Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Amendment filed on 11/24/2025; and IDS filed on 09/03/2025.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 19 has been added.
Claims 1-15, 18-19 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 10-15 have been previously withdrawn from consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHANG et al (Bioconjugatable, PEGylated hydroporphyrins for photochemistry and photomedicine. Narrow-band, near-infrared-emitting bacteriochlorins. NewJ.Chem., 2016, 40, 7750-7767).
ZHANG teaches PEGylating hydroporphyrin (see title), which includes chlorophylls, such as compounds (see pg. 7751, Chart 2):
wherein the R groups with PEGs can be (see pg. 7751 at Chart 2-F; and pg. 7752, Chart 3)):
which reads on m= 4 or 8.
Additional disclosures include: the PEG units impart water solubility (see abstract), wherein the longer PEG has better water-solubility than the shorter PEG (see pg. 7755, 2nd col) for applications, such as fluorescent markers in clinical diagnostics (see pg. 7751, 1st col).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al (Bioconjugatable, PEGylated hydroporphyrins for photochemistry and photomedicine. Narrow-band, near-infrared-emitting bacteriochlorins. NewJ.Chem., 2016, 40, 7750-7767).
As discussed above, ZHANG teaches Applicant’s invention.
The reference does not specifically teach using a longer PEG unit, such as m=12-24, as claimed by Applicant. The length of a PEG unit in a PEGylated compound is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal PEG length in order to best achieve the desired results, such as the water solubility of the compound. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of PEG length, such as m = 12-24, would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KEE et al (Effects of Substituents on Synthetic Analogs of Chlorophylls. Part 1: Synthesis, Vibrational Properties and Excited-state Decay Characteristics. Photochemistry and Photobiology, 2007, 83: 1110–1124) in view of ZHANG et al (Bioconjugatable, PEGylated hydroporphyrins for photochemistry and photomedicine. Narrow-band, near-infrared-emitting bacteriochlorins. NewJ.Chem., 2016, 40, 7750-7767).
KEE teaches chlorophyll (see title) compound (see pg. 1112):
Wherein the chlorophylls have fluorescence properties and have a wide variety of applications (see abstract).
KEE does not teach PEGylating the compound, wherein m = 4 or more.
ZHANG teaches PEGylating hydroporphyrin (see title), which includes chlorophylls, such as compounds (see pg. 7751, Chart 2):
wherein the R groups with PEGs can be (see pg. 7751 at Chart 2-F; and pg. 7752, Chart 3)):
which reads on m= 4 or 8.
Additional disclosures include: the PEG units impart water solubility (see abstract), wherein the longer PEG has better water-solubility than the shorter PEG (see pg. 7755, 2nd col) for applications, such as fluorescent markers in clinical diagnostics (see pg. 7751, 1st col).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate PEGylating the compound, wherein m = 4 or more.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would increase water solubility for diagnostic applications, and reasonably would have expected success because both references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as hydroporphyrins.
The references do not specifically teach using a longer PEG unit, such as m=12-24, as claimed by Applicant. The length of a PEG unit in a PEGylated compound is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal PEG length in order to best achieve the desired results, such as the water solubility of the compound. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of PEG length, such as m = 12-24, would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618