DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Claims 1,3-5 are currently pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 currently recites “a protection member provided … so as to go across the whole of the positive electrode tab”. It is unclear if the protection member is intended to be moving across the positive electrode tab due to “go” being a verb. Applicant further does not appear to provide a special definition for the term “go across” in the specification.
For examining purposes, the term “go across” is interpreted as to “cover” based on Fig 3, 5 (i.e., protection member 36 covers a side of tab 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been considered but are not found persuasive because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, a new reference by Kumiko teaches a protective member with a plurality of slits to provide flexibility. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita (previously cited, US20140120417A1, IDS cited 11/23/2021) in view of Kumiko (US20130045402A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsushita discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising:
a winding-shaped electrode assembly (wound electrode body 20; [0034, 0036]) having a belt-shaped positive electrode (positive electrode 21) and a belt-shaped negative electrode (negative electrode 22) wound along their longitudinal direction via a separator (separator 23); and
a battery case (battery can 11 [0036-0037]) housing the electrode assembly,
wherein the positive electrode has a positive electrode current collector (positive electrode current collector 21A; [0042]),
a positive electrode mixture layer (positive electrode mixture layer 21B) formed on at least part of a surface of the positive electrode current collector [0042],
a conductive positive electrode tab having one end part connected to a positive electrode exposed part in which the positive electrode mixture layer is not formed on the surface of the positive electrode current collector and another end part extending from the positive electrode current collector in a transverse direction of the positive electrode (i.e., lead 25 with one end on the surface of the positive electrode current collector 21a and another end extending from the current collector; see Fig 4A)
a protection member provided only on a part of the surface of the positive electrode mixture layer so as to go across the whole of the positive electrode tab that is connected to the positive electrode exposed part and the positive electrode exposed part in a longitudinal direction of the positive electrode (protective tape 27 provided on positive electrode mixture layer 21B and covering the entire width of lead 25; see Fig 4).
Matsushita further discloses wherein the protection member prevents a thermal runaway of the battery when, for example, the separator or the like is split and the positive electrode 21 and the negative electrode 22 are in contact with each other and further discloses that the protection member may be a resin tape or the like [0052]. However, Matsushita does not disclose wherein:
the protection member has one or a plurality of cuts in each of both end parts of the protection member in the longitudinal direction of the positive electrode,
wherein the cut does not face the positive electrode tab, and
when the protective member is viewed from the thickness direction, the cut faces the positive electrode mixture layer, and
the total length of both ends and the cut is greater than twice the length of the protective member in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly, and
wherein the plurality of cuts in each of the both ends of the protection member are provided on at least at a portion of the protection member in contact with the surface of the positive electrode
In this regard, Kumiko is directed to a power generating element 18 comprising an electrode tabs 14, 15, wherein the electrode tab comprising a conducting portion 151 joined to current collectors 11a, 13a. Kumiko further teaches insulating portion 152 covering the conducting portion 151 [0057], wherein the insulating portion is also made of resin material with high rigidity so that the tab can maintain is shape [Kumiko 0059]. Thus, the insulating portion 152 functions as the protective member.
Kumiko further teaches wherein:
the protection member (insulating portion 152) has one or a plurality of cuts in each of both end parts of the protection member in the longitudinal direction of the electrode (slits 153; [0071-0075]; see Fig 5,6),
wherein the cut does not face the electrode tab (i.e., the slits 153 do not overlap with the electrode tab 151; see Fig 5,6)
when the protective member is viewed from the thickness direction, the cut faces the electrode mixture layer (i.e., opening of the slits 153 facing the electrode layers 13b and 13c; see Fig 5,6).
wherein the plurality of cuts in each of the both ends of the protection member are provided on at least at a portion of the protection member in contact with the surface of the positive electrode (i.e., in contact with the current collector 13a; see Fig 5,6).
Kumiko further teaches such slits allow the protective member to expand and contract (i.e., provides flexibility [0058])
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the protective member of Matsushita, such that it includes the slits of Kumiko, with a reasonable expectation to provide flexibility under thermal stress or mechanical stress [Kumiko 0058] while also protecting the electrode tab [Kumiko 0059]
Regarding the limitation “the total length of both ends and the cut is greater than twice the length of the protective member in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly”, Kumiko teaches wherein the length of the broken line formed by the lists 153 is preferably made greater than or equal to ½ of the length of the conductors of conducting portion 151 and smaller than the length of the insulating portion 152 in the axis direction, wherein the slits allow the insulating portion 153 to expand or contract under thermal stress or mechanical stress [0058] and prevents wrinkles in the current collectors [0075]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have optimized the lengths of the slits by way of routine optimization to arrive at a desired balance between the flexibility and formation of wrinkles in the current collectors.
Regarding claim 3, modified Matsushita discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the protection member (protection tape 27-Masushita) is an adhesive tape (e.g., PP, PI, PET tape [0005]-Matsushita), which a person having ordinary skill in the art would envisage having a base material part and an adhesive part.
Regarding claim 4, modified Matsushita discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the protection member is longer than the positive electrode in a transverse direction of the positive electrode (see protective tape 27 in Fig 4 of Matsushita).
Regarding claim 5, modified Matsushita discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Kumiko further teaches wherein the cuts are formed on the inside of both ends of the protective member (see a plurality of slits 153 formed within the insulating portion 152 in Fig 5,6-Kumiko) to provide flexibility to reduce stress load [0071, 0073-Kumiko].
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the protective member of Matsushita such that it has cuts formed on the inside of the both ends of the protective member with a reasonable expectation to provide flexibility and reduce stress load [0071, 0073-Kumiko].
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 8/21/2026