Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objection
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, “the first planar section” does not have antecedent basis to claim 6 on which it is dependent. As first planar section is not recited in claim 6. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parker (US 20170321865 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Parker teaches a lighting structure (Fig.1A, also see Fig.3A and 3B), comprising: a light source 101, a light emitting panel having a planar section 103 and a cavity section, wherein the cavity has a depth and an opening size radius (see 302 in Fig.3B or 3C) from a center of the light source and a wall (side walls) surrounding the cavity; and an optic (bulge indicated in the center) disposed within a cavity of the cavity section, wherein an opening of the cavity section is surrounded by the planar section, wherein the light source is coupled to the optic and said optic is located distal from the opening of the cavity section, light emitted from the light source exits the optic into the cavity section to transfer a first portion 102a of said light toward the opening of the cavity section and a second portion of said light into the planar section 103a through the slanted sections of the wall of the cavity section (Note: light is first exiting the optic and then impinging into the planar section).
Regarding claim 5, Parker teaches a light source 101 (Fig.1A, also see Fig.3A and 3B), a light emitting panel having a planar section 103a and a cavity section (wherein 102 is indicated), wherein the cavity has a depth and an opening size radius (Fig.3C) from a center of the light source and a wall (two slant side walls of the cavity) surrounding the cavity; an optic (central bulge) disposed within a cavity of the cavity section, wherein an opening of the cavity section is surrounded by the planar section 103a , wherein a wall of the cavity section is slanted on one or more sides of the optic, wherein the light source is coupled to the optic and said optic is located distal from the opening of the cavity section, light emitted from the light source exits the optic into the cavity section; and said light source emits light, wherein the light source is positioned outside of the cavity of the cavity section and proximal to the optic, wherein the optic is positioned to transfer a first portion 102a of said light toward the opening of the cavity section and a second portion (in 103) of said light into the planar section through the slanted sections of the wall of the cavity section.
Regarding claim 6, Parker teaches a lighting structure (Fig.1B, also see Fig.6C and 3B), comprising: a base light emitting panel having a planar section (on which 101 is indicated) and an optic (bulge in the center);
and a shield light emitting panel having a second planar section 103 and a cavity section (cavity between the 103),
wherein a wall of the cavity section is slanted on one or more sides of the optic, wherein the cavity has a depth and an opening size radius from a center of the light source; wherein an opening of the cavity section is surrounded by the second planar section, wherein the optic is disposed within a cavity of the cavity section distal from the opening of the cavity section to transfer light from the light emitting panel to the optic, and wherein the optic transfers a first portion of a light from a light source toward the opening of the cavity section and a second portion of the light into the second planar section through the slanted sections of the wall of the cavity section (see rejection in claims 1 and 5 above, as the scope of the claim is the same).
Regarding claim 2, Parker teaches a lighting structure, wherein the cavity section is formed in the planar section (as cavity section is within the planar section).
Regarding claim 3, Parker teaches a lighting structure, wherein the light emitting panel and the optic are integrally formed (101 and the rest of the optics formed as one piece, is considered as integral).
Regarding claim 7, Parker teaches a lighting structure, wherein a portion of the first planar section (on which 101 is indicated) is spaced from a portion of the second planar section 103 (see claim objection above).
Regarding claim 8, Parker teaches a lighting structure, wherein the second planar section and the cavity section are integrally formed (as shown in Fig.1B).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Parker teaches a lighting structure, wherein a wall of the cavity section is slanted on one or more sides of the optic (two sides of the cavity that is slant).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875