DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response, filed 23 June 2026, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Any reference to the previous Office action refers to the Office action mailed 23 Dec. 2025 Furthermore, references to Applicant’s specification refer to the published version of the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16, 19, 27-28, and 30 are cancelled.
Claims 17-18, 20-26, 29, and 31 are pending.
Claims 17-18, 20-26, 29, and 31 are rejected.
Claim 29 is objected to.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/EP2020/066150 filed 10 June 2020, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application, EP19180212.3 filed 14 June 2019. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Accordingly, the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 14 June 2019.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 20 in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in view of claim amendments received 23 June 2026.
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities. This objection is newly recited and necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 29 recites “…calculating said temperatures in the body…”, which should be indented on the same level as the calculating, obtaining, receiving, and controlling steps.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 29 recites “…wherein the processor is adapted for: calculating…; obtaining…; receiving…; calculating….; and controlling…”. Applicant’s specification at para. [0046] discloses a processor can be adapted for calculating (e.g. configured to calculate), be adapted for obtaining (e.g. configured to obtain). Therefore, the term adapted for will be interpreted to mean the processor is programmed to perform the recited functions.
Claim 22 recites “…at least one value representative of temperature of surroundings of the body…for use in calculations of radiative heat transport”. The italicized portion is interpreted to recite an intended use of the value representative of temperature of surroundings, but the temperature is not required to be used to calculate radiative heat transport within the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 24 recites “…wherein calculating any of the values…takes a surface area into account, said surface area being obtained or calculated from the at least one property of the body received as input”. The limitation regarding how the surface was obtained or calculated is interpreted to define the process in which the surface area was previously calculated, but the claim does not require an active step of calculating the surface area within the metes and bounds of the claims. See MPEP 2113 I. regarding product by process limitations.
Claim Interpretation-35 USC § 112(f)
This interpretation is previously recited:
The claim limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are as follows:
“controllable heating and/or cooling means for bringing a core body temperature of said animal or human body to a predetermined target temperature” in claim 29.
Applicant’s specification at para. [0064]-[0065] discloses the heating and/or cooling means can include an enclosure, such as a cabinet, for containing the body with a medium to transfer heat or cooling, a heated and/or cooled shelf, an extracorporeal blood circulation device. Applicant’s specification at para. [0152]-[0154] further discloses such heating or cooling elements can include a fan for blowing heated or cooled air, ohmic heater elements, and/or peltier elements. Therefore, the limitation will be interpreted as such, including equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of this claim received 23 June 2026.
The rejection of claims 17-18, 20-25, and 29 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments received 23 June 2026.
The rejection of claim 31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments received 23 June 2026 and Applicant’s arguments at pg. 10, para. 2 regarding Qcond.E.i,.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. This rejection is previously recited.
Claim 26 is indefinite for recitation of “The method of claim 29, A method comprising:…providing the at least one property of the body as input into a computer-implemented method in accordance with claim 16….”. First, given the claim recites both “The method of claim 29” and then “A method comprising”, it is unclear if claim 26 is intended to be a dependent claim of the system of claim 29, or if this is intended to be an independent method claim. Furthermore, given claim 16 is cancelled, the metes and bounds of “a computer-implemented method in accordance with claim 16” are not clear. If Applicant intends for this claim to refer to “The system of claim 29”, this raises further issues regarding whether claim is intending to recite an additional method step, or intends to further limit some programming or part of the system or device to be configured to perform the measuring, providing, and performing, particularly given “measuring” appears to refer to a method. Clarification is requested.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because they do not address the outstanding 112(b) rejection to claim 26 set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of this claim received 23 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (2008) in view of Ferreira (2009), Reifman (2017), and Vaity (2015) in the previous Office action has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of this claim received 23 June 2026.
Claims 17-18, 21-26, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (2008) in view of Ferreira (2009), Reifman (2017), and Vaity (2015). This rejection is previously recited.
Cited references:
Xiang et al., Comprehensive evaluation on the heating capacities of four typical whole body hyperthermia strategies via compartmental model, 2009, International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer, 51, pg. 5486-5496; cited in IDS filed 24 Nov. 2021 (previously cited);
Ferreira et al., A transient three-dimensional heat transfer model of the human body, 2009, International Communications in Heat and Mass Transfer, 36, pg. 718-724 (Previously cited);
Reifman, US 2019/0192009 A1, effectively filed 18 Aug. 2017 (previously cited); and
Vaity et al., Cooling techniques for targeted temperature management post-cardiac arrest, 2015, Critical Care, 19:103, pg. 2-6 (previously cited).
Regarding independent claim 29, Xiang discloses a method for modeling temperature in a human body (Abstract), which comprises the following steps.
Xiang discloses receiving properties of a body, including volumes of muscle, fat, and skin in the body (Table 1). While Xiang does not explicitly disclose the property was obtained by measurements of the body, the process in which the at least one property was previously obtained is a product by process limitation that is not required within the metes and bounds of the claim. See MPEP 2213 I. Because the volumes of muscle, fat, and skin are properties of the body, they are the same product as the at least one property of the claim, even if determined by another method.
Xiang discloses determining (i.e. calculating) a thermal conduction between tissue layers (i.e. at least one body-specific parameter) based on the properties of the body (e.g. the volumes), wherein the thermal conduction is a parameter of a compartment model of heat transfer in a person (i.e. a bioheat model) (Figure 3, e.g. Qcond; pg. 5488, col. 2, para. 1 to pg. 5490, col. 1, para. 3 to col. 2, para. 1, e.g. heat conductance between tissue layers).
Xiang discloses obtaining a heat loss through convection from the patent’s skin to the air, including the temperature of the air in addition to a radiant heat exchange based on the surrounding temperature (i.e. at least one environment-specific parameter that is indicative of at least one thermal property of the environment and/or a property of thermal exchange between the body and environment) (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 2-3). Xiang further discloses the surrounding temperature can be from a controllable environment (Fig. 9; pg. 5493, col. 2, para. 2, e.g. different methods of hyperthermia therapy; FIG. 7, e.g. 100 W heat vs 200 W heat input).
Xiang discloses calculating temperatures over time in the body by solving the compartment model (Figure 6-8, e.g. temperature of tissues over time; pg. 5491, col. 2, para. 2 to pg. 5492, col. 2, para. 1, e.g. 49 energy balance equations are solved to determine temperature), wherein solving the model takes into account the heat conduction between tissue types (i.e. the body-specific parameter) and the heat exchange between the person and the environment (i.e. the environment-specific parameter) (Figure 3; Figure 4).
Xiang discloses the compartment model (i.e. the bioheat model) comprises 49 energy balance equations (pg. 5491, col. 2, para. 2), wherein the equations are representative of an equivalent thermal circuit (Fig. 2; Fig. 4) for modeling heat between tissue types within the body (Fig. 3) and between the body and environment (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 2, e.g. section 2.5).
Xiang further discloses the thermal circuit comprises a blood compartment and a plurality of anatomical segments, including compartments for a leg (i.e. a lower extremity segment), an arm segment (i.e. an upper extremity segment), abdomen and thorax segments (i.e. at least a trunk segment), and a head segment (Fig. 2, e.g. blood compartment, and compartments for leg, foot, hand, arm, head, neck, thorax, etc.).
Xiang discloses each anatomical segment comprises a plurality of interior compartments including core, muscle, fat, and skin (Table 1; Figure 3; pg. 5487, col. 2, para. 1; Fig. 11).
Xiang further discloses an environment for controlling the temperature of a person (Fig. 1, e.g. see heat exchanger, pump and pipe; pg. 5487, col. 1, para. 3 to col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding independent claims 29, and dependent claim 25-26, Xiang does not disclose the following:
First, regarding claim 29, Xiang does not explicitly disclose a device or computer-readable medium for performing the predicting, including an input for receiving the at least one property of the body and a processor. However, Xiang does disclose the simulations are performed with Matlab software (pg. 5491, col. 2, para. 2), which would require a suitable computer with an input, processor, and computer readable medium for running the software. Furthermore, the courts have held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Further regarding claims 25 and 29, while Xiang discloses the abdomen compartment and thorax compartment each comprise a core compartment representing major internal organs in the compartment (i.e. a plurality of organ compartments representative of at least two internal organs) (pg. 5487, col. 2, para. 1, e.g. basal blood flow rate for major organs collected for compartment model; Fig. 2), Xiang does not disclose at least one interior compartment (e.g. the core) of the trunk segment specifically includes a plurality of organ compartments of at least two internal organs that are connected in parallel in the equivalent thermal circuit, as recited in claim 29. Xiang further does not disclose the trunk segment also comprises a remainder compartment representative of the interior part of the trunk segment connected in parallel with the organ compartments, as recited in claim 25.
However, Ferreira discloses a heat transfer model of the human body, which similarly includes various compartments (i.e. anatomical segments) of the body, including a head, neck, trunk, abdomen, etc. (Abstract; Fig. 3, e.g. trunk section; Fig. 5, e.g. see different body compartments; pg. 723, col. 2, para. 4)), and models the tissues of skin, fat, muscle, bone, brain, viscera, lung, and heart (pg. 718, col. 2, para. 2; Table 2, e.g. tissue model parameters; Fig. 5, e.g. tissue compartments). Ferreria discloses the trunk compartment (i.e. trunk segment) includes tissue for skin, fat, and muscle (Fig. 3, e.g. see 3 outer rings), in addition to compartments for both the lung and heart tissue (i.e. at least two internal organs) and viscera (i.e. remainder) (Fig. 3; pg. 718, col. 2, para. 3). Ferreria further discloses the heart, lung, and viscera tissue are connected in parallel (FIG. 5, e.g. blood flows separately through each tissue of the trunk segment from arterial to venous reservoir; pg. 721, col. 1, para. 2 to col. 2, para. 1). Ferreira further discloses the lung, heart, and viscera were considered because the lungs blood flow is approximately equal to the cardiac output, the heart has a high metabolic heat generation, and the viscera also has high metabolic heat generation and blood flow (pg. 718, col. 2, para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Xiang to have included a plurality of organ compartments and a remainer compartment connected in parallel in the interior compartment of the trunk segment, as shown by Ferreira above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Xiang and Ferreria in order to account for tissues with high blood flow and high metabolic heat generation in the model, as shown by Ferreria (pg. 718, col. 2, para. 3), thus providing better temperature predictions. This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given both Xiang and Ferreria model heat transfer in a human body divided into anatomical segments representing different tissue compartments, and thus the specific organ tissues of Ferreira are applicable to the model of Xiang.
Further regarding claims 26 and 29, Xiang in view of Ferreira do not disclose a plurality of temperature sensors for measuring temperatures on or in the body, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving sensor data from the plurality of temperature sensors, and calculating the temperatures in the body by taking into account the sensor data while numerically solving the model, as recited in claim 29. Xiang in view of Ferreira further do not disclose measuring at least one property of a human or animal body, providing the property as an input into the model, and performing model, as recited in claim 26.
However, Reifman discloses a method and system for real-time estimating of human core body temperature using non-invasive measurements (Abstract), which comprises a plurality of sensors for receiving physiological data, including skin temperature and heart rate data (e.g. a property of a body) ([0003]; [0023]) and a processor that receives the measured physiological data ([0037]; FIG. 6). Reifman further discloses the physiological data is used in a model to generate an estimated body core temperature, and modifies parameters of the model ([0003]; [0022]; Fig. 4), which demonstrates the prediction of core temperature takes into account the sensor data (e.g. skin temperature). Reifman further discloses the method and system allows for real-time estimation of human core body temperature ([0002]), and automatically accounts for individual-specific variations in thermoregulatory responses due to acclimation and reactions to exogenous factors ([0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Xiang in view of Ferreira to have used a plurality of temperature sensors to have measured skin temperature and heart rate data of the body, received the sensor data from the sensors, and used the sensor and property data in calculating the body temperatures as shown by Reifman, discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Xiang in view of Ferreira with Reifman in order to optimize parameters of the model and account for individual variations in heat acclimation, thus improving temperature predictions, and to allow for real-time estimation of body temperature as shown by Reifman ([0002]-[0003]; [0022]). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given Xiang does disclose using skin temperature data from the literature to validate the model and compare predicted temperatures to known literature values (pg. 5492, col. 2, para. 1; Fig. 5), such that the method of using actual measured skin temperatures to optimize the model of Reifman is applicable to Xiang.
Last regarding claim 29, Xiang in view of Ferreira and Riefman do not disclose the processor is adapted to control the heating and/or cooling means in response to the calculated temperatures in the body.
However, Vaity discloses cooling techniques for targeted temperature management (Abstract; ; pg. 1, col. 1, para. 1), and discloses conventional cooling methods including surface cooling systems (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 1), and intravascular cooling systems available on the market, which can be controlled to cool or warm the body through cool or warm saline and have computerized temperature control with auto-feedback mechanisms (pg. 3, col. 2, para. 1-4). Vaity further discloses an advantage to surface cooling systems is most have computerized auto-feedback mechanisms that allows user to set target temperatures and the system modifies the water temperature using feedback from the patient’s skin and core temperature sensors, allowing for rapid initiation of treatment (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Xiang in view of Ferreira and Riefman to have used the calculated temperatures to control the heating and/or cooling surface to achieve a target temperature in a subject, as shown by Vaity above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated combine the methods of Xiang in view of Ferreira and Riefman with Vaity to have allowed for rapid initiation of treatment, as shown by Vaity (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 2). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given Xiang discloses a feedback loop (Fig. 4) with predicting body temperature during hyperthermia treatment, such that the surface system of Vaity is applicable to the calculated temperatures of Xiang.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Regarding the dependent claims:
Regarding claim 17, Xiang further discloses obtaining a plurality of temperature measurements, including a neutral ambient air temperature (pg. 5491, col. 2, para. 2) and during a whole body hyperthermia session representing different temperatures (Fig. 6-8, e.g. different W energy, or heat, inputs for hyperthermia session), wherein the local temperature is input into the model (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Xiang further discloses adjusting the heat being applied to the subject (i.e. the environmental parameter) to compare different whole body hyperthermia methods in determining the most efficient method to elevate a patient’s body temperature (i.e. optimize a temperature toward a target temperature) (FIG. 9; pg. 5493, col. 2, para. 2 to pg. 5494, col. 2, para. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Xiang discloses determining the body-specific property comprises determining a thermal conduction between tissue layers (i.e. compartments of the model) based on the properties of the body (e.g. the volumes) (Figure 3, e.g. Qcond; pg. 5488, col. 2, para. 1 to pg. 5490, col. 1, para. 3 to col. 2, para. 1, e.g. heat conductance between tissue layers).
Regarding claim 22¸ Xiang further discloses determining a convection parameter, hair and temperature of an air to which the body is exposed, in addition to a value representative of temperature of surroundings of the body in the environments (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 2 section 2.5, e.g. heat loss through convention as function of air temperature). Xiang further discloses determining amounts of heat input to the subject from a controllable environment (FIG. 6-9; pg. 5493, col. 2, para. 2 through pg. 5494 regarding comparison of heating strategies).
Regarding claim 23¸ Xiang further discloses calculating a rate of convection between the patient’s body’s surface (i.e. the skin, or exterior compartment) and the environment using the convection parameter, hair (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 2, e.g. QConv). Xiang also determines a rate of conductive heat exchange for the skin based on the surrounding temperature (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 3, e.g. Qradi).
Regarding claim 24, Xiang further discloses the calculations of the rate of convention and rate of heat exchange each take into account the area of body surface, A (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 2-3).
Regarding claim 31, Xiang discloses the plurality of equations representing the anatomical segments with index i at equations (1)-(10) (pg. 5488, col. 1, para. 1 to pg. 4890, col. 2, para. 3), comprising the following:
Xiang discloses the equation for the blood compartment at eqn. (5) (pg. 5490, col. 1, para. 1, eqn (5)). Xiang discloses a term p(i,j)*V(i,j)w(I,j)+pb*cb(T(i,j) – Tb) called Qblood (see eqn (5) and also eqn (9)) that is equal to the thermal resistance term Rb(Ti,j – Tb) in the claims, as evidenced by Applicant’s own specification at para. [0074]. Xiang additionally includes a Qres term in the equation for the blood compartment, but notes that this term applies only to the thorax core (pg. 5490, col. 1, para. 1); the equation of (5) is equal to the equation of the claims without this Qres term, and thus a blood compartment other than for the thorax core in Xiang discloses the equation for the blood compartment in the claims.
Xiang discloses the equation for each intermediate compartment of muscle and fat (pg. 4890, col. 2, para. 1-2, eqn(2)-(3)). Again, it is noted that Qblood in the equation is equal to the term Rb(Ti,j – Tb) in the claims.
Xiang discloses the equation for the skin (i.e. exterior compartment) (pg. 5490, col. 1, para. 1, eqn. 4). The term Qevap in eqn. 4 of Xiang is considered to read on Qocnd,E,I in the claim, and as discussed above, Qblood is equal to the term Rb(Ti,j – Tb) in the claim.
Xiang discloses the equation for each core compartment (i.e. interior compartment) (pg. 4890, col. 2, para. 2, eqn (1)). Again, it is noted that Qblood in the equation is equal to the term Rb(Ti,j – Tb) in the claims. In addition, “…” means the equation can include additional terms, such as Qresp in eqn (1) of Xiang.
Xiang discloses the definitions of the terms (pg. 5487, Nomenclature box; pg. 5490, col. 1, para. 1 to col. 2, para. 5; Table 2).
Xiang discloses the at least one environmental-specific parameter includes a convection parameter, hair and temperature of an air to which the body is exposed, in addition to a value representative of temperature of surroundings of the body in the environments (pg. 5490, col. 2, para. 2 section 2.5, e.g. heat loss through convention as function of air temperature).
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Ferreira, Reifman, and Vaity as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Grady (2016). This rejection is previously recited.
Cited reference: Grady et al. US 2016/0287338 A1 (previously recited)
Regarding claim 20¸ Xiang in view of Ferreira, Reifman, and Vaity disclose the system of claim 29, as applied above. Further regarding claim 20, Xiang further discloses the at least one trunk segment includes both a thorax and abdomen compartment, each which include a core compartment representing internal organs (Fig. 2; pg. 5487, col. 2, para. 1). Xiang in view of Ferreira make obvious a thoracic compartment comprising a plurality of internal organs (e.g. heart and lung) connected in parallel, as applied to claim 29 above.
Further regarding claim 20¸ Xiang in view of Ferreira do not disclose the plurality of organ compartments are interior compartments of the abdomen segment.
However, Grady discloses a method for providing personalized estimates of bioheat transfer (Abstract), and discloses receiving a patient-specific model of a patient’s anatomy (Abstract), including a heat-transfer model of the whole body including multiple organs ([00037]; [0062]; [0071]). Grady discloses modeling bioheat in an individual’s entire body and in isolated organs ([0004]; [0022]), including deep organs known to source heat, such as the liver ([0038]), and additionally the kidney (e.g. organs of the abdomen) ([0037]; [0066]; [0071], e.g. whole body including multiple organs). Grady discloses estimating heat content in the target tissues using the model ([0067]), and further discloses the model can be extracted from a medical imaging scan ([0037] and heat transfer properties can be acquired from imaging sources ([0043]; [0062]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Xiang in view of Ferreira, as applied to claim 16 above, to have included organ compartments for the liver and kidney in the bioheat model, as shown by Grady, discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Xiang in view of Ferreira with Grady, in order to account for deep organs known to source heat and be able to estimate heat content in particular organs, as shown by Grady ([0038]; [0066]-[0067]). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given each of Xiang and Ferreira disclose a whole body model with compartments having interior compartments for different tissue types, such that the additional tissue types of Grady would be applicable to the models of Xiang and Ferreira, and furthermore, given Grady explains the model can be extracted from a medical imaging scan ([0037] and heat transfer properties can be acquired from imaging sources ([0043]; [0062]).
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks the cited references do not disclose “controlling a target temperature in a human or animal body when said body is in a controllable environment” (Applicant’s remarks at pg. 10, para. 6).
This argument is not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The paragraphs in Applicant’s remarks pg. 10, para. 6 correspond to Xiang not disclosing the specifically recited compartments, which Ferreira is relied upon for, but the arguments do not pertain to the step of “controlling a target temperature…”. This limitation is made obvious by Vaity for the reasons applied in the above rejection.
Applicant remarks that Ferreria has been misinterpreted in the Office action, and the characterization of Fig. 3 of Ferreira as suggesting the “plurality of organ compartments representative of at least two internal organs connected in parallel in the equivalent thermal circuit” is inaccurate because the three “sections” shown in FIG. 3 of Ferriera are not organ compartments, but are sections that contain a variety of different tissues belonging to both organs and other tissues in the trunk (Applicant’s remarks at pg. 10, para. 7 to pg. 11, para. 2). Applicant remarks Ferreira discloses a heat transfer model that represents different body segments such as “neck, trunk, arms, forearms, hands, thighs, legs, and feet” and considers 8 types of tissues including “skin, fat, muscle, bone, viscera, lung, heart, and brain” rather than compartments representing organs connected in parallel (Applicant’s remarks pg. 11, para. 3).
This argument is not persuasive. The above argument is the same presented in Applicant’s remarks filed 28 Nov. 2025, and is not persuasive for the same reasons discussed at para. [105]-[0110] of the previous Office action, which is reincorporated below for Applicant’s convenience.
Claim 29 also recites that each anatomical segment comprises multiple compartments, such as an interior compartment, and an interior compartment contains at least two organ compartments. Therefore, like in Ferreira, each anatomical segment contains a variety of tissues.
Furthermore, it is not persuasive that that the different layers (i.e. the tissues) of the sections of the anatomical segments (e.g. neck, trunk, arms, etc.) are not compartments as alleged by Applicant. Applicant’s own specification at para. [0010] discusses Xiang, and states “The four concentric layers of these cylinders…act as compartments of the model, which have variables and properties associated therewith”. Fig. 2 of Xiang demonstrating the different compartment layers is provided below for convenience. Applicant’s specification at para. [0072] refers to “a ‘compartment’, which models a specific part of the body’s anatomy”.
The various “sections” of Xiang demonstrating different concentric layers of tissue (e.g. bone, skin, fat, muscle) are referred to as compartments in Applicant’s own specification, and fall within the explanation of a compartment provided by Applicant’s specification at [0072], given each tissue “models a specific part of the body’s anatomy”. Applicant also does not appear to contest that Xiang does disclose the muscle, fat, skin, and core compartments of claim 29.
For comparison, the various tissue layers of Ferreira depicted in Fig. 3, as well as a representation of the system model in Fig. 5 are provided below:
Ferreira includes concentric layers that include specific organs (Fig. 3 on left), instead of relying on a simple “core” compartment as in Xiang (see FIG. 2 of Xiang above), and also depicts a tissue as its own compartment receiving blood flow from the arterial reservoir (see Fig. 5 on the right). It is not persuasive, nor consistent with Applicant’s specification considering the concentric layers of Xiang compartments, that the concentric layers (i.e. organs) of Ferreira are not compartments. Furthermore, given the layers in Ferreira do model a specific organ (e.g. lung, heat, etc.) (also see Table 2 defining specific tissue parameters), these are considered “compartments” in light of Applicant’s explanation of a compartment. Ferreira also models each tissue compartment as receiving blood from the arterial reserve and back into the venous reserve, demonstrating the parallel connectivity (i.e. blood does not flow in series from one tissue/organ to another).
Applicant remarks that the Examiner’s reply to this argument in item [104] on page 23 of the Office action is noted, but if Ferreira cannot be relied upon for teaching the “plurality of organ compartments representative of at least two internal organs connected in parallel….”, then none of the references suggest this feature (Applicant’s remarks at pg. 11, para. 4).
This argument is not persuasive. Para. [104] of the previous Office action did not include Examiner’s response. It is assumed Applicant intended to refer to para. [105] of the previous Office action. In para. [105] of the previous Office action, it was not stated that Ferreira is not relied upon for teaching “plurality of organ compartments representative of at least two internal organs connected in parallel….”, and instead stated that Ferreira is not relied upon for a bioheat model taking into account the body-specific parameter, sensor data, and environment-specific parameters. Ferreria does teach the plurality of organ compartments for the reasons discussed above. It is further noted that Applicant did not address the reply to this argument on [106]-[110] of the previous Office action, included above, on why Ferreira discloses the plurality of organ compartments.
Applicant remarks Reifman or Vaity do not make up the deficiencies of Xiang or Ferreira, and therefore, the combination of Xiang, Ferreira, Reifman, and Vaity would not have resulted in the claimed invention, and therefore the rejection should be withdrawn (Applicant’s arguments at pg. 11, para. 5 to pg. 12, para. 2).
This argument is not persuasive for the reasons discussed above regarding Xiang and Ferreira.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Claims 17-18, 20-26, 29, and 31 are patent eligible for the reasons set forth in the Office action mailed 23 Dec. 2025.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685