DETAILED ACTION
It is noted that this application has been transferred to Examiner Joseph G. Dauner of Art Unit 1682. Please direct all future correspondences to Examiner Dauner. Contact information for Examiner Dauner is provided at the end of this Office action.
The amended claims dated 5/14/2026 are under consideration.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 7/15/2026 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 1/16/226 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The rejections of claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 21, 24, 29, 34, 58, 116, and 220-227 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn upon further consideration of the claims.
b) The rejections of claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 21, 24, 29, 34, 58, 116, and 220-227 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement are withdrawn upon further consideration of the claims.
c) The rejections of claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 21, 24, 29, 34, 58, 116, and 220-227 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific, substantial, and credible asserted utility or a well-established utility are withdrawn upon further consideration of the claims.
d) The rejections of claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 21, 24, 29, 34, 58, 116, and 220-227 under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph because one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention are withdrawn upon further consideration of the claims.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks regarding issues not listed above are detailed below in this Office action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 9, 58, 116, 220, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226 and 227 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chee (WO 2017/192633 A1; cited on the 1/22/2024 IDS) and Frisen (WO 2016/162309 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 58, 224 and 226, Chee teaches providing a sample comprising a polypeptide associated with a recording tag at a location in a sample (Fig. 23B; p. 188, lines 23-28; and Example 3). See also, Fig. 41
Chee further teaches providing a plurality of barcoded probes spatially arranged on an array (Fig. 23; p. 74, lines 25-30; p. 106, lines 16-18; and p. 188). Chee further teaches that beads having immobilized molecules and a diameter of between 100 nm and 1mm were known (p. 75, lines 15-21).
Chee teaches a step of decoding barcodes was known (p. 69, lines 25-30; and p. 125, lines 25-30).
Chee teaches adding sequence information to the recording tag that is derived from a spatial barcode (p. 42, lines 7-22; Fig. 23).
Chee teaches adding sequence information for a molecular probe, such as an antibody, that binds with the polypeptide (Fig. 26, 32, 33, 35, 42, 43).
Chee teaches sequencing extended recording tags to obtain the information from the spatial barcodes which are complementary to the recording tags and molecular probes that were added to the original recording tag (p. 81, lines 1-7; p. 90, lines 22-28). The extending is by way of a polymerase and nucleotides.
Chee teaches using the sequencing information to identify the spatial position of a protein within cellular tissue mounted on the array surface (p. 188, lines 15-30).
While Chee teaches the above aspects of a method, Chee does not teach the spatial barcodes are on a bead (claim 1) and decoded (claim 1) via imaging (claim 24) and the use of labeled probes (claim 29) as opposed to on an array as noted above.
However, Frisen demonstrates that a bead array is spatially encoded and decoded to determine where in the bead array the individual spatial barcodes are located (p. 3, lines 11-24; p. 25, lines 20-35; p. 48). One would recognize that labeled probes attached via hybridization may be detected via imaging.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to have modified the method of Chee by simply substituting the array of Chee with the known bead array of Frisen. The two arrays are functionally equivalent as each have barcodes spatially oriented and are used to capture analytes in tissue sections.
Regarding claim 5, Chee teaches the molecular probes include a tag or barcode that may be decoded as a detectable tag (p. 69, 125-126 and 171). One would recognize that the decoding may be done via imaging hybridized probes.
Regarding claim 7, Chee teaches using multiple molecular probe antibodies sequentially, such that the nucleic acid tag sequence information of each is added to the recording tag (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 116, Chee teaches providing a sample comprising a polypeptide associated with a recording tag at a location in a sample (Fig. 23B; p. 188, lines 23-28; and Example 3). See also, Fig. 41.
Chee teaches adding sequence information for a molecular probe, such as an antibody, that binds with the polypeptide (Fig. 26, 32, 33, 35, 42, 43).
Chee teaches the molecular probes include a tag or barcode that may be decoded as a detectable tag (p. 69, 125-126 and 171). One would recognize that the decoding may be done via imaging hybridized probes.
Chee teaches using multiple molecular probe antibodies sequentially, such that the nucleic acid tag sequence information of each is added to the recording tag (Fig. 7). It would have been prima facie obvious to have decoded each of the tags/barcodes attached to the polypeptide.
Chee teaches sequencing extended recording tags to obtain the information form the barcodes which are complementary to the recording tags and molecular probes that were added to the original recording tag (p. 81, lines 1-7; p. 90, lines 22-28). The extending is by way of a polymerase and nucleotides.
Chee teaches using the sequencing information to identify the spatial position of a protein with cellular tissue mounted on the array surface (p. 188, lines 15-30).
While Chee teaches the above aspects of a method, Chee does not teach the performing the decoding in situ.
However, Frisen demonstrates that a bead array is spatially encoded and decoded in situ to determine where in the bead array the individual spatial barcodes are located (p. 3, lines 11-24; p. 25, lines 20-35; p. 48). One would recognize that labeled probes attached via hybridization may be detected via imaging.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to have modified the method of Chee by simply substituting the array of Chee with the known bead array of Frisen. The two arrays are functionally equivalent as each have barcodes spatially oriented and are used to capture analytes in tissue sections.
Regarding claim 220, the claim is an obvious variant of the method suggested by Chee and Frisen as described above. The claim is the result of rearranging the order of steps with a predictable result. The results are predictable as once the bead and the polypeptide interact, the spatial barcode of the bead may be determined at any point.
Regarding claim 221, Frisen teaches beads with the probes are randomly distributed (p. 42).
Regarding claims 222 and 225, the antibody molecular probes of Chee are specific for an epitope that identifies the polypeptide. Using the sequence of the probe tag associated with the antibody one is readily able to identify the polypeptide and the antibody located at a particular position.
Regarding claim 223, Chee teaches using multiple molecular probe antibodies sequentially, such that the nucleic acid tag sequence information of each is added to the recording tag (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 227, as noted above, Chee teaches the molecular probes are antibodies.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682