DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 14 September 2025 have been entered. Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10, 12 – 18, 20 – 23, and 25 – 26 are pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim 1 and the addition of claim 26.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be an extra “a” before “setting a different distance” in line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “wherein the collar has a fixed shaped as a continuous semi-circle” appears to have a typographical error adding a “d” to “shape”. It is suggested to revise the term to “wherein the collar has a fixed shape as a continuous semi-circle” for readability. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10, 12 – 18, 20 – 23, and 25 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear if only part of the material is rigid, if the material is only “substantially” rigid and not actually entirely rigid, and what the metes and bounds of being fully rigid are. Looking to applicant’s specification, the term is interpreted in light of [Page 19, Top] wherein “collar 214 is made from a substantially rigid material, for example, plastic and/or metal” and the context of the claim that it needs to “continuously maintain its shape without deformation”. Claims 2 – 6, 8 – 10, 12 – 18, 20 – 23, and 25 – 26 are similarly rejected due to their dependence on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 12, 15 - 16, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saroka et al. (US 20150031978 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Saroka”.
Regarding Claim 1, Saroka discloses an apparatus (Figure 1A, thoracic garment 130) for positioning at least one of a front sensor (Figure 1A, EM transducer unit 133) and a back sensor (Figure 1B, EM transducer unit 133) at a target region across a thorax of a target individual (Paragraph 0040), the apparatus comprising: a back positioning element comprising:
(i) a collar (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152) sized and shaped for fitting to a shoulder line and base of a back of a neck of the target individual (Figure 1A-1B);
(ii) an elongated element (Figure 1B, thoracic garment piece 141) having a first end region connected to the collar (Figure 1B, upper region of thoracic garment piece 141), and a second end region (Figure 1B, lower region of thoracic garment piece 141) with a location marker implemented as a visual feature and/or physically unique feature of the elongated element (Figure 1B, EM transducer placement portion 131, Paragraph 0047 “one or more EM transducer placement portions 131, for example pockets, compartments, openings and/or attachments” would be considered a physically unique feature) set to correspond to a target anatomical feature of the spine of the target individual (Paragraphs 0046-0047),
wherein the collar (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152) and the elongated element (Figure 1B, thoracic garment piece 141) are fixed in position with respect to one another ([0067] “…one or more shoulder straps 151, 152 are associated with an anchor arrangement, such as 193, so that the shoulder straps 151, 152 cannot be removed and/or adjusted more than by a predetermined length….”)(Examiner notes that the elements are fixed in position in terms of being limited to not being removed and cannot be adjusted more than by a predetermined length away from each other.; [0117] “…fixates their length…in an irreversible manner…”) and are made of a substantially rigid material designed to continuously maintain its shape without deformation (Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B; [0117] “…Optionally, the pulling of the straps fixates their length, for instance in an irreversible manner…”; [0106] “…Examples for EM manipulating materials include CobalTexTM…or EccosorbTM of Emerson and Cuming Microwave Products. Examples for Surface resistive EM manipulating materials includes StatitecTC…and metallic materials, for example a metal foil…” [0052] – [0053] “…non elastic backbone portion connected to the shoulder straps…Each one of the thoracic garment pieces 140 may be a non-elastic garment piece, for example a non-stretchable breast plate having one or more EM transducers mounted thereon or therein…sufficient comfort and rigidity…“, “…non-stretchable breast plate may be made of a polymeric material, polyvinyl chloride (PVC), metal…”)(Examiner notes that the elements are interpreted as including plastic or metal and being able to continuously maintain their shape without deformation during use, by maintaining a set length for the straps and being “non-stretchable” for the breast plate element.)
wherein the elongated element with the location marker implemented as a visual feature and/or physically unique feature of the elongated element is desired for positioning parallel to and over a long axis of a spine on the back of the target individual (Figure 1B), and the back positioning element is configured such that upon the collar being positioned on the shoulder line and back of the neck of the target individual and the location marker positioned on the target anatomical feature of the spine of the target individual, at least one front sensor and/or at least one back sensor are positioned at their correct locations (Figures 1A and 1B)(Examiner notes that the at least one front sensors and/or at least one back sensor are broadly placed correctly by being on the person’s front or back, and they can broadly correctly perform their purpose of gathering data.) on the thorax of the target individual relative to the back positioning element for transmitting to and/or sensing from the target region (Paragraphs 0122-0124); and
a holding mechanism (Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156) designed for coupling to the back positioning element (Figure 1B), wherein the holding mechanism, and the back positioning element are sized, shaped, and set for positioning the at least one front sensor and/or the at least one back sensor across the target region (Figures 1A-1B).
Regarding Claim 4, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 4, Saroka discloses wherein the back position element (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152, thoracic garment piece 141) has an approximately Y shape (Figure 1B)(Examiner notes that the shape of shoulder-straps and thoracic garment piece 141 broadly form approximately a Y shape), the collar (Figure 1B, shoulder straps 151 and 152) having a shape approximately as the short top arms of the Y (Figure 1B) (Examiner notes that the shape of the shoulder-straps broadly forms approximately the short top arms of the Y shape), and the elongated element (Figure 1B, thoracic garment piece 141) of the back positioning element having a shape approximately as the long arm of the Y (Figure 1B) )(Examiner notes that the shape of the thoracic garment piece 141 broadly forms approximately the long arm of the Y shape).
Regarding Claim 12, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 12, Saroka discloses wherein the target region is located within at least one member selected from the group consisting of: left lung, right lung, right middle lobe, right upper lobe, left upper lobe, right lower lobe, heart, trachea, and combinations of the aforementioned (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding Claim 15, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 15, Saroka discloses the collar (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152) is sized and/or shaped to cover an arch of about 40-60 degrees of the back of the neck of the target individual (Figure 1A-1B shoulder straps 151-152 sized and shaped to link the top of thoracic garment piece 141 to cover at least 40 – 60 degrees at the back of the neck by surrounding the back of the neck, or broadly about 40 – 60 degrees around the entire 360 degrees of the neck.). Saroka details how the shoulder straps and thoracic garment piece can be adjusted to cover the vertebra prominens, and thus an arch, of the wearer (Paragraphs 0060-0061) (MPEP 2144.05(ll)).
Regarding Claim 16, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 16, Saroka discloses the at least one front sensor (Figure 1A, EM transducer unit 133) and at least one back sensor (Figure 1B, EM transducer unit 133), wherein the at least one front sensor and at least one back sensor are selected from the group consisting of: electromagnetic (EM) transmitters and/or receivers (Figures 1A-1B, EM transducer units 133), ultrasound transmitters and/or receivers, radiofrequency (RF) transmitters and/or receivers, treatment elements, chemical injectors, and imaging elements.
Regarding Claim 26, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Clai, 26, Saroka discloses wherein the collar (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152) has a fixed shaped as a continuous semi-circle or arch designed for partially surrounding the neck (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152)(Examiner notes that when the device is in place, the straps are fixed over the shoulders in an arch-shape, and they partially surround the neck on the left and right sides.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Silver et al. (US 20150120201 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Silver”, and Schmidt et al. (US 20080200792 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Schmidt”.
Regarding Claim 2, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 2, Saroka discloses the holding mechanism (Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156),
Saroka does not disclose wherein the holding mechanism includes: (i) a substantially arc shaped portion for fitting over a shoulder of the target individual,(ii) an elongated front portion for connecting to the at least one front sensor for contacting a chest of the target individual, and (iii) an elongated back portion for connecting to the at least one back sensor for contacting a back of the target individual, wherein when in use, the location of the holding mechanism is set relative to the positioned back positioning element, and the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor are positioned on the thorax of the target individual by the holding mechanism relative to the back positioning mechanism for transmitting to and/or sensing from the target region.
Silver teaches an apparatus (Figure 4, frame 4) for positioning a front sensor (Figure 4, first sensor 2) and a back sensor (Figure 4, second sensor 4) at a target region (Paragraph 0016 lines 7-10 “over the sternum and opposite the sternum on the infant’s back”) across the thorax of a user (Figure 2, infant cardiac arrest victim 1), the apparatus comprising a holding mechanism including: a substantially arc shaped portion for fitting over a shoulder of the target individual (Figure 4, arcuate segment 9, Paragraph 0022 line 1-4)(Examiner notes that the arcuate segment is broadly substantially arc shaped), an elongated front portion (Figure 4, laterally extending element 7) for connecting to the at least one front sensor for contacting a chest of the target individual (Figure 2), and an elongated back portion (Figure 4, laterally extending element 8) for connecting to the at least one back sensor for contacting a back of the target individual (Figure 2), wherein when in use, the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor are positioned on the thorax of the target individual by the holding mechanism for transmitting to and/or sensing from the target region (Paragraph 0027 liens 1-5). Silver also teaches that including such a component would allow for accommodation of a user’s thorax and proper positioning of the sensors (Paragraph 0016 lines 4-10).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka by modifying the holding mechanism to include: (i) a substantially arc shaped portion for fitting over a shoulder of the target individual,(ii) an elongated front portion for connecting to the at least one front sensor for contacting a chest of the target individual, and (iii) an elongated back portion for connecting to the at least one back sensor for contacting a back of the target individual, wherein when in use, and the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor are positioned on the thorax of the target individual by the holding mechanism relative to the back positioning mechanism for transmitting to and/or sensing from the target region as taught by Silver in order to allow for accommodation of a user’s thorax and proper positioning of the sensors (Silver, Paragraph 0016 lines 4-10).
However, Saroka as modified by Silver fails to teach the location of the holding mechanism is set relative to a positioned back positioning element.
Schmidt teaches an apparatus (Figure 1, belt device 1) for positioning at least one front sensor (Figure 1, sensors 7), the apparatus comprising: a back position element (Figure 1, collar portion 3) and a holding mechanism (Figure 1, torso portion 5); wherein the holding mechanism is set relative to the back positioning element (Figure 1, by way of adjustable connection 27, Paragraph 0031). Schmidt also teaches that doing so would allow for the apparatus to be properly fit to the dimensions of a user (Paragraph 0031).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka as modified by Silver by including wherein the location of the holding mechanism is set relative to the positioned back positioning element as taught by Schmidt in order to allow for the apparatus to be properly fit to the dimensions of a user (Schmidt, Paragraph 0031).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Mahajan et al. (US 20170119255 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Mahajan”.
Regarding Claim 3, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 3, Saroka discloses computing an estimate of an amount of fluid within a target tissue of the target individual (Paragraphs 0045 and 0123) according to an output of the at least one back sensor (Figure 1B, EM transducer unit 133) and the at least one front sensor (Figure 1A, EM transducer unit 133).
Saroka does not disclose a non-transitory memory having stored thereon a code that when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computing device causes the at least one hardware processor to: control activation of the at least one back sensor and the at least one front sensor, receive output of the at least one back sensor and the at least one front sensor.
Mahajan teaches an apparatus (Figure 1, device 10) for positioning sensors (Figure 1, sensors 16 and 18) at a target region of an individual (Paragraph 0023), comprising a non-transitory memory (Paragraph 0083 “a memory storing instructions”) having stored thereon a code that when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computing device (Paragraph 0083 “a computer processor…instructions executable on the processor”) causes the at least one hardware processor to: control activation of the sensors (Paragraph 0089), receive output of the sensors (Paragraph 0089), and compute an estimate of an amount of fluid within a target tissue of the individual (Paragraph 0072 lines 1-6, Paragraph 0083 lines 13-14). Mahajan also teaches that doing so would aid in diagnosis of different conditions (Paragraph 0072 lines 1-6).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka by including a non-transitory memory having stored thereon a code that when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computing device causes the at least one hardware processor to: control activation of the at least one back sensor and the at least one front sensor, receive output of the at least one back sensor and the at least one front sensor as taught by Mahajan in order to aid in diagnosis of different conditions (Mahajan, Paragraph 0072 lines 1-6).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Chetham et al. (US 20160135741 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Chetham”.
Regarding Claim 5, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 5, Saroka discloses the holding mechanism (Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156).
Saroka does not disclose wherein the holding mechanism is shaped as U having a first arm shorter than a second arm, a front portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the first arm of the U, a back portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the second arm, and an arc shaped portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the curve of the U.
Chetham teaches an apparatus (Figures 32A-32B) for positioning sensors on the thorax of a patient (Figure 29B, sensor 2901), wherein the apparatus comprises a holding mechanism shaped as a U (Figures 32A-32B) having first arm shorter than a second arm (Figure 32A, portion of the apparatus situation on the anterior side of the user is shorter than the portion of the apparatus situation on the posterior side of the user), the front portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the first arm of the U (Figure 32A, portion of the apparatus situation on the anterior side of the user), the back portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the second arm (Figure 32A, portion of the apparatus situation on the posterior side of the user), the arc shaped portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the curve of the U (Figure 32A, portion of the apparatus situation on top of the shoulder of the user). Chetham also teaches that including such a configuration would help ensure that the apparatus does not accidently come off the patient (Paragraph 0261).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka such that the holding mechanism is shaped as U having a first arm shorter than a second arm, the front portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the first arm of the U, the back portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the second arm, and the arc shaped portion of the holding mechanism corresponding to the curve of the U as taught by Chetham in order to help ensure that the apparatus does not accidently come off the patient (Chetham, Paragraph 0261).
Claims 6, 8-9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Limonadi (US 20130201021 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Limonadi”.
Regarding Claim 6, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 6, Saroka discloses the back positioning element (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152, Figure 1B, thoracic garment piece 141),
Saroka does not disclose wherein the back positioning element further comprises an adjustment mechanism for adjusting a distance between the holding mechanism and the elongated element of the back positioning element.
Limonadi teaches an apparatus (Figure 8A, device 300) for positioning sensors on the thorax of a user (Figure 13A, first sensor 502), the apparatus comprising an adjustment mechanism (Figure 8A, mounting bracket 302) for adjusting a distance (Paragraph 0054 lines 16-20, the examiner notes that adjusting the length of cords 16a-16b and 18a-18b would in turn adjust the distance between the collar 304 and belt 310) between a holding mechanism (Figure 8A, belt 310) and an elongated element (Figure 8A, collar 304) in a 2-D plane parallel to a back of the user (Paragraph 0054 lines 16-20, plane parallel to the length of the user’s spine), wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises stop station selectors (Figure 10B, tracks 424-426) arranged at predefined locations corresponding to at least one anatomical and/or physical dimension of the thorax of the individual (Figure 10, the examiner notes that each of the spaced apart ridges of tracks 424 and 426 correspond to different thorax lengths, meaning that the closer rods 408 and 410 are brought together then the shorter the user’s thorax would need to be to use the device). Including such a component would allow for the apparatus to be sized for users with different thorax lengths.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka by providing the back positioning element with an adjustment mechanism for adjusting a distance between the holding mechanism and the elongated element of the back positioning element as taught by Limonadi in order to provide the advantage of allowing for the apparatus to be sized for users with different thorax lengths.
Regarding Claim 8, Saroka as modified by Limonadi discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 6. For the remainder of Claim 8, Saroka discloses wherein each one of the plurality of stop station selectors (Limonadi, Figure 10B, tracks 424-426) corresponds to a combination of at least one physical and or anatomical patient parameter (Limonadi, Figure 10, the examiner notes that each of the spaced apart ridges of tracks 424 and 426 correspond to different thorax lengths, meaning that the closer rods 408 and 410 are brought together then the shorter the user’s thorax would need to be to use the device).
Regarding Claim 9, Saroka as modified by Limonadi discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 6. For the remainder of Claim 9, Saroka discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism (Limonadi, Figure 8A, mounting bracket 302) adjusts the location of the holding mechanism (Saroka, Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156) within a two-dimensional plane substantially parallel to the back of the target individual (Limonadi, Paragraph 0054 lines 16-20, plane parallel to the length of the user’s spine).
Regarding Claim 25, Saroka as modified by Limonadi discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 6. For the remainder of Claim 25, Saroka discloses wherein the adjustment mechanism (Limonadi, Figure 8A, mounting bracket 302) includes a plurality of stop station selectors arranged in a two-dimensional pattern (Limonadi, Figure 10B, tracks 424-426), each stop station selector is set at a predefined location of the holding mechanism (Saroka, Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156) for a setting a different distance (Limonadi, Paragraph 0054 lines 16-20, the examiner notes that adjusting the length of cords 16a-16b and 18a-18b would in turn adjust the distance between the collar 304 and belt 310) of the holding mechanism relative to the elongated element of the back positioning element (Saroka, Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152, Figure 1B, thoracic garment piece 141).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Silver and Schmidt as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of De Limon et al. (US 20170303815 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “De Limon”.
Regarding Claim 10, Saroka as modified by Silver and Schmidt discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 2. For the remainder of Claim 10, Silver teaches an elongated front portion (Silver, Figure 4, laterally extending element 7)(as described above in Claim 2), but fails to teach wherein the elongate front portion includes at least one tab element set such that when in use the at least one tab element is positioned at a defined anatomical landmark of the target individual, and the at least one front sensor is positioned relative to the chest at a location corresponding to the target region.
De Limon teaches an apparatus (Figure 1, system 100) for positioning sensors (Figure 7AB, electrodes 702) on the thorax of a user (Figure 7A-7B, subject 7390 Paragraph 0130), comprising an elongated portion (Figure 7B, patch 701) which includes at least one tab element (Figure 7B, alignment tabs 711) set such that when in use the at least one tab element is positioned at a defined anatomical landmark of the target individual, and the sensors is positioned relative to an anatomical location (Paragraph 0091) at a location corresponding to a target region (Abstract, target region would be the lungs). De Limon also teaches that doing so would facilitate proper measurements (Paragraph 0130 lines 7-11).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka as modified by Silver and Schmidt to provide the elongate front portion with at least one tab element set such that when in use the at least one tab element is positioned at a defined anatomical landmark of the target individual, and the at least one front sensor is positioned relative to the chest at a location corresponding to the target region as taught by De Limon in order to facilitate proper measurements (De Limon, Paragraph 0130 lines 7-11).
Claims 13, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Silver.
Regarding Claim 13, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 13, Saroka does not disclose at least one front sensor positioning element coupled to the at least one front sensor for adjustment of an orientation of the at least one front sensor for contacting the chest of the target individual corresponding to the target region, the at least one front sensor positioning element coupled to the front portion of the holding mechanism, and/or at least one back sensor positioning element coupled to the at least one back sensor for adjustment of an orientation of the at least one back sensor for contacting a back of the target individual corresponding to the target region, the at least one back sensor positioning element coupled to the back portion of the holding mechanism.
Silver teaches an apparatus (Figure 4, frame 4) for positioning a front sensor (Figure 4, first sensor 2) and a back sensor (Figure 4, second sensor 4) at a target region (Paragraph 0016 lines 7-10 “over the sternum and opposite the sternum on the infant’s back”) across the thorax of a user (Figure 2, infant cardiac arrest victim 1), the apparatus comprising a front sensor positioning element (Figure 9, portion of ratcheting mechanism shown as part of the laterally extending segment 7) coupled to the front sensor (Figure 9, indirectly coupled by way of laterally extending segment 7) for adjustment of an orientation of the front sensor for contacting the chest of the target individual corresponding to the target region (Paragraph 0024), the at least one front sensor positioning element coupled to the front portion (Figure 9, laterally extending segment 7) of a holding mechanism (Figure 9, Paragraph 0024 “frame”), and/or at least one back sensor positioning element coupled to the at least one back sensor for adjustment of an orientation of the at least one back sensor for contacting a back of the target individual corresponding to the target region, the at least one back sensor positioning element coupled to the back portion of the holding mechanism. Silver also teaches that including such a component would allow for the apparatus to be properly fitted on the user (Paragraph 0024).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka by including at least one front sensor positioning element coupled to the at least one front sensor for adjustment of an orientation of the at least one front sensor for contacting the chest of the target individual corresponding to the target region, the at least one front sensor positioning element coupled to the front portion of the holding mechanism, and/or at least one back sensor positioning element coupled to the at least one back sensor for adjustment of an orientation of the at least one back sensor for contacting a back of the target individual corresponding to the target region, the at least one back sensor positioning element coupled to the back portion of the holding mechanism as taught by Silver in order to allow for the apparatus to be properly fitted on the user (Silver, Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 17, , Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 17, Saroka discloses the holding mechanism (Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156)
Saroka does not disclose wherein the holding mechanism is made up of an elastic material set for increasing a distance between the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor for accommodating the thorax and for urging the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor towards one another, wherein when in use, the holding mechanism applies a force to the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor against the thorax at the position corresponding to the target region.
Silver teaches an apparatus (Figure 4, frame 4) for positioning a front sensor (Figure 4, first sensor 2) and a back sensor (Figure 4, second sensor 4) at a target region (Paragraph 0016 lines 7-10 “over the sternum and opposite the sternum on the infant’s back”) across the thorax of a user (Figure 2, infant cardiac arrest victim 1), the apparatus comprising a holding mechanism (Figure 4, frame 4) made up of an elastic material (Paragraph 0018 lines 15-20) set for increasing a distance between the at least one front sensor and the at least on back sensor for accommodating the thorax (Paragraph 0018 lines 15-20) and for urging the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor towards one another (Figure 9, by way of ratcheting mechanism 25, Paragraph 0024), wherein when in use, the holding mechanism applies a force to the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor against the thorax at the position corresponding to the target region (Figure 9, by way of ratcheting mechanism 25). Silver also teaches that including such a holding mechanism would allow for the apparatus to be properly fitted on the user (Paragraph 0024).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka such that the holding mechanism is made up of an elastic material set for increasing a distance between the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor for accommodating the thorax and for urging the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor towards one another, wherein when in use, the holding mechanism applies a force to the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor against the thorax at the position corresponding to the target region as taught by Silver in order to allow for the apparatus to be properly fitted on the user (Silver, Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 20, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 20, Saroka does not disclose additional sensors for computing a distance between the front sensor and back sensor when the apparatus is in use.
Silver teaches an apparatus (Figure 4, frame 4) for positioning a front sensor (Figure 4, first sensor 2) and a back sensor (Figure 4, second sensor 4) at a target region (Paragraph 0016 lines 7-10 “over the sternum and opposite the sternum on the infant’s back”) across the thorax of a user (Figure 2, infant cardiac arrest victim 1), the apparatus comprising additional sensors for computing a distance between the front sensor and back sensor when the apparatus is in use (Paragraph 0029 lines 11-14). Doing so would allow for the determination of the size of the user (Paragraph 0030 lines 10-17).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Saroka by including additional sensors for computing a distance between the front sensor and back sensor when the apparatus is in use as taught by Silver in order to allow for the determination of the size of the user (Silver, Paragraph 0030 lines 10-17).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Williamson et al. (US 20180098732 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Williamson”, and Emmons et al. (US 20150335507 A1 – previously cited), hereinafter “Emmons”.
Regarding Claim 14, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 14, Saroka discloses the holding mechanism (Figures 1A-1B, lateral straps 155-156),
Saroka does not disclose wherein the holding mechanism includes a plurality of rigid sections connected by spring loaded hinges designed for adjustment of a distance between the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor and for application of a spring force for urging the at least one back sensor and/or the at least one front sensor to the thorax of the target individual.
Williamson teaches an apparatus (Figure 1, device 10) for positioning sensors on a user (Abstract), wherein the apparatus comprises a holding mechanism (Figure 8, lower half of vest 800 which wraps around the user) which includes a plurality of rigid sections (Figure 8, plurality of support members, Paragraph 0075 lines 22-24 “semi-rigid members”). Williamson also teaches that including such a component would provide support by applying pressure to a user when wearing the apparatus (Paragraph 0018 lines 1-5).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the holding mechanism of Saroka to include a plurality of rigid sections as taught by Williamson in order to provide support by applying pressure to a user when wearing the apparatus (Williamson, Paragraph 0018 lines 1-5).
Saroka as modified by Williamson fails to teach wherein the plurality of rigid sections are connected by spring loaded hinges designed for adjustment of a distance between the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor and for application of a spring force for urging the at least one back sensor and/or the at least one front sensor to the thorax of the target individual.
Emmons teaches an apparatus (Figure 49, chest constriction device 400) for positioning a sensors on a user (Figure 49, one or more physiological sensors 408, Paragraph 0303), comprising a holding mechanism (Figure 49, belt 402) including a plurality of sections (Figures 49-50, portions of belt 402 to the left and right of constrictor device 406) connected by a spring loaded hinge (Figure 50, spring 416) designed for adjustment of a distance between the sensors (Paragraph 0303 lines 11-16, the examiner notes that tightening/shortening the belt 402 would bring any physiological sensors 408 on belt 402 closer together) and for application of a spring force (Figure 50, by way of spring 416) for urging the sensors to the thorax of the user (Paragraph 0303 lines 11-16). Doing so would provide better contact between the sensors and the user for more reliable measurements.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the holding mechanism of Saroka as modified by Williamson by including a plurality of rigid sections connected by spring loaded hinges designed for adjustment of a distance between the at least one front sensor and the at least one back sensor and for application of a spring force for urging the at least one back sensor and/or the at least one front sensor to the thorax of the target individual as taught by Emmons in order to provide better contact between the sensors and the user for more reliable measurements.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka.
Regarding Claim 18, Saroka discloses as described above, The apparatus of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 18, Saroka discloses the apparatus (Figure 1B, thoracic garment 130) is set to position the at least one back sensor (Figure 1B, EM transducer unit 133) between about 2-9 cm medially relative to a long axis of the spine (Paragraph 0046)(Examiner notes that the transducer unit 133 is located on a human back and performing the function of being on a human back to perform measurements, which would be broadly between 2 – 9 cm medially relative to a long axis of the spine.) The examiner further notes that it would have been routine optimization to position the at least one back sensor between broadly about 8-30 cm below an upper end of a vertebra prominence of the target patient. This is supported by the disclosure in Saroka where it details how the thoracic garment piece, and thus the at least one back sensor, can be positioned within a distance of the vertebra prominens and thus perform the function of properly taking measurements of the user’s tissue (Paragraphs 0016 and 0022) (MPEP 2144.05(ll)).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Silver and De Limon.
Regarding Claim 21, Saroka discloses a method (Paragraph 0035) for positioning at least one front (Figure 1A, EM transducer unit 133) and at least one back sensor (Figure 1B, EM transducer unit 133) at a target region across a chest of a target individual (Paragraph 0040), the method comprising: providing the apparatus of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); positioning the collar of the back positioning element on the shoulder line and/or base of the neck of the target individual (Figure 1A, shoulder straps 151-152); positioning the location marker of the elongated element of the back positioning element at a predefined anatomical landmark of a spine of the target individual (Figure 1B, EM transducer placement portion 131, Paragraphs 0046-0047).
Saroka does not disclose positioning the arch shaped portion of the holding mechanism over a shoulder of the target individual such that at least one front sensor and at least one back sensor coupled to the holding mechanism are positioned across the thorax; and adjusting a position of a tab element coupled to the elongated front portion of the holding mechanism at a predefined anatomical location on the chest.
Silver teaches a method (Abstract) for positioning a front sensor (Figure 4, first sensor 2) and a back sensor (Figure 4, second sensor 4) at a target region (Paragraph 0016 lines 7-10 “over the sternum and opposite the sternum on the infant’s back”) across the thorax of a user (Figure 2, infant cardiac arrest victim 1), comprising positioning an arch shaped portion (Figure 4, arcuate segment 9) of a holding mechanism (Figure 4, frame 4) over a shoulder of the target individual (Paragraph 0022 lines 1-4) such that at least one front sensor and at least one back sensor coupled to the holding mechanism are positioned across the thorax (Figure 2). Silver also teaches that doing so would allow for accommodation of a user’s thorax and proper positioning of the sensors (Paragraph 0016 lines 4-10).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Saroka by including positioning the arch shaped portion of the holding mechanism over a shoulder of the target individual such that at least one front sensor and at least one back sensor coupled to the holding mechanism are positioned across the thorax as taught by Silver in order to allow for accommodation of a user’s thorax and proper positioning of the sensors (Silver, Paragraph 0016 lines 4-10).
However, Saroka as modified by Silver fails to teach adjusting a position of a tab element coupled to the elongated front portion of the holding mechanism at a predefined anatomical location on the chest.
De Limon teaches a method (Abstract) for positioning sensors (Figure 7AB, electrodes 702) on the thorax of a user (Figure 7A-7B, subject 7390 Paragraph 0130), comprising positioning a tab element (Figure 7B, alignment tabs 711) of an elongated portion (Figure 7B, top half of patch 701) of a holding mechanism (Figure 7B, patch 701) which includes at least one tab element (Figure 7B, alignment tabs 711) at a predefined anatomical location (Paragraph 0091) corresponding to a target region (Abstract, target region would be the lungs). De Limon also teaches that doing so would facilitate proper measurements (Paragraph 0130 lines 7-11).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Saroka as modified by Silver by including adjusting a position of a tab element coupled to the elongated front portion of the holding mechanism at a predefined anatomical location on the chest as taught by De Limon in order to facilitate proper measurements (De Limon, Paragraph 0130 lines 7-11).
Regarding Claim 22, Saroka as modified by Silver and De Limon disclose as described above, The method of claim 21. For the remainder of Claim 22, Saroka discloses transmitting EM energy between the at least one front sensor (Saroka, Figure 1A, EM transducer unit 133) and the least one back sensor (Saroka, Figure 1B, EM transducer unit 133) across the chest and through the target region of the target individual (Saroka, Paragraph 0022 lines 15-18); measuring the EM energy transmitted through the target region (Saroka, Paragraph 0022 lines 15-18); and computing an amount of fluid in the target region (Saroka, Paragraph 0045 and 0123).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroka in view of Silver and De Limon as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Limonadi.
Regarding Claim 23, Saroka as modified by Silver and De Limon disclose as described above, The method of claim 21. For the remainder of Claim 23, Saroka does not disclose selecting one of a plurality of stop stations of the holding mechanism relative to the elongated element of the back positioning element according to one of the plurality of stop stations corresponding to a combination of at least one anatomical and/or physical dimensions of the thorax of the target individual.
Limonadi teaches a method (Abstract) for positioning sensors on the thorax of a user (Figure 13A, first sensor 502), comprising selecting one of a plurality of stop stations (Figure 10B, tracks 424-426) of a holding mechanism (Figure 8A, mounting bracket 302, belt 310) relative to the elongated element of the back positioning element (Figure 8A, collar 304) according to one of the plurality of stop stations corresponding to a combination of at least one anatomical and/or physical dimensions of the thorax of the target individual (Figure 10B, the examiner notes that each of the spaced apart ridges of tracks 424 and 426 correspond to different thorax lengths, meaning that the closer rods 408 and 410 are brought together then the shorter the user’s thorax would need to be to use the device). Including such a component would allow for the apparatus to be sized for users with different thorax lengths.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Saroka as modified by Silver and De Limon by including selecting one of a plurality of stop stations of the holding mechanism relative to the elongated element of the back positioning element according to one of the plurality of stop stations corresponding to a combination of at least one anatomical and/or physical dimensions of the thorax of the target individual as taught by Limonadi in order to provide the advantage of allowing for the apparatus to be sized for users with different thorax lengths.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
Applicant argues at [Page 8, “Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103” Section] – [Page 10, 1st Full Paragraph] that Saroka discloses a positioning marker as “element 145” located on the front portion of the vest. Applicant further argues that the cited “EM transducer placement portion 131” is not the recited marker that positions the EM sensor itself at the correct anatomical location, since “EM transducer placement portion 131” requires a separate marker 145 to assist in its placement, such that Saroka is different than the claimed architecture. Based on the arguments, it appears that Applicant has cited an alternate method by which Saroka discloses overall an element that assists in aligning an overall back position element, wherein the portions of the back plate can be aligned using the marker element 145 on the front plate of the assembly that is attached to the back plate via the straps. As recited, the marker element is
an elongated element having…a second end region with a location marker implemented as a visual feature and/or physically unique feature of the elongated element set to correspond to a target anatomical feature of the spine of the target individual, the elongated element with the location marker implemented as a visual feature and/or physically unique feature of the elongated element is designed for positioning parallel to and over a long axis of a spine on the back of the target individual, and the location marker positioned on the target anatomical feature of the spine of the target individual.
As cited in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection above, the element of “EM transducer placement portion 131” is broadly also a marker in the context of the claim as a physically unique feature of the elongated element as “pockets, compartments, openings and/or attachments” as described in [0047], as the entire “thoracic garment piece” is not a pocket. This physically unique pocket or compartment feature gives a consistent home for the sensor ([0047] “Each EM transducer placement portion 131 is designed to host, for example to contain, at least one EM transducer unit 133…”) therein on the elongated element against the back for sensing, thereby broadly positioning the parallel to and over a long axis of a spine on the back of the target individual and broadly positioned on the target anatomical feature of the spine of the target individual as shown in Figure 1B. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 10, “The amended claims” Section] – [Page 11, 2nd Paragraph] that the straps disclosed in Saroka are adjustable, and adjustability implies that the straps are not fixed in position with respect to the elongated element, and that the cited elements not made of a rigid material designed to continuously maintain its shape without deformation. As recited, the structures are fixed in position with respect to one another. As described above in the 35 U.S.C. 102 Rejection, when the straps are being worn, Saroka discloses that [0117] “the pulling of the straps fixates their length, for instance in an irreversible manner”, which is broadly within the scope being fixed in position with respect to one another and being able to continuously maintain its shape without deformation. Regarding, “substantially rigid”, the context of the claim appears to deem that the collar and elongated element must be materials that can continuously maintain its shape without deformation by being broadly ”substantially rigid”. Further, looking to Applicant’s specification at [Page 19, Top], “collar 214 is made from a substantially rigid material, for example, plastic and/or metal”. As cited above, Saroka meets this with straps that can have their length “fixed in place in an irreversible manner”, and a plate that is “non elastic”. Further, as the straps themselves are “fixed”, then the overall shape of the vest is maintained as in Fig. 1A or 1B relative to the back without clear deformation. Saroka also discloses that the thoracic garment plate can be made of PVC plastic ([0053]), and the straps can include EM materials, including a “metal foil” ([0106]), which is consistent with Applicant’s [Page 19, Top], examples of “substantially rigid” materials being plastic or metal. The argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA JO MONTGOMERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791