RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
1. Applicants amendment filed on 08/19/26 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 1-3,7,11,12,14,16,25-28,32-34,38,39,40,42,44 are pending.
3. Claims 1-3,7,11,12,14,16 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 25-28,32-34,38,39,40,42,44 read on a method of improving treatment outcome for human patient having hematological malignancy are under consideration in the instant application.
The following new ground of rejection is necessitated by the amendment filed on 08/19/26.
5. Claims 25-28,32-34,38,39,40,42,44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 20130095079 and US Patent Application 20110230422 in view of newly cited US Patent Application 20210223248.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/19/26 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that US Patent Application’079 teaches that the dose of administered expanded hematopoietic stem cells based on the weight of the patient. The instant claims recited administering of a fixed dose of hematopoietic stem cells.
It is noted that the instant specification defined “fixed dose” as 50-400 x 106 cells ( see paragraph 0011 of the instant Specification in particular).
US Patent Application’079 explicitly teaches that the dose of administered hematopoietic stem cells is 106 cells/kg ( see paragraph 0358 in particular). If the average weight of the human patient between 60-100 kg, it would mean that to total amount of administered hematopoietic stem cells would be 60-100 x 106 cells.
Thus, it is the Examiner’s position that the claimed dose of administered “fixed dose” of hematopoietic stem cells is an obvious variation of the recited in US Patent Application’079 dose of administered hematopoietic stem cells.
As has been stated previously, US Patent Application ‘079 teaches a method of treating hematological malignancy in a patient comprising administering to the patient chemotherapy regimen and administering an expanded hematopoietic stem cells ( see entire document, paragraphs 0004, 0017, 0036, 0043, 0060, 0067, 0189 in particular) in particular). US Patent Application ‘079 teaches a step of determining effectivity of the claimed method that is obviously comprising a step of monitoring the status of the patient to determine whether the patient has achieved a remission.
Since US Patent Application ‘079 teaches does not explicitly teach that administered hematopoietic stem cells should be matching for HLA type of the donor, it would be immediately obvious to one skill in the art that US Patent Application ‘079 teaches said expanded hematopoietic stem cells are selected without matching to the HLA type.
US Patent Application ‘422 teaches a method of treating hematological malignancy in a patient comprising administering to the patient chemotherapy regimen and administering an expanded hematopoietic stem cells ( see entire document, paragraphs 0012, 0014, 0017, 0020-0022 in particular). US Patent Application ‘422 teaches a step of determining effectivity of the claimed method that is obviously comprising a step of monitoring the status of the patient to determine whether the patient has achieved a remission.
Since US Patent Application ‘422 teaches does not explicitly teach that administered hematopoietic stem cells should be matching for HLA type of the donor, it would be immediately obvious to one skill in the art that US Patent Application ‘079 teaches said expanded hematopoietic stem cells are selected without matching to the HLA type.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
It is noted that US Patent Application ‘079 and US Patent Application ‘422 do not explicitly teach the use of second chemotherapy regime.
Newly cited US Patent Application ‘248 teaches that is certain embodiments a second chemotherapy regiment may be used in the method of treating patient having hematological malignancy to reduce the risk of relapse( see entire document, paragraphs 0038, 0050, 0129, 0130, 0134 in particular).
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the second chemotherapy regiment in the method of treating hematological malignancy taught by US Patent Application ‘079 and US Patent Application ‘422 with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that a second chemotherapy regiment reduce the risk of relapse.
Claims 26-28, 33,34,38,39, 40,42 are included because it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to : (i) identify an optimal timing and dosage of administering stem cells; (ii) type of hematological malignancy to be treated,; (iii) optimal chemotherapy regime; Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 part II A.
It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious).
From the combined teaching of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
7. The claims 26-28, 33,34,38,39, 40,42 stand rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Applications No. 16378229 now allowed, for the same reasons set forth in the previous Office Action, mailed on 02/19/26.
Applicant’s argument filed on 08/19/26 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that claims of US Patent Application’229 teaches that the dose of administered expanded hematopoietic stem cells based on the weight of the patient. The instant claims recited administering of a fixed dose of hematopoietic stem cells.
It is noted that the instant specification defined “fixed dose” as 50-400 x 106 cells ( see paragraph 0011 of the instant Specification in particular).
Moreover, it noted that claims 4 and 5 of the US Patent Application’229 explicitly recited that the dose of administer cells is 75 and 260 x 106 cells
Thus, it is the Examiner’s position that the claimed dose of administered “fixed dose” of hematopoietic stem cells is an obvious variation of the recited in claims 4 and 5 of US Patent Application’229 dose of administered hematopoietic stem cells.
9. Claims 25-28,32-34,38,39,40,42,44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 25 is indefinite and ambiguous in the recitation of “administering of the second chemotherapy regimen followed by the administration of the fixed dose of the expanded stem cell product if desired or necessary”.
The characteristics and metes and bounds of “if desired or necessary” are unclear and indefinite and Specification provide no guidance or clear definition of what applicant consider “desired or necessary”.
It is suggested that said phrase be change to “ if a patient has not achieved a remission” for clarity and consistence with the disclosure of the specification.
10. No claim is allowed.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609(B)(2)(i). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644