DETAILED ACTION
Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 11 June 2026 have been received and considered for this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 36-37, 39, 44, 47-50, 52, and 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US 2006/0278131 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836). Evidence with respect to claim 39 is provided by Feeco (“Rotary Kilns,” Feeco International product brochure, archived 16 May 2017, [retrieved on 27 May 2025]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20170516235512/http://go.feeco.com/acton/attachment/12345/f-0074/1/-/-/-/-/FEECO-Rotary-Kilns.pdf>), and with respect to claim 50 by Nijland and Larbi (“Chapter 8: Microscopic examination of deteriorated concrete,” in Volume 1: Non-Destructive Evaluation of Reinforced Concrete Structures, Woodhead Publishing Series in Civil and Structural Engineering, 2010, pp. 137-179, hereinafter “Nijland”).
Regarding claim 34, Hunt discloses a method for processing alumina-containing waste residuals for use in the manufacture of hydraulic binders (a method of manufacturing a hydratable cementitious material, which includes providing at least one waste material containing aluminum in the form of alumina (aluminum oxide); abstract and paragraph 27), comprising heating the residuals to remove water and oxidize organic material contained therein, wherein the temperature of the residuals is controlled during heating such that they are heated to a temperature no higher than 500°C (thermally treating each waste material to a temperature of at least 100 °C, paragraph 9; particularly preferred that the each temperature does not exceed about 500 °C, paragraph 24), which meets the limitation of being heated to a temperature no higher than 700 °C. Hunt also teaches that these temperatures remove water (paragraph 17) and that at temperature above 200 °C carbon dioxide is produced (paragraph 24) indicating the oxidation of organic material therein (see also paragraph 41, involatile materials such as carbon being driven off [as carbon dioxide]).
Regarding amorphous aluminum oxide and/or aluminum hydroxide present in the residuals remains in its amorphous state, Hunt teaches that the desired structure of the product may be amorphous ([0036]) but is silent on the crystallinity of the residuals being treated. Hunt further teaches that the waste residuals can be sewage sludge ([0026)], but does not specifically teach drinking water treatment residuals as the waste material to be treated.
However, Lee teaches that sludge from drinking water purification plants is alumina containing (Table 1) and a better candidate than wastewater sludge (sewage sludge) for concrete admixtures (p. 284, column 1, paragraph 2).
Furthermore, Babatunde teaches the repurposing of alum sludge from drinking water treatment facilities (Section 2.1), and further teaches that these drinking water treatment residuals are composed primarily of amorphous aluminum species (The Al-WTR …[are] predominantly composed of amorphous aluminium species; Section 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use amorphous drinking water treatment residuals in place of the sewage sludge in the method of Hunt, as taught by Lee and Babatunde, thereby arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lee teaches that this alumina-containing waste material is a better candidate for concrete admixtures than sewage sludge because of its lower heavy metal and organic content (p. 284, column 1, paragraph 2) and because Babatunde teaches that such materials are predominately amorphous.
It would have been further obvious to treat the amorphous residuals such that they remain amorphous because Hunt teaches that such a structure may be preferred (waste material is thermally treated to a temperature whereby the preferred structure (whether it is crystalline, semi-amorphous or amorphous) is obtained; [0041]).
Regarding the limitation in the preamble to the claim that residuals are processed “for use in the in the manufacture of hydraulic binders containing 75 to 80% amorphous aluminum oxide,” it is noted that this limitation merely states an intended use of the processed residuals, and does not limit the actual content of the processed residuals themselves. Because it would be possible to blend the products obtained by the method of modified Hunt with any amount of amorphous aluminum oxide during the manufacture of a hydraulic binders using the processed residuals obtained by the method of modified Hunt, the method of modified Hunt also satisfies the intended use limitation of the claim.
Regarding claims 36 and 37, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, where Hunt further teaches a preferred maximum temperature of at least 100 °C and not more than 500 °C, which overlaps with each of the claimed temperature ranges in claim 36 (between 350 °C and 650 °C) and claim 37 (between 400 °C and 500 °C).
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art”, as they do for the temperature ranges recited in claims 34-37, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01).
Regarding claim 39, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, where Hunt teaches the residuals being heated in a heating chamber (rotary kiln, paragraph 37). As an inherent property of a rotary kiln, its temperature is controlled by controlling a supply of heat to the heating chamber, as evidenced by Feeco (a direct-fired rotary kiln heats material by passing the combustion gases through the rotary kiln, page 4, paragraph 1; an indirect- fired kiln is enclosed in a furnace, which is then heated, page 5, paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 44, 47, and 69, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, and Lee further teaches that drinking water treatment plant residuals (sludge from water purification) are first dewatered to a water content of between 30 and 40% (p. 285, column 1, paragraph 2), which meet the limitations of claims 44 and 47, and also demonstrates that the residuals can be dewatered to this level, thereby also meeting the limitations of claim 69.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to at least partially dewater the residuals prior to heating to a water content of between 30% and 40%, which lies in the instantly claimed range of claim 47 (between 20% and 40%). One of ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to do so in order to prepare the sludge for further processing into concrete mix, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 48, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, where Hunt teaches the residuals are ground after heating to a particle size of preferably below 50 microns (paragraphs 43-44), which includes the instantly claimed size of 40 microns or about 40 microns.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01).
Regarding claim 49, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, where Hunt teaches the residuals are hydrated after heating (paragraph 18), which will necessarily convert amorphous aluminum oxide in the material to amorphous aluminum hydroxide.
Regarding claim 50, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, as analyzed above, where Hunt teaches the residuals are mixed with a source of calcium ions and a source of sulfate ions (Portland cement, paragraph 15, which is described as containing calcium sulfate in paragraph 3) and then hydrated (paragraph 18), which will include the addition of water, and where the mixing will continue once water is added. Furthermore, as evidenced by Nijland (p. 163, paragraph 2), ettringite is a primary constituent of hydration of Portland cement concrete, and thus is expected to form upon hydration of the mixture that contains Portland cement.
Regarding claim 52, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, as analyzed above where Hunt teaches the residuals are mixed with a source of calcium ions (Portland cement, paragraph 15, which contains calcium ions, paragraph 3) in the presence of water (hydration implies the presence of water, paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 70, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34, where Hunt teaches that the temperature of the residuals is controlled during heating such that they are heated to a temperature of 100-500 °C (thermally treating each waste material to a temperature of at least 100 °C, paragraph 9; particularly preferred that the each temperature does not exceed about 500 °C, paragraph 24), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 350 °C and 700 °C. Hunt also teaches that the temperature of the residuals can be controlled during heating such that the desired structure of the material, crystalline, amorphous, or semi-amorphous—can be obtained ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the temperature of the residuals during heating such that amorphous aluminum oxide and/or aluminum hydroxide present in the residuals remains in its amorphous state, as taught by Hunt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hunt teaches this as one possible embodiment of their method.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US 2006/0278131 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836), and as evidenced by Feeco, as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Woodard & Curran, Inc. (“Chapter 9: Solid Waste Treatment and Disposal” in Industrial Waste Treatment Handbook, 2 ed., Butterworth-Heinemann, 2006, pp. 363-408, hereinafter “Woodard”).
Regarding claim 40, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 39, and Hunt further teaches that carbon can be removed from the residuals by increasing the temperature (at higher temperature the materials become more pure as a result of involatile materials, such as carbon, being driven off; paragraph 41), and that carbon dioxide is produced at high temperatures (paragraph 24). Because the conversion of carbon to carbon dioxide is an oxidation reaction, Hunt therefore teaches that substantially all organic material in the residuals is oxidized. Hunt does not explicitly teach that air is added to the heating chamber at a rate adapted to ensure that substantially all organic material in the residuals is oxidized.
However, Woodard also teaches that incineration in a rotary kiln can be used to remove all combustible substances in a solid waste stream (p. 386, column 2, paragraphs 2-3), and it is well known in the art that combustible substances include organic materials. Woodard further teaches that air can be injected into the combustion chamber of a rotary kiln (p. 389, column 2, Rotary Kiln Technology), and that the quantity of oxygen made available is an important parameter in the incineration/combustion process (p. 390, column 1, paragraph 2). It is noted that the oxygen in this system is introduced via the air injections, and the quantity of oxygen introduced can be controlled by either controlling the rate of air being added, or the time over which it is added.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Hunt to add air to the heating (combustion) chamber at a rate adapted to ensure that all organic material or substantially all organic material in the residuals is oxidized, as taught by Woodard. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because the quantity/rate of oxygen addition is recognized as an important parameter in the combustion of waste materials, as taught by Woodard, and such combustions are known to remove organic materials in the residuals to afford a more pure material, as taught by Woodard and Hunt.
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US 2006/0278131 A1) and Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836), as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Feeco (“Rotary Kilns,” Feeco International product brochure, archived 16 May 2017, [retrieved on 27 May 2025]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20170516235512/http://go.feeco.com/acton/attachment/12345/f-0074/1/-/-/-/-/FEECO-Rotary-Kilns.pdf>), and with regard to claims 42 and 43, as further evidenced by Nazari et al. (“Development of a Metallurgical Process for Eramet’s Mabounié Nb-REE Project”. In: Davis, B., et al. Extraction 2018. The Minerals, Metals & Materials Series. Springer, Cham. [retrieved on 27 May 2025]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-95022-8_198>).
Regarding claim 41, modified Hunt teaches the method of 39, as analyzed above, where Hunt teaches the residuals are heated in a heating chamber of a rotary kiln (paragraph 37), but does not explicitly teach the heating chamber being heated indirectly by heating an exterior of the heating chamber, as required by claim 41, or the remaining limitations of claims 42 and 43.
However, Feeco teaches that rotary kilns can be of the indirect-fired type (page 5), in which the heating chamber is heated indirectly by heating an exterior of the heating chamber (an indirect- fired kiln is enclosed in a furnace, which is then heated externally; page 5, paragraph 2). Feeco further teaches that such kilns allow for the processing environment to be more tightly controlled, in particular by providing precise temperature control (page 5, advantage 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the general method disclosed by Hunt with the indirect-fired kiln of Feeco. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to have precise control of temperature, as taught by Feeco.
Regarding claim 42, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 41, where Feeco further teaches an indirect fired rotary kiln wherein the exterior of the heating chamber is heated by means of burners acting directly on the exterior of the heating chamber (page 5, figure shows Burners), and as further evidenced by Nazari et al., who further illustrate the burners of the Feeco apparatus acting on the exterior of the heating chamber (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 43, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 41, where Feeco further teaches an indirect fired rotary kiln wherein the heating chamber is located within a heating jacket (p. 5, Furnace) receiving hot gases from a burner, and as further evidenced by Nazari et al., who further illustrate the heating chamber within a heating jacket (Fig. 5, element D) receiving hot gases from a burner (Fig. 5, element L).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US 2006/0278131 A1) and Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836), as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Burris et al. (“Management of Water Treatment Plant Residuals” in Advances in Water and Wastewater Treatment (2004). American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Retrieved from <URL: https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/pdf/id:kt00A7S5T7/advances-in-water-wastewater/mechanical-dewatering>).
Regarding claim 45, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 44, as analyzed above, but neither Hunt nor Lee teach the details of the method used to dewater the residuals.
However, Burris teaches that residuals from a drinking water treatment process (p. 543, paragraph 1) can be dewatered by a mechanical process, including by using a belt dryer (belt filter press; p. 562, paragraph 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to dewater the residuals in the method of modified Hunt by using the mechanical process of a belt dryer. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because while Lee teaches that the residual sludge should be dewatered, they do not provide the details of the process, while Hunt teaches that mechanical dewatering by a belt dryer is one such method.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US 2006/0278131 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836), as evidenced by Nijland and Larbi (“Chapter 8: Microscopic examination of deteriorated concrete,” in Volume 1: Non-Destructive Evaluation of Reinforced Concrete Structures, Woodhead Publishing Series in Civil and Structural Engineering, 2010, pp. 137-179), as applied to claim 50 above, and further in view of O’Looney and Pavia (“A Study of the Functionality of Hydrated Lime as an Admixture,” J. Mat. Sci. Res. 2015, 4(1), 1-11, hereinafter “O’Looney”) and Ikeda (JP H05310453 A). The previously provided English machine translation of Ikeda (JP H05310453 A) is used in the analysis below.
Modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 50, where Hunt teaches the residuals are mixed with Portland cement (paragraph 15) containing calcium sulfate (paragraph 3) in the presence of water (paragraph 18), as analyzed above. Hunt does not teach the residuals being additionally mixed with hydrated lime, or a source of calcium sulfate beyond the Portland cement.
However, O’Looney teaches that hydrated lime improves the workability of Portland cement mortars (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add hydrated lime to the mixture of residuals, Portland cement and calcium sulfate in the presence of water. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to increase workability of the resulting mortar, as taught by O’Looney.
Furthermore, Ikeda teaches the addition of calcium sulphate (gypsum dihydrate, CaSO4.2H2O, was added to the [heat treated residuals], paragraph 16) to prepare a total of five types of cement powders from water treatment residuals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to carry out the method of claim 34, wherein the residuals are mixed with Portland cement in the presence of water (Hunt, paragraphs 15 and 18), and to add hydrated lime, as taught by O’Looney, and more calcium sulfate, as taught by Ikeda to this mixture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to prepare different types of cements powders, and to improve their workability. Nijland again provides evidence that ettringite would from the hydration of the Portland cement found in this mixture (p. 163, paragraph 2).
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US 2006/0278131 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836), as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Dahhou et al. (Waste Biomass Valor. 2016, 7, 1177-1187).
Regarding claim 68, modified Hunt teaches the method of claim 34 but does not explicitly teach the water treatment residuals having a degree of crystallization less than 25%.
However, Dahhou also teaches the thermal treatment of drinking water residuals (abstract), and further teaches that amorphous phases of the sludge appear to be more reactive to heat treatment (p. 1183, ¶ 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seek out water treatment residuals that are highly amorphous and have low degrees of crystallization, including in the claimed range of less than 25%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dahhou teaches that these residuals are the most responsive to heat treatments.
It is noted that the courts have found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Therefore, the claimed ranges of crystalline phase content merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the condition in the cited prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 34-37, 39-40, 48-52 and 69-70, and 69 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,275,673 in view of Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836) and Hunt (US PGPub 2006/0278131 A1), and with respect to claim 69, as evidenced by Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289).
Claim 4 of the ‘673 patent teaches a method for processing drinking water treatment residuals for use in the manufacture of hydraulic binders (a method for the manufacture of a high alumina hydraulic binder comprising hydrating a source of aluminum ions with a source of calcium ions in the presence of water to form mineral hydrates … wherein said source of aluminum ions comprises drinking water treatment residuals) comprising heating the residuals to remove water and oxidize organic material contained therein (heating said material …wherein air or oxygen are added to the mixture during said heating to facilitate oxidation of said organic material; claims 1 and 4), wherein the temperature of the residuals is controlled during heating such that they are heated to a temperature of at least 350 °C, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of no higher than 700 °C, as required by instant claim 34, and also with the ranges recited in instant claims 35-37.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art”, as do the temperature ranges here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
While the claims of the ‘673 patent do not require that the drinking water treatment residuals be amorphous, Babatunde teaches that such residuals are predominately amorphous (Section 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use amorphous drinking water residuals in the method of the ‘673 patent.
Hunt teaches that waste materials may be thermally treated to a temperature whereby a preferred structure (e.g. amorphous) is obtained (paragraph 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of claim 4 of the ‘673 patent and to control temperature of the residuals during heating such that at least amorphous aluminum oxide or aluminum hydroxide present in the residuals remains in its amorphous state. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hunt teaches that such structure may be preferable.
Regarding claim 39, the modified claims of the ‘673 patent teach the general method of claim 34, but do not explicitly teach the residuals being heated in a heating chamber, where the temperature of the residuals is controlled by at least the addition of at least air or water to the chamber of by controlling a supply of heat to the heating chamber.
However, Hunt teaches the heating waste residuals in the heating chamber of a rotary kiln with the temperature of the residuals being controlled by controlling a supply of heat to the heating chamber (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 40, the ‘673 patent teaches air being added to the mixture during said heating to facilitate oxidation of organic material (claims 1 and 4). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add air to the heating chamber at a rate adapted to ensure that substantially all organic material in the residuals is oxidized.
Regarding claim 48, while the modified claims of the ‘673 patent do not teach the residuals being milled or ground after heating, Hunt does teach the residuals being ground after heating to particle size of preferably below 50 microns (paragraphs 43-44), which includes the instantly claimed size of 40 microns or about 40 microns.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding claim 49, Hunt also teaches the residuals being hydrated after heating (paragraph 18), which will necessarily convert amorphous aluminum oxide in the material to amorphous aluminum hydroxide.
Regarding claim 50, Hunt teaches mixing the residuals with a source of calcium ions and a source of sulfate ions (Portland cement, paragraph 15, which is described as containing calcium sulfate in paragraph 3) and then hydrating (paragraph 18), which will include the addition of water, and where the mixing will continue once water is added. Furthermore, as evidenced by Nijland and Larbi (p. 163), ettringite is a primary constituent of hydration of Portland cement concrete, and thus is expected to form upon hydration of the mixture that contains Portland cement.
Regarding claim 51, claim 5 of the ‘673 patent teaches the mixing of the water treatment residuals with hydrated lime in the presence of water (claims 1 and 5), but they do not teach mixing with Portland cement or calcium sulfate. However, Hunt teaches the mixing of the residuals with Portland cement containing calcium sulfate (paragraphs 15 and 3).
Regarding claim 52, claim 4 of the ‘673 patent requires hydrating drinking water treatment residuals with a source of calcium ions, which will involve the residuals being mixed with a source of calcium ions in the presence of water.
Regarding claim 69, the drinking water treatment residuals used in the method of the ‘673 patent are capable of being dewatered to the required extent, as evidence by Lee (p. 285, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 70, the modified claims of the ‘673 patent teach the limitations of claim 34, and Hunt teaches that the temperature of the residuals can be controlled during heating such that the desired structure of the material, crystalline, amorphous, or semi-amorphous—can be obtained ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the temperature of the residuals during heating such that amorphous aluminum oxide and/or aluminum hydroxide present in the residuals remains in its amorphous state, as taught by Hunt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hunt teaches this as one possible embodiment of their method.
Claims 41-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,275,673 in view of Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836) and Hunt (US PGPub 2006/0278131 A1), as applied to claim 39, and further in view of Feeco (“Rotary Kilns,” Feeco International product brochure, archived 16 May 2017, [retrieved on 27 May 2025]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20170516235512/http://go.feeco.com/acton/attachment/12345/f-0074/1/-/-/-/-/FEECO-Rotary-Kilns.pdf>), and with respect to claims 42 and 43, as further evidenced by Nazari et al. (“Development of a Metallurgical Process for Eramet’s Mabounié Nb-REE Project”. In: Davis, B., et al. Extraction 2018. The Minerals, Metals & Materials Series. Springer, Cham. [retrieved on 27 May 2025]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-95022-8_198>).
Regarding claim 41, the claims of the ‘673 patent as modified by Hunt, teaches the method of claim 39, as analyzed above, wherein the residuals are heated in a heating chamber of a rotary kiln (paragraph 37), but does not explicitly teach the heating chamber being heated indirectly by heating an exterior of the heating chamber, as required by claim 41, or the remaining limitations of claims 42 and 43.
However, Feeco teaches that rotary kilns can be of the indirect-fired type (page 5), in which the heating chamber is heated indirectly by heating an exterior of the heating chamber (an indirect- fired kiln is enclosed in a furnace, which is then heated externally; page 5, paragraph 2). Feeco further teaches that such kilns allow for the processing environment to be more tightly controlled, in particular by providing precise temperature control (page 5, advantage 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the general method modified ‘673 with the indirect-fired kiln of Feeco. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to have precise control of temperature, as taught by Feeco.
Regarding claim 42, modified ‘673 teaches the method of claim 41, where Feeco further teaches an indirect fired rotary kiln wherein the exterior of the heating chamber is heated by means of burners acting directly on the exterior of the heating chamber (page 5, Figure shows burners), and as further evidenced by Nazari et al., who further illustrate the burners of the Feeco apparatus acting on the exterior of the heating chamber (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 43, modified ‘673 teaches the method of claim 41, where Feeco further teaches an indirect fired rotary kiln wherein the heating chamber is located within a heating jacket receiving hot gases from a burner, and as further evidenced by Nazari et al., who further illustrate the heating chamber within a heating jacket receiving hot gases from a burner (Fig. 5).
Claims 44 and 47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,275,673 in view of Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836) and Hunt (US PGPub 2006/0278131 A1), as applied to claim 34, and further in view Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289).
Regarding claims 44 and 47, claim 4 of the ‘673 patent teaches the method of claim 34, but the claims of the ‘673 patent do not teach dewatering of the drinking water treatment residuals or the further limitations of claim 47.
However, Lee further teaches that drinking water treatment plant residuals (sludge from water purification) can be used in concrete mixtures (abstract) and that they are first dewatered to a water content of between 30 and 40% (p. 285, column 1, paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to at least partially dewater the residuals in the method of the ‘673 patent prior to heating to a water content of between 30% and 40%, which lies in the instantly claimed range of claim 47 (between 20% and 40%). One of ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to do so in order to prepare the sludge for further processing into concrete mix, as taught by Lee.
Claims 45 and 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,275,673 in view of Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836) and Hunt (US PGPub 2006/0278131 A1,, as applied to claim 34, and further in view of Lee et al. (Env. Eng. Sci. 2012, 29(4), 284-289) and Burris et al. (“Management of Water Treatment Plant Residuals” in Advances in Water and Wastewater Treatment (2004). American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Retrieved from <URL: https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/pdf/id:kt00A7S5T7/advances-in-water-wastewater/mechanical-dewatering>).
Regarding claim 45-46, modified ‘673 patent teaches the method of claim 44, as analyzed above, but neither the claims of the ‘673 patent nor Lee teach the details of the method used to dewater the residuals.
However, Burris teaches that residuals from a drinking water treatment process (p. 543, paragraph 1) can be dewatered by a mechanical process, including by using a belt dryer (belt filter press; p. 562, paragraph 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dewater the residuals in the method of modified ‘673 using the mechanical process of a belt dryer. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because while Lee teaches that the residual sludge should be dewatered, they do not provide the details of the process, while Hunt teaches that mechanical dewatering by a belt dryer is one such method.
Claim 68 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,275,673 in view of Babatunde et al. (Environ. Pollut. 2009, 157, 2830-2836) and Hunt (US PGPub 2006/0278131 A1), as applied to claim 34, and further in view of Dahhou et al. (Waste Biomass Valor. 2016, 7, 1177-1187).
Regarding claim 68, modified claim 4 of the ‘673 patent renders the method of claim 34 obvious, but does not teach the water treatment residuals having a degree of crystallization less than 25%.
However, Dahhou also teaches the thermal treatment of drinking water residuals (abstract), and further teaches that amorphous phases of the sludge appear to be more reactive to heat treatment (p. 1183, ¶ 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seek out water treatment residuals that are highly amorphous and have low degrees of crystallization, including in the claimed range of less than 25%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dahhou teaches that these residuals are the most responsive to heat treatments.
It is noted that the courts have found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Therefore, the claimed ranges of crystalline phase content merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the condition in the cited prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, page 9, state that “As amended, claim 34, as well as its dependent claims, are methods for processing drinking water treatment residuals containing 75 to 80% amorphous aluminum oxide for use in the manufacture of hydraulic binders” (emphasis added). However, this is not what amended claim 34 recites.
Instead, what claim 34 recites is “a method for processing drinking water treatment residuals for use in the manufacture of hydraulic binders containing 75 to 80% amorphous aluminum oxide” (emphasis added). The limitation on the amount of amorphous aluminum oxide is therefore not a limitation on the amount in the drinking water treatment residuals themselves, in either processed or unprocessed form, but rather merely represents an intended use of the processed residuals.
Furthermore, Applicant points to cancelled claim 67 and [0047] (of US Pat Pub. 2022/0227665) as providing support for the amendments to claim 34. It is noted that each of these sources support the intended use interpretation of the amended claim, and do not support any limitations on the level of amorphous aluminum oxide in either the processed of unprocessed drinking water residuals.
Therefore, in order for the prior art to teach the method of claim 34, it only needs to teach the process of claim 34, wherein the processed residuals are suitable for use in the manufacture of hydraulic binders having the recited amount of amorphous aluminum oxide content, which it does, as analyzed above.
Because the amended claim places no actual limitations on the level of amorphous aluminum oxide in the residuals (processed or unprocessed), arguments regarding the cited levels of amorphous aluminum oxide being missing from Hunt, Lee and Babatunde, p. 9-10 of the reply, are considered moot.
Regarding the argument that Babatunde does not provide instruction on how to maintain the amorphous state during heating, Babatunde was not relied upon to teach this feature, which is instead taught by Hunt, who teaches that a desired amorphous form can be obtained by controlling the temperature ([0036] and [0041]), as analyzed above.
Regarding the further arguments about Babatunde and the motivation to combine, pages 10-11, it is again noted that Babatunde is relied upon only to teach that drinking water residuals as a class contain predominately amorphous aluminum oxide, which therefore would make the repurposing of amorphous aluminum-oxide containing drinking water residuals an obvious choice to obtain the amorphous aluminum-oxide containing products suggested by Hunt. Babatunde’s specific use of such materials is not of particular relevance to this analysis. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of the remaining dependent claims, pages 11-15, rely upon the assertion that the combination of Hunt, Lee and Babatunde does not teach method of claim 34, and that the additional prior art does not fill the void. These arguments are unpersuasive because Hunt, Lee and Babatunde teach all the features of claim 34, as analyzed above, and the cited prior art continues to teach the additional elements recited in the dependent claims.
Conclusions
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735