DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 05/04/2026 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated here for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality correction and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, and/or maintaining, if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section.
Briefly, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. The previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments; however, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, Obviousness
Claims 54, 110, and 112-114 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (US 2005/0054042; Date of Publication: March 10, 2005 – previously cited) in view of Sutter (Key Enzymes of the Semiphosphorylative Entner-Doudoroff Pathway in the Haloarchaeon Haloferax volcanii: Characterization of Glucose Dehydrogenase, Gluconate Dehydratase, and 2-Keto-3-Deoxy-6-Phosphogluconate Aldolase; 2016 – previously cited), Liang (Comparison of individual component deletions in a glucose-specific phosphotransferase system revealed their different applications; 2015 – previously cited), Bausch (Sequence analysis of the GntII (subsidiary) system for gluconate metabolism reveals a novel pathway for L-idonic acid catabolism in Escherichia coli; 1998 – previously cited), and Diaz (Deletion of four genes in Escherichia coli enables preferential consumption of xylose and secretion of glucose; 2019 – previously cited).
Miyake’s general disclosure relates to “a novel gluconate dehydratase capable of efficiently producing a 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acid from aldonic acid” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0002]). Moreover, Miyake discloses “a base sequence encoding the gluconate dehydratase, a plasmid containing the base sequence, and a cell into which a host cell is transformed with the plasmid. The base sequence is advantageously used in productions of the gluconate dehydratase and of 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acids using the gluconate dehydratase” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0008]). Additionally, Miyake discloses an E. coli host cell with a plasmid containing a gluconate dehydratase gene derived from Achromobacter xylosoxidans (see, e.g., Miyake, [0017]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 54 pertaining to a method of producing 2-keto-3-deoxy gluconate (KDG), Miyake teaches in Examples 6-8 culturing an Escherichia coli host cell transformed with a gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in a LB liquid medium containing 50 µg/mL of ampicillin at 37oC overnight (see, e.g., Miyake, Examples 6-8, [0076]-[0081]). Moreover, Miyake teaches that the encoded gluconate dehydratase enzyme (see, e.g., Miyake, SEQ ID NO: 2) has 95.9% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, as taught in the instant application (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix). Miyake teaches that expression of gluconate dehydratase results in expression of KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, [0033]); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily assume that the production of KDG would occur during the culturing process. Moreover, it would be inherent that expression of the heterologous gluconate dehydratase in the E. coli cell would result in production and accumulation of KDG during the culturing process. Miyake teaches the same method of producing KDG through expression of a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme with at least 95% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1; therefore, this would lead to production and accumulation of KDG by the E. coli cell during processing.
Regarding claim 110 pertaining to the pH, Miyake teaches that the “pH of the reaction is set in a range in which the gluconate dehydratase can maintain the activity, and preferably in the range of 7 to 9” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0046]).
Regarding claims 113-114 pertaining to the culturing temperature, Miyake teaches an Escherichia coli host cell transformed with a gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in a LB liquid medium containing 50 µg/mL of ampicillin was cultured at 37oC overnight (see, e.g., Miyake, Examples 6-8, [0076]-[0081]).
However, Miyake does not teach: genetic modifications resulting in decrease or elimination of: (A) glucose assimilation; (B) gluconate-6-phosphate production from gluconate; and (C) glucose-6-phosphate production from glucose (claim 54(ii)).
Liang’s general disclosure relates to studying the effect of a single glucose-specific phosphotransferase system mutation on cell growth and substrate consumption by knocking out the genes involved in the phosphotransfer cascade of the glucose-specific phosphotransferase system (see, e.g., Liang, abstract). Moreover, Liang discloses “Numerous studies have used approaches including inactivating the PTSGlc components for eliminating CCR in E. coli7,8. The ptsG gene has been frequently used as the first target because it separates from the other three genes and it encodes a component that locates the final step in the phosphotransfer cascade of the PTSGlc (Fig. 1). Deleting the ptsG gene in E. coli reduced the specific growth rate to approximately 85% of that of the parent strain9 and resulted in the simultaneous assimilation of glucose and xylose10–12. Deleting another target in the PTSGlc, the entire ptsHI-crr operon, blocked the two common steps involved in the PEP: carbohydrate phosphotransfer cascades and resulted in a limited capacity for transporting glucose” (see, e.g., Liang, Introduction, pg. 2). Furthermore, Liang discloses “To investigate the effect of the inactivation of each component on substrate consumption and cell growth, we deleted the corresponding genes in the PTSGlc of wild-type E. coli W3110, generating E. coli W3110I, W3110H, W3110C, and W3110G (Table 1). Cultivating these mutants in the presence of substrate glucose resulted in reduced glucose consumption and retarded growth under aerobic condition (Fig. 2a,b)” (see, e.g., Liang, Results and Discussion, pg. 3).
Regarding claims 54 and 112 pertaining to genetic modifications resulting in decrease or elimination of glucose assimilation, Liang teaches the W3110I, W3110H, and W3110C E. coli mutants, which have deletions in ptsI, ptsH, and crr, respectively (see, e.g., Liang, Table 1, pg. 3). Liang teaches that “Cultivating these mutants in the presence of substrate glucose resulted in reduced glucose consumption and retarded growth under aerobic condition (Fig. 2a,b)” (see, e.g., Liang, Results and Discussion, pg. 3).
Bausch’s general disclosure relates to “Genomic sequence analysis of the region known to contain genes of the GntII system led to a hypothesis which was tested biochemically and confirmed: the GntII system encodes a pathway for catabolism of L-idonic acid in which D-gluconate is an intermediate. The genes have been named accordingly: the idnK gene, encoding a thermosensitive gluconate kinase, is monocistronic and transcribed divergently from the idnD-idnO-idnT-idnR operon, which encodes L-idonate 5-dehydrogenase, 5-keto-D-gluconate 5-reductase, an L-idonate transporter, and an L-idonate regulatory protein, respectively” (see, e.g., Bausch, abstract). Moreover, Bausch discloses “E. coli K-12 strains are able to utilize L-idonate as the sole carbon and energy source, and as predicted, the ability of idnD, idnK, idnR, and edd mutants to grow on L-idonate is altered” (see, e.g., Bausch, abstract).
Regarding claims 54 and 112 pertaining to genetic modifications resulting in decrease or elimination of gluconate-6-phosphate production from gluconate, Bausch teaches the production of gntK and idnK E. coli mutants (see, e.g., Bausch, “Construction of mutants”, pg. 3705& Table 2, pg. 3705 & Results, pg. 3707). Moreover, Bausch teaches that “A secondary mutation of idnK (gntV) eliminated the subsidiary gluconate kinase activity” (see, e.g., Bausch, Discussion, pg. 3708). Additionally, Bausch teaches “E. coli NP202, a gntK deletion mutant, is able to grow on D-gluconate” (see, e.g., Bausch, Discussion, pg. 3709).
Diaz’s general disclosure relates to an “engineered an E. coli strain, which we have named X2G, that not only exhibits a reversed substrate preference for xylose over glucose, but also demonstrates an unusual ability to produce significant amounts of glucose. We obtained this nonintuitive phenotype by deleting four genes in upper central metabolism: ptsI, glk, pfkA, and zwf, which respectively encode Enzyme I of the phosphotransferase system, glucokinase, the dominant isozyme of phosphofructokinase, and glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase. The deletion of ptsI and glk blocks glucose uptake in E. coli, while the deletion of pfkA and zwf prevents the reassimilation of carbons through glycolysis and the oxidative pentose phosphate pathway, respectively” (see, e.g., Diaz, abstract).
Regarding claims 54 and 112 pertaining to genetic modifications resulting in decrease or elimination of glucose-6-phosphate production from glucose, Diaz teaches an E. coli mutant with glk deleted (see, e.g., Diaz, abstract). Moreover, Diaz teaches that “The deletion of ptsI and glk blocks glucose uptake in E. coli” (see, e.g., Diaz, abstract).
Sutter’s general disclosure relates to the degradation of glucose by gluconate dehydratase via the Entner-Doudoroff Pathway in Haloferax volvanii (see, e.g., Sutter, abstract). Moreover, Sutter discloses that glucose is converted to KDG via glucose dehydrogenase and gluconate dehydratase (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pg. 2251). Additionally, Sutter discloses identification of HVO_1488, a gene that encodes metabolic gluconate dehydratase enzyme, and determines that this enzyme is involved in glucose degradation (see, e.g., Sutter, Results, pg. 2256).
Regarding claims 54 pertaining to production of KDG, Sutter teaches that gluconate is converted to KDG via gluconate dehydratase (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pg. 2251). Based on the teachings of Sutter, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood to add gluconate to a cell culture, wherein the recombinant cell is expressing gluconate dehydratase, in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Sutter, Figure 1, pg. 2252). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood to add glucose to a cell culture, wherein the recombinant cell is expressing both glucose dehydrogenase and gluconate dehydratase, in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Sutter, Figure 1, pg. 2252).
It would have been first obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Miyake’s recombinant E. coli cell, wherein the cell comprises deletions in the ptsI, ptsH, and crr genes resulting in elimination of glucose assimilation, as taught by Liang. One would have been motivated to do so because Liang teaches that cultivating E. coli mutants with deletions in the ptsI, ptsH, and crr genes “in the presence of substrate glucose resulted in reduced glucose consumption and retarded growth under aerobic condition (Fig. 2a,b)” (see, e.g., Liang, Results and Discussion, pg. 3). Additionally, Liang teaches “Deleting another target in the PTSGlc, the entire ptsHI-crr operon, blocked the
two common steps involved in the PEP: carbohydrate phosphotransfer cascades and resulted in a limited capacity for transporting glucose” (see, e.g., Liang, Introduction, pg. 2); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that glucose assimilation is eliminated in these mutants with deletions in the ptsI, ptsH, and crr genes. Moreover, Miyake teaches expression of a novel gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in E. coli, wherein the gluconate dehydratase has “thermostability and storage stability as to be industrially used in practice and capable of efficiently producing a 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acid” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0007]). Furthermore, Miyake teaches the addition of D-gluconate to E. coli cells expressing the novel gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, Example 2, [0067]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Miyake and Liang, it would have been obvious to eliminate glucose assimilation in the recombinant E. coli cell by deleting the ptsI, ptsH, and crr genes because this results in gluconate being taken up by the E. coli cell and utilized to produce KDG. One would have expected success because Miyake and Liang both teach E. coli transport systems for different carbon sources, as well as components within the Entner-Doudoroff pathway.
It would have been secondly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Miyake’s recombinant E. coli cell, wherein the cell comprises deletions in the gntK and idnK genes resulting in elimination of gluconate kinase activity, as taught by Bausch. One would have been motivated to do so because Bausch teaches “IdnK catalyzes an ATP-dependent phosphorylation of D-gluconate to form 6-phosphogluconate, which is metabolized further via the Entner-Doudoroff pathway” (see, e.g., Bausch, abstract). Furthermore, Bausch teaches that gntK is part of the GntII system, which codes for a thermoresistant gluconate kinase (see, e.g., Bausch, Introduction, pg. 3704). Moreover, Miyake teaches the addition of D-gluconate to E. coli cells expressing the novel gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, Example 2, [0067]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Miyake and Bausch, it would have been obvious to eliminate gluconate-6-phosphate production from gluconate through deletion of the gntK and idnK genes because this would result in production of KDG from gluconate instead of the gluconate being phosphorylated and turned in gluconate-6-phosphate. One would have expected success because Miyake and Bausch both teach gluconate metabolism in E. coli.
It would have been thirdly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Miyake’s recombinant E. coli cell, wherein the cell comprises deletions in the ptsI and glk genes resulting in elimination of glucose uptake by E. coli, as taught by Diaz. One would have been motivated to do so because Diaz teaches “that deletion of just two genes involved in the phosphorylation of glucose to glucose 6-phosphate
(G6P), namely ptsI and glk, is sufficient to block glucose utilization” (see, e.g., Diaz, Introduction, pg. 168); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that since glucose utilization is blocked, gluconate would be utilized by E. coli when administered. Moreover, Miyake teaches the addition of D-gluconate to E. coli cells expressing the novel gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, Example 2, [0067]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Miyake and Diaz, it would have been obvious to eliminate glucose-6-phosphate production from glucose by blocking glucose uptake through deletion of the ptsI and glk genes so that the E. coli cell is forced to uptake gluconate in order to produce KDG. One would have expected success because Miyake and Diaz both teach E. coli transport systems for different carbon sources.
It would have been fourthly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Miyake’s gluconate dehydratase in cell culture, wherein the gluconate dehydratase is used to produce KDG through addition of gluconate as the substrate, as taught inherently taught by Miyake and taught by Sutter. One would have been motivated to do so because Sutter teaches that gluconate is converted to KDG via gluconate dehydratase (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pg. 2251); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that addition of gluconate to a culture that recombinant produces gluconate dehydratase would result in KDG production. Furthermore, Miyake teaches the enzymatic production of KDG outside of cell culture through the addition of sodium D-gluconate to gluconate dehydratase produced by Achromobacter xylosoxidans (see, e.g., Miyake, [0066], [0067], Example 2). Furthermore, Miyake teaches the same method of producing a recombinant E. coli cell that expresses a gluconate dehydratase by Achromobacter xylosoxidans in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, abstract); therefore, this would lead to the production of KDG in cell culture when the cell is given glucose or gluconate. Therefore, based on the teachings of Miyake and Sutter, it would have been obvious to produce KDG in the same cell culture used to produce gluconate dehydratase by merely adding glucose or gluconate into the culture. One would have expected success because Miyake and Sutter both teach production of KDG from gluconate dehydratase.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Gupta (Project Report Codon Optimization; 2003 – previously cited) and Gustafsson (Condon bias and heterologous protein expression; 2004 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: wherein the gene encoding a heterologous gluconate dehydratase comprises a nucleic acid sequence having at least 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 4 (claim 56).
Regarding claim 56 pertaining to a heterologous gluconate dehydratase gene, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Miyake, [0021], [0037]), which has 58.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 4, as taught in the instant application. Gupta teaches basic rationales for optimizing codons for specific living organisms (see, e.g., Gupta at §§ 2.1, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3) and identifies that circa 2003 web-based software was available for converting yeast and human codons (id. at §5). Gustafsson identifies that a “common strategy" to improve expression of heterologous proteins in a host is to alter rare codons in a gene to reflect codon usage of a host without modifying the amino acid sequence of the encoded protein (see, e.g., Gustafsson et al. at 348 col II §”Results from Codon Optimization”, Table 1 on 349). Therefore, based on the teachings of Gupta and Gustafsson, it is routine to one of ordinary skill in the art to use different nucleic acid sequences to express a protein in a different organism (i.e., codon optimization). Additionally, the nucleic acid encoding the protein would be optimized for expression in a particular organism. Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s SEQ ID NO: 1 could be optimized so that the codons are different compared to instant SEQ ID NO: 4, but the amino acid sequence is the same.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a host cell containing SEQ ID NO: 1, as taught by modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, for expression of gluconate dehydratase. Modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Miyake, [0021], [0037]) has 58.5% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 4; however, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see, e.g., MPEP 2144.05(I)). One would have been motived to do so because modified-Miyake-Sutter teaches that gluconate dehydratase is utilized to produce KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, abstract). Moreover, based on the teachings of Gupta and Gustafsson, it would have been obvious to optimize the codons within modified-Miyake-Sutter’s SEQ ID NO: 1 in order to produce instant SEQ ID NO: 4, wherein the gluconate dehydratase protein sequence is the same, but the nucleic acid sequence is different. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches a gluconate dehydratase gene (SEQ ID NO: 1) that can be expressed in a host cell to produce KDG.
Claims 57 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Pouyssegur (Genetic Control of the 2-keto-3-deoxy-d-gluconate metabolism in Escherichia coli K-12: kdg regulon; 1974 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
Regarding claim 57 pertaining to culture medium comprising glucose, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the use of glucose as a carbon and energy source in cell culture (see, e.g., Sutter, Materials and Methods, pg. 2253).
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: wherein the culture medium comprises glycerol (claim 57).
Pouyssegur’s general disclosure relates to “the chromosomal location of the regulatory gene (kdgR) and of the presumptive structural gene for the KDG kinase (kdgK)” (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Introduction, pgs. 641-642). Moreover, Pouyssegur discloses a KDG transport system for transporting KDG into the cell against a concentration gradient (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Introduction, pgs. 641). Additionally, Pouyssegur discloses the growth of KDG mutants in glycerol medium supplemented with glycuronate or galacturonate as carbon sources (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Results, pg. 643).
Regarding claim 57 pertaining to the culture medium comprising glycerol, Pouyssegur teaches that glycerol minimal medium, and other mediums containing glycerol, were used to grow bacterial strains that generate KDG (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Methods, “Genetic techniques”, pg. 642).
Regarding claim 67 pertaining to a recombinant cell comprising one or more genetic modifications resulting in decrease or elimination of 2-keto-3-deoxy-D-gluconate (KDG) phosphorylation, Pouyssegur teaches a kdgK E. coli mutant (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Bacterial strains, pg. 642 & Table 1). Moreover, Pouyssegur teaches that the KDG kinaseless mutant (kdgK) has loss of kinase activity and “large amounts of KDG were excreted in the medium when these mutants were grown on glycerol supplemented with either glucuronate or galacturonate” (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Results, pg. 643).
It would have been first obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to grow modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s recombinant cell that is grown in glucose and expressing gluconate dehydratase, wherein the cell is also grown in glycerol, as taught by Pouyssegur, respectively. One would have been motivated to do so because Pouyssegur teaches that bacterial strains can produce KDG when grown on glycerol media (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Results, pg. 644). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Pouyssegur teach that glucose and glycerol, respectively, can be used as carbon sources, during bacterial culturing, to produce KDG (see, e.g., Sutter, Materials and Methods, pg. 2253) (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Methods, “Genetic techniques”, pg. 642). Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Pouyssegur, it would have been obvious to grow recombinant cells expressing gluconate dehydratase in culture medium comprising glucose and glycerol because glucose and glycerol can be used as carbon and energy sources to produce KDG. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Pouyssegur both teach KDG production.
It would have been secondly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s recombinant E. coli cell, wherein the cell has a deletion in the kdgK gene resulting in elimination of KEG phosphorylation, as taught by Pouyssegur. One would have been motivated to do so because Pouyssegur teaches that the KDG kinaseless mutant (kdgK) has loss of kinase activity and “large amounts of KDG were excreted in the medium when these mutants were grown on glycerol supplemented with either glucuronate or galacturonate” (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Results, pg. 643). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches “KDG is phosphorylated by KDG kinase (KDGK) to generate 2-keto-3-deoxy-6-phosphogluconate (KDPG), which is cleaved to pyruvate and glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate (GAP) by a bifunctional KDG/KDPG aldolase (KDPGA) that catalyzes the cleavage of both KDG and KDPG (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pgs. 2251-2252). Furthermore, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches a semiphosphorylative pathway, wherein glucose and gluconate can be utilized to produce KDG, and wherein KDG is phosphorylated to KDPG by KdgK (see, e.g., Sutter, Figure 1, pg. 2252). Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Pouyssegur, it would have been obvious to eliminate the phosphorylation of KDG by deletion of the kdgK gene because this would inhibit phosphorylation of KDG to KDPG which would result in increased production of KDG though elimination of downstream processes within the cell. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Pouyssegur both teach production of KDG from gluconate and/or glucose.
Claims 58 and 111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Matsubara (One-step synthesis of 2-keto-3-deoxy-d-gluconate by biocatalytic dehydration of d-gluconate; 2014 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
Regarding claim 111 pertaining to glucose as the substrate, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches glucose as a substrate for KDG production (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pg. 2251). Furthermore, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches that glucose can be converted to gluconate via glucose dehydrogenase, and the gluconate produced can be converted to KDG via gluconate dehydratase (see, e.g., Sutter, Figure 1).
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: wherein the yield of KDG is at least 60% calculated as the ratio of the weight of KDG produced to the weight of substrate consumed (claim 58).
Matsubara’s general disclosure relates to “utilization of dehydratases for 2-keto-3-deoxy sugar acid syntheses” (see, e.g., Matsubara, abstract). Moreover, Matsubara discloses “a straightforward and highly economic one-step biocatalytic synthesis procedure of 2-keto-3-deoxy-d-gluconate (KDG) from d-gluconate using recombinant gluconate dehydratase (GAD) from the hyperthermophilic crenarchaeon Thermoproteus tenax. This method is highly advantageous to KDG production schemes described so far for several reasons: (i) the d-gluconate is completely converted to stereochemically pure D-KDG without side-product formation, (ii) the final KDG yield is approximately 90%, (iii) the newly developed quantitative and qualitative” (see, e.g., Matsubara, abstract).
Regarding claim 58 pertaining to the yield of KDG, Matsubara teaches that the final KDG yield is approximately 90% (see, e.g., Matsubara, abstract). Matsubara teaches that yield is calculated by conversion of “compound A” (i.e., substrate consumed) into “compound B” (i.e., KDG produced) (see, e.g., Matsubara, Section 2.3, pg. 73). Moreover, Matsubara teaches the kinetics of gluconate dehydratase-catalyzed conversion of gluconate into KDG (see, e.g., Matsubara, Figure 6); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this correlates to calculating the ratio of KDG produced to gluconate consumed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s KDG, wherein the yield of KDG is approximately 90%, as taught by Matsubara. One would have been motivated to do so because Matsubara teaches a resource-efficient, one-step synthesis of KDG without side product formation because a high number of different reaction steps leads to increased waste compounds and decreases yields (see, e.g., Matsubara, abstract & Introduction, pg. 69). Furthermore, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the conversion of gluconate into KDG via gluconate dehydratase in cell culture (see, e.g., Miyake, [0017]-[0025], [0033]). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the production of a novel gluconate dehydratase that can efficiently produce KDG due to its stability at high temperatures (see, e.g., Miyake, [0010]). Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Matsubara, it would have been obvious to produce KDG at a yield of approximately 90% because both modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Matsubara teach methods of increasing the efficiency of the gluconate dehydratase and the conversion reaction in order to efficiently produce KDG. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Matsubara both teach KDG production.
Claims 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Wingfield (Overview of the Purification of Recombinant Proteins; 2015 – newly cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
Regarding claims 61-62 pertaining to the KDG produced in the cell culture, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches culturing an Escherichia coli host cell transformed with a gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in a LB liquid medium containing 50 µg/mL of ampicillin at 37oC overnight (see, e.g., Miyake, Examples 6-8, [0076]-[0081]). Modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches that expression of gluconate dehydratase results in expression of KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, [0033]); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily assume that the production of KDG would occur during the culturing process. Moreover, it would be inherent that expression of the heterologous gluconate dehydratase in the E. coli cell would result in production and accumulation of KDG during the culturing process. Modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the same method of producing KDG through expression of a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme with at least 95% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1; therefore, this would inherently lead to production and accumulation of KDG by the E. coli cell during processing.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: purification of KDG from cell culture and cell culture supernatant (claims 61-62).
Wingfield’s general disclosure relates to an overview of recombinant protein production and purification from E. coli host cells (see, e.g., Introduction, pg. 2). Furthermore, Wingfield discloses methods of isolating and purifying recombinant proteins from E. coli host cells and supernatants (see, e.g., Wingfield, Figures 6.1.3-6.1.4).
Regarding claims 61-62 pertaining to purification of proteins from cell culture, Wingfield teaches isolation of the recombinant proteins, wherein the proteins are secreted and periplasmic proteins in E. coli (see, e.g., Wingfield, Figure 6.1.3). Wingfield teaches “When proteins incorporating a secretion vector are expressed in E. coli, advantage can be taken of the fact that the recombinant proteins will be located in the periplasmic space and/or the culture medium” (see, e.g., Wingfield, “Localizing Protein”, pg. 9). Moreover, Wingfield teaches that the E. coli supernatant and cell lysate, which contains the recombinant proteins, can be purified via affinity chromatography methods, followed by concentration of the protein, gel filtration, and sterile filtration (see, e.g., Wingfield, Figure 6.1.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to purify modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s recombinant KDG protein from cell culture and cell culture supernatant, as taught by Wingfield. One would have been motivated to do so because Wingfield teaches methods of isolating and purifying recombinant proteins from E. coli host cells and supernatants (see, e.g., Wingfield, “Strategies for isolation of soluble proteins”, pgs. 10-13 & Figure 6.1.4). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches culturing an Escherichia coli host cell transformed with a gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in a LB liquid medium containing 50 µg/mL of ampicillin at 37oC overnight (see, e.g., Miyake, Examples 6-8, [0076]-[0081]). modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches that expression of gluconate dehydratase results in expression of KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, [0033]); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily assume that the production of KDG would occur during the culturing process. Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Wingfield, it would have been obvious to purify KDG from a recombinant cell culture in order to produce a purified KDG protein that can be used in downstream processes. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Wingfield both teach recombinant expression of proteins in E. coli host cells.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Doring (US Patent No. 7,858,775; Date of Publication: December 28, 2010 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: the method further comprising converting KDG to a 2’-deoxynucleoside or a precursor thereof (claim 65).
Doring’s general disclosure relates to “a process for preparing 2’-deoxynucleoside compounds or 2’-deoxynucleoside precursors using KDG” (see, e.g., Doring, abstract). Moreover, Doring discloses “2'-deoxynucleosides and their analogues are used as a starting material for synthesis or drug formulation in production of an antiviral, anticancer or antisense agent” (see, e.g., Doring, pg. 2, col. 1, lines 22-28). Additionally, Doring discloses that an “aspect of the invention is a convenient and cost-effective method for preparing KDG or its salts to be used in the above methods. This method starts either from D-gluconate or from D-glucosaminate through the use of recombinant enzymes. The invention provides a novel nucleotide sequence encoding a polypeptide having D-gluconate dehydratase activity and a nucleotide sequence encoding a polypeptide having D-glucosaminate deaminase activity” (see, e.g., Doring, pg. 3, col. 3, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 65 pertaining to converting KDG to 2’-deoxynucleoside or precursors thereof, Doring teaching preparing 2’-deoxynucleoside compounds or 2’-deoxynucleoside precursors using KDG (see, e.g., Doring, abstract). Doring teaches that conversion of KDG to 2’-deoxynucleoside or precursors thereof is a cost effective method of producing 2’-deoxynucleoside and its precursors (see, e.g., Doring, [0021]), and allows the reaction to not be dependent on unreliable natural sources (see, e.g., Doring, [0012]). Furthermore, Doring teaches that “2'-deoxynucleosides and their analogues are used as a starting material for synthesis or drug formulation in production of an antiviral, anticancer or antisense agent” (see, e.g., Doring, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to convert modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s KDG into 2’-deoxynucleoside compounds or 2’-deoxynucleoside precursors, as taught by Doring. One would have been motivated to do so because Doring teaches that “2'-deoxynucleosides and their analogues are used as a starting material for synthesis or drug formulation in production of an antiviral, anticancer or antisense agent” (see, e.g., Doring, abstract). Furthermore, Doring teaches that conversion of KDG to 2’-deoxynucleoside or precursors thereof is a cost effective method of producing 2’-deoxynucleoside and its precursors (see, e.g., Doring, [0021]), and allows the reaction to not be dependent on unreliable natural sources (see, e.g., Doring, [0012]). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the production of KDG from glucose and gluconate via gluconate dehydrogenase and glucose dehydrogenase (see, e.g., Miyake, [0066], [0067], Example 2) (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the downstream product (i.e., KDG) produced from modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s methods can be used to produce 2’-deoxynucleoside compounds and 2’-deoxynucleoside precursors, as taught by Doring. Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Doring, it would have been obvious to produce 2’-deoxynucleoside compounds and 2’-deoxynucleoside precursors from KDG this production method is cost effective and the KDG products (i.e., 2’-deoxynucleoside compounds and 2’-deoxynucleoside precursors) can be used in drug formulations. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Doring both teach KDG synthesis.
Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Binder (US 2018/0057897; Date of Publication: March, 1, 2018 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: the method further comprising converting KDG to 5-hydroxymethyl-2-furoic acid (HMFA) and/or furan dicarboxylic acid (FDCA) (claim 66).
Binder’s general disclosure relates to “a method of preparing a furan derivative comprising the steps of (a) converting a monosaccharide to provide a keto-intermediate product; and (b) dehydrating the keto-intermediate product to provide a furan derivative; wherein the keto-intermediate product is pre-disposed to forming keto-furanose tautomers in solution” (see, e.g., Binder, abstract). Moreover, Binder discloses “conversion of glucose to furandicarboxylic acid through 2-keto-3-deoxygluconic acid as a keto-sugar intermediate” (see, e.g., Binder, Figure 1, [0006]).
Regarding claim 66 pertaining to converting KDG to HMFA and/or FDCA, Binder teaches that KDG may be dehydrated by acid catalysis into HMFA (see, e.g., Binder, [0028] & Figure 1). Moreover, Binder teaches that the production of HMFA from KDG does not rely on fructose as an intermediate, which is advantageous because fructose is not as common and the pathways are not as efficient (see, e.g., Binder, [0002]-[0003]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to convert modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s KDG into HMFA, as taught by Binder. One would have been motivated to do so because Binder teaches that KDG is one of the most common 2-keto sugars to prefer furanose tautomeric forms; therefore, KDG can be used to produce HMFA instead of glucose (see, e.g., Binder, [0011], [0015], [0028]). Additionally, Binder teaches that the production of HMFA from KDG does not rely on fructose as an intermediate, which is advantageous because fructose is not as common and the pathways are not as efficient (see, e.g., Binder, [0002]-[0003]). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the production of KDG from glucose and gluconate via gluconate dehydrogenase and glucose dehydrogenase (see, e.g., Miyake, [0066], [0067], Example 2) (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the downstream product (i.e., KDG) produced from modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s methods can be used to produce HMFA, as taught by Binder. Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Binder, it would have been obvious to produce HMFA from KDG because production via this pathway does not involve fructose, which is advantageous because it allows the production of HMFA from KDG to be more efficient (see, e.g., Binder, [0002]-[0003]). One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Binder both teach KDG production.
Claims 68-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Ajikumar (US 2011/0189717; Date of Publication: August 4, 2011 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: wherein the recombinant cell further comprises genetic modifications resulting in: (b) increased production of isopentenyl pyrophosphate (IPP) and/or dimethylallyl pyrophosphate (DMAPP) from KDG (claim 68); or wherein the genetic modifications resulting in increased production of: (c) IPP or DMAPP from KDG comprises increasing expression of enzymes involved in the non-mevalonate (MEP) pathway (claim 69).
Ajikumar’s general disclosure relates to “recombinant expression of a taxadiene synthase enzyme and a geranylgeranyl diphosphate synthase (GGPPS) enzyme in cells and the production of terpenoids” (see, e.g., Ajikumar, abstract). Moreover, Ajikumar discloses “The upstream mevalonic acid (MVA) or methylerythritol phosphate (MEP) pathways can produce the two common building blocks, isopentenyl pyrophosphate (IPP) and dimethylallyl pyrophosphate (DMAPP), from which Taxol and other isoprenoid compounds are formed” (see, e.g., Ajikumar, [0007]). Additionally, Ajikumar discloses “the optimal balancing between the upstream, IPP-forming pathway with the downstream terpenoid pathway of taxadiene synthesis. This is achieved by grouping the nine-enzyme pathway into two modules--a four-gene, upstream, native (MEP) pathway module and a two-gene, downstream, heterologous pathway to taxadiene (FIG. 1). Using this basic configuration, parameters such as the effect of plasmid copy number on cell physiology, gene order and promoter strength in an expression cassette, and chromosomal integration are evaluated with respect to their effect on taxadiene production” (see, e.g., Ajikumar, [0009]).
Regarding claims 68-69 pertaining to increased IPP and/or DMAPP production, Ajikumar teaches “in some embodiments, a cell that overexpresses one or more components of the non-mevalonate (MEP) pathway is used, at least in part, to amplify isopentyl diphosphate (IPP) and dimethylallyl diphosphate (DMAPP), substrates of GGPPS. In some embodiments, overexpression of one or more components of the non-mevalonate (MEP) pathway is achieved by increasing the copy number of one or more components of the non-mevalonate (MEP) pathway. For example, copy numbers of components at rate-limiting steps in the MEP pathway such as (dxs, ispD, ispF, idi) can be amplified, such as by additional episomal expression” (see, e.g., Ajikumar, [0064]). Therefore, “overexpression of one or more components of the non-mevalonate (MEP) pathway”, as taught by Ajikumar, could include increasing expression of enzymes involved in the MEP pathway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to genetically manipulate modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s recombinant cell that produces KDG, in order to increase IPP and DMAPP production from KDG, as taught by Ajikumar. One would have been motivated to do so because Ajikumar teaches that increasing IPP and DMAPP from KDG can enhance terpenoid production (see, e.g., Ajikumar, [0020], [0049]). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches that glucose and gluconate can be used to produce KDG within the Entner-Doudoroff pathway (see, e.g., Sutter, Fig. 1). Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Ajikumar, it would have been obvious to utilize the Entner-Doudoroff pathway to produce KDG from glucose and/or gluconate because the KDG can be utilized to produce IPP and DMAPP. One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Ajikumar both teach metabolic pathways that can utilize KDG.
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, Diaz, and Ajikumar as applied to claims 54, 68-69, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Jiang (Extraction and Analysis of Terpenes/Terpenoids; 2016 – previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, Diaz, and Ajikumar herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz-Ajikumar, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz-Ajikumar does not teach: wherein the method further comprising a step of purifying from cell culture: (c) terpenoids (claim 70).
Jiang’s general disclosure relates to “protocols for extraction of terpenes/terpenoids from various plant sources” (see, e.g., Jiang, abstract). Moreover, Jiang discloses extraction of “terpenes/terpenoids with various levels of chemical decoration, from the relative small, nonpolar, volatile hydrocarbons to substantially large molecules with greater physical complexity due to their chemical modifications” (see, e.g., Jiang, abstract).
Regarding claim 70 pertaining to purifying terpenoids from cell culture, Jiang teaches purification of terpenoids (see, e.g., Jiang, “Larger scale silica chromatography purification”, pg. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to purify terpenoids, as taught by Jiang, from modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz-Ajikumar’s KDG. One would have been motivated to do so because Jiang teaches that terpenoids “have garnered much attention because of their important physiological roles (i.e. hormones, aliphatic membrane anchors, maintaining membrane structure), ecological roles” (see, e.g., Jiang, Introduction, pg. 1) and can be used as “flavors, fragrances, high grade lubricant, biofuels, agricultural chemicals and medicines” (see, e.g., Jiang, abstract). Moreover, Jiang teaches that terpenoids can be produced from IPPs (see, e.g., Jiang, Introduction, pg. 1), and modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz-Ajikumar teaches that KDG can be used to produce IPPs. Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz-Ajikumar and Jiang, it would have been obvious to purify terpenoids from the cell culture because terpenoids can be produced from KDG with IPP as the intermediate. One would have been motivated to do so because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz-Ajikumar and Jiang both teach metabolic pathways that can utilize KDG.
Claims 107-109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz as applied to claims 54, 110, and 112-114 above, and further in view of Kambourakis (US 2017/0106414; Date of Publication: April 17, 2014 –previously cited).
The teachings of Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz, herein referred to as modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz, are discussed above as it pertains to production of KDG in cell culture via expression of gluconate dehydratase.
However, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz does not teach: wherein the recombinant cell comprises a gene encoding a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme having at least 99% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 107); or wherein the recombinant cell comprises a gene encoding a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme having at least 98% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 108); or wherein the recombinant cell comprises a gene encoding a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme having at least 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 109).
Kambourakis’ general disclosure relates to “ methods for producing a product of one or more enzymatic pathways” wherein “the methods also involve the use of engineered enzymes that perform reactions with high specificity and efficiency. Additional products that can be produce include metabolic products such as, but not limited to, guluronic acid, L-iduronic acid, idaric acid, glucaric acid. Any of the products can be produced using glucose as a substrate or using any intermediate in any of the methods or pathways of the invention” (see, e.g., Kambourakis, abstract). Moreover, Kambourakis discloses the use of gluconate dehydratase for dehydration of gluconic acid to dehydrogluconic acid (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0061]).
Regarding claim 108 pertaining to the gluconate dehydratase enzyme, Kambourakis teaches a gluconate dehydrogenase corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 35 that has 98.9% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0089] & Office Action Appendix).
Regarding claims 107 and 109 pertaining to the gluconate dehydratase enzyme, Kambourakis teaches a gluconate dehydrogenase corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 35 that has 98.9% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0089] & Office Action Appendix). The 98.9% sequence identity of Kamboruakis’ SEQ ID NO: 35 is approaching the instantly claimed sequence identity of 99% and 100%; therefore, absent any criticality of the claimed sequence identity, the instantly claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of Kambourakis (see, e.g., MPEP 2144.05)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s recombinant cell expressing a heterologous gluconate dehydratase, wherein the gluconate dehydratase corresponds to Kambourakis’ gluconate dehydratase encoded by SEQ ID NO: 35. One would have been motivated to do so because Kambourakis teaches recombinantly expressing gluconate dehydratase in E. coli cells (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0123]), in order to produce 3-dehydro-gluconic acid (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0087]). Moreover, modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz teaches the production of KDG from glucose and gluconate via gluconate dehydrogenase and glucose dehydrogenase (see, e.g., Miyake, [0066], [0067], Example 2) (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the downstream product (i.e., KDG) produced from modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz’s methods can be used to produce various chemicals and derivatives, such as 3-dehydro-gluconic acid, as taught by Kambourakis (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0087]). One would have expected success because modified-Miyake-Sutter-Liang-Bausch-Diaz and Kambourakis both teach recombinantly expressing a heterologous gluconate dehydrogenase.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Miyake, Sutter, Liang, Bausch, and Diaz do not teach accumulation of KDG by recombinant E. coli during culturing (remarks, page 7), this argument is not persuasive because, as discussed above, accumulation of KDG by recombinant E. coli during culturing is considered inherent. Miyake teaches in Examples 6-8 culturing an Escherichia coli host cell transformed with a gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter xylosoxidans in a LB liquid medium containing 50 µg/mL of ampicillin at 37oC overnight (see, e.g., Miyake, Examples 6-8, [0076]-[0081]). Moreover, Miyake teaches that the encoded gluconate dehydratase enzyme (see, e.g., Miyake, SEQ ID NO: 2) has 95.9% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, as taught in the instant application (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix). Miyake teaches that expression of gluconate dehydratase results in expression of KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, [0033]); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily assume that the production of KDG would occur during the culturing process. Moreover, it would be inherent that expression of the heterologous gluconate dehydratase in the E. coli cell would result in production and accumulation of KDG during the culturing process. Miyake teaches the same method of producing KDG through expression of a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme with at least 95% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1; therefore, this would inherently lead to production and accumulation of KDG by the E. coli cell during processing. Independent claim 54 recites that expression of a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 would result in production and accumulation of KDG during said culturing, therefore, production and accumulation of KDG during the culturing process would be inherent during expression of a heterologous gluconate dehydratase enzyme having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, which is also what Miyake teaches.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Miyake does not teach production of KDG during culturing (remarks, page 8), this argument is not persuasive because Miyake teaches “the inventors successfully produced a 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acid efficiently through preparing DNA containing the base sequence shown in SEQ ID No: 1 and a cell transformed with a plasmid containing a DNA fragment having the base sequence, preparing the gluconate dehydratase so as to be active, and reacting the corresponding aldonic acid with the transformed cell or processed product from the transformed cell. Thus, the inventors have accomplished the present invention” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0015]). Therefore, the transformed cell expressing the gluconate dehydratase can react with aldonic acid to produce KDG, which can occur during cell culturing. Moreover, Miyake teaches “The present invention is also directed to a process for converting an aldonic acid into a corresponding 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acid. The process includes the step of converting the aldonic acid into the 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acid in a water-based medium with one selected from the group consisting of the gluconate dehydratase, the transformed cell, and processed products from the gluconate dehydratase and the transformed cell” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0026]). The “water-based medium” can be cell culture medium comprising the transformed cell for production of KDG. Furthermore, Miyake teaches “In the process for preparing a 2-keto-3-deoxyaldonic acid, the gluconate dehydratase may be in a form of culture broth containing bacterial cells having gluconate dehydratase activity, of transformed cell prepared from the culture broth by centrifugation and collection, or of processed product from the transformed cell” (see, e.g., Miyake, [0042]). Therefore, there are multiple embodiments taught by Miyake in which KDG is produced directly from transformed bacterial cells expressing gluconate dehydratase. Moreover, recombinant protein expression, followed by protein isolation and purification, is routine in the art, as evidenced by Wingfield; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the methods of Miyake and Wingfield can be applied to isolating and purifying KDG from cell culture. Furthermore, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Miyake was used to teach production of a transformed host cell expressing gluconate dehydratase, while other reference(s), such as Wingfield and Sutter, were cited in order to teach that in the presence of a substrate, such as gluconate, the transformed host cell would be able to produce a recombinant KDG protein during cell culture.
Regarding Applicant’s argument pertaining to the teachings of Sutter (remarks, page 9), this argument is not persuasive because Sutter was used as prior art to teach that gluconate is converted to KDG via gluconate dehydratase (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pg. 2251). Based on the teachings of Miyake and Sutter, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood to add gluconate to a cell culture, wherein the recombinant cell is expressing gluconate dehydratase, in order to produce KDG (see, e.g., Sutter, Figure 1, pg. 2252). Miyake teaches production of a transformed E. coli host cell expressing gluconate dehydratase (see, e.g., Miyake, [0015]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add gluconate as a substrate for production of KDG to the transformed host cell during culturing. Moreover, Applicant’s argument that Miyake and Sutter don’t teach any cell expressing any gluconate dehydratase being cultured at any temperature under any condition would result in potential written description and enablement issues, as Applicant does not show possession of all cells, all gluconate dehydratases, all temperatures and all conditions for culturing, and there is undue experimentation for factors as well.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the additional genetic modifications recited in independent claim 54 (remarks, page 10), this argument is not persuasive because Miyake teaches the production of a transformed E. coli host cell expressing gluconate dehydratase for production of KDG (see, e.g., Miyake, [0015]). Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the teachings of Wingfield that one would be able to culture Miyake’s transformed cell for recombinant protein production (i.e., production of KDG). Again, Applicant is arguing against references individually, when the rejection is based on a combination of references.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 61-62 (remarks, page 11), Miyake was not relied upon in these claims to teach purification of KDG from cells in the above presented rejection following Applicant’s amendments to these claims. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 61-62 are moot,
Regarding Applicant’s argument pertaining to the teachings of Pouyssegur (remarks, page 12), this argument is not persuasive because Pouyssegur teaches that glycerol minimal medium, and other mediums containing glycerol, were used to grow bacterial strains that generate KDG (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Methods, “Genetic techniques”, pg. 642). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use glycerol in the growth medium because it has been shown to be effective in growing bacterial strains that produce KDG. Moreover, in regards to elimination of KDG phosphorylation, Pouyssegur teaches that the KDG kinaseless mutant (kdgK) has loss of kinase activity and “large amounts of KDG were excreted in the medium when these mutants were grown on glycerol supplemented with either glucuronate or galacturonate” (see, e.g., Pouyssegur, Results, pg. 643). Moreover, Sutter teaches “KDG is phosphorylated by KDG kinase (KDGK) to generate 2-keto-3-deoxy-6-phosphogluconate (KDPG), which is cleaved to pyruvate and glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate (GAP) by a bifunctional KDG/KDPG aldolase (KDPGA) that catalyzes the cleavage of both KDG and KDPG (see, e.g., Sutter, Introduction, pgs. 2251-2252). Furthermore, Sutter teaches a semiphosphorylative pathway, wherein glucose and gluconate can be utilized to produce KDG, and wherein KDG is phosphorylated to KDPG by KdgK (see, e.g., Sutter, Figure 1, pg. 2252). Therefore, based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to eliminate the phosphorylation of KDG by deletion of the kdgK gene because this would inhibit phosphorylation of KDG to KDPG which would result in increased production of KDG though elimination of downstream processes within the cell. Moreover, there would be a decrease in cellular reactions that consume KDG since the KDG kinase would be deleted; therefore, there would be no production of KDGK from KDG.
Regarding Applicant’s argument pertaining to the teachings of Ajikumar (remarks, pages 13-14), this argument is not persuasive because Ajikumar teaches that increasing IPP and DMAPP from KDG can enhance terpenoid production (see, e.g., Ajikumar, [0020], [0049]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase IPP and DMAPP in order to increase downstream product production, such as terpenoid production.
Regarding Applicant’s argument pertaining to the teachings of Kambourakis (remarks, pages 14-15), this argument is not persuasive because, as discussed above, Kambourakis was not used to teach production of KDG during culturing. Moreover, Applicant again is arguing against references individually when the rejections are based on combinations of references. Kambourakis was used to teach SEQ ID NO: 35 which has 98.9% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0089] & Office Action Appendix). One would have been motivated to do so because Kambourakis teaches recombinantly expressing gluconate dehydratase in E. coli cells (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0123]), which results in production of KDG, as taught by Miyake (see, e.g., Miyake, [0015]). Therefore, Kambourakis successfully teaches transformation of an E. coli host cell with a gene expressing gluconate dehydratase from Achromobacter, which is also what Miyake teaches. Moreover, Kambourakis teaches SEQ ID NO: 35 which has 98.9% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Kambourakis, [0089] & Office Action Appendix). As it pertains to claims 107 and 109, MPEP 2144.05(I) states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Applicant does not provide evidence that 0.1% and 1.1% amino acid difference in instant SEQ ID NO: 1 will result in differences in chemical structure. Moreover, Applicant has not even provided evidence of what regions are necessary for the activity (i.e., core regions) of gluconate dehydratase in SEQ ID NO: 1 to compare to Kambourakis’ SEQ ID NO: 35 to determine if there is a difference in activity level. Applicant has not shown that 99% and 100% sequence identity of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 is critical to the instantly claimed invention. Absent any teachings and criticality concerning sequence similarity by Applicant, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and Kambourakis’ SEQ ID NO: 35 to have the same properties since there is only a 1.1% difference in sequence similarity.
Conclusion
Claims 54, 56-58, 61-62, 65-70, and 107-114 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/NATALIE IANNUZO/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653