Status of the Claims
The status of the claims filed 30 April 2025 is as follows:
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 26, 28, 34, 45 and 50-51 and 63-65 are currently pending.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 63-65 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 26, 28, 34, 45 and 50-51 have hereby been
examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 26, 45 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temmink et al (2017. Sphagnum farming in a eutrophic world: The importance of optimal nutrient stoichiometry. Ecological Engineering 98: 196-205), Bubier et al (2011.Effects of nutrient addition on leaf chemistry, morphology, and photosynthetic capacity of three bog shrubs. Oecologia 167: 355-368), Lin et al (CN108782089 A 2018) and Keating (2016. WO 2016/179633). Applicant’s arguments filed 30 April 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims are broadly drawn to a method for cultivating Sphagnum, the method comprising supply the Sphagnum with a nutrient composition, the nutrient composition comprising nitrogen (at least 223.61 mg per m2 of Sphagnum per week), phosphorus (at least 131.93 mg per m2 of Sphagnum per week), and potassium (at least 802.09 mg per m2 of Sphagnum per week) and calcium, magnesium, sodium, copper, zinc, sulfur, boron, iron, molybdenum, or chloride. Claims are drawn to suppling the composition by spray or drip irrigation and supplying the composition is carried out for at least 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 1 month, 2 months, 3 months, 4 months, 5 months, or 6 months and wherein the supplying comprises supplying the amount of nutrient composition in a single week, a period of multiple weeks or an average amount per week over a period of one or more weeks.
Temmink et al teach sphagnum farming techniques employing enriched nutrient conditions to increase biomass and improve effective sequestering of nutrients into Sphagnum biomass [entire document]. Temmink et al found that Sphagnum farming is well able to thrive under high nitrogen input provided that there is a simultaneous high input of phosphorus and potassium from irrigation water [abstract]. Temmink teach that low nutrient concentration also limits primary production of Sphagnum like it does for any other plant species [page 197, lf. col., para. 4]. Temmink et al teach that the Sphagnum farm in this study reached a very high productivity compared to other productivity studies in natural or constructed Sphagnum-dominated systems [para. Bridging pages 200 and 201]. Next to higher nutrient availability, this is probably due to less competition and optimal irrigation management [para. Bridging pages 200 and 201].
Therefore, after considering Temmink et al as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Sphagnum requires nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium to grow and survive. One would also understand that sphagnum farming requires high nutrient availability and optimal irrigation management to achieve very high productivity.
Temmink et al do not teach supplying nutrient composition in the specific concentrations of nutrient composition between 223.61 mg and 1280.25 mg of nitrogen per m2 per week (claim 3), 131.93 mg and 648.18 mg of phosphorus per m2 per week (claim 8) or 802.09 mg and 1813.26 mg of potassium per m2 per week (claim 13) or the cited the timing of the application (at least 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 1 month, 2 months, 3 months, 4 months, 5 months, or 6 months -claim 51; each week for a period of multiple weeks). Temmink et al do not specifically teach spray or drip irrigation systems. Temmink et al do not teach wherein the nutrient composition further comprises calcium, magnesium, sodium, copper, zinc, sulfur, boron, iron, molybdenum, or chloride.
Bubier et al teach that plants in nutrient-poor environments such as bogs and arctic tundra are adaped in several ways to the slow turnover of N, phosphorus (P) and potassium (K) [page 356, left column, para 2]. The study site vegetation is dominated by dwarf ericaceous shrubs along with a ground layer of the mosses Sphagnum magellanicum and Sphagnum capillifolium [page 357, left column, para. 1]. Bubier et al chose N amendments of 1.6 and 6.4 g m-2 a-1 because they represent the range of probably increases in N deposition in peatland regions of North America and Europe in the twenty-first century [page 357, left column, para. 1]. Bubier et al teach that fertilizer was given in soluble form, dissolved in 18 L distilled water, at 3-week intervals from early May to late August [page 357, left column, para. 2; Table 1]. Treatments included 5NPK and 20 NPK with 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K, respectively [see Table 1] (which reads on comprising nitrogen (at least 223.61 mg per m2 of Sphagnum per week), phosphorus (at least 2131.93 mg per m2 of Sphagnum per week), -Claim 1. Bubier et al state that “losses in Ca and Mg occurred concomitant with a decline in Sphagnum productivity with increased N deposition in European peatlands” suggesting that the decrease Sphagnum productivity was caused by losses Ca and Mg which was a result of increased N deposition [page 362, rt. col.] Bubier et al found that bog plants adapted to low-nutrient environments do not shift their resource allocation to phyotosynthetic process, even after reaching N sufficiency, but instead store the excess N in organic compounds for future use [Abstract; para bridging pages 366 and 367].
Therefore, after considering Bubier et al as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that applying fertilizers to bog sites was routine and commonly practiced. One would also understand that composition of bog fertilizers routinely include 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K [Table 1].
Lin et al teach a method of cultivating bryophytes (which includes Sphagnum) [entire document; [0004]]. Lin et al teach that the nutrient solution contains water, nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium and vitamins [0058] and the solution is sprayed evenly on the surface every 3 days to ensure the nutrient needs of moss [0012]. Colonization on a mixed substrate to supplement the nutrients required by the moss, ensures the longevity after planting and ensures the healthy growth, improves the survival rate, reproduction rate and vitality of the moss [0023].
Therefore, after considering Lin et al as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that bryophyte (including Sphagnum) that require water, nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium and calcium. One would understand that the nutrient solution could be delivered to the plant by spraying. Cultivation using these methodologies ensures longevity and healthy growth and further improves the survival rate, improves the reproduction rate and vitality of the moss.
Keating teaches plant growth solution comprising a salt nutrient mixture including one or more nitrogen, potassium, calcium, magnesium, iron, manganese, boron, zinc and cooper [0013-0017]. Keating teaching that each different plant or crop type has differing requirements for the nutrients in a typical nutrient mixture [0044]. The plant growth solution may be used in a watering system including an open watering system such as the irrigation or spray watering of an open field [0014]. Those skilled in the art are well aware of the preferred conditions and optimal nutrient mixtures for each plant and crop type and are well able to determine the stoichiometric ratios to convert [0044].
Therefore, after considering Keating as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that nutrient mixture needed for plant growth would include nitrogen, potassium, calcium, magnesium, iron, manganese, boron, zinc and copper and that this mixture could be used in a spray irrigation system. Furthermore, one would understand that the optimal nutrient mixtures for each species is different and would need to be individualized.
Although the references do not specifically teach supplying the nutrient composition each week for a period of multiple weeks, one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to use such a timing of application as a matter of routine optimization and experimentation. The adjustment of particular conventional working parameters such as supplying the Sphagnum with a nutrient composition each week for a period of multiple weeks is deemed to be merely a matter of selection and routine optimization that is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been no more than an effort to optimize results. In the absence of any showing of criticality or unexpected results, the particular timing of the application of the nutrient solution is an obvious variation of what was taught in the prior art and could be arrived at during routine experimentation/optimization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teaching of Temmink et al, Bubier et al, Lin et al and Keating and to cultivate Sphagnum by spraying a nutrient composition comprising specific concentrations of nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium calcium, magnesium and one or more of copper, zinc, boron or iron each week for a period of multiple weeks. Temmink et al teach Sphagnum requires nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium to grow and survive and that sphagnum requires high nutrient availability and optimal irrigation management to achieve very high productivity. Bubier et al teach fertilizer treatments included 5NPK and 20 NPK with 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K, respectively [see Table 1]. Lin et al teach spraying bryophytes (including Sphagnum) with a nutrient solution including nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium and calcium. Keating teach a nutrient solution that includes nitrogen, potassium, calcium, magnesium, iron, boron, zinc and copper and that the nutrient solution could be used in a spray irrigation system. One would have been motivated to combine the cited references to provide by spraying (Lin et al) the Sphagnum with the optimum nutritional solution (Temmink et al, Bubier et al, Lin et al and Keating) to obtain high productivity (Temminck et al) and to ensure longevity, healthy growth, increase survival/reproduction rate and vitality (Lin et al). Furthermore, there is a growing demand for the high ornamental nature of moss (Lin et al; [0004]). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that spray irrigation of plants (including sphagnum) with optimized nutrient solutions is well known in the art, commonly practiced by the skilled artisan and taught by Temmink et al, Bubier et al, Lin et al and Keating.
Although Bubier et al teach fertilizer treatments included 5NPK and 20 NPK with 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K, respectively [see Table 1] none of the cited art references specifically teach a nutrient composition between 223.61 mg and 1280.25 mg of nitrogen per m2 per week (claim 3), 131.93 mg and 648.18 mg of phosphorus per m2 per week (claim 8) or 802.09 mg and 1813.26 mg of potassium per m2 per week (claim 13) or the cited the timing of the application (least 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 1 month, 2 months, 3 months, 4 months, 5 months, or 6 months -claim 51; each week for a period of multiple weeks-claim 1), one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to use such amounts and application times as a matter of routine optimization and experimentation. Bubier et al teach fertilizer treatments included 5NPK and 20 NPK with 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K, respectively [see Table 1]. As taught by Keating, each different plant has differing nutrient requirements and the optimal nutrient mixtures for each plant would need to be determined. Given the cost benefit of using the least amount of fertilizer to obtain optimum results, one would optimize below the 5NPK and 20 NPK treatments of Bubier et al. The adjustment of particular conventional working parameters such as specific amounts of a nutrient such as 223.61 mg and 1280.25 mg of nitrogen per m2 per week (claim 3), 131.93 mg and 648.18 mg of phosphorus per m2 per week (claim 8) or 802.09 mg and 1813.26 mg of potassium per m2 per week (claim 13) and the timing of the applications is deemed to be merely a matter of selection and routine optimization that is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been no more than an effort to optimize results. In the absence of any showing of criticality or unexpected results, the particular amount of nitrogen, phosphorus or potassium and the timing of the application is an obvious variation of what was taught in the prior art and could be arrived at during routine experimentation/optimization.
Furthermore, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical (see MPEP 2144.05).
Applicants Arguments dated 30 April 2025
Applicants urge that Examiner has dismissed multiple teaching of Bubier et as teaching that atmospheric N deposition changes plant community composition, enhancing vascular plant growth to the detriment of the moss layer and that high N levels have a detrimental effect on the moss layer. {Response pages 9-12).
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Temmink et al teach that Sphagnum requires nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium to grow and survive. One would also understand that sphagnum farming requires high nutrient availability and optimal irrigation management to achieve very high productivity. Bubier et al teach that applying fertilizers to bog sites was routine and commonly practiced. Bubier et al teach that composition of bog fertilizers routinely include 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K [Table 1]. While the teaching concentrates on vascular plants, results of the application of nutrient fertilizers on the growth of Sphagnum is also reported. Applicant points to the citation that “…lower growth rates [of Sphagnum] at higher N deposition levels” in peatlands and that the teaching of Bubier et al “confirms that the loss of Sphagnum was observed for the 20NPK plots. Bubier et al teach that increased N deposition causes losses in Ca and Mg which resulted in a decline in Sphagnum productivity. This provides motivation to include Ca and Mg to counter the negative effects of higher nitrogen concentrations in the nutrient solution as stated in claims 26 and 28, respectively.
Applicants urge Temmink does not teach supplying sphagnum with the specific concentrations of nutrient composition as specified in claim 1. [Response page 14].
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. Applicants cited the nitrogen content of the nutrient load as being 5.8-17.3 mg per m2 per week of N. It appears that the Applicants converted and calculated the cited 3-9 kg N ha1-yr-1 (or 300-900 mg m-2) as taught by Temmink and divided that by 52 to get an average per week (5.8-17.3 mg per m2 per week of N). But there is no reference that the concentration was applied every week for 52 weeks. The claim states that the nutrient composition is supplied each week for a period of multiple weeks (which would read on 2, 3 or 4……up to 52 weeks) If the concentration of N as taught by Temmink was applied for 2 weeks the concentration of each application would be 150-450 mg per m2 per week of N; for 3 weeks the concentration of each application would be 100-300 mg per m2 per week of N; for 4 weeks the concentration of each application would be 75-225 mg per m2 per week of N. Therefore, the applied concentrations as taught by Temmink for “multiple weeks” are encompassed by the concentration as cited in claim 1.
Applicants urge the Bubier does not teach “each week for a period of multiple weeks. [Response page 14]
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. As stated above, although the references do not specifically teach supplying the nutrient composition each week for a period of multiple weeks, one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to use such a timing of application as a matter of routine optimization and experimentation. The adjustment of particular conventional working parameters such as supplying the Sphagnum with a nutrient composition each week for a period of multiple weeks is deemed to be merely a matter of selection and routine optimization that is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been no more than an effort to optimize results. In the absence of any showing of criticality or unexpected results, the particular timing of the application of the nutrient solution is an obvious variation of what was taught in the prior art and could be arrived at during routine experimentation/optimization.
Furthermore, as will be addressed below, Applicants point to the newly amended limitation of “wherein the supplying comprises supplying the nutrient composition each week for a period of multiple weeks”. In the working examples, the nutrient supply was applied to the Sphagnum 3 times a week and not “each week for a period of multiple weeks”. Given the teachings of Bubier, as well as the other cited reference (i.e. Temmink, Lin and Keating), it would have been obvious to optimize the timing of the nutrient application.
Applicants state that Bubier et al teach concentrations that result in nutrient compositions that have detrimental effects on the Sphagnum community. [Response page 14-15]
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. As recognized in the above Office Action, Bubier et al teach fertilizer treatments included 5NPK and 20 NPK with 1600 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K and 6400 mg m-2a-1 of N, 6300 mg m-2a-1 of P and 5000 mg m-2a-1 of K, respectively [see Table 1]. As taught by Keating, each different plant has differing nutrient requirements and the optimal nutrient mixtures for each plant would need to be determined. Given the cost benefit of using the least amount of fertilizer to obtain optimum results, one would optimize below the 5NPK and 20 NPK treatments of Bubier et al. The adjustment of particular conventional working parameters such as specific amounts of a nutrient such as 223.61 mg and 1280.25 mg of nitrogen per m2 per week (claim 3), 131.93 mg and 648.18 mg of phosphorus per m2 per week (claim 8) or 802.09 mg and 1813.26 mg of potassium per m2 per week (claim 13) and the timing of the applications is deemed to be merely a matter of selection and routine optimization that is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been no more than an effort to optimize results. In the absence of any showing of criticality or unexpected results, the particular amount of nitrogen, phosphorus or potassium and the timing of the application is an obvious variation of what was taught in the prior art and could be arrived at during routine experimentation/optimization.
Furthermore, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical (see MPEP 2144.05).
While the teaching concentrates on vascular plants, results of the application of nutrient fertilizers on the growth of Sphagnum is also reported. Applicant points to the citation that “…lower growth rates [of Sphagnum] at higher N deposition levels” in peatlands and that the teaching of Bubier et al “confirms that the loss of Sphagnum was observed for the 20NPK plots. .Bubier et al teach that increased N deposition causes losses in Ca and Mg which resulted in a decline in Sphagnum productivity. This provides motivation to include Ca and Mg to counter the negative effects of higher nitrogen concentrations in the nutrient solution as stated in claims 26 and 28, respectively.
Applicants urge that Keating does not provide any teaching or suggestion to modify the amount of nutrients in Temmink, let alone increase it by many times and that Bubier would “result in killing the Sphagnum”. [Response page16-17]
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. As discussed above, if the total concentrations of the nutrients were applied once a week for a period of 2, 3 or 4 weeks, as encompassed by amended claim 1, the concentrations would fall within the range of concentrations as cited in claim 1. Furthermore, Bubier et al teach that increased N deposition causes losses in Ca and Mg which resulted in a decline in Sphagnum productivity. This provides motivation to include Ca and Mg to counter the negative effects of higher nitrogen concentrations in the nutrient solution as stated in claims 26 and 28, respectively.
Applicants find the rationale of a motivation to combine Temmink, Bubier, line and Keating is flawed because of typographical errors and lack of specific citations in the motivation statements. [Response page 18].
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. As stated in the statement of obvious to combine, it is clear that it is the combination of all of the references, in addition to routine optimization, that teach each and every limitation. “It would have been obvious to one of ordinary ski9ll in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teaching of Temmink et al, Bubier et al, Line et al and Keating and to cultivate Sphagnum by spraying a nutrient composition comprising specific concentration of nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium and one or more of copper, zinc, boron or iron. Furthermore, in the body of the Office Action, Examiner states the teachings of each reference and how that teaching is applied to each and every limitation as cited in the claims.
Applicants urge that the Examiner’s stated rationale for combing the reference- routine optimization – is flawed at least because it fails to consider the references as a whole. Applicants state that Bubier teaches that relatively high nutrient levels (applied every 3 weeks) result in loss of Sphagnum and a person having ordinary skill in the art seeking routine optimization, therefore, would not have been motivated to apply the nutrients more frequently and there would not have been an expectation of success in doing so, especially since Bubier teaches that such levels result in loss of the Sphagnum. Applicants state that the inventor’s recognition of the claimed methods, as amended herein, as providing surprising and unexpected results. Applicants cite Example 1 as proof of the surprising and unexpected results. [Response page 19].
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not deemed persuasive. As noted in Example 1, as well as Example 2 and Example 3, the nutrient composition were irrigated “three times per week”. Claim 1 states that “wherein the supplying comprises supplying the nutrient composition each week for a period of multiple weeks” and not multiple times a week for multiple weeks. The “surprising and unexpected results” are referring to supplying the Sphagnum the nutrient composition three times a week for multiple weeks.
Furthermore, both Temmenick and Bubier teach concentrations that fall within the ranges as encompassed by claim 1 and the compositions are cited as a “per week” application, one of ordinary skill in the art could optimize and apply the compositions 3 times a week that would result in a total concentration as taught by Temmink and Bubier and encompasses by claim 1.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/KAREN M REDDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1661