Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, line 2, the limitation of “a fluid container’ received in the bay is interpreted as reading on the reaction solution storage chamber 210 of Chung et al.
In claim 1, lines 5-6 the limitation of “a fluid container” from which a pump in fluid connectivity with the manifold configured to flow at least one fluid from into the at least one needle and into the manifold is interpreted as reading on the chamber of the pump 110 of Chung et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0158761 to Chung et al.
Chung et al. discloses a system for loading at least one fluid. In the Abstract, Chung et al. teaches: “Provided is a microfluidic control apparatus that includes at least one control means and a microfluidic control chip. When the microfluidic control chip is loaded to the control means, a needle provided on the control means is inserted into a reaction solution storage chamber of the microfluidic control chip.”
In [0012] Chung et al. teaches: “The microfluidic control chip provides a working fluid through the needle to the reaction solution storage chamber, and a reaction solution in the reaction solution storage chamber moves to the branch microchannel to control the flow of the microfluid.”
In [0065] Chung et al. teaches that: “One side of the fixture 140 may be provided with a loading part (not shown) that is extended and bent, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part. Referring to FIG. 2, one side of the fixture 140 is provided with a loading part that is extended and bent downward, and then, bent again and extended in parallel to the lower surface of the microfluidic control chip 200, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part.”
This loading part is interpreted as reading on applicant’ claimed bay.
In Chung et al. the microfluidic control chip 200 includes at least one reaction solution storage chamber 210. The control means 110 in Chung et al. includes a tube 130 through which a working fluid 120 flows, a needle 160 connected to a first end of the tube and penetrating the sealing tape 230, a pump 11O connected to a second end of the tube 130 to pump the working fluid 120, a sealing elastic plate 150 being in contact with the sealing tape 230 to firmly fix the needle 160.
The structure in Chung et al. between the pump and tube 130 forms a manifold in fluid connectivity with at least one needle.
In Chung et al. fluidic connectivity is established between the at least one fluid and the at least one needle by at least one of (i) raising the fluid container and (ii) lowering the manifold for purposes of causing the needle 160 to penetrate the sealing tape 230 when applying a force to the sealing tape 230 in a predetermined direction. [0061]
As interpreted above the limitation of “a fluid container’ received in the bay in claim 1, line 2 is reads on the reaction solution storage chamber 210 of Chung et al.
Further as interpreted above, the recitation of “a fluid container” from which a pump in fluid connectivity with the manifold configured to flow at least one fluid from into the at least one needle and into the manifold recited in claim 1, lines 5-6 the reads on the chamber of the pump 110 of Chung et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Chung et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Therefore, Chung et al. anticipates claim 1.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above, above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 4.
Claim 4 recites that the at least one fluid comprises at least one reagent.
The type of fluid recited in claim 4 does not incorporate any structural limitations to the claimed system for loading at least one fluid. As such, no patentable weight is afforded to the fluid recited in claim 4.
Therefore, Chung et al. as applied to claim 1 anticipates claims 4.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above, above Chung et al. anticipates claim 4 from which claim 5.
Claim 4 recites that the at least one fluid is polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents.
As noted above, the type of fluid does not incorporate any structural limitations to the claimed system for loading at least one fluid. As such, no patentable weight is afforded to the fluid recited in claim 5.
Therefore, Chung et al. as applied to claim 1 anticipates claims 5.
2. Claims 6, 7, 14-17 and 27 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above, Chung et al. anticipates claim 5 from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites that the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents are in an aqueous solution with a volume of at least 200 microliters (µL).
As noted above, the type of fluid is not afforded patentable weight in the system claims.
As for the volume of the fluid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung et al. to scale the elements of the system up or down as desired to process any volumes of fluids, including providing at least 200 microliters of reagents.
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 6 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 7 recites that the manifold comprises at least one microfluidic channel comprising an inlet and an outlet, wherein the at least one needle is in fluidic connectivity with the inlet, and wherein the volume of the at least one microfluidic channel is not greater than 20 microliters (µL).
As noted above, the structure in Chung et al. between the pump and tube 130 forms a manifold in fluid connectivity with at least one needle. The tube includes opposite ends that can be interpreted as an inlet and outlet with the needles being in fluid connectivity with the inlet of the tube.
Chung et al. does not teach that the microfluidic channel (tube 130) has a volume that is not greater than 20 microliters (µL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to adjust the size the apparatus of Chung et al. to provide tube 130 with a volume that is not greater than 20 microliters (µL). Note, changes in size are obvious when performance does not change. (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A))
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 7 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 14, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 14 depends.
Claim 14 recites that the bay is configured to raise to establish fluid connectivity between the fluid container and the at least one needle.
Chung et al. requires that the control means 100 and bay (loading part) in Fig. 4 be brought together so that the needles 160 enter chambers 210.
Modifying Chung et al to either lowering the upper portion that includes the manifold 130 and needles or raising the loading part would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before applicant’s effective filing date for purposes of positioning the needles 160 into chambers 210.
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 14 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 15, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 15 depends.
Claim 15 recites an elevator configured to raise and lower the bay relative to the manifold.
As noted above, modifying Chung et al to either lowering the upper portion that includes the manifold 130 and needles or raising the loading part would have been obvious to one skilled in the art for purposes of positioning the needles 160 into chambers 210.
Any mechanism used to lower the upper portion or raise the loading part would be considered an “elevator.”
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 15 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 16, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 16 depends.
Claim 16 recites a valve in fluid connectivity with the manifold.
Chung et al. does not teach a valve in fluid connectivity with the manifold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a valve in connection with the manifold in Chung et al. for purposes of controlling or stopping flow through the manifold when changing/replacing the microfluid chip for as to prevent fluid leaking.
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 16 obvious.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 17, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 17 depends.
Claim 17, recites that the at least one needle is mounted on a side of the manifold, and the valve is mounted on another side of the manifold.
As noted above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a valve in connection with the manifold in Chung et al. for purposes of controlling or stopping flow through the manifold when changing/replacing the microfluid chip for as to prevent fluid leaking.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to position the valve upstream of the needles in Chung et al. to prevent fluid leaking when changing/replacing the microfluid chip.
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 17 obvious.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 27, as noted above, Chung et al. renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 27 depends.
Claim 27 recites that the at least one fluid is a plurality of reagents, and wherein the valve is configured to selectively allow one of the plurality of reagents to flow out of the valve.
Chung et al. teaches a plurality of fluids/reagents. (see Fig. 4)
As noted above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a valve in connection with the manifold in Chung et al. for purposes of controlling or stopping flow through the manifold when changing/replacing the microfluid chip for as to prevent fluid leaking.
As noted above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a valve in connection with the manifold in Chung et al. for purposes of controlling or stopping flow through the manifold that controls the fluid of selected fluids for purposes of controlling the individual fluids.
Therefore, Chung et al. renders claim 27 obvious.
4. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0054471 to Williams et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites that the bay is configured to cool at least part of the fluid container.
Chung et al. does not teach the bay is configured to cool at least part of the fluid container.
Williams et al. is directed to a technology that particularly relates to microfluidic systems that carry out PCR on multiple samples of nucleotides of interest within microfluidic channels, and detect those nucleotides. (Abstract).
Williams et al. teaches a rack 970 that receives sample holders 972 and teaches heating or cooling the rack as illustrated in Fig. 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Chung to provide for the loading part (“bay”) to be configured to cool at least part of the fluid container as taught by Williams et al. for purposes of carrying out sample preparation on biological samples that are sensitive to temperature variations.
Therefore, Chung et al. in view of Williams et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Chung et al. in view of Williams et al. renders claim 2 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that the fluid container is front-loaded into the bay.
Chung et al teaches “One side of the fixture 140 may be provided with a loading part (not shown) that is extended and bent, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part. Referring to FIG. 2, one side of the fixture 140 is provided with a loading part that is extended and bent downward, and then, bent again and extended in parallel to the lower surface of the microfluidic control chip 200, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part.” [0065].
As shown in Fig. 2 the fixture 140 in Chung et al. is a bay that receives the microfluidic chip 200 from the front.
Therefore, Chung et al. in view of Williams et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
3. Claims 1, 4-7, 14-17 and 27 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Application Publication No. EP2677321 to D Hondt et al. (cited by applicant) in view of Chung et al.
D Hondt et al. teaches a system for aspirating system that includes reagent containers 113 in tray (“bay”) 120 and a dispensing head 115 (“manifold”) that includes needles and aspirates reagents from the reagent containers as described in [0035].
D Hondt teaches that the tray can tilt up to provide for aspirating, but does not teach that the tray otherwise is raised.
As noted above Chung et al. teaches a loading part (“bay”) that moves up to allow needle 160 to enter chamber 210.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing dates to modify D Hondt et al. to move tray 120 up or down a taught by Chung et al. for aspirating reagents from the reagent containers as an alternative means to allow the needles of the dispensing head to enter the reagent containers.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders all the limitations of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above, above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 4.
Claim 4 recites that the at least one fluid comprises at least one reagent.
The fluid in the fluid container is not claimed, only the bay housing the fluid container. Further the type of fluid does not incorporate any structural limitations to the claimed system for loading at least one fluid. As such, no patentable weight is afforded to the fluid recited in claim 4.
Nevertheless, as noted above D Hondt et al. teaches reagents in the reagent containers.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claims 4 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above, above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 5.
Claim 4 recites that the at least one fluid is polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents.
As noted above, the fluid in the fluid container is not claimed, only the bay housing the fluid container. Further the type of fluid does not incorporate any structural limitations to the claimed system for loading at least one fluid. As such, no patentable weight is afforded to the fluid recited in claim 5.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. as applied to claim 1 renders claims 5 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above, D Hondt et a. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 5 obvious from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites that the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents are in an aqueous solution with a volume of at least 200 microliters (µL).
As noted above, the type of fluid is not afforded patentable weight in the system claims.
As for the volume of the fluid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. to scale the elements of the system up or down as desired to process any volumes of fluids, including providing at least 200 microliters of reagents.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 6 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 7 recites that the manifold comprises at least one microfluidic channel comprising an inlet and an outlet, wherein the at least one needle is in fluidic connectivity with the inlet, and wherein the volume of the at least one microfluidic channel is not greater than 20 microliters (µL).
Chung et al. includes a tube 130 between the pump that is in fluid connectivity with at least one needle. The tube includes opposite ends that can be interpreted as an inlet and outlet with the needles being in fluid connectivity with the inlet of the tube.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. to include a tube between the dispense head and the needs as taught by Chung et al. for purposes of being able to position the needles in an alternative position from the dispense head.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. does not teach that the microfluidic channel (tube) has a volume that is not greater than 20 microliters (µL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filling date to adjust the size the apparatus of D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. to provide tube with a volume that is not greater than 20 microliters (µL). Note, changes in size are obvious when performance does not change. (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A))
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 7 obvious.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 14, as noted above D Hondt in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 14 depends.
Claim 14 recites that the bay is configured to raise to establish fluid connectivity between the fluid container and the at least one needle.
As noted above, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. provides for the tray to raise to establish fluid connectivity between the fluid container and the at least one needle.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 14 obvious.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 15, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 15 depends.
Claim 15 recites an elevator configured to raise and lower the bay relative to the manifold.
As noted above, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. provides for the tray to raise to establish fluid connectivity between the fluid container and the at least one needle.
Any mechanism used to lower the upper portion or raise the loading part would be considered an “elevator.”
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 15 obvious.
VIII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 16, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 16 depends.
Claim 16 recites a valve in fluid connectivity with the manifold.
D Hondt et el. in view of Chung et al. does not teach a valve in fluid connectivity with the manifold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a valve in connection with the dispense head in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. for purposes of controlling or stopping flow through the dispense head when changing/replacing the microfluid chip for as to prevent fluid leaking.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 16 obvious.
IX.) Regarding applicant’s claim 17, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 17 depends.
Claim 17, recites that the at least one needle is mounted on a side of the manifold, and the valve is mounted on another side of the manifold.
As noted above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a valve in connection with the dispense head in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. for purposes of controlling or stopping flow through the manifold when changing/replacing the tray to prevent fluid leaking.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to position the valve upstream of the needles in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. to prevent fluid leaking when any of the needles.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 17 obvious.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 27, as noted above, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 16 obvious from which claim 27 depends.
Claim 27 recites that the at least one fluid is a plurality of reagents, and wherein the valve is configured to selectively allow one of the plurality of reagents to flow out of the valve.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. teaches a plurality of reagent containers.
As noted above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a valve in connection with the dispense head in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. for purposes of selectively controlling or stopping flow through the manifold that controls the flow or the reagents in the reagent containers.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 27 obvious.
5. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0054471 to Williams et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites that the bay is configured to cool at least part of the fluid container.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. does not teach the tray is configured to cool at least part of the fluid container.
Williams et al. is directed to a technology that particularly relates to microfluidic systems that carry out PCR on multiple samples of nucleotides of interest within microfluidic channels, and detect those nucleotides. (Abstract).
Williams et al. teaches a rack 970 that receives sample holders 972 and teaches heating or cooling the rack as illustrated in Fig. 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify D Hondt et al. in view of Chung to provide for the tray to be configured to cool at least part of the fluid container as taught by Williams et al. for purposes of carrying out sample preparation on biological samples that are sensitive to temperature variations.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Williams et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Williams et al. renders claim 2 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that the fluid container is front-loaded into the bay.
Chung et al teaches “One side of the fixture 140 may be provided with a loading part (not shown) that is extended and bent, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part. Referring to FIG. 2, one side of the fixture 140 is provided with a loading part that is extended and bent downward, and then, bent again and extended in parallel to the lower surface of the microfluidic control chip 200, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part.” [0065].
As shown in Fig. 2 the fixture 140 in Chung et al. is a bay that receives the microfluidic chip 200 from the front.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to configure the tray in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Williams to be able to load the reagent containers from a front side of the tray in view of Chung et al. as a practical manner of loading the reagent containers
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Williams et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
6. Claims 18, 20, 21 and 24-26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al.
As noted above, D Hondt et al. teaches a system for aspirating system that includes reagent containers 113 in tray (“bay”) 120 and a dispensing head 115 (“manifold”) that includes needles and aspirates reagents from the reagent containers as described in [0035].
D Hondt teaches that the tray can tilt up to provide for aspirating, but does not teach that the tray otherwise is raised.
As noted above Chung et al. teaches a loading part (“bay”) that moves up to allow needle 160 to enter chamber 210.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing dates to modify D Hondt et al. to move tray 120 up or down a taught by Chung et al. for aspirating reagents from the reagent containers as an alternative means to allow the needles of the dispensing head to enter the reagent containers.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 18, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders all the limitations of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 20, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 20 depends.
Claim 20 recites that the fluid container is front-loaded into the bay to receive the fluid container in the bay.
As noted above, Chung et al teaches “One side of the fixture 140 may be provided with a loading part (not shown) that is extended and bent, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part. Referring to FIG. 2, one side of the fixture 140 is provided with a loading part that is extended and bent downward, and then, bent again and extended in parallel to the lower surface of the microfluidic control chip 200, so that the microfluidic control chip 200 is placed on the loading part.” [0065].
As shown in Fig. 2 the fixture 140 in Chung et al. is a bay that receives the microfluidic chip 200 from the front.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to configure the tray in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Williams to be able to load the reagent containers from a front side of the tray in view of Chung et al. as a practical manner of loading the reagent containers
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Williams et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 21, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 21 depends.
Claim 21 recites that the at least one fluid comprises at least one reagent.
As noted above, D Hondt et al. teaches reagent containers.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 21 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 24, as noted above Chung et al. anticipates claim 18 from which claim 24 depends.
Claim 24 recites moving the bay toward the manifold.
As noted above, in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. the tray is moved toward the dispense head.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 24 obvious,
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 25, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 24 obvious from which claim 25 depends.
Claim 25 recites that the step of moving the bay toward the manifold comprises raising the bay toward the manifold using an elevator.
As noted above, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. provides for the tray to raise to establish fluid connectivity between the fluid container and the at least one needle.
Any mechanism used to lower the upper portion or raise the loading part would be considered an “elevator.”
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 25 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 26, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 26 depends.
Claim 26 recites that the at least one needle comprises a plurality of needles, and the at least one fluid comprises a plurality of fluids, each fluid having a corresponding needle of the plurality of needles.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. teaches a plurality of needles and a plurality of reagent containers.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. anticipates claim 26.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 28, as noted above, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 26 from which claim 28 depends.
Claim 28 recite that the step of flowing the at least one fluid from the fluid container into the at least one needle and into the manifold further comprises selectively flowing one fluid of the plurality of fluids out of a valve at a time.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. teaches a plurality of fluids, but does not teach valves for flowing one fluid of the plurality of fluids out of a valve at a time.
Chung et al. includes a tube 130 between the pump that is in fluid connectivity with at least one needle. The tube includes opposite ends that can be interpreted as an inlet and outlet with the needles being in fluid connectivity with the inlet of the tube.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. to include a tube between the dispense head and the needs as taught by Chung et al. for purposes of being able to position the needles in an alternative position from the dispense head.
Providing valves in each of the fluid flow tubes in D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. would have been obvious for purposes of controlling or stopping fluid flow. In such as modification each valve would selectively allow one of the plurality of reagents to flow through each valve.
Therefore, D Hondt et al in view Chung et al. renders claim 28 obvious.
VII) Regarding applicant’s claim 29, as noted above, Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 29 depends.
Claim 29 recites that establishing fluid connectivity between the fluid container and the at least one needle includes moving the at least one needle at least partly into the at least one fluid and wherein the at least one needle is configured to permit a flow of the at least one fluid from the fluid container into the at least one needle.
In D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. the needles are moved into the reagent containers are “configured” to allow a flow of the at least one fluid from the fluid container into the at least one needle.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view Chung et al. anticipates claim 29.
VIII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 30, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 30 depends.
Claim 30 recites a pump in fluid connectivity with the manifold and configured to flow the at least one fluid from a fluid container into the manifold.
D Hondt et al. teaches that pumps and tubing can be used if minimization were not desired [0041].
In D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. it would have been obvious to include a pump in fluid connectivity with the dispense head and configured to flow the at least one fluid from a fluid container into the manifold, if minimization were not important.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al renders claim 30 obvious
7. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. as applied to claim 18 and further in view of Williams et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 19, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 19 depends.
Claim 19 recites that the bay is configured to cool at least part of the fluid container.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. does not teach the bay is configured to cool at least part of the fluid container.
Williams et al. is directed to a technology that particularly relates to microfluidic systems that carry out PCR on multiple samples of nucleotides of interest within microfluidic channels, and detect those nucleotides. (Abstract).
Williams et al. teaches a rack 970 that receives sample holders 972 and teaches heating or cooling the rack as illustrated in Fig. 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify D Hondt et al. in view of Chung to provide for the tray to be configured to cool at least part of the fluid container as taught by Williams et al. for purposes of carrying out sample preparation on biological samples that are sensitive to temperature variations.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view Chung et al. and Williams et al. renders claim 19 obvious.
8. Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0233670 to Lehto.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 22, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. renders claim 21 obvious from which claim 22 depends.
Claim 22 recites that the at least one reagent is polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents.
D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. does not teach that the at least one reagent is polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents.
Lehto teaches conducting a polymerase chain reaction in a microfluidic device as shown in Fig. 52 in which PCR is provided in well 426.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. to dispense the fluids, including PCR reagents in the reagent containers as taught by Lehto to conduct PCR reactions.
Therefore, D Hondt et al. in view Chung et al. in view of Lehto renders claim 22 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 23, as noted above D Hondt et al. in view of Chung et al. and Lehto renders claim 22 obvious from which claim 22 depends.
Claim 23 recites that the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) reagents are in an aqueous solution with a volume of at least 200 microliters (µL).
As noted above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify D Hondt et al. in view Chung et al. to dispense the fluids, including PCR reagents in the reagent containers as taught by Lehto to conduct PCR reactions.
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung et al. in view of Lehto to scale the elements of the system up or down as desired to process any volumes of fluids, including providing at least 200 microliters of reagents.
Therefore, D Hondt et al in view of Chung et al. and Lehto renders claim 23 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 14-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection which relied upon a new interpretation of claim 1 and the D Hondt et al. reference.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL STANLEY GZYBOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1798