DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments and arguments filed 05/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church (9,395,718) as modified by Hadley (2009/0109002).
As to claim 1: Church teaches a method of manufacturing a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on a non-planar surface (abstract) comprising:
determining a three dimensional position and shape of the RFID tag (column 6, lines 15-45, figures 2 and 4 showing this determination),
forming an antenna by spraying or printing the antenna on the non-planar surface of the object (column 6, lines 46-67);
positioning a reactive RFID strap on the non-planar surface (claim 1, conformal RF circuitry) of the object so as to operatively couple the reactive RFID strap with the antenna and induce an antenna response (claim 28 explaining that the conformal RF circuit connects to the conformal antenna after forming the object), and
and measuring the RF performance of the RFID tag and adapting the antenna design based on the measured performance (figure 2, steps 206, 226).
Church is silent as to that the reactive RFID strap is coupled to the antenna via an electric field.
Hadley teaches an RFID strap which is coupled to an antenna by capacitive or inductive coupling (figures 6, 7, paragraphs 0062-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Church with the teachings of Hadley so that the antenna was not connected to the chip. It is well explored in the art to use contactless connections between an IC and corresponding antenna for a number of reasons, including being able to impedance match smoothly and to employ a modular design of elements wherein different modules of antennas and ICs can be employed based on the anticipated need of the device. In the instant case, since Church is directed toward forming the device on a non-linear surface, it would be obvious to modify Church to include a contactless connection for flexibility and durable design in addition to the reasons provided above. Since this method is well known in the art, no undue testing would be required to make this modification.
As to claim 2: Church teaches that the reactive RFID strap is positioned on the non-planar surface prior to forming the antenna (figure 4, the underlayer, column 6, lines 15-35, wherein the underlayer comprises the circuit layer, wherein the underlayer is positioned before the antenna due to the underlayer).
As to claim 5: Church teaches that the reactive RFID strap is coupled to the antenna via an electroelectric field (column 2, lines 13-19).
As to claim 7: Church teaches that the antenna is sprayed on the non-planar surface (column 6, last paragraph).
As to claim 8: Church teaches that the antenna is printed on the non-planar surface (column 6, last paragraph).
As to claim 9: Church teaches that the antenna is formed from a conductive ink (column 6, last paragraph).
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended to include that the reactive RFID strap is coupled to the antenna via an electric field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but are not directed toward the combination of references currently used in the claims.
The claims are newly rejected by Church (9,395,718) as modified by Hadley (2009/0109002).
Conclusion
DAVID TARDIF
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DAVID TARDIF/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/STEVEN S PAIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876