) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Arguments and Response
Applicants’ arguments directed to the rejection under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. and Popova et al. for claims 1, 10-12, and 17 were considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicants contend that Takayama et al. do not teach PACAP27 wherein the D/Asp/aspartic acid at positions 3 and/or 8 is(are) substituted with tetrazole which retain activity while having enhanced stability. Applicants contend that Popava et al. do not teach PACAP27 wherein the D/Asp/aspartic acid at positions 3 and/or 8 is(are) substituted with tetrazole.
Applicants’ arguments are not convincing since the teachings of Takayama et al. and Popova et al. render the methods of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Takayama et al. teach PACAP27 (present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3) wherein the only D/Asp/aspartic acids are at residues 3 and 8 (see above – Sequence Interpretation section).
Popova et al. teach of tetrazole substitutions providing stability and high activity (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Introduction, sections IV.1, V; page 910, left column). Popova et al. teach replacing aspartic acid with tetrazole to enhance peptide stability (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Introduction; pages 904, 908, 910, 912, and 913).
Claims 1, 10-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ousler III et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0270592 published November 30, 2006; Takayama et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0212899 published September 1, 2011; and Popova et al., 2015, Synthesis and biological properties of amino acids and peptides containing a tetrazolyl moiety, Russian Chemical Reviews, 84(9): 891-916.
For present claims 1, 10-12, and 17, Ousler III et al. teach methods of treating neurotrophic keratitis via administering PACAP38 (present SEQ ID NO: 3) or PACAP27 (present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3) (please refer to the entire specification particularly 4, 6, 19, 25, 36, 37).
For present claims 1, 10-12, and 17, Takayama et al. teach methods of treating keratitis, keratopathy, and/or corneal neutritogenesis via administering PACAP38 (present SEQ ID NO: 1), PACAP27 (present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 4), or a derivative thereof which may also have deletions (i.e. modified sequence) and/or N-terminal acetylation (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 4, 6, 8-23, 35, 57, 66, 71).
For present claims 1, 10-12, and 17, Popova et al. teach replacing aspartic acid with tetrazole to enhance peptide stability (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Introduction; pages 904, 908, 910, 912, and 913).
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. N-terminal acetylation to increase stability; replacing aspartic acid with tetrazole to enhance peptide stability) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Arguments and Response
Applicants’ arguments directed to the rejection under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ousler III et al., Takayama et al., and Popova et al. for claims 1, 10-12, and 17 were considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicants contend that Takayama et al. do not teach PACAP27 wherein the D/Asp/aspartic acid at positions 3 and/or 8 is(are) substituted with tetrazole which retain activity while having enhanced stability. Applicants contend that Popava et al. do not teach PACAP27 wherein the D/Asp/aspartic acid at positions 3 and/or 8 is(are) substituted with tetrazole.
Applicants’ arguments are not convincing since the teachings of Ousler III et al., Takayama et al., and Popova et al. render the methods of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Takayama et al. teach PACAP27 (present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3) wherein the only D/Asp/aspartic acids are at residues 3 and 8 (see above – Sequence Interpretation section).
Popova et al. teach of tetrazole substitutions providing stability and high activity (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Introduction, sections IV.1, V; page 910, left column). Popova et al. teach replacing aspartic acid with tetrazole to enhance peptide stability (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Introduction; pages 904, 908, 910, 912, and 913).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10-12, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent 12,304,932 (application 16/763,732) in view of Takayama et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0212899 published September 1, 2011.
U.S. Patent 12,304,932 claims SEQ ID NO: 3 wherein the aspartic acids at residues 3 and/or 8 are substituted with tetrazole, amino acids can be deleted or added, and N-terminal acetylation.
Takayama et al. teach methods of treating keratitis, keratopathy, and/or corneal neutritogenesis via administering PACAP38 (present SEQ ID NO: 1), PACAP27 (present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3), or a derivative thereof which may also have deletions (i.e. modified sequence) and/or N-terminal acetylation (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 4, 6, 8-23, 35, 57, 66, 71).
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. treating keratitis or keratopathy and/or corneal neutritogenesis via utilizing PACAP27) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Arguments and Response
Applicants’ arguments directed to the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 12,304,932 and Takayama et al. for claims 1, 10-12, and 17 were considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicants contend that since U.S. Patent 12,304,932 does not claim methods of treatment, the patent cannot be utilized in a Double Patenting rejection. Applicants also contend that Takayama et al. so not teach present SEQ ID NO: 3.
Applicants’ arguments are not convincing since the claimed invention of U.S. Patent 12,304,932 and Takayama et al. renders obvious the method of the instant claims. U.S. Patent 12,304,932 claims present SEQ ID NO: 3 wherein the aspartic acids at residues 3 and/or 8 are substituted with tetrazole, amino acids can be deleted or added, and N-terminal acetylation. Takayama et al. teach methods of treating keratitis, keratopathy, and/or corneal neutritogenesis via administering PACAP38 (present SEQ ID NO: 1), PACAP27 (present SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3), or a derivative thereof which may also have deletions (i.e. modified sequence) and/or N-terminal acetylation (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 4, 6, 8-23, 35, 57, 66, 71).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In addition, while a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated, the present is a rejection and will not be held in abeyance (see MPEP § 714.02).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 5,198,542 (SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 15 have 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 wherein SEQ ID NO: 1 is a fusion of SEQ ID NO: 3-SEQ ID NO: 37).
JP 2001151799 (SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 have 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 wherein SEQ ID NO: 1 is a fusion of SEQ ID NO: 3-SEQ ID NO: 37).
U.S. Patent Application Publication 20020155533 wherein SEQ ID NO: 47 has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 2.
WO 2010/036936 wherein SEQ ID NO: 56 has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 3.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 20040132648 wherein SEQ ID NO: 17 has 100% identity and the same length as present SEQ ID NO: 3.
Future Communications
/AMBER D STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658