DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 38-44 are new. Claims 28-37 are withdrawn. Claims 19-27 and 38-44 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-27 and 38-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR’646 (KR2015-0072646, IDS dated 05/05/2026).
Regarding claims 19-26 and 38-43, KR’646 discloses (Abstract) a cold-rolled steel sheet with a composition that overlaps the instant claimed composition of C, Si, Mn, Cr, Al, Ti, S, P, N, Nb, B and Fe, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in KR’646 to produce a steel that meets the recited composition in claims 19-24, 38 and 42-43. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 19
(mass %)
KR’646
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.1-0.2
0.05-0.13
0.1-0.13
Mn
1.5-2.5
1-2
1.5-2
Si
0.1-0.25
≤0.5 (excluding 0)
0.1-0.25
Cr
0.1-1
≤0.5 (excluding 0)
0.1-0.5
Al
0.01-0.1
0.01-0.1
0.01-0.1
Ti
0.001-0.1
48/14x[N]-0.1
0.001-0.1
S
0.0-0.09
≤0.015 (excluding 0)
≤0.015 (excluding 0)
P
0.0-0.09
≤0.03 (excluding 0)
≤0.03 (excluding 0)
N
0.0-0.09
≤0.01 (excluding 0)
≤0.01 (excluding 0)
Nb
0.0-0.1
≤0.1 (excluding 0)
≤0.1 (excluding 0)
B
0-0.05
≤0.005 (excluding 0)
≤0.005 (excluding 0)
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
KR’646 discloses that the steel consists of at least 90% tempered martensite and 10% or less ferrite+bainite (Abstract; Page 4 and Page 5; Table 3, Samples 1-14), which overlap the recited phase contents in claims 19, 25-26 and 39-41. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, the recited phase content in claims 19, 25-26 and 39-41 is a prima face case of obviousness over KR’646.
Regarding claim 27, KR’646 discloses that the steel has a tensile strength of 1000 MPa or greater and a yield strength of 850 MPa or greater (Page 6, last paragraph), which overlap the recited tensile strength and yield strength in claim 27. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, the recited properties are a prima face case of obviousness over KR’646.
Regarding claim 44, KR’646 discloses that the steel consists of at least 90% tempered martensite and 10% or less ferrite+bainite (Abstract; Page 4 and Page 5; Table 3, Samples 1-14), which meets the limitation recited in claim 44.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-27 and 38-44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-29 of copending Application No. 18/704,533 (US 20250019786). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 15-29 of copending Application No. 18/704,533 teach a cold-rolled steel sheet that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations recited in the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claims 19-27 and 38-44 are obvious over claims 15-29 of copending Application No. 18/704,533.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733