DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 7-8 and 17 have been canceled. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action dated 27 October 2025; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear how the limitation of lines 6-8 relates to the limitation of lines 9-10. Both limitations recite “increase a polling rate”, but the first does it in response to “an average value of the temperature exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount” and the second in response to “the temperature exceeding a first temperature threshold value”. Thus, these separate limitations are both directed “the temperature”, and both require the same response “increase the polling rate”, but it is unclear if both of the conditions must be met before the response is taken. Further, it is unclear if the limitation to “a reference temperature” plus “a threshold amount” is the same as the limitation to “a first temperature threshold”.
For the purposes of examination, the “average value of the temperature” in line 7 and “the temperature” in line 10 is not interpreted to necessarily require two distinct temperatures. Similarly, the “reference temperature” plus “a threshold amount” in lines 7-8 and the “first temperature threshold” in line 10 is not interpreted to necessarily require two distinct temperatures.
Claims 2-6 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 1.
Similarly, claim 16 is rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear how the limitation of lines 5-7 relates to the limitation of lines 8-9. Both limitations recite “increase a polling rate”, but the first does it in response to “an average value of any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount” and the second in response to “any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a first temperature threshold value”. Thus, these separate limitations are both directed to “any of the plurality of monitored temperatures”, and both require the same response “increase the polling rate”, but it is unclear if both of the conditions must be met before the response is taken. Further, it is unclear if the limitation to “a reference temperature” plus “a threshold amount” is the same as the limitation to “a first temperature threshold”.
For the purposes of examination, the “average value of any of the plurality of monitored temperatures” in lines 6-7 and “any of the plurality of monitored temperatures” in line 9 is not interpreted to necessarily require two distinct temperatures. Similarly, the “reference temperature” plus “a threshold amount” in line 7 and the “first temperature threshold” in line 9 is not interpreted to necessarily require two distinct temperatures.
Claims 18-20 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livchak et al. (WO 2018/175495) in view of Hibbs et al. (US 2002/0135488) and Nikkarila (US 2015/0297930).
Regarding claim 1, Livchak discloses a fire suppression system (110, see par. 6, fig. 1 – “fire detection and suppression”; par. 27 – “release of fire suppressant chemicals, selecting and aiming the nozzles for fire suppressant delivery, selecting the type of suppressant”) comprising:
a temperature sensor (100) configured to monitor a temperature (par. 33);
a suppression system activator configured to activate the fire suppression system (par. 3, 24; clm. 85 – “the controller generates a command to activate a fire suppression system”) to suppress a fire;
and, processing circuitry configured to:
measure an average value of the temperature (par. 40 – “sensors 102 may further include one or more radiant temperature sensors positioned and aimed to detect the average temperature of a region”);
adjust a polling rate of the temperature sensor in response to the temperature exceeding the temperature threshold value (par. 80 – “The fire detect signals are combined by the controller by generating a composite fire detect signal of True if all the individual fire detect signals are true at a given time.”, and “The true false indications of the individual fire detect signals may have a time delay so that when they go true, they each stay true for a minimum time interval so that the chance of overlap of the individual fire detect signals is increased. The time delay may be an adjustable parameter through the user interface 112.”; the combination of multiple individual signal into a single signal is interpreted to be “polling” and the time delay between various temperature readings, interpreted to be the “rate”, may be adjusted);
determine, in a first mode of operation, a fire alert in response to the monitored temperature exceeding a temperature threshold value (par. 44);
switch to a second mode of operation to determine a rate of change of the monitored temperature over a time period (par. 44 – “the temperature may be monitored over time and its rate of change estimated”; par. 76 – “If the infrared temperature sensors 407 indicate a fluctuating temperature rise or fall that is beyond a threshold, i.e. the absolute value of rate of change”); and
activate, in a third mode of operation, the fire suppression system to provide a fire suppressant agent (par. 27 – “triggering the release of fire suppressant chemicals”), in response to indication of a fire (the controller starts releasing fire suppressant in response to indications of a fire, see par. 27; and the rate of change of the temperature is an indication of a fire, see par. 44, 76).
Livchak does not disclose that the polling rate of the temperature sensor is increased in response to the average value of the temperature exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount and in response to the temperature exceeding the temperature threshold value, or that the fire alert is determined in response to the monitored temperature exceeding a second temperature threshold value greater than the first temperature threshold value, or that the rate of change of the monitored temperature is determined based on the monitored temperature exceeding the second temperature threshold value, or that the fire suppression system is activated to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period.
Hibbs teaches a fire protection system (par. 2) comprising a temperature sensor (22) configured to monitor a temperature (par. 32) and processing circuitry (12) configured to increase a polling rate of the temperature sensor in response to an average value of the temperature (par. 34) exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount (par. 53 – “system 200 may be operable to sample an ambient temperature condition every eight seconds and, upon detecting an ambient temperature condition the sample rate of the ambient temperature (e.g. increase sampling from eight seconds to four seconds)”; par. 61 – “thresholds”), and the temperature exceeding a first temperature threshold value (par. 53) and determine a fire alert (par. 38; fig. 2 – step 58) in response to the monitored temperature exceeding a second temperature threshold value (fig.2 – step 56) greater than the first temperature threshold value (fig. 2 – step 56 “Is temperature 600F or greater”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire suppression system of Livchak to configure the processing circuitry to increase the polling rate in response to the average value of the temperature exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount and the temperature exceeding a first temperature threshold value and determine the fire alert in response to the monitored temperature exceeding a second temperature threshold value greater than the first temperature value, as taught by Hibbs, since this was known to continuously monitor ambient temperature conditions while conserving energy of a power source (par. 53) and ensuring the safety of firefighters (par. 36). Further, it would have been obvious to continue to determine the rate of change of the monitored temperature based on the monitored temperature exceeding the second temperature threshold value since Livchak discloses that this is done to determine if it is changing in a positive direction (Livchak, par. 44).
Nikkarila teaches a fire suppression system (10) that is activated to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change of a monitored temperature (60) exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period (par. 17).
It would have been obvious to further modify Livchak to activate the fire suppression system to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period, as taught by Nikkarila, since Livchak already discloses a system that determines and monitors a rate of change of temperatures and takes a firefighting action in response, and that also provides a fire suppressant agent to extinguish a fire. Further, modifying the system of Livchak in view of Nikkarila would enable it to determine the location of a fire and apply the fire suppressant in that general area (Nikkarila, par. 17).
Regarding claim 2, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 1, and further comprising a plurality of temperature sensors (400, 401, 407) configured to monitor a plurality of temperature values at a plurality of different locations (par. 80), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine the fire alert in response to at least one of the plurality of monitored temperature values exceeding the second temperature threshold value (par. 80); determine the rate of change as a rate of change of at least one of the monitored temperatures over the time period (par. 44); determine a fire warning in response to the rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures over the time period exceeding the rate of change threshold value (par. 44); and activate the fire suppression system in response to the rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding the rate of change threshold value (par. 27, 44, 76).
Regarding claim 3, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 2, and further wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to monitor the rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures over a monitoring time period (par. 44 – “The temperature may be monitored over time and its rate of change estimated to determine if it is changing in a positive direction”).
Regarding claim 4, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 3, and further wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to activate the fire suppression system in response to at least one of: one or more of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a maximum allowable temperature threshold value; or the monitored rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures being continuous over the monitoring time period (par. 80 – “the respective infrared sensor indicates a radiant temperature of at least 250 F AND a rate of rise of the radiant temperature of at least 5.4 F/sec (degrees per second) where the output changes to 100% or True and the DC signal from the canopy temperature signal exceeds 150 F.”)
Regarding claim 5, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to output at least one of a visual alert, an aural alert, or a remote alert in response to any of the fire alert, the fire warning, and an indication of the activation of the fire suppression system (par. 29).
Regarding claim 6, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 5, and wherein the remote alert comprises at least one of: a text message; an email; or a phone call (par. 29).
Regarding claim 9, Livchak discloses a method for detecting a fire and automatically activating a fire suppression system, the method comprising:
providing a plurality of temperature sensors (400, 401, 407) configured to monitor a plurality of temperatures (par. 80);
providing a fire suppression system configured to suppress a fire (110, see par. 6, fig. 1 – “fire detection and suppression”; par. 27 – “release of fire suppressant chemicals, selecting and aiming the nozzles for fire suppressant delivery, selecting the type of suppressant”);
monitoring each of the plurality of monitored temperatures from the plurality of temperature sensors to determine, in a first mode of operation, a fire alert in response to any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a temperature threshold value (par. 80 –“the
respective infrared sensor indicates a radiant temperature of at least 250 F”);
adjusting a polling rate of the plurality of temperature sensors in response to at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a temperature threshold value (par. 80 – “The fire detect signals are combined by the controller by generating a composite fire detect signal of True if all the individual fire detect signals are true at a given time.”, and “The true false indications of the individual fire detect signals may have a time delay so that when they go true, they each stay true for a minimum time interval so that the chance of overlap of the individual fire detect signals is increased. The time delay may be an adjustable parameter through the user interface 112.”; the combination of multiple individual signal into a single signal is interpreted to be “polling” and the time delay between various temperature readings, interpreted to be the “rate”, may be adjusted);
switching to a second mode of operation to determine a rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures over a time period (par. 44 – “the temperature may be monitored over time and its rate of change estimated”; par. 76 – “If the infrared temperature sensors 407 indicate a fluctuating temperature rise or fall that is beyond a threshold, i.e. the absolute value of rate of change”); and
activating, in a third mode of operation, the fire suppression system to provide a fire suppressant agent (par. 27 – “triggering the release of fire suppressant chemicals”) in response to indication of a fire (the controller starts releasing fire suppressant in response to indications of a fire, see par. 27; and the rate of change of the temperature is an indication of a fire, see par. 44, 76).
Livchak does not disclose the step of increasing a polling rate of the plurality of temperature sensors is increased in response to at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a first temperature threshold value, or that the fire alert is determined in response to at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a second temperature threshold value greater than the first threshold temperature value, or that the rate of change of the monitored temperature is determined based on the monitored temperature exceeding the second temperature threshold value, or that the fire suppression system is activated to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period.
Hibbs teaches a fire protection system (par. 2) comprising a temperature sensor (22) configured to monitor a temperature (par. 32) and processing circuitry (12) configured to increase a polling rate of the temperature sensor in response to the temperature exceeding a first temperature threshold value (par. 53 – “system 200 may be operable to sample an ambient temperature condition every eight seconds and, upon detecting an ambient temperature condition the sample rate of the ambient temperature (e.g. increase sampling from eight seconds to four seconds)”) and determine a fire alert (par. 38; fig. 2 – step 58) in response to the monitored temperature exceeding a second temperature threshold value (fig.2 – step 56) greater than the first temperature threshold value (fig. 2 – step 56 “Is temperature 600F or greater”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Livchak to increase the polling rate of the plurality of temperature sensors is increased in response to at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a first temperature threshold value and determine the fire alert in response to at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a second temperature threshold value greater than the first temperature value, as taught by Hibbs, since this was known to continuously monitor ambient temperature conditions while conserving energy of a power source (par. 53) and ensuring the safety of firefighters (par. 36). Further, it would have been obvious to continue to determine the rate of change of the monitored temperature based on the monitored temperature exceeding the second temperature threshold value since Livchak discloses that this is done to determine if it is changing in a positive direction (Livchak, par. 44).
Nikkarila teaches a fire suppression system (10) that is activated to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change of a monitored temperature (60) exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period (par. 17).
It would have been obvious to further modify Livchak to activate the fire suppression system to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period, as taught by Nikkarila, since Livchak already discloses a system that determines and monitors a rate of change of temperatures and takes a firefighting action in response, and that also provides a fire suppressant agent to extinguish a fire. Further, modifying the system of Livchak in view of Nikkarila would enable it to determine the location of a fire and apply the fire suppressant in that general area (Nikkarila, par. 17).
Regarding claim 10, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the method described regarding claim 9, and further comprising: determining a fire warning in response to the rate of change exceeding the rate of change threshold value (par. 44); outputting any of the fire alert, the fire warning, or an indication of the activation of the fire suppression system to a user (par. 29); and monitoring the rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures over a monitoring time period (par. 44 – “The temperature may be monitored over time and its rate of change estimated to determine if it is changing in a positive direction”).
Regarding claim 11, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the method described regarding claim 10, and further comprising activating the fire suppression system in response to at least one of: one or more of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a maximum allowable temperature threshold value; or the monitored rate of change of at least one of the plurality of monitored temperatures being continuous over the monitoring time period (par. 80 – “the respective infrared sensor indicates a radiant temperature of at least 250 F AND a rate of rise of the radiant temperature of at least 5.4 F/sec (degrees per second) where the output changes to 100% or True and the DC signal from the canopy temperature signal exceeds 150 F.”).
Regarding claim 12, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the method described regarding claim 9, and further comprising outputting at least one of a visual alert, an aural alert, or a remote alert in response to any of the fire alert, the fire warning, or the activation of the fire suppression system (par. 29).
Regarding claim 13, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the method described regarding claim 12, and wherein the remote alert comprises at least one of: a text message; an email; or a phone call (par. 29).
Regarding claim 14, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the method described regarding claim 12, and further comprising determining an average temperature of the plurality of monitored temperatures (par. 40).
Regarding claim 15, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the method described regarding claim 14, and further wherein the processing circuitry is further configured adjust the polling rate of the plurality of temperature sensors in response to the temperature exceeding a reference value by a predefined amount (par. 79 – “At 464, the thresholding of the duct temperature signal outputs a thresholded duct temperature that is a short spike due to imperfect feedback control. This is not a harmful condition and the occasional appearance of a signal that exceeds a threshold does not generate composite output of the linear combiner of Fig. 12D. That is, the summed output does not exceed the threshold as it would when multiple sensors are generating an output signal combine.”; par. 80 - “The fire detect signals are combined by the controller by generating a composite fire detect signal of True if all the individual fire detect signals are true at a given time.”, and “The true false indications of the individual fire detect signals may have a time delay so that when they go true, they each stay true for a minimum time interval so that the chance of overlap of the individual fire detect signals is increased. The time delay may be an adjustable parameter through the user interface 112.”; the combination of multiple individual signal into a single signal is interpreted to be “polling” and the time delay between various temperature readings, interpreted to be the “rate”, may be adjusted.)
Livchak does not disclose wherein the temperature is an average temperature. But, Livchak does disclose an average temperature from a plurality of temperature sensors (par. 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Livchak to adjust the polling rate based upon the average temperature of a plurality of temperature sensor, instead of determining if each temperature sensor is above a threshold value, since this would provide an indication that the temperature in the vicinity of the cooking appliance has increased to a level indicating a fire, and would ensure that a faulty indication by a single sensor does not activate the system.
Regarding claim 16, Livchak discloses a controller for a fire suppression system (110, see par. 6, fig. 1 – “signal processing and control for fire detection and suppression”; par. 27 – “release of fire suppressant chemicals, selecting and aiming the nozzles for fire suppressant delivery, selecting the type of suppressant”) comprising processing circuitry configured to:
receive sensor data from a plurality of temperature sensors (400, 401, 407) indicating a plurality of monitored temperatures (par. 80);
measure an average value of any the plurality of monitored temperatures (par. 40 – “sensors 102 may further include one or more radiant temperature sensors positioned and aimed to detect the average temperature of a region”);
determine, in a first mode of operation, a fire alert in response to any the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a temperature threshold value (par. 44);
adjust a polling rate of one or more of the plurality of temperature sensors in response to,
the average value of any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount (par. 79 – “At 464, the thresholding of the duct temperature signal outputs a thresholded duct temperature that is a short spike due to imperfect feedback control. This is not a harmful condition and the occasional appearance of a signal that exceeds a threshold does not generate composite output of the linear combiner of Fig. 12D. That is, the summed output does not exceed the threshold as it would when multiple sensors are generating an output signal combine.”; par. 80) and
any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding the temperature threshold value (par. 80 – “The fire detect signals are combined by the controller by generating a composite fire detect signal of True if all the individual fire detect signals are true at a given time.”, and “The true false indications of the individual fire detect signals may have a time delay so that when they go true, they each stay true for a minimum time interval so that the chance of overlap of the individual fire detect signals is increased. The time delay may be an adjustable parameter through the user interface 112.”; the combination of multiple individual signal into a single signal is interpreted to be “polling” and the time delay between various temperature readings, interpreted to be the “rate”, may be adjusted);
switch to a second mode of operation, based on a rate of change of any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a rate of change threshold over a time period (par. 76); and
activate, in a third mode of operation, a fire suppression system to provide a fire suppressant agent (par. 27 – “triggering the release of fire suppressant chemicals”) based on indications of a fire (the controller starts releasing fire suppressant in response to indications of a fire, see par. 27; and the rate of change of the temperature is an indication of a fire, see par. 44, 76).
Livchak does not disclose that the polling rate of one or more of the plurality of temperature sensors is increased in response to the average value of any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount and in response to any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a first temperature threshold value, or that the fire alert is determined in response to any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a second temperature threshold value greater than the first temperature threshold value, or that the rate of change of the monitored temperature is determined in the second mode of operation subsequent to the any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding the second temperature threshold value, or that the fire suppression system is activated to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change of the plurality of monitored temperatures over the time period exceeding the rate of change threshold.
Hibbs teaches a fire protection system (par. 2) comprising a temperature sensor (22) configured to monitor a temperature (par. 32) and processing circuitry (12) configured to increase a polling rate of the temperature sensor in response to an average value of the temperature (par. 34) exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount (par. 53 – “system 200 may be operable to sample an ambient temperature condition every eight seconds and, upon detecting an ambient temperature condition the sample rate of the ambient temperature (e.g. increase sampling from eight seconds to four seconds)”; par. 61 – “thresholds”), and the temperature exceeding a first temperature threshold value (par. 53 – “system 200 may be operable to sample an ambient temperature condition every eight seconds and, upon detecting an ambient temperature condition the sample rate of the ambient temperature (e.g. increase sampling from eight seconds to four seconds)”) and determine a fire alert (par. 38; fig. 2 – step 58) in response to the monitored temperature exceeding a second temperature threshold value (fig.2 – step 56) greater than the first temperature threshold value (fig. 2 – step 56 “Is temperature 600F or greater”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire suppression system of Livchak to increase the polling rate of one or more of the plurality of temperature sensors in response to the average value of any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a reference temperature by a threshold amount and in response to any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding a first temperature threshold value, as taught by Hibbs, since this was known to continuously monitor ambient temperature conditions while conserving energy of a power source (par. 53) and ensuring the safety of firefighters (par. 36). Further, it would have been obvious to continue to determine the rate of change of the monitored temperature based on any of the plurality of monitored temperatures exceeding the second temperature threshold value since Livchak discloses that this is done to determine if it is changing in a positive direction (Livchak, par. 44).
Nikkarila teaches a fire suppression system (10) that is activated to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change of a monitored temperature (60) exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period (par. 17).
It would have been obvious to further modify Livchak to activate the fire suppression system to provide a fire suppressant agent based on the rate of change exceeding a rate of change threshold value over the time period, as taught by Nikkarila, since Livchak already discloses a system that determines and monitors a rate of change of temperatures and takes a firefighting action in response, and that also provides a fire suppressant agent to extinguish a fire. Further, modifying the system of Livchak in view of Nikkarila would enable it to determine the location of a fire and apply the fire suppressant in that general area (Nikkarila, par. 17).
Regarding claim 18, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 16, and further wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a fire warning in response to the rate of change of the plurality of monitored temperatures over the time period exceeding the rate of change threshold (par. 44); output any of the fire alert, the fire warning, or an indication of the activation of the fire suppression system to a user (par. 29); and monitor the rate of change over a monitoring time period (par. 44 – “The temperature may be monitored over time and its rate of change estimated to determine if it is changing in a positive direction”).
Regarding claim 19, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 16, and further wherein the processing circuitry is configured to activate the fire suppression system to provide the fire suppressant agent to an area in response to the fire warning (par. 27, 76).
Regarding claim 20, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila discloses the fire suppression system described regarding claim 16, and further wherein the processing circuitry is configured to output at least one of a visual alert, an aural alert, or a remote alert in response to any of the fire alert, the fire warning, or an indication of the activation of the fire suppression system (par. 29).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the interpretation of the prior art being used in the current rejection. Therefore, Livchak in view of Hibbs and Nikkarila is interpreted to render obvious each and every limitation of the amended claims, as explained in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752