DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of species in the reply filed on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant elected following species:
SEQ ID NO: 1, as recited in claims 1 and 40-41.
SEQ ID NO: 100, as recited in claim 45; and
SEQ ID NO: 10 and SEQ ID NO: 16, as recited in claims 42-43.
Applicant did not indicate the claims on which the elected species of SEQ ID NO: 1, 10, 16 and 100 read on.
The examiner interpreted the elected species read on the pending claims 1-7, 12-13, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43 and 45-47.
Priority
3. This application is the national stage entry of Appl. No. PCT/IB2020/054864, filed on May 21, 2020, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/851,546, filed on May 22, 2019.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 as per claim listing filed on 06/25/2026 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Objection to Specification
6. Withdrawn objection to the specification in view of applicant’s deletion of embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code and a prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code as per amendment to the specification filed on 06/25/2026.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Withdrawn rejection of claims 1-7,12-13,17,27-28,34,40-43 and 45-47 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for scope of enablement requirement in view of applicant’s amendment of claims filed on 06/25/2026.
8. Withdrawn rejection of claims 1-7,12-13,17,27-28,34,40-43 and 45-47 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description requirement in view of applicant’s amendment of claims filed on 06/25/2026.
Examiner’s Note: Applicant amended claim 45 on 06/25/2026 to delete previously without traverse election of species SEQ ID NO: 100. The currently amended claim 45 recites only non-elected species SEQ ID NO: 99 and therefore the claim is withdrawn from examination in this office action.
Claim Interpretation
The instant claim 1 and dependent claims are interpreted to be directed to a method of treating a human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection in a human subject in need thereof, comprising administering an immunogenic polypeptide to the human subject, wherein administering the immunogenic polypeptide to the human subject consists of (a) two administrations of a first viral vector encoding the immunogenic polypeptide; and (b) two administrations of a second viral vector encoding the immunogenic polypeptide; ; wherein the immunogenic polypeptide comprises: (i) a sequence having at least 90% identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (elected species).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (modified)
11. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013) and further in view of Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrials.gov ID: NCT03204617, First posted 07/02/2017), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026),
Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1, 01/14/2016).
Claims 1, 17, 34, 40-41: Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) is in the art and teaches a method of treating a human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection or a disease associated with an HIV infection in a subject in need thereof comprising administration to a subject a nucleic acid molecule encoding an immunogenic polypeptide (DNA vector e.g. non-viral expression vector pcDNA3.1 plasmid vector), viral expression vectors e.g. Modified Vaccinia Ankara virus (MVA), adenoviruses (See, col 14, lines 16-67, col 15 lines 1-67, col 16 lines 1-9, and claims 1-30, see entire prior art). Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches SEQ ID NO: 1 (Db) that has 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 (Qy) of instant claim 1 as recited below:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 403; Length 78;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 78; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 EKIRLRPGGKKKYKLKHIVWASRELERFAVNPGLLETSEGCRQILGQLQPSLQTGSEELK 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 EKIRLRPGGKKKYKLKHIVWASRELERFAVNPGLLETSEGCRQILGQLQPSLQTGSEELK 60
Qy 61 SLYNTVATLYCVHQKIEV 78
||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 SLYNTVATLYCVHQKIEV 78
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches the present invention relates to the immunogenic polypeptide, the nucleic acid, the expression cassette, the expression vector, the virus or the cell of the third aspect, or the composition vaccine for use in the prevention or treatment of an HIV infection or a disease associated with an HIV infection (See, col 3 lines 58-67). The expression “sequential administration”, as used herein, means that the administration is not simultaneous, but a first administration is performed, followed by one or more successive administrations for prevention or treatment (See, col 8 lines 4-7, and lines 17-30). Suitable dosages of the nucleic acids and expression vectors can be determined by those of skill in the art, for example by measuring the immune response of a subject, such as a laboratory animal, using conventional immunological techniques, and adjusting the dosages as appropriate. Such techniques for measuring the immune response of the subject include but are not limited to, chromium release assays, tetramer binding assays, IFN ELISPOT assays, IL-2 ELISPOT assays, intracellular cytokine assays, and other immunological detection assays (See, col 19 lines 66-67, col 20 lines 1-28, see entire prior art). Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches priming by DNA vector expressing the polypeptide (reads on SEQ ID NO: 1) followed by MVA boost expressing the polypeptide (reads on SEQ ID NO: 1), (See, Fig. 8 (a) and associated legends in col 3).
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) does not teach administration to the subject of a second viral vector encoding the immunogenic polypeptide and separation in time frame of primary and booster dosage immunization in months.
Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617) teaches a clinical trial on “Safety and Immunogenicity Study of DNA.HTI, MVA.HTI and ChAdOx1.HTI in HIV-1-positive Patients (AELIX-002)”. The AELIX-002 study aims to evaluate the safety and the immunogenicity of an heterologous prime-boost regimen with DNA.HTI, MVA.HTI and ChAdOx1.HTI in early diagnosed and treated HIV-1 positive individuals, males and females,18-60 years of age. The administration of the HIV HTI polypeptide encoding DNA vectors or MVA and ChAd virus vectors was done as follow: Biological: DNA.HTI 0.5mL at weeks 0, 4 and 8 + MVA.HTI 0.5mL at weeks 12 and 20 (DDDMM). Biological: At least 24 weeks since DDDMM, ChAdOx1.HTI 0.5mL at weeks 0 and 12 + MVA.HTI 0.5mL at week 24 (CCM). Drug: Placebo. (See, page 1-3 of attached PDF printout of ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617 by Aelix Therapeutics 2017, see entire prior art).
Ondondo et al 2016 is in the art and teaches preclinical immunogenicity of T-cell vaccine expressing novel immunogens tHIVconsvX, vectored by DNA, chimpanzee adenovirus (ChAd), and poxvirus modified vaccinia virus Ankara (MVA), a combination highly immunogenic in humans. The tHIVconsvX immunogens combine the three leading strategies for elicitation of effective CD8(+) T cells: use of regions of HIV-1 proteins functionally conserved across all M group viruses (to make HIV-1 escape costly on viral fitness), inclusion of bivalent complementary mosaic immunogens (to maximize global epitope matching and breadth of responses, and block common escape paths), and inclusion of epitopes known to be associated with low viral load in infected untreated people (to induce field-proven protective responses). tHIVconsvX was highly immunogenic in two strains of mice. Furthermore, the magnitude and breadth of CD8(+) T-cell responses to tHIVconsvX-derived peptides in treatment-naive HIV-1(+) patients significantly correlated with high CD4(+) T-cell count and low viral load. Overall, the tHIVconsvX design, combining the mosaic and conserved-region approaches, provides an indisputably better coverage of global HIV-1 variants than previous T-cell vaccines. These immunogens delivered in a highly immunogenic framework of adenovirus prime and MVA boost are ready for clinical development (See, abstract, see entire prior art).
Anonymous 2018 is in the art and teaches MVA.HTI and ChAdOx1.HTI for delivery of HIV immunogenic polypeptides or peptides and a phase I clinical trial in early treated HIV-1 positive human individuals (See, entire article).
Borducchi et al 2016 is in the art and teaches Ad26/MVA therapeutic vaccination with TLR7 stimulation in SIV-infected rhesus monkeys (See, entire article).
Buchbinder et al 2008 teaches Efficacy assessment of a cell-mediated immunity HIV- 1 vaccine (the Step Study): a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled, test-of- concept trial in human (See, entire article).
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches discovery and characterization of highly immunogenic and broadly recognized mimics of the HIV-1 CTL epitope Gag77–85 (See, abstract, see entire prior art).
Mothe et al 2015 is in the art and teaches a novel immunogen design approach that is based on functional T cell response data from more than 1,000 HIV-1 clade B and C infected individuals that aimed to direct the T cell response to the most vulnerable sites of HIV-1 and led to discovery of a human immune data-informed vaccine concept elicits strong and broad T-cell specificities associated with HIV-1 control in mice and macaques (See, abstract, entire article).
Boggiano et al 2005 teaches discovery and characterization of highly immunogenic and broadly recognized mimics of the HIV-1 CTL epitope Gag77–85 suggesting significance of conserved Gag epitopes and high immunogenicity required for protection through HIV-1 specific cytotoxic T cell response (See, abstract, entire article).
Almeida et al 2012 teaches T-cell based vaccine approaches have emerged to counteract HIV-1/AIDS. Broad, polyfunctional and cytotoxic CD4+ T-cell responses have been associated with control of HIV-1 replication, which supports the inclusion of CD4+ T-cell epitopes in vaccines and led to discovery of broad and cross-clade CD4⁺ T-cell responses elicited by a DNA vaccine encoding highly conserved and promiscuous HIV-1 M-group consensus peptides (See, abstract, entire article).
Geleziunas 2021 teaches a method of treating an HIV infection in a human comprising the step of administering to the human in need thereof a pharmaceutically effective amount of an HIV vaccine (See, claims 2, 8 and 10, para [0624]), live vector vaccines encoding HIV-1 antigens, such as those selected from the group of gag, pol, env, nef, rev, tat, vif, vpr, vpu, and antigenic proteins, variants and fusion proteins thereof (See, para [0625], [0626], [1471], see entire prior art).
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches the added limitation of instant claim 5, wherein the DNA vector comprises a human cytomegalovirus (CMV) promoter and/or a bovine growth hormone (BGH) polyadenylation site (See, col 15 lines 15-26, see entire prior art).
As recited supra, Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) (See, col 14, lines 16-67, col 15 lines 1-67, col 16 lines 1-9, and claims 1-30), and Ondondo et al 2016 (See, abstract, entire article) teaches the added limitation of instant claim 6, wherein the first and/or second viral vector is a Modified Vaccinia Ankara (MVA) virus vector and/or a chimpanzee adenovirus (ChAd) vector.
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches the added limitation of instant claim 13, wherein the DNA vector is administered at a dose of from about 0.1 mg to about 20 mg by disclosing immunogenicity of the HIVACAT T cell immunogen was evaluated in 6-8 weeks old female C57BL/6 mice. 20 μg and 5 μg of DNA was delivered intramuscularly by electroporation using the Inovio system in the left and right quadriceps (20 μg/50 μl per dose, 25 μl per site) at week 0 and 4 (See, Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) col 30 Example 2).
Claim 17: Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches the added limitation of instant claim 17, wherein the first and/or second viral vector is administered at a dose of from about 1x107 plaque forming units (pfu) to about 1x109 pfu by disclosing mice immunizations 106 pfu of MVA-HIVACAT by intramuscular injection (See, Col 3 FIG 8 a) associated legends; col 34 Example 4 section of In-Vivo Immunogenicity in C57BL/6 Mice). Optimizing the claimed dose of the viral vector from about 1x107 plaque forming units (pfu) to about 1x109 pfu is routine laboratory practice to for obtaining the optimal immune response and protection and is within the skill of the ordinary. See, MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 27-28: Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617) teaches a clinical trial on “Safety and Immunogenicity Study of DNA.HTI, MVA.HTI and ChAdOx1.HTI in HIV-1-positive Patients (AELIX-002)”. The AELIX-002 study aims to evaluate the safety and the immunogenicity of a heterologous prime-boost regimen with DNA.HTI, MVA.HTI and ChAdOx1.HTI in early diagnosed and treated HIV-1 positive individuals, males and females,18-60 years of age. The administration of the HIV HTI polypeptide encoding DNA vectors or MVA and ChAd virus vectors was done as follow: Biological: DNA.HTI 0.5mL at weeks 0, 4 and 8 + MVA.HTI 0.5mL at weeks 12 and 20 (DDDMM). Biological: At least 24 weeks since DDDMM, ChAdOx1.HTI 0.5mL at weeks 0 and 12 + MVA.HTI 0.5mL at week 24 (CCM). Drug: Placebo. (See, page 1-3 of attached PDF printout of ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617 by Aelix Therapeutics 2017).
Mothe et al 2015 is in the art and teaches added limitations of instant claims 27-28 regarding administering of the immunogen doses separated by a period of from about 2 months to about 24 months (claim 27) or by a period of from about 3 months to about 18 months (claim 28) by disclosing prime and booster does of HTI immunogen in mice (See, Figure 4 legends and figure, see entire article) that teaches separation of primary dose and the booster dose by 3 weeks. Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) added limitations of instant claims 27-28 regarding administering of the immunogen or the vaccine doses separated by a period of 3 weeks (See, Example 4 lines 50-59 in col 34 Example 4 section of In-Vivo Immunogenicity in C57BL/6 Mice).
Claims 34 and 51: Anonymous 2018 is in the art and teaches MVA.HTI and ChAdOx1.HTI for delivery of HIV immunogenic polypeptides or peptides and a phase I clinical trial in early treated HIV-1 positive human individuals (See, entire article). Thus, Anonymous 2018 taught the first viral vector is an MVA vector and the second viral vector is a ChAd vector that can be used in the method of claims 34 and 51. It is an obvious design choice to use an MVA vector as a first viral vector and a ChAd vector as a second viral vector based on the prime and boost dose strategy for the HIV immunogen/peptide vaccine administration to the human subject.
Claims 42-43: Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches added limitations of instant claims 42-43), wherein at least two of the sequences SEQ ID NO: 10 and SEQ ID NO: 16 are adjoined by an amino acid linker (instant claim 42); wherein the amino acid linker is a single, dual, or triple alanine linker, and wherein the linker results in the formation of an AAA sequence in the junction region between adjoining sequences, and/or wherein the sequence of each of SEQ ID NO: 10 and SEQ ID NO: 16 is 11-85 amino acids in length (instant claim 43).
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches SEQ ID NO: 10 (Db) that has 100% identity with instant claim 42 SEQ ID NO: 10 (Qy) as recited below:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 316; Length 55;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 55; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 LRWGFTTPDKKHQKEPPFLWMGYELHPDKWTVQPIVLPEKDSWTVNDIQKLVGKL 55
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 LRWGFTTPDKKHQKEPPFLWMGYELHPDKWTVQPIVLPEKDSWTVNDIQKLVGKL 55
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches SEQ ID NO: 16 (Db) that has 100% identity with instant claim 42 SEQ ID NO: 16 (Qy) as recited below:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 69; Length 13;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 13; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AWLEAQEEEEVGF 13
|||||||||||||
Db 1 AWLEAQEEEEVGF 13
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches a linker wherein (the polynucleotide sequences encoding the polypeptide encode amino acid Alanine) the polypeptides are joined by a single, dual, or triple alanine amino acid linker, wherein the linker results in the formation of an AAA sequence in the junction region between adjoining sequences, wherein the sequence of each of the polypeptide is 11-85 amino acids in length (See, claim 1 (xvi), claim 3, claim 6, claim 18, col 5 lines 14-25).
Claim 50: Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches added limitation of instant claim 50, wherein the immunogenic polypeptide is encoded by a nucleic acid comprising the SEQ ID NO:100 by disclosing 100% identical SEQ ID NO:100 (Db) as recited below:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1587; Length 1587;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1587; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAGAAGATCCGGCTGCGGCCAGGCGGAAAGAAGAAGTACAAGCTGAAGCACATCGTCTGG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAGAAGATCCGGCTGCGGCCAGGCGGAAAGAAGAAGTACAAGCTGAAGCACATCGTCTGG 60
Qy 61 GCCTCGAGGGAGCTGGAGCGGTTCGCGGTGAACCCGGGACTTCTGGAGACGTCGGAGGGG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GCCTCGAGGGAGCTGGAGCGGTTCGCGGTGAACCCGGGACTTCTGGAGACGTCGGAGGGG 120
Qy 121 TGCAGGCAGATCCTCGGCCAGCTGCAGCCCTCTCTGCAAACGGGGTCTGAGGAGCTGAAG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TGCAGGCAGATCCTCGGCCAGCTGCAGCCCTCTCTGCAAACGGGGTCTGAGGAGCTGAAG 180
Qy 181 AGCCTGTACAACACGGTGGCGACCCTCTACTGCGTCCACCAGAAGATCGAGGTGGCAGCG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 AGCCTGTACAACACGGTGGCGACCCTCTACTGCGTCCACCAGAAGATCGAGGTGGCAGCG 240
Qy 241 GCCAAGGCGTTCTCGCCGGAGGTCATCCCCATGTTCTCGGCGCTGGCAGCTGCCGGACAC 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GCCAAGGCGTTCTCGCCGGAGGTCATCCCCATGTTCTCGGCGCTGGCAGCTGCCGGACAC 300
Qy 301 CAGGCCGCGATGCAGATGCTGAAGGAGGCCGCTGCGATCGCACCGGGCCAGATGAGGGAG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 CAGGCCGCGATGCAGATGCTGAAGGAGGCCGCTGCGATCGCACCGGGCCAGATGAGGGAG 360
Qy 361 CCACGCGGTTCCGACATCGCGGGAACCACCTCGACGCTCCAGGAGCAGATCGGATGGATG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CCACGCGGTTCCGACATCGCGGGAACCACCTCGACGCTCCAGGAGCAGATCGGATGGATG 420
Qy 421 ACGAACAACCCGCCAATCCCGGTCGGGGAGATCTACAAGCGGTGGATCATCCTCGGGCTG 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 ACGAACAACCCGCCAATCCCGGTCGGGGAGATCTACAAGCGGTGGATCATCCTCGGGCTG 480
Qy 481 AACAAGATCGTCCGGATGTACAGCCCGACGTCGATCGCTGCGGCATACGTTGACCGGTTC 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 AACAAGATCGTCCGGATGTACAGCCCGACGTCGATCGCTGCGGCATACGTTGACCGGTTC 540
Qy 541 TACAAGACCCTGAGGGCCGAGCAGGCAGCGGCCTGCCAGGGGGTCGGTGGACCAGGGCAC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 TACAAGACCCTGAGGGCCGAGCAGGCAGCGGCCTGCCAGGGGGTCGGTGGACCAGGGCAC 600
Qy 601 AAGGCCCGAGTGCTCGCGGCCGCATGCACGGAGCGGCAGGCGAACTTCCTGGGGAAGATC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 AAGGCCCGAGTGCTCGCGGCCGCATGCACGGAGCGGCAGGCGAACTTCCTGGGGAAGATC 660
Qy 661 TGGCCGTCGCACAAGGGCCGACCGGGAAACTTCCTCCAGTCTCGCGCAGCGGCTAAGATG 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TGGCCGTCGCACAAGGGCCGACCGGGAAACTTCCTCCAGTCTCGCGCAGCGGCTAAGATG 720
Qy 721 ATCGGAGGCATCGGAGGCTTCATCAAAGTCCGTCAGTACGACCAGATCCTCATCGAGATC 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 ATCGGAGGCATCGGAGGCTTCATCAAAGTCCGTCAGTACGACCAGATCCTCATCGAGATC 780
Qy 781 TGCGGGCACAAGGCGATCGGAACCGTGCTCGTCGGCCCAACGCCCGTGAACATCATCGGC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 TGCGGGCACAAGGCGATCGGAACCGTGCTCGTCGGCCCAACGCCCGTGAACATCATCGGC 840
Qy 841 CGCAACCTGTTAACGCAGATCGGCTGCACCCTCAACTTCGCCGCACTAGTGGAGATCTGC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 CGCAACCTGTTAACGCAGATCGGCTGCACCCTCAACTTCGCCGCACTAGTGGAGATCTGC 900
Qy 901 ACGGAGATGGAGAAGGAGGGCAAGATATCGAAGATCGCGGCAGCTCTGAGGTGGGGCTTC 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 ACGGAGATGGAGAAGGAGGGCAAGATATCGAAGATCGCGGCAGCTCTGAGGTGGGGCTTC 960
Qy 961 ACCACGCCGGACAAGAAGCACCAGAAGGAGCCGCCATTCCTGTGGATGGGATACGAGCTG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 ACCACGCCGGACAAGAAGCACCAGAAGGAGCCGCCATTCCTGTGGATGGGATACGAGCTG 1020
Qy 1021 CACCCGGACAAGTGGACCGTGCAGCCCATCGTCCTGCCGGAGAAGGACTCGTGGACGGTG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 CACCCGGACAAGTGGACCGTGCAGCCCATCGTCCTGCCGGAGAAGGACTCGTGGACGGTG 1080
Qy 1081 AACGACATCCAGAAGCTCGTGGGGAAGCTGGCGGCAGCCATCCTCAAGGAGCCCGTCCAC 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 AACGACATCCAGAAGCTCGTGGGGAAGCTGGCGGCAGCCATCCTCAAGGAGCCCGTCCAC 1140
Qy 1141 GGGGTGTACTACGACCCCTCTAAGGACCTGATCGCGGAGATCCAGAAGCAGGGGCAGGGT 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 GGGGTGTACTACGACCCCTCTAAGGACCTGATCGCGGAGATCCAGAAGCAGGGGCAGGGT 1200
Qy 1201 CAGTGGACCTACCAGATCTACGCAGCAGCAACCAAGGAGCTGCAGAAGCAGATCACGAAG 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 CAGTGGACCTACCAGATCTACGCAGCAGCAACCAAGGAGCTGCAGAAGCAGATCACGAAG 1260
Qy 1261 ATCCAGAACTTCCGCGTATACTACCGCGACTCGCGGGACCCCCTGTGGAAGGGCCCTGCG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 ATCCAGAACTTCCGCGTATACTACCGCGACTCGCGGGACCCCCTGTGGAAGGGCCCTGCG 1320
Qy 1321 AAGCTTCTCTGGGCAGCCGCGAAGATCATCCGGGACTACGGCAAGCAGATGGCGGGCGAC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 AAGCTTCTCTGGGCAGCCGCGAAGATCATCCGGGACTACGGCAAGCAGATGGCGGGCGAC 1380
Qy 1381 GACTGCGTGGCCGCAGCGGTGAAGCACCATATGTACATCTCGAAGAAGGCGAAGGGCTGG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 GACTGCGTGGCCGCAGCGGTGAAGCACCATATGTACATCTCGAAGAAGGCGAAGGGCTGG 1440
Qy 1441 TTCTACAGACACCACTACGAGTCCACCCACCCCAGGGCAGCTGCGGTGACGAAGCTGACG 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 TTCTACAGACACCACTACGAGTCCACCCACCCCAGGGCAGCTGCGGTGACGAAGCTGACG 1500
Qy 1501 GAGGACCGGTGGAACAAGCCCCAGAAGACGAAGGGTCACCGGGCGGCTGCATGGCTGGAG 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 GAGGACCGGTGGAACAAGCCCCAGAAGACGAAGGGTCACCGGGCGGCTGCATGGCTGGAG 1560
Qy 1561 GCTCAGGAGGAGGAGGAGGTGGGCTTC 1587
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 GCTCAGGAGGAGGAGGAGGTGGGCTTC 1587
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches added limitation of instant claim 46, wherein the disease associated with an HIV infection is an acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), AIDS-related complex (ARC), or HIV opportunistic disease (See, col 5 lines 6-13; col 3 lines 58-67).
Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2) teaches added limitation of instant claim 47, wherein the HIV is HIV type 1 (HIV- 1) (See, col 6 lines 37-51).
According to section 2144.05 of the MPEP, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See, MPEP 2144.05, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art teachings of Brander et al 2018 with additional teachings of the prior art as applied supra to arrive at the inventions of independent claim 1, and dependent claims 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51. One of the ordinary skills would have been motivated to optimize and develop the claimed method(s) of treating or preventing a human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection or a disease associated with an HIV infection in a subject in need thereof, inter alia, comprising sequential administration of DNA vector, and viral vectors, MVA vector and ChAd vector encoding the claimed immunogenic polypeptides or the nucleic acid sequences encoding the broadly reactive conserved polypeptide (as per the HIV-1 HIT polypeptide design and choice) to treat and or prevent HIV disease AIDS or ARC in the subjects and for commercial success of the claimed immunization methods. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the applied prior art teachings as recited supra and the knowledge and skills of the ordinary in the art to render the methods of claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 obvious as recited supra. This is analogous to some teaching, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed inventions of claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, example of rationales, A-G).
Double Patenting (maintained)
13. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 11, 14-17, 20-26, 28-30 of copending Application No. 19/065036 further in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims and co-pending claims both are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) in the form of a DNA vector or viral vectors MVA and ChAd expressing the claimed HIV polypeptides. The co-pending claims require antiretroviral therapy in addition to the HIV HTI immunogens administration.
Copending claim 8 SEQ ID NO: 1 has 100% identity to instant claim 1 SEQ ID NO: 1.
Copending claim 11 SEQ ID NO: 99 has 100% identity to instant claim SEQ ID NO: 99.
Copending claim 17 SEQ ID NOs: 100 and 101 has 100% identity to instant claim SEQ ID NOs: 100 and 101.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to make an obvious variation to the co-pending claims by incorporating antiretroviral therapy in addition to the HIV HTI immunogens administration for controlling the HIV viremia and restore the immune status of the individual to some extent to obtain a better immune response to the claimed HIV HTI immunogen/vaccine with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings as applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the copending claims as compared to the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
14. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-19, and 21-27 of copending Application No. 17/610,040 further in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437) Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims and co-pending claims both are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) in the form of a DNA vector or viral vectors MVA and ChAd expressing the claimed HIV polypeptides. The co-pending claims require TLR7 modulating compound in addition to the HIV HTI immunogens administration.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to make an obvious variation to the co-pending claims by incorporating TLR7 modulating compound in addition to the HIV HTI immunogens administration for enhancing immune response to the claimed HIV HTI immunogen/vaccine with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings as applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the co-pending claims as compared to the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
15. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. US9988425B2 in view of in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims and patented claims both are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) in the form of a DNA vector or viral vectors MVA expressing the claimed HIV polypeptides. The patented claims do not recite viral vector ChAd.
It would have been obvious to incorporate a second viral vector ChAd for booster dose of the claimed polypeptide and to prevent neutralization of second viral vector by anti-viral vector antibody and cellular immune responses that could affect the replication of the second viral vector. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to make an obvious variation to the instant claims by incorporating viral vector ChAd with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings as applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the instant claims as compared to the patented claims.
16. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. US10815278B2 in view of in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) in the form of a DNA vector or viral vectors MVA expressing the claimed HIV polypeptides.
The patented claims are directed to vector construct comprising polynucleotide sequences that express the HIV HTI polypeptides based on the claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1-16, 100. reciting the sequences that are common to the instant application claims and patented (US10815278B2) claims.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills to make design choice to make variation in the instant claims by making choice of a plasmid vector, and viral vectors as compared to the expression vector recited in the patented claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the instant claims as compared to the patented claims.
17. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. US11325946B2 in view of in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims and patented claims both are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) in the form of an expression cassette, an expression vector, a virus (DNA vector or viral vectors). The patented claims do not recite viral vectors are ChAd and MVA expressing the claimed HIV polypeptides. Both the instant claims and patented claims has claimed the HIV polypeptides as immunogens or the nucleotide sequences encoding the polypeptides by claiming SEQ ID NO: 1-16 and 100 that are 100% identical in the instant claims and patented claims.
It would have been obvious one of the ordinary skills to incorporate specific viral vector MVA and ChAd in the instant claims for booster dose of the claimed polypeptide and to prevent neutralization of second viral vector by anti-viral vector antibody and cellular immune responses that could affect the replication of the first or second viral vector (MVA and ChAd). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to make an obvious variation to the instant claims by incorporating viral vectors MVA or ChAd expressing the claimed polypeptides with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings as applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the instant claims as compared to the patented claims.
18. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. US11666651B2 in view of in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims and patented claims both are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) in the form of an expression cassette, an expression vector, viral vectors MVA and ChAd. Both the instant claims and patented claims has claimed the HIV polypeptides as immunogens or the nucleotide sequences encoding the polypeptides by claiming SEQ ID NOs: 1-16 and 100 that are 100% identical in the instant claims and patented claims. The patented claims have sequence identity requirement of 95% for the claimed SEQ ID NOs: 1-16 and 100 whereas the instant claims require 90% identity. The patented claims do not have requirement for DNA vector (plasmid expressing the claimed polypeptide HTI) for immunization/treatment.
It would have been obvious one of the ordinary skills to incorporate a plasmid vector-based immunization for treatment in the instant claims to have heterologous viral vectors for booster dose to prevent neutralization of second viral vector by anti-viral vector antibody and cellular immune responses that could affect the replication of the first or second viral vector (MVA and ChAd) to enable three different vectors for prime and boost regimen. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to make an obvious variation to the instant claims as compared to the patented claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings as applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the instant claims as compared to the patented claims.
19. Claims 1, 17, 27-28, 34, 40-43, 45 and 50-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-46 of U.S. Patent No. US11919926B2 in view of in view of the combined teachings of Brander et al 2018 (US9988425B2, 06/05/2018, with an earlier priority to US20150050310A1 02/19/2015 and PCT Pub No W02013/110818 08/01/2013), Aelix Therapeutics 2017 (ClinicalTrial ID: NCT03204617), Anonymous 2018. ("Summary Notification Information Format For The Release of Genetically Modified Organisms Other Than Higher Plants In Accordance With Article 11 of Directive 2001/18/Ec," August 17, 2018, 43 pages. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026, Borducchi et al 2016. (Nature, 2016, 540 (7632), 284-287. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), and Buchbinder et al 2008 (Lancet, 372(9653):1881-1893, Elsevier, Netherlands. Cited on IDS filed on 06/25/2026), Ondondo et al 2016 (Molecular Therapy, vol. 24 no. 4, 832–842 Apr. 2016), Mothe et al 2015 (Journal of Translational Medicine (2015) 13:60), Boggiano et al 2005 (Eur. J. Immunol. 2005. 35: 1428–1437), Almeida et al 2012 (PLOS One, vol 7 (9), e45267), and Geleziunas 2021 (US11116774B2, 09/14/2021 with an earlier priority to US20160008374A1 published 01/14/2016).
The instant claims and patented claims both are directed to the methods of treating or preventing HIV infection in a subject comprising administering inter alia relatively conserved polypeptides of HIV (HTI) comprising polypeptides recited in SEQ ID NO: 1-16. The patented claims recited fusion polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 1-16 amino acid linker is a single, dual, or triple alanine linker, and wherein the linker results in the formation of an AAA sequence in the junction region between adjoining sequences. The instant claims 42-43 recited the same amino acid linkers for linking at least two polypeptide sequences from the claimed SEQ ID NO: 1-16 claimed by the patented claims. The patented claims differ from the instant claims in delivery of the claimed fusion polypeptide in the form of DNA vaccine vector and MVA and ChAd viral expression vectors.
It would have been obvious one of the ordinary skills to use the fusion polypeptides for immunization / treatment in the instant claims that offer convenience of production and purification of the claimed polypeptides and still offer multiple combinations from 16 polypeptides SEQ ID NO: 1-16. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to make an obvious variation to the instant claims by incorporating the polypeptides in DNA vector, and or viral vectors for immunization and treatment of a subject as compared to the patented claims with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art teachings applied for rejection of instant claims under 35 USC 103 are incorporated here in entirety to render obvious the variation in the instant claims as compared to the patented claims.
Response to Arguments
20. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected in non-final rejection office action mailed on 01/27/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on only reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New prior art were applied in this office action to render obvious the amended and new claims.
21. Relevant Prior Arts:
Bhattacharya et al 2007. US20110150915A1 (06/23/2011). Polyvalent HIV vaccine, an immunogenic composition (e.g., a vaccine) and, in particular, to a polyvalent immunogenic composition, such as a polyvalent HIV vaccine, and to methods of using same. The invention further relates to methods that use a genetic algorithm to create sets of polyvalent antigens suitable for use, for example, in vaccination strategies.
Howley et al 2011. US8021669B2 (09/20/2011). Intergenic regions as novel sites for insertion of HIV DNA sequences in the genome of modified vaccinia virus Ankara.
Perdigueroet al 2018. Potent HIV-1-Specific CD8 T Cell Responses Induced in Mice after Priming with a Multiepitopic DNA-TMEP and Boosting with the HIV Vaccine MVA-B. Viruses. 2018 Aug 13;10(8):424.
Hu et al 2018. Gag and env conserved element CE DNA vaccines elicit broad cytotoxic T cell responses targeting subdominant epitopes of HIV and SIV Able to recognize virus-infected cells in macaques. Hum Vaccin Immunother. 2018;14(9):2163-2177.
Barratt-Boyes et al 2006. Broad cellular immunity with robust memory responses to simian immunodeficiency virus following serial vaccination with adenovirus 5- and 35-based vectors. J Gen Virol. 2006 Jan;87(Pt 1):139-149.
Hu et al 2016. DNA Prime-Boost Vaccine Regimen To Increase Breadth, Magnitude, and Cytotoxicity of the Cellular Immune Responses to Subdominant Gag Epitopes of Simian Immunodeficiency Virus and HIV. J Immunol. 2016 Nov 15;197(10):3999-4013.
Conclusion
22. No claim is allowed.
23. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMADHAN JAISING JADHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600