DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 27 February 2026. Claims 1-9 are currently pending of which claim 1 is currently amended, claim 5 is withdrawn from consideration and claim 9 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/00324761 to Yao et al. (Yao) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0008783 A1 to Shodai et al. (Shodai).
As to claims 1 and 2, Yao teaches a method for producing fluorine gas, the fluorine gas produced by electrolyzing an electrolyte (molten salt) containing hydrogen fluoride and a metal fluoride, potassium fluoride, the method comprising, electrolyzing the electrolyte in an electrolytic cell (1) and measuring a water concentration in an electrolytic cell (Paragraphs 0018, 0053 and 0054; Figure 1). Yao teaches that when the water concentration is measured higher than a reference value a fluid generated inside the electrolytic cell is sent from the inside of the cell to an outside of the cell through a flow path, corresponding to the second flow path of the claims, (branch passage (72)) and when the water concentration is measured lower than a reference value the cell start up is finished and normal operation proceeds wherein the fluid generated within the electrolytic cell inside is sent outside the cell via a another flow path, corresponding to the first flow path of the claims (main passage (15)), Yao thus teaching this operation occurs from a start of electrolysis (cell start up) at least until stable electrolysis starts (normal operation). Yao further teaches that the first flow path comprising a refining device (16) for removing liquid hydrogen fluoride entrained within the fluoride gas, thus acting as a both a mist removal unit and clogging suppression mechanism, the refining device comprising a section (50) for retaining the hydrogen fluoride, thus a mist pool space, formed on the flow path after a first portion of the flow path (Paragraphs 0027, 0028, 0034 and 0063-0065; Figures 1 and 2).
Yao teaches that the reference value is chosen to protect the anode, but gives merely a single example of 500 wt ppm, 0.05%, specifically citing this value as merely an example (Paragraph 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize this reference value, beyond the sole example given, in order to provide the degree of anode protection desired in view of the specific composition of the anode, operating conditions and the time required to initiate startup of the cell (MPEP 2144.05 II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the start-up fluorine production would comprises entrained hydrogen fluoride as well as the downstream fluorine production (Paragraph 0034); however, Yao fails to specifically teach providing a mist removal or clogging suppression mechanism on the second flow path through which this start up fluorine production is sent.
However, Shodai also discusses the electrolysis of hydrogen fluoride to fluorine gas where HF mist is trapped from the outlet of the fluorine gas. Shodai teaches that the HF is removed from every flow path exiting the cell and that this removed HF gas is then returned to the electrolytic bath for further production of fluorine gas (Paragraph 0063; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the refining device of Yao on every exit path of the cell, including the second flow path/start-up path, in order to recover as much HF as possible for return to the cell as taught by Shodai. Thus an additional refining mechanism on the second flow path comprising a mist pool space acting as a clogging suppression mechanism formed downstream from a first portion of the second flow path.
As to claims 4, 7 and 8, the combination of Yao and Shodai teaches the methods of claims 1, 2 and 3. Yao further teaches that the electrolytic cell has a structure in which bubbles generated on an anode or a cathode used in the electrolyzing are capable of rising vertically in the electrolyte to reach a surface of the electrolyte (i.e., the anode and cathode are vertical, parallel to each other and perpendicular to the surface of the electrolyte) (Figure 1).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yao and Shodai as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0219570 to Furuta et al. (Furuta).
As to claims 3 and 6, the combination of Yao and Shodai teaches the methods of claims 1 and 2. Yao teaches that the anode is carbon, but fails to give the specific type of carbon (Paragraph 0020). However, Furuta also discusses anodes for electrolytic fluorine generation and teaches an improved anode in terms of anode effect and sludge generation is an anode comprising diamond, graphite or an amorphous carbon (Paragraph 0001; Claim 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the anode of Yao with an anode as in Furuta, thus an anode comprising the carbon in the form of diamond, graphite or an amorphous carbon, in order to utilize an improved anode in terms of anode effect and sludge generation as taught by Furuta.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao.
As to claim 9, Yao teaches a method for producing fluorine gas, the fluorine gas produced by electrolyzing an electrolyte (molten salt) containing hydrogen fluoride and a metal fluoride, potassium fluoride, the method comprising, electrolyzing the electrolyte in an electrolytic cell (1) and measuring a water concentration in an electrolytic cell (Paragraphs 0018, 0053 and 0054; Figure 1). Yao teaches that when the water concentration is measured higher than a reference value a fluid generated inside the electrolytic cell is sent from the inside of the cell to an outside of the cell through a flow path, corresponding to the second flow path of the claims, (branch passage (72)) and when the water concentration is measured lower than a reference value the cell start up is finished and normal operation proceeds wherein the fluid generated within the electrolytic cell inside is sent outside the cell via a another flow path, corresponding to the first flow path of the claims (main passage (15)), Yao thus teaching this operation occurs from a start of electrolysis (cell start up) at least until stable electrolysis starts (normal operation) (Paragraphs 0027, 0028, 0034 and 0063-0065; Figures 1 and 2).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595,958 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims claim all the limitations of the present claims with the exception of a different numerical range for the reference value of oxygen content. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize this reference value in order to provide the degree of anode protection desired in view of the specific composition of the anode, operating conditions and the time required to initiate startup of the cell (MPEP 2144.05 II).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Yao does not focus on the correlation between the water concentration and the particle size of the mist; however, this language is not present nor required by the claim. Applicants may have a different reason for performing the claimed method steps, however, Yao still meets the claim limitations.
Applicants further argue that Yao does not switch between flow paths, but stops the electrolysis. However, the Examiner disagrees, when the moisture content is higher than a reference, Yao conducts start up electrolysis and sends the product through bypass passage 72, start up electrolysis is then stopped and put in stand by mode wherein regular electrolysis is then started and the product is sent through main passage 15. Thus even though there is, or can be, a pause between start up electrolysis and regular electrolysis, there is still a switching between passages, and a corresponding measuring throughout cell start up (starting electrolysis) and stable electrolysis (stand by and normal operation).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794