DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of invention Group I (claims 1-8, which are drawn to a guide RNA comprising a target domain) in the reply filed on 1 Oct, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
3. Claim1, 3, 4, 9-22 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions Group I and III and corresponding species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
4. In response to the species election requirement, Applicant elected SEQ ID NO: 9 as the species of gRNA targeting domain sequence and 2’O-methyl nucleotide and phoshorothioate linkage as the species of chemical modifications. Accordingly, claims 2 and 5-8 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 2 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Terrett et al (US 2022/0226375 A1; PCT No: PCT/IB2019/001194; Provisional Application 62/767,388, Filed Date: 14 Nov, 2018).
Regarding claim 2, Terret et al teaches [0151] "a guide RNA comprising a spacer sequence (targeting domain) of SEQ ID NO: 171”, wherein SEQ ID NO: 171 is the same as instant SEQ ID NO: 9, see ABSS sequence alignment below.
Regarding claim 5, Terret et al teaches [0199] that a single-molecule guide RNA comprises, in the 5’ to 3’ direction, a spacer sequence (a targeting domain), a minimum CRISPR repeat sequence (a first complementarity domain), a single-molecule guide linker (a linking domain), a minimum tracrRNA sequence (a second complementarity domain), a 3’ tracrRNA sequence (proximal domain), and an optional spacer extension sequence.
Regarding claim 6, Terret et al teaches ([0197] and [0199]) the genome-targeting nucleic acid is a single molecule guide RNA (sgRNA).
Regarding claim 7 and 8, Terret et al teaches [0204] “various types of RNA modifications can be introduced during or after chemical synthesis and/or enzymatic generation of RNAs, e.g., modifications that enhance stability, reduce the likelihood or degree of innate immune response, and/or enhance other attributes”. Terret et al further discloses SEQ ID NO: 171 (the instant SEQ ID NO: 9) was “modified with 2’-Omethyl phosphorothioate” and is referred as SEQ ID NO: 149 containing additional sequences required for sgRNA (Table 10, pg. 59, sgRNA named CD33-8).
Conclusion
QIWEN SU-TOBON
Examiner
Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636