Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Currently, claims 1-3 and 7-10 are pending in the instant application. Claim 4-6 have been canceled and claims 7-9 are withdrawn. This action is written in response to applicant' s correspondence submitted 12/30/2025. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were found insufficient to place the instantly examined claims in condition for allowance. The following rejections are either newly presented, as necessitated by amendment, or are reiterated from the previous office action. Any rejections not reiterated in this action have been withdrawn as necessitated by applicant' s amendments to the claims. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. This action is Non-Final.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-3 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeling (US20170233722) in view of Hashimshony (Genome Biology, 2016, 17:77, pp. 11-7) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
New Grounds of Rejection, Necessitated by Amendment to the Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honda (bioRxiv, posted March 23,2020, pp. 1-43, cited on IDS)
Honda teaches caged ODNs with NPOM (see pg 19). Honda an oligonucleotide that comprises a T7 polymerase, adapter sequence and polyT region. Honda teaches the adapter sequence and poly T sequence comprises caged poly T (see fig 1). Honda teaches the caged ODN were examined for RNA-seq library preparation. The adapter sequence of Honda comprises additional sequence and comprises discrimination sequence (see pg 19).
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eberwine (US20170253876A1).
With regard to claim 1 and 3, Eberwine teaches a T7 promoter, index and capture region of a single stranded oligonucleotide. Eberwine teaches the capture region comprises a 3’ photoactivable dideoxynucleotide. Eberwine teaches the photoactivable dideoxynucleotide blocks strand synthesis until photoactivated (see para 418 and fig 39). The index sequence and capture sequence is additional sequence for detecting a nucleic acid sequence that comprises a discrimination sequence (index sequence). The photolabile nucleotide is located at the 3’ end and therefore is located at position close to the 3’ end than the promoter sequence (claim 3). Eberwine teaches the photoactivable deoxynucleotide is a TISA-tag (See para 84). Eberwine teaches a promoter sequence, spacer region and index region and a caged molecule. Eberwine teaches a plurality of TISA tags with unique index oligonucleotides and uncaging of TISA-tags (see 295). Eberwine teaches a photolabile ligand with a reactive moiety (see para 164).
With regard to claim 10, the recitation of kit is not defined in the specification and is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to include a plurality of articles grouped together. However the only components of claim 1 are an oligonucleotide of claim 1. As such the oligonucleotides disclosed by Eberwine comprise the claimed kit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberwine (US20170253876A1) in view of Alexander (EP3126512B1).
Eberwine teaches a T7 promoter, index and capture region of a single stranded oligonucleotide. Eberwine teaches the capture region comprises a 3’ photoactivable dideoxynucleotide. Eberwine teaches the photoactivable dideoxynucleotide blocks strand synthesis until photoactivated (see para 418 and fig 39). Eberwine does not teach photocleavable dideoxynucleotide comprises NPOM.
Alexander teaches oligonucleotide probes. Alexander teaches probes that comprise a binding moiety and a cleavable moiety that includes light activated nucleotides. Alexander teaches light activated oligos contain photolabile nucleobase modifications including NPOM. Alexander teaches the oligonucleotides can comprise a caged thymidine at the 3’ end (see ex 9) and the probes comprise NPOM.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time the invention was made to include known caged photolabile nucleobase modifications including NPOM, as taught by Alexander, in the oligonucleotide taught by Eberwine. The skilled artisan would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to replace the photocleavable dideoxynucleotide as taught by Eberwine with known photocleavable labeled nucleotides, including NPOM as taught by Alexander.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18273003 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3 and 10 would have been anticipated by claims 1-3 of 18273003. Specifically claim 1 of ‘003 includes a nucleic acid fragment with a polymerase binding sequence and a transposase sequence wherein the polymerase or transposase sequence contains a caged nucleotide reside. The transposase sequence comprises additional sequence that includes a discrimination sequence. The instant claim 1 requires an oligonucleotide that comprising additional sequence and a T7 promoter. Claim 1 of ‘003 falls entirely in the scope of instant claim 1-3. Instant claim 2 and 3 require NPOM and a photolabile protecting group which is encompassed by a caged nucleotide recited in claim 1 of ‘003.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/SARAE L BAUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699