DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masri (US 20170197070 A1) in view of Nonomura (JP H1199129 A, see translated version), Khakpour (US 20150147718 A1), Nogues (WO 2018002043 A2, see translated version), and Kim (KR 20090006031 A, see machine translated ver.).
Re. Claim 15, Masri discloses a method for causing movement of magnetically-driven nanobots comprising an integrated magnetic material into dentinal tubules of a tooth of a patient (Par. 14, and 22; Abstract). Masri further discloses applying magnets to the tooth (Fig. 6-7, 9-13 shows the application of magnets) to provide a pattern magnetic field which would deliver magnetically-driven nanobots from the pulp region into the dentinal tubules (Par. 14 discloses that the nanobots can go from the tubules to the pulp and as such can also be delivered from the pulp into the tubules). The magnets can be arranged differently as shown in Fig. 6-7 and 9-13 in order to move the magnetic particles in the desired position. It is disclosed that the magnetic field produced by the magnets would move the magnetically driven nanobots in the dental tubules (Par. 66-71). As such, the magnets causes the production of the pattern of magnetic field based on the desired movement of the nanoparticles within the tooth. It should be noted that the orientation and placement of the magnets are found to align on the tooth or around the target tooth (Fig. 6-7 and 9-13). The arrangement of the magnet varying results such as maximize strength when placed equal distant from one another (Par. 128-135). Further it is disclosed that the arrangement and shape of the magnet can be adjusted to provide sufficient magnetic force to the patient based on the different jaw sizes, shapes and teeth orientations of the patient (Par. 135). Further, Masri further discloses moving the magnetically-driven nanorobots to an intended direction using a gradient magnetic field (Par. 14, 131). Masri also discloses receiving a selection indicative of an intended direction of movement of the magnetically-driven nanobots, wherein the selection relates to a degree of distribution of the magnetically-driven nanobots within the dentinal tubules (Par. 128-129, 134 and 140).
However, Masri is silent to receiving a signal indicative of a pattern of magnetic field to be produced to cause movement of magnetically-driven nanobots into dentinal tubules; wherein the signal is indicative of an intended direction of movement of magnetically-driven nanorobots; generating, based on the signal, electrical signals to cause production of the pattern of magnetic field; and providing the electrical signals to a first coil of a device, the device being adapted for placement on the tooth of the patient, wherein, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, an axis of the first coil is substantially perpendicular to a first side of the tooth, wherein the first coil is to produce the pattern of magnetic field in response to receiving the electrical signal. Further, Masri is silent to the device comprises a laser delivery unit comprising a laser diode externally powered to cause light induced heating of the magnetically-driven nanobots and increase temperature of the magnetically-driven nanobots, wherein increase in the temperature of the magnetically-driven nanobots enables an antimicrobial action of the magnetically-driven nanobots, and a hyperthermia coil, wherein the hyperthermia coil is to receive a high frequency alternating current and where based on the increased microbial action of the magnetically-driven nanobots, drive the magnetically-driven nanobots from a pulp region of the tooth into the dentinal tubules, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, wherein the magnetically-driven nanobots are driven to the intended direction of movement within the dentinal tubules. Further, they are silent to the pattern of the magnetic field is temporally varied, wherein a first pattern of magnetic field is provided along a first axis for a first period of time, followed by a second pattern of magnetic field along a second axis for a second period of time, to change the direction of movement of the magnetically-driven nanobots within the dentinal tubules.
Nonomura discloses a dental drug guiding system in the same field of endeavor and further discloses receiving a signal indicative of a pattern of magnetic field to be produced to cause movement of the drug (Par. 28); generating, based on the signal, electrical signals to cause production of the pattern of magnetic field (Par. 28); and providing the electrical signals to a first coil of a device (16; Par. 49; Abstract) the device being adapted for placement on the tooth (Fig. 2), wherein, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, an axis of the first coil is substantially perpendicular to a first side of the tooth (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 4 and Fig. 2), wherein the first coil is to product the pattern of magnetic field in response to receiving the electrical signal, to cause movement of the drug (Abstract; Par. 16, and 28).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Masri to include receiving a signal indicative of a pattern of magnetic field to be produced to cause movement of the drug; generating, based on the signal, electrical signals to cause production of the pattern of magnetic field; and providing the electrical signals to a first coil of a device (16; Par. 49; Abstract) the device being adapted for placement on the tooth, wherein, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, an axis of the first coil is substantially perpendicular to a first side of the tooth, and wherein the first coil is to product the pattern of magnetic field in response to receiving the electrical signal, to cause movement of the drug as taught by Nonomura to allow movement of the drugs within the tooth to be done more efficiently without the need of moving magnets around the users mouth- resulting in more comfort to the patient. Further, position accuracy may be improved and time may be shortened (Par. 28).
As such, the combination of Masri and Nonomura provides the teaching of receiving a signal indicative of a pattern of magnetic field to be produced to cause movement of magnetically-driven nanobots into dentinal tubules; the signal is indicative of an intended direction of movement of the magnetically-driven nanorobots; generating, based on the signal, electrical signals to cause production of the pattern of magnetic field; and providing the electrical signals to a first coil of a device, the device being adapted for placement on the tooth of the patient, wherein, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, an axis of the first coil is substantially perpendicular to a first side of the tooth, wherein the first coil is to produce the pattern of magnetic field in response to receiving the electrical signal, to drive the magnetically-driven nanobots from a pulp region of the tooth into the dentinal tubules.
Khakpour discloses a dental apparatus in the same field of endeavor and further discloses the device comprises a laser delivery unit placed on an inner surface of the device (Fig. 1C-1D, Par. 81 discloses that the laser delivery unit is found to be in the chamber and/or tooth coupler 3), for causing a light induced heating of the magnetically-driven nanorobots to further enhance cleaning of the tooth (Par. 81). Further, the laser delivery unit is found to include one or more diode lasers (Par. 84).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the dental apparatus of Masri and Nonomura to have a laser delivery unit comprising a laser diode placed on an inner surface of the device and externally powered to cause light induced heating of the magnetically-driven nanorobots as taught by Khakpour to further enhance cleaning of the tooth.
Nogues discloses a medical magnetic nanobot system in the analogous art of medical system and further discloses the magnetic nanobot system is used to deliver treatment to the area of interest- in this case using optical/magnetic heating (Abstract). It is disclosed that the system can comprise a hybrid hyperthermia system that comprises an induction coil used to create an alternating magnetic field and a light source to be used to illuminate the material to provide heat treatment (Par. 16-18). Further, it is disclosed that the device is used within high-frequency magnetic field (Par. 19).
As such, it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Masri, Nonomura, and Khakpour to include having a hyperthermia coil receiving high frequency alternating current as taught by Nogues to provide means of heat treatment in the area of interest that is safe.
Further, it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Masri, Nonomura, and Khakpour to have the increase temperature of the magnetically-driven nanobots enable an antimicrobial action of the magnetically-driven nanobots as increase temperature would be able to reduce the presence of bacterial presence.
Thus, the combination of Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, and Nogues would provide teaching of the device receiving a signal indicative of a pattern of magnetic field to be produced to cause movement of magnetically-driven nanobots into dentinal tubules; wherein the signal is indicative of an intended direction of movement of magnetically-driven nanorobots; generating, based on the signal, electrical signals to cause production of the pattern of magnetic field; and providing the electrical signals to a first coil of a device, the device being adapted for placement on the tooth of the patient, wherein, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, an axis of the first coil is substantially perpendicular to a first side of the tooth, wherein the first coil is to produce the pattern of magnetic field in response to receiving the electrical signal. Further, Masri is silent to the device comprises a laser delivery unit comprising a laser diode externally powered to cause light induced heating of the magnetically-driven nanobots and increase temperature of the magnetically-driven nanobots, wherein increase in the temperature of the magnetically-driven nanobots enables an antimicrobial action of the magnetically-driven nanobots, and a hyperthermia coil, wherein the hyperthermia coil is to receive a high frequency alternating current and where based on the increased microbial action of the magnetically-driven nanobots, drive the magnetically-driven nanobots from a pulp region of the tooth into the dentinal tubules, in response to the placement of the device on the tooth of the patient, wherein the magnetically-driven nanobots are driven to the intended direction of movement within the dentinal tubules.
Kim discloses a method of moving nanoparticles in a median in the analogous art of nanoparticles and further discloses a 3-coil configuration (10; Par. 1 where it is disclosed a Helmholtz coil which is 3 identical coils are used; Fig. 2) to move the direction of the nanoparticle movement in a fluid by controlling its movement in three-axis (Par. 2). This is done by adjusting the magnetic field being made by a controller and changing the pattern of movement of the nanoparticles by altering the magnetic field pattern being applied at the varying coil through adjustments of the current and frequency being applied (Par. 18-21 and 31). It as such, would temporally vary the magnetic field to move the particular nanoparticle in the desired direction.
As such, it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the method Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, and Nogues the pattern of the magnetic field is temporally varied, wherein a first pattern of magnetic field is provided along a first axis for a first period of time, followed by a second pattern of magnetic field along a second axis for a second period of time, to change the direction of movement of the magnetically-driven nanobots as taught by Kim to move the particular nanoparticles in the desired position.
The combination of Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, Nogues, and Kim would as such teach the pattern of the magnetic field is temporally varied, wherein a first pattern of magnetic field is provided along a first axis for a first period of time, followed by a second pattern of magnetic field along a second axis for a second period of time, to change the direction of movement of the magnetically-driven nanobots within the dentinal tubules
Annotated Figure A
Re. Claim 16, Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, Nogues, and Kim discloses the method as claimed in claim 15, wherein Nonomura further discloses the method comprises providing the electrical signals to the first coil, a second coil, a third coil or combinations thereof to produce the pattern of magnetic field in response to receiving the electrical signal (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 4; Par. 28 and 49; Abstract), wherein on placement of the device on the tooth of the patient (Fig. 2): an axis of the second coil is orthogonal to an axes of both the first coil and the third coil; and an axis of the third coil is orthogonal to the axes of the first and the second coil (Fig. 2 and Annotated Figure A of Fig. 4 where the vertical axis of the third coil is found to be orthogonal to the horizontal axis of the third coil. This is similarly found in relation to the first coil where the vertical axis of the third coil is found to be orthogonal to the horizontal axis of the first coil).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the magnets of Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, Nogues, and Kim to be coils as taught by Nonomura to move the drug through the tooth as it would be done more efficiently without the need of moving magnets around the users mouth- resulting in more comfort to the patient. Further, position accuracy may be improved and time may be shortened (Par. 28).
The teaching of Kim discloses the first pattern of magnetic field can produced by a coil along the first axis and the second pattern can be produced by another coil along another axis to move the nanoparticles in the desired position Par. 2-3 and 9.
Thus, it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, Nogues, and Kim to have the first pattern of magnetic field is produced by the first coil along the first axis, and the second pattern of magnetic field is produced by the second coil along the second axis as taught by Kim to move the nanoparticles in the desired positioning.
Re. Claim 17, Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, Nogues, and Kim discloses the method as claimed in claim 16, wherein Kim discloses using alternating current signals to the coils to produce rotating magnetic field (Par. 1 and 9). Further, Kim discloses alternating the phases and output values to adjust the particular rotating magnetic field (Par. 1, 22 and 27).
As such, it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the alternating current signal of Masri, Nonomura, Khakpour, Nogues, and Kim to be provided to the first coil and the second coil at a phase difference to produce the rotating magnetic field as taught by Kim to aid in positioning the nanoparticles in the desired location.
Response to Arguments
Argument #1: Applicant argues that the amendment to the claims overcome the references used and are allowable.
Response #1: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument #2: Applicant argues that Khakpour is directed to pressure wave generation for cleaning and does not disclose a laser diode externally powered to provide light induced heating of magnetically-driven nanobots to increase the temperature and enable antimicrobial action.
Response #2: Applicant argues that Khakpour does not disclose heating magnetically-driven nanobots to enable an antimicrobial action nor a laser diode externally powered to provide light induced heating. However, it is found to disclose that the laser delivery unit having a laser diode externally powered to provide light induced heating (It is found that it is powered by the interface member 4 which provides electrical communication between the consol 2 and coupler 3; Fig. 1C-1D; 45 and 81). Further the combination would of Masri, Nonomua, Khakpour, and Kim discloses heating magnetically-driven nanobots where it would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art that the heated nanobots would also result in increased antimicrobial action by creating a heated environment in which certain bacteria would not survive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/HOLLY T. TO/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772