DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 27 November 2025 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claims 3-4 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2 and 5-10 are pending.
The terminal disclaimer filed 27 November 2025 has obviated the provisional rejections of claims 1-2 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 17/610,271 (reference application) set forth in the last Office action as well as the provisional rejections of claims 1-2 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/019,438 (reference application) set forth in the last Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the 2nd through 5th paragraphs of p. 37 of the reply filed 27 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0029110 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited reference Lee et al. (US 2022/0037594 A1) (hereafter “Lee”).
Applicant’s arguments, see the 6th paragraph of p. 37 through the 1st paragraph of p. 39 of the reply filed 27 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chae et al. (US 2020/0231581 A1) (hereafter “Chae”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejections of claims 6-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 2020/0231581 A1) (hereafter “Chae”) set forth in the last Office action; and the rejections of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 2020/0231581 A1) (hereafter “Chae”), and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2006/0040132 A1) (hereafter “Liao) and as evidenced by Cheng et al. (“Role of the Charge Generation Layer in Tandem Organic Light-Emitting Diodes Investigated by Time-Resolved Electroluminescence Spectroscopy” Journal of Physical Chemistry C (2011) vol. 115, pp. 582-588.) (hereafter “Cheng”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited reference Lee et al. (US 2022/0037594 A1) (hereafter “Lee”).
Applicant’s arguments, see the 2nd paragraph of p. 39 through the 1st paragraph of p. 42 of the reply filed 27 November 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0029110 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejection of claims 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chae et al. (US 2020/0231581 A1) (hereafter “Chae”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejections of claims 6-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 2020/0231581 A1) (hereafter “Chae”) set forth in the last Office action; and the rejections of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 2020/0231581 A1) (hereafter “Chae”), and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2006/0040132 A1) (hereafter “Liao) and as evidenced by Cheng et al. (“Role of the Charge Generation Layer in Tandem Organic Light-Emitting Diodes Investigated by Time-Resolved Electroluminescence Spectroscopy” Journal of Physical Chemistry C (2011) vol. 115, pp. 582-588.) (hereafter “Cheng”) set forth in the last Office action have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
However, insofar as the arguments are applicable to the rejections outlined below, the arguments are not persuasive.
The proffered results do not compare to the compounds of Lee et al. (US 2022/0037594 A1) (hereafter “Lee”).
An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential). See MPEP 716.02(e). In particular, none of the comparisons compare between a compound comprising the instant R2 but not the instant R1 to a compound comprising each of the instant R1 and R2. Thus, it is unclear that the proffered results are unexpected over Lee.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee et al. (US 2022/0037594 A1) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-2: Lee discloses the compound shown below {p. 19}.
Lee does not disclose a compound similar to the compound shown above except for having a substituent on the circled ring above.
However, Lee teaches that the compounds of Lee have the structure of Formula 1 of Lee, shown below {paragraph [0042]}.
Where R1 can be aryl, such as phenyl {paragraphs [0051]-[0052]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Lee by placing a phenyl substituent at one of the positions circled above, based on the teaching of Lee. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The selection of one of the circled positions would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the possible positions for substitution), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claims 6-7: Lee discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Lee does not disclose a specific device comprising the compound of Chae described above.
However, Lee teaches that the compound shown above has the structure of formula 1 of Lee {paragraphs [0010] and [0042]}.
Lee teaches that the compounds having the structure of formula 1 of Chae are useful as the host material of the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device or as compounds of an electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device {paragraphs [0033]}.
The organic light emitting device of Lee comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and one or more organic material layers provided between the first electrode and the second electrode {paragraphs [0030]-[0031]}.
The organic material layers include a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, and electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer as well as optionally a hole blocking layer {paragraphs [0030]-[0031]}.
Lee teaches that organic light emitting devices comprising the compounds of Lee are enabled to have lower driving voltage and improved efficiency and lifetime {paragraph [0012]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Lee shown above by incorporating it into the device structure of Lee described above as the host material of the light emitting layer or as the material of the electron transport layer, based on the teaching of Lee. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means producing additional devices based on the teaching of Chae having high efficiency, improved lifetime, improved stability, and lower driving voltage.
Regarding claim 8: Lee teaches all of the features with respect to claim 6, as outlined above.
Lee does not exemplify a specific device structure in which the compound of Lee is comprised in the electron transport layer.
However, Lee teaches that the compounds having the structure of formula 1 of Chae are useful as the host material of the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device or as compounds of an electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device {paragraphs [0033]}.
Additionally, Lee teaches that the electron transport layer can serve as a hole blocking layer {paragraph [0031]}.
Lee teaches that organic light emitting devices comprising the compounds of Lee are enabled to have lower driving voltage and improved efficiency and lifetime {paragraph [0012]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Lee shown above by incorporating it into the device structure of Lee described above as the material of the electron transport layer that is also serving as a hole blocking layer, based on the teaching of Lee. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means producing additional devices based on the teaching of Chae having high efficiency, improved lifetime, improved stability, and lower driving voltage.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0037594 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2006/0040132 A1) (hereafter “Liao) and as evidenced by Cheng et al. (“Role of the Charge Generation Layer in Tandem Organic Light-Emitting Diodes Investigated by Time-Resolved Electroluminescence Spectroscopy” Journal of Physical Chemistry C (2011) vol. 115, pp. 582-588.) (hereafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 9: Lee teaches all of the features with respect to claim 6, as outlined above.
Lee does not teach that the device of Lee comprises a first stack provided on the first electrode and comprising a first light emitting layer; a charge generation layer provided on the first stack, a second stack provided on the charge generation layer and comprising a second light emitting layer, and the second electrode provided on the second stack.
Liao teaches a white light emitting organic light emitting diode structure {paragraphs [0008]-[0017], [0023], [0025], [0049]-[0050], and [0052]-[0054] as well as Figs. 3 and 5}.
Specifically, Liao teaches a stacked structure of white light light-emitting units connected by connector units, as shown below {paragraphs [0049]-[0050] and [0052]-[0054] as well as Fig. 3}.
The number of EL units can be 2 {paragraph [0053] and Fig. 5}.
The connector layers that are between each white light-emitting EL unit can comprise a p-doped organic layer and an n-doped organic layer {paragraph [0114] and Fig. 8}. Cheng provides evidence that such a structure can be equated with a charge generating layer {p. 582, 1st col., 1st paragraph}.
Liao teaches that this stacked structure provides high efficiency, high brightness, long lifetime, improved color stability, and simplified device fabrication {paragraphs [0018]-[0020]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device taught by Lee to have the stacked structure of Liao described above, based on the teaching of Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device having high efficiency, high brightness, long lifetime, improved color stability, and simplified device fabrication, as taught by Liao.
Regarding claim 10: Lee as modified by Liao teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Lee as modified by Liao does not exemplify that the charge generation layer comprises the heterocyclic compound of Ito.
However, Liao teaches that the host material of the n-doped layer of the charge generation layer can be an electron transporting material {paragraph [0115]}.
Lee teaches that the compounds having the structure of formula 1 of Chae are useful as the host material of the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device or as compounds of an electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device {paragraph [0033]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Lee such that the modified compound of Lee was used in the charge generation layer taught by Liao, based on the teaching of Liao and Lee. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As outlined in the Office action of 1 October 2024, Son et al. (WO 2018/038464 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Son”) can be equated with the closest prior art. However, as described above, Applicant has successfully argued that the current claims are nonobvious over Son.
As outlined in the Office action of 10 April 2025, Ito et al. (US 2013/0306958 A1) (hereafter “Ito”) can also be equated with the closest prior art. However, Ito does not teach a compound having the structure of the current claim 5. For example, while the compound
on p. 25 of Ito is close to a compound of the current claim 5, the phenyl substituent is in the wrong position. A comparison of the results in the instant Table 5 for devices using Compounds ET-459 and ET-579 demonstrate that compounds differing only in the position of a phenyl substituent on the benzene ring of the fused ring heterocyclic group structure have significant performance differences (efficiency and lifetime). Thus, the different positions for bonding on the benzene ring of the fused ring heterocyclic group are not predictable and therefore non-obvious.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786