DETAILED ACTION
The rejection under section 103 over Ameer is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments limiting the claims to polymers of alpha-ketoglutarate.
The rejection under section 112(a) is withdrawn in view of the amendments limiting the claims to polymers of alpha-ketoglutarate.
The following rejections under section 103 are maintained:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-10 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al., Molecules 2009, 14, 4022-4050 (Barrett II).
Barrett II teaches the polymer of α-ketoglutarate (p4037, "Figure 11. Synthesis of chemoselective elastomers based on a-ketoglutaric acid and tetra(ethylene glycol)").
The difference between the applied references and the claimed particles and the claimed inventions is that the references do not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, the references teach the structural elements of the claimed particles with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Barrett II teaches the required polymers and elastomers:
Claims 1, 5, 7-10 and 32 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20170066901 based on an application by Yang et al. (Yang).
Yang teaches polyester plasticizers based on alpha-ketoglutarate and 1,2-propanediol, see Example 2:
Any plasticizer can be formed into particles.
The diol can be variable, see Reaction Scheme 1 on page 3.
In this way, the difference between Yang and the claimed inventions is that Yang does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, Yang teaches the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Applicant has amended the claims to recite nanoparticles or microparticles.
The specification defines nanoparticles at paragraph [0043] of the published application:
[0043] As used herein, the term “nanoparticle” refers to a particle having at least one dimension in the range of about 1 nm to about 1000 nm, including any integer value between 1 nm and 1000 nm (including about 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900 and 1000 nm and all integers and fractional integers in between). In some embodiments, the nanoparticle has at least one dimension, e.g., a diameter, of about 100 nm. In some embodiments, the nanoparticle has a diameter of about 200 nm. In other embodiments, the nanoparticle has a diameter of about 500 nm. In yet other embodiments, the nanoparticle has a diameter of about 1000 nm (1 μm). In such embodiments, the particle also can be referred to as a “microparticle.” The particles can have any shape. Nanoparticles having a spherical shape are generally referred to as “nanospheres.”
The specification defines microparticles at paragraph [0044] of the published application:
[0044] As used herein, “microparticle” refers to a particle having at least one dimension in the range of about 1 μm to about 100 μm, including any integer value between 1 μm and 100 μm (including about 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 30 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90 and 100 μm and all integers and fractional integers in between). Exemplary microparticles have a diameter of less than about 100 microns, less than about 50 microns, less than about 10 microns, less than about 5 microns, or less than about 3 microns, or less than about 2 microns. The particles can have any shape. Microparticles having a spherical shape are generally referred to as “microspheres.” The term “particle” as used herein is meant to include nanoparticles and microparticles.
Applicant has not established that the polymers of the applied references do not satisfy these definitions. Indeed, those of ordinary skill would expect that the disclosed polymers would qualify as nanoparticles or microparticles, as defined in the specification, based upon their preparation.
Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646