DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 33, 38-39 and 47 in the response filed on 8 August, 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 33-52 remain pending in the application.
Claims 34, 40-45 and 48-52 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-32 are cancelled.
Claims 33, 35-39 and 46-47 are examined.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under [35 USC 103 - Levy et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0172670) in view of Avron et al. (US PGUB 2014/0364694), or in view of Levin et al. (US 2016/0015258).
Argument:
In regards to the amended claim 33, the applicant argues that the reusable handle is positively claimed, as it is not merely recited in the preamble [in the applicant's arguments dated 8 August, 2026, page 7 lines 3-9].
Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). MPEP 2173.05 (g).
The claim recites “An elongated shaft detachably mountable on a reusable handle”, “the adaptor is configured to mechanically and electronically detachably couple to a coupling interface on a distal section of the handle, such as to mount the elongated shaft on the handle” and “the adaptor is further configured to dictate a preferred mounting orientation … when the elongated shaft is mounted on the handle”.
In each case the handle is recited in the context of describing the function of other parts, ie. that these parts need to be capable of interacting with a handle in this fashion, not that a handle need be provided.
As such, this argument is found to be particularly and unusually unconvincing.
Argument:
In regards to the amended claim 33, the applicant argues that Levy describes a distal tip connection and not a shaft-to-handle interface, therefore not teaching handle-related limitations in claim 33. [in the applicant’s arguments dated 8 August, 2026, page 8 lines 1-20].
Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 33 requires “an elongated shaft detachably mountable on a reusable handle of an endoscope”, among other limitations.
The examiner asserts that item 302, Fig.3, of Levy may be described as an elongated shaft, and not only and necessarily as a distal tip. Item 307, Fig.3, of Levy is described as connected to a shaft. Endoscope shafts are usually connected to endoscope handles, as shown for example in Fig.1 of Levy. Hence mounting the elongated shaft of Levy on a handle.
However, this is all moot. As the handle is only functionally claimed, as long as Levy provides sufficient structure to mount item 302 on an item attached to an endoscope handle in the manner claimed (mechanically and electronically detachably to a coupling interface on a distal section of the handle), then Levy discloses this functional limitation. Levy provides sufficient structure, and no part of the functionally claimed handle need be provided.
As such, Levy further discloses “at a shaft body proximal section, an adaptor”, “the adaptor configured to mechanically and electronically detachably couple to a coupling interface on a distal section of the handle, such as to mount the elongated shaft on the handle”
As such, this argument is found to be particularly and unusually unconvincing.
Argument:
In regards to the amended claim 33, the applicant argues “…neither Levy nor Avron nor Levin - alone or in combination - discloses or suggests an adaptor "configured to dictate a preferred mounting orientation such that the at least two cameras provide a combined and predetermined at least about 270 degrees horizontal field-of-view (FOV)," as recited by claim 33. This limitation requires a structural-functional linkage: the claimed adaptor is not merely keyed or orientable. Rather, the claim requires that the adaptor itself dictate the mounting orientation such that the mounted cameras provide the claimed predetermined panoramic field of view. In Levy, the cameras (front camera 304 and side camera 338) are both housed within the single removable section 302, and their relative orientation is fixed by how that section is manufactured - not dictated by any coupling orientation between the adaptor and a handle. Levy in paragraph [0058] discloses that the removable section and permanent section "may be connected by any known mechanism, such as locking mechanism, fastening mechanism, snap mechanism, or the like," without any teaching that the coupling orientation determines the cameras' combined field of view. Thus, Levy expressly teaches that any conventional coupling mechanism may be used. Nothing in Levy suggests selecting or configuring the coupling mechanism to establish or preserve the cameras' panoramic field of view.
Avron and Levin are relied upon solely for the magnitude of the combined FOV (approximately 330 degrees). However, in both references, the combined FOV results from the fixed geometry of viewing elements within the tip section - and, in Levin, from the multi-screen display - not from any adaptor that dictates a mounting orientation on a handle. For example, Avron discloses that the front-facing imaging module in combination with side-facing imaging modules "may have a combined, continuous field of view of approximately 330 degrees," but this FOV is achieved by the placement and orientation of the cameras within the tip, not by any shaft- to-handle adaptor. See Avron, paragraph [0051]. Similarly, Levin attributes its "expanded, 330 degrees field of view" to screens that "are configured to simultaneously display the field of views captured by the multi-camera endoscope tip section." See Levin, paragraph [0195]. Neither reference discloses or suggests configuring a shaft-to-handle adaptor so that its mounting orientation produces the combined FOV. Consequently, even if one were to incorporate the panoramic camera arrangement of Avron or Levin into Levy, the resulting device still would not include the claimed adaptor configured to dictate the mounting orientation such that the claimed field of view is obtained.
This deficiency is not remedied by the Examiner's stated motivation. The Examiner's stated motivation - "the predictable benefit of a large field of view" - addresses only the size of the FOV and provides no rationale for configuring an adaptor to dictate a preferred mounting orientation that yields that FOV. Absent such a rationale, the proposed combination relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction using Applicant's disclosure as a roadmap. Applicant therefore respectfully submits that the combination of Levy with Avron or Levin fails to render obvious claim 33.” [in the applicant’s arguments dated 8 August, 2026, page 8 line 21 to page 9 line 28].
Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
This argument relies on the claim requiring multiple possible mounting orientations between the elongated shaft and the handle. This is not claimed.
Further, this argument is moot as the handle is not positively claimed- it is the other half of the preferred coupling orientation. If the handle is any possible endoscope handle and parts attached thereto that could fit with the elongated shaft of Levy, this leaves an extremely wide breadth.
Yet further, the applicant’s own disclosed device does not do this, except in the narrow sense that rotationally aligns the preexisting manufactured panoramic view of the tip (the “horizontal FOV) to the handle. The present claim does not positively claim the handle or particularly define the horizontal FOV.
As such, this argument is found to be particularly and unusually unconvincing.
Argument:
In regards to the amended claim 38, the applicant argues that Levy does not describe that the shaft body distal section is detachable from the rest of the elongated shaft. [in the applicant’s arguments dated 8 August, 2026, page 10 lines 4-9].
Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As anything may be disassembled, the shaft body distal section may be detached from non-shaft body distal sections of the elongated shaft. Also see the related 112 (b) rejection hereinbelow.
The applicant may wish to amend this to require that the shaft body distal section may be detached during ordinary use.
As such, this is found to be unconvincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 38, the claim reads “the rest of the elongated shaft” [line 2]. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the claim is unclear. For the purposes of prosecution, it will be assumed that this is the same as all portions of the elongates shaft that are not the shaft body distal section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 33, 35, 37-39 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0172670) in view of Avron et al. (US PGUB 2014/0364694).
In regards to claim 33, Levy discloses an elongated shaft [302, Fig.3, para.49; this is as elongated is relative terminology, and 302 is elongated compared to other hypothetical objects] detachably mountable on a reusable handle [It could be mounted on a handle, as it is mounted to 307, Fig.3, even indirectly. If the applicant wishes to narrow the scope of the handle, positively recite it.] of a multi-camera endoscope, the elongated shaft comprising:
a shaft body [302, Fig.3, para.49], the shaft body comprising
at a shaft body distal section [distal part of 302, Figs.3-4] at least two cameras [304, 338, Fig.3, para.50, 56] and at least one illumination component [328, Fig.3, para.50], and
at a shaft body proximal section, an adaptor [308, Fig.3, para.51];
wherein the adaptor is configured to mechanically and electronically detachably couple the imaging component to a coupling interface on a distal section of the handle [Figs.3-4, para.51-52], such as to mount the elongated shaft on the handle; and
wherein the adaptor is further configured to dictate a preferred coupling orientation [Figs.3-4, via the combined coupling of 308 with 312 and 316 with 324], such that the at least two cameras provide a combined and predetermined horizontal field-of-view (FOV) of a target area within an anatomical cavity, when the elongated shaft is mounted to the handle,
However, Levy does not positively disclose the combined and predetermined horizontal FOV is of at least 270 degrees.
Avron teaches an endoscope distal end component [162, Fig.1J, para.487] having three cameras [164, 169, 185, Fig.1J, para.487-488] and at least one illumination component [176, 183, 189, Fig.1J, para.480, 490], providing a combined and predetermined horizontal field-of-view (FOV) of at least about 270 degrees of a target area within an anatomical cavity [Fig.1J, para.498].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least two cameras taught by Levy to be three cameras with the field of view taught by Avron. This would be done for the predictable benefit of a large field of view.
In regards to claim 35, Levy in view of Avron teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the at least two cameras comprise a front camera [Avron: 181, Fig.1j, Levy: 304, Figs.3-4] on a distal tip of the shaft and a first side-camera [Avron: 168, Fig.1j, Levy: 338, Figs.3-4].
In regards to claim 37, Levy in view of Avron teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the elongated shaft is disposable [Levy: para.30, 49; and as anything may be disposed of].
In regards to claim 38, Levy in view of Avron teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the shaft body distal section is detachable from the rest of the elongated shaft [This is all items may be disassembled.].
In regards to claim 39, Levy in view of Avron teaches the elongated shaft of claim 38, wherein the shaft body distal section is reusable [“reuse” here is not specifically indicated: this could be reused in another context, for example in a non-medical visualization] and the rest of the elongated shaft is disposable [As anything may be disposed of].
In regards to claim 46, Levy in view of Avron teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the shaft body is rigid [Levy: Figs.3-4: at least holding shape sufficiently for connection. Also as all objects have the property of rigidity.].
In regards to claim 47, Levy in view of Avron teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein each of the at least one illumination component is or comprises a discrete light source [Levy: 328, para.50].
Claims 33, 35-39 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0172670) in view of Levin et al. (US 2016/0015258).
In regards to claim 33, Levy discloses an elongated shaft [302, Fig.3, para.49; this is as elongated is relative terminology, and 302 is elongated compared to other hypothetical objects] detachably mountable on a reusable handle [It could be mounted on a handle, as it is mounted to 307, Fig.3, even indirectly. If the applicant wishes to narrow the scope of the handle, positively recite it.] of a multi-camera endoscope, the elongated shaft comprising:
a shaft body [302, Fig.3, para.49], the shaft body comprising:
at a shaft body distal section [distal part of 302, Figs.3-4] at least two cameras [304, 338, Fig.3, para.50, 56] and at least one illumination component [328, Fig.3, para.50], and,
at a shaft body proximal section, an adaptor [308, Fig.3, para.51];
wherein the adaptor is configured to mechanically and electronically detachably couple the imaging component to a coupling interface on a distal section of the handle [Figs.3-4, para.51-52], such as to mount the elongated shaft on the handle; and
wherein the adaptor is further configured to dictate a preferred coupling orientation [Figs.3-4, via the combined coupling of 308 with 312 and 316 with 324], such that the at least two cameras provide a combined and predetermined horizontal field-of-view (FOV) of a target area within an anatomical cavity, when the elongated shaft is mounted to the handle,
However, Levy does not positively disclose the combined and predetermined horizontal FOV is of at least 270 degrees.
Levin teaches an endoscope distal end component [600b, Fig.6b, para.187] having four cameras [601, 602a-b, 603, Fig.6b, para.164, 187] and at least one illumination component [608, 618a-b, 628, Fig.6b, para.168, 188], providing a combined and predetermined horizontal field-of-view (FOV) of at least about 270 degrees of a target area within an anatomical cavity [Fig.6b, para.195: as the cameras are aligned horizontally].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least two cameras taught by Levy to include four cameras with the field of view taught by Levin. This would be done for the predictable benefit of a large field of view.
In regards to claim 35, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the at least two cameras comprise a front camera [Levin: 601, Fig.6b, Levy: 304, Figs.3-4] on a distal tip of the shaft and a first side-camera [Levin: 603, Fig.6b, Levy: 338, Figs.3-4].
In regards to claim 36, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 35, wherein the at least two cameras further comprise a second side-camera [Levin: 602b, Fig.6b, para.188], wherein the first side-camera and the second side-camera are positioned on opposite sides of the shaft [Fig.6b], and wherein the first side-camera is positioned distally relative to the second side-camera [Fig.6b].
In regards to claim 37, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the elongated shaft is disposable [Levy: para.30, 49; and as anything may be disposed of].
In regards to claim 38, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the shaft body distal section is detachable from the rest of the elongated shaft [As all items may be disassembled].
In regards to claim 39, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 38, wherein the shaft body distal section is reusable [“reuse” here is not specifically indicated: this could be reused in another context, for example in a non-medical visualization] and the rest of the elongated shaft is disposable [As anything may be disposed of].
In regards to claim 46, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein the shaft body is rigid [Levy: Figs.3-4: at least holding shape sufficiently for connection. Also as all objects have the property of rigidity.].
In regards to claim 47, Levy in view of Levin teaches the elongated shaft of claim 33, wherein each of the at least one illumination component is or comprises a discrete light source [Levy: 328, para.50].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Irion et al. (US 2008/0300456)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action (ie. different interpretation of art). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON B FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795