DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 2-4 and 13 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 5-12 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 9/22/2026 are overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear how the limitations “a usage time for a chamber through which the aerosol currently passes among the plurality of chambers being greater than a predetermined value” and “the usage time being determined based on a duration for which the heater performs the heating operation started in response to the input signal of the input device” work together in practice. The first limitation apparently requires the usage time to be determined based when airflow is present, while the second limitation indicates that the usage time is associated with the heater. The claim also specifies that the heater is associated with the first cartridge, not the second cartridge, and could therefore operate continuously as the second cartridge such that the heater heats multiple chambers during a single heating session. For the purposes of this Office action, the claim will be interpreted as if it required measuring any usage time of the device. Claims 5-12 are indefinite by dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karles (US 2018/0007965) in view of Moloney (US 2023/0000168).
Regarding claim 1, Karles discloses an e-vaping device ([0068], figure 1A, reference numeral 60), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol generating device, having a vaporizer assembly module ([0204], figure 10, reference numeral 1012), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first cartridge, with a conduit that allows generated vapor to pass through ([0212], figure 10, reference numeral 1018), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a delivery hole. The vaporizer assembly module contains a vaporizer assembly ([0076], figure 10, reference numeral 22) that in turn contains a reservoir containing pre vapor formulation [0082], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first material. The vaporizer assembly module is coupled to a flavor assembly module ([0204], figure 10, reference numeral 1002) that contains a flavor assembly compartment (figure 10, reference numeral 1003) and a flavor assembly ([0211], figure 10, reference numeral 24). The flavor assembly module has a conduit that is aligned with the both vapor assembly module and the flavor assembly, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of corresponding. The flavor assembly includes an exposure control mechanism (figure 4A, reference numeral 26), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a drive device, that adjustably exposes one or more flavor materials ([0170], figure 4B, reference numeral 28), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a second cartridge. The flavor assembly includes multiple separate flavor materials ([0179], figure 5, reference numeral 28), which are considered to meet the claim limitation of a second material, that are isolated from each other by partitions (figure 5, reference numeral 504), a post (figure 5, reference numeral 506), and a sheath that surround each flavor material separately ([0184], figure 5, reference numeral 508), indicating that each flavor material is contained in a chamber. The exposure control device is controlled by control circuitry [0018] that adjustably exposes the flavor [0020], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a controller, by using a drive motor that changes which flavor is exposed by the exposure control mechanism [0019]. A heater draws pre vapor formulation from the reservoir ([0086], figure 1B, reference numeral 36), and is therefore considered to meet the claim limitation of a heater. Karles does not explicitly disclose an input signal that corresponds to a usage time being used for controlling the drive motor.
Moloney teaches an aerosol provision system (abstract) having multiple portions of aerosol generating material [0028] in which a different gel portion is activated for heating if one portion becomes exhausted [0058]. The gel portions are rotated past a single heater [0062] when the duration of a user’s puff continues for a time which exceeds an amount of vapor which can be generated from a specific gel portion [0063], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a usage time. The device provides heating in response to a puff by detecting inhalation using an air flow detector [0042], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an input device, that communicates with a controller to control the device and activate the heater [0063]. Moloney additionally teaches that this process enables the device to switch to a different gel portion when necessary to maintain an aerosol generation volume per unit time [0058].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Karles with the rotational control of Moloney. One would have been motivated to do so since Moloney teaches a control method that automatically switches to a new aerosol source gel when one source gel becomes exhausted.
Regarding claim 6, Karles discloses that rotation of the flavor material is reduced from rotational movement of the screw mechanism [0164], indicating that some rotation of the flavor material is possible. The screw mechanism is part of the exposure control mechanism [0160]. The exposure control mechanism is contained within the flavor assembly [0149], indicating that it can operate even when coupled to the vaporizer assembly module. It is therefore evident that the exposure control mechanism can rotate the flavor material while the device is assembled, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of rotationally coupled.
Regarding claim 7, Karles discloses that the exposure control mechanism includes a screw mechanism [0160] that moves the flavor material while rotational motion of the flavor material is prevented [0163]. The exposure control mechanism is contained within the flavor assembly [0149], indicating that it can operate even when coupled to the vaporizer assembly module. It is therefore evident that the exposure control mechanism can linearly move the flavor material while the device is assembled.
Regarding claim 9, Karles discloses that one flavor material is exposed by rotation of a rotatable member ([0183], figure 4A, reference numeral 411) that is connected to the exposure control mechanism [0172] that is controlled by the control circuitry [0018].
Regarding claim 10, Karles discloses that more than one flavor material is exposed by rotation of a rotatable member ([0183], figure 4A, reference numeral 411) that is connected to the exposure control mechanism [0172] that is controlled by the control circuitry [0018]. The rotatable member defines a gap space that allows the exposure ([0183], figure 5, reference numeral 510), and it is evident that if two materials are exposed they must be adjacent since the gap space is a single continuous region.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karles (US 2018/0007965) in view of Moloney (US 2023/0000168) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tucker (US 2014/0261488).
Regarding claim 5, modified Karles teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Karles does not explicitly teach the reservoir made up of multiple separate reservoirs.
Tucker teaches an electronic smoking article (abstract) having two liquid supply reservoirs ([0012], figure 2, reference numerals 14a, 14b) that form two aerosols that are released through outlets (figure 2, reference numerals 16a, 16b), which are considered to meet the claim limitation of delivery holes, and subsequently mixed in a mixing chamber ([0016], figure 2, reference numeral 46). Tucker additionally teaches that the two reservoirs produce an aerosol having two different particle size distributions [0009] so that different particles can be delivered to the mouth as opposed to the lower respiratory tract [0010].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to split the reservoir of modified Karles into the two reservoirs of Tucker that combine to a single outlet. One would have been motivated to do so since Tucker teaches providing two reservoirs produces an aerosol having two different particle size distributions so that different particles can be delivered to the mouth as opposed to the lower respiratory tract.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karles (US 2018/0007965) in view of Moloney (US 2023/0000168) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rogan (US 10,051,892).
Regarding claim 8, modified Karles teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Karles additionally discloses that the exposure control mechanism rotates [0154]. Modified Karles does not explicitly teach an information generator.
Rogan teaches an aerosol transferring adapter comprising a mouthpiece (abstract) having a mouthpiece that rotates relative to a liquid storage component and has alignment marks in the form of snaps that create an audible confirmation of the rotation position of the mouthpiece (column 7, lines 41-62).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the rotating exposure control mechanism of modified Karles with the snaps of Rogan. One would have been motivated to do so since Rogan teaches snaps that provide an audible confirmation of a rotation position.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee (KR 20120003872, machine translation relied upon) in view of Karles (US 2018/0007965) and Moloney (US 2023/0000168).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a portable electronic cigarette case for carrying and charging an electronic cigarette [0001]. The case has a fixing groove that extends in a longitudinal direction that accommodates an electronic cigarette ([0019], figure 2, reference numeral 21), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an accommodation passage. Lee does not explicitly disclose (a) the cigarette having the claimed structural features and (b) an input signal that corresponds to a usage time being used for controlling the drive motor.
Regarding (a), Karles teaches an e-vaping device ([0068], figure 1A, reference numeral 60), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol generating assembly comprising an aerosol generating device, having a vaporizer assembly module ([0204], figure 10, reference numeral 1012), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first cartridge, with a conduit that allows generated vapor to pass through ([0212], figure 10, reference numeral 1018), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a delivery hole. The vaporizer assembly module contains a vaporizer assembly ([0076], figure 10, reference numeral 22) that in turn contains a reservoir containing pre vapor formulation [0082], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first material. The vaporizer assembly module is coupled to a flavor assembly module ([0204], figure 10, reference numeral 1002) that contains a flavor assembly compartment (figure 10, reference numeral 1003) and a flavor assembly ([0211], figure 10, reference numeral 24). The flavor assembly module has a conduit that is aligned with the both vapor assembly module and the flavor assembly, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of corresponding. The flavor assembly includes an exposure control mechanism (figure 4A, reference numeral 26), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a drive device, that adjustably exposes one or more flavor materials ([0170], figure 4B, reference numeral 28), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a second cartridge. The flavor assembly includes multiple separate flavor materials ([0179], figure 5, reference numeral 28), which are considered to meet the claim limitation of a second material, that are isolated from each other by partitions (figure 5, reference numeral 504), a post (figure 5, reference numeral 506), and a sheath that surround each flavor material separately ([0184], figure 5, reference numeral 508), indicating that each flavor material is contained in a chamber. The exposure control device is controlled by control circuitry [0018] that adjustably exposes the flavor [0020], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a controller. The control circuitry controls the supply of power to the heater based on operation of a manually operable switch [0108], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an input device that receives an input operation and generates a signal, and stores a record of the cumulative duration of vapings of the device [0115], which is used to determine the amount of vapor generated [0113]. The exposure control mechanism is then controlled based on the amount of vapor generated [0110], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of based on a usage time since the amount of vapor generated is itself determined from the cumulative duration of vapings. A heater draws pre vapor formulation from the reservoir ([0086], figure 1B, reference numeral 36), and is therefore considered to meet the claim limitation of a heater. Karles additionally teaches that this arrangement allows the device to control flavorant elution into the generated vapor [0005] to prevent flavoring loss [0003].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electronic cigarette of Lee for the electronic cigarette of Karles. One would have been motivated to do so since Karles teaches an electronic cigarette that controls flavorant elution into the generated vapor to prevent flavoring loss. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP § 2143, B.
Regarding (b), Moloney teaches an aerosol provision system (abstract) having multiple portions of aerosol generating material [0028] in which a different gel portion is activated for heating if one portion becomes exhausted [0058]. The gel portions are rotated past a single heater [0062] when the duration of a user’s puff continues for a time which exceeds an amount of vapor which can be generated from a specific gel portion [0063], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a usage time. The device provides heating in response to a puff by detecting inhalation using an air flow detector [0042], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an input device, that communicates with a controller to control the device and activate the heater [0063]. Moloney additionally teaches that this process enables the device to switch to a different gel portion when necessary to maintain an aerosol generation volume per unit time [0058].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Lee with the rotational control of Moloney. One would have been motivated to do so since Moloney teaches a control method that automatically switches to a new aerosol source gel when one source gel becomes exhausted.
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses that a connection terminal is formed to supply power to the electronic cigarette battery from the case [0006].
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that that Karles and Moloney do not teach using the time that the heater was activated as the usage time, however, this is not required by the instant claims. The claims currently require “the usage time being determined based on a duration for which the heater performs the heating operation.” Putting aside the indefiniteness issues of the instant claims, this limitation does not require that the time the heater is activated be directly measured. Instead measuring a puff duration in a device where the heater is activated when a puff is detected and deactivated when the puff finishes would meet the limitation since the puff duration and heater activation duration would be equal, which would mean that the measured time of a puff would also be a usage time of the heater. The scope of the claims for examination set forth with respect to the indefintiness rejection also includes the teachings of Karles and Moloney. Applicant’s amendments therefore fail to overcome the rejections under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755