DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ amendment and remarks, filed on 01/23/2026, in which claims 1, 22, and 24 are amended and claims 18-21 are canceled.
Claims 1-17 and 22-24 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2020/034794, filed on 05/28/2020, which claims domestic benefit to 62/853,273 filed on 05/28/2019.
Objection Withdrawn
Applicant’s amendment and remarks, filed 01/23/2026, with respect that claims 1-12, 15-17, and 22-24 are objected to because formula (I) is not clear enough to clearly distinguish all subscripts and superscripts of the R groups shown, has been fully considered and is persuasive, as claims 1, 22, and 24 have been amended to provide a higher resolution structure. This objection has been withdrawn.
The following are maintained grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-17, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andries et al. (WO 2018/158280 Al; IDS 03/01/2022) in view of Ferro et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother, 2016; IDS 03/01/2022).
Andries discloses combinations of medicinal compounds that are useful for medicaments for the treatment of diseases caused by pathogenic mycobacteria such as Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Abstract, claim 10). Andries teaches that there exists no single agent that is effective in the clinical treatment of tuberculosis (page 1, lines 32-33) but that the combinations disclosed may be useful in the treatment of active tuberculosis and may also be useful in the treatment of latent or dormant tuberculosis (page 19, lines 17-18). Furthermore, there is a high medical need for new combination drugs that facilitate compliance in the treatment of the mycobacterial infection tuberculosis (page 1, lines 37-38).
Andries discloses a medicinal composition containing Q203, which is a compound according to formula 1 in which Y is CH and in which R2 is an unsubstituted alkyl, r is 0, R6 is a haloalkoxy, q is 0, X is N, p is 1, n is 0, m is 1, and R1 is a halogen (claim 2 and page 36, table entry 6, hereafter referred to as Q203).
Andries discloses that the combination may further comprise additional antibacterial drugs (claim 3). These drugs are selected from a list that includes, among others, the ndh2 inhibitor clofazimine and a macrolide selected from, among others, clarithromycin (claim 5). This combination can be a medicament (claim 9). Andries teaches that the disclosed combinations are for simultaneous, separate or sequential use in the treatment of a bacterial infection (claim 16 and page 22, lines 16-20). Andries further teaches that the combinations may be formulated together, for example in a fixed dose formulation (page 22, lines 10-13). Andries teaches that the disclosed combinations may be in the form of a kit (page 22, line 33).
Andries does not expressly disclose the three-component combination of a compound of instant formula (I), clofazimine, and clarithromycin (instant claims 1, 22, and 24).
Ferro teaches that multidrug therapy is a standard practice when treating mycobacterial infections (page 1097, paragraph 2). Ferro discloses a synergistic interaction between clofazimine and clarithromycin against mycobacteria in which clarithromycin was the potent antibacterial and clofazimine prevented regrowth of the bacterial (figure 4(b) and (d) and page 1104, paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art elements of Q203, clofazimine, and clarithromycin according to the known method of combining antibacterial drugs to yield the predictable result of a medicament with increased antimicrobial efficacy, because Andries teaches combinations of Q203 and additional antibacterial agents as antimicrobials for treating mycobacterial infection, and clarithromycin is taught as suitable macrolide and clofazimine as a preferred ndh2 inhibitor for combination of Q203. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Q203 with clarithromycin and clofazimine because Ferro teaches that clarithromycin and clofazimine act synergistically against mycobacteria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Andries teaches that Q203, clofazimine, and clarithromycin are all antibacterial agents useful for combined treatment of bacterial infections such as tuberculosis.
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, 15-17, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (WO 2017/049321 Al; IDS 03/01/2022) in view of Ferro et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother, 2016; IDS 03/01/2022).
Miller ‘321 discloses antibacterial benzylamine-containing heterocyclic compounds and teaches combinations useful for the treatment of diseases caused by mycobacterial infections (Abstract, claim 17). Miller ‘321 teaches that there is an urgent need for new treatments against Mycobacterial infections both as single drugs and in combination therapy, especially against resistant strains (page 1, background).
Miller ‘321 discloses a compound ND-011598, which is a compound according to instant formula (I) in which R2 is an unsubstituted alkyl, r is 0, R6 is substituted alkyl, q is 0, X is N, p is 2, n is 1, m is 1, and R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl and in which Y is N (claim 14, compound ND-011598, hereafter referred to as HT-21).
Miller ‘321 further teaches the disclosed compounds in compositions further comprising additional antimicrobials including, among others, clarithromycin and clofazimine (page 38, paragraph 1). Miller ‘321 teaches that the disclosed compounds are suitable for use in combination with additional antimicrobials, either concurrently or with delayed administration (page 38, paragraph 1), and that drug combinations are possible (page 38, paragraph 2). Miller ‘321 further teaches that the disclosed compositions may be provided as a kit (page 42, paragraph 3).
Miller ‘321 does not expressly disclose the three-component combination of a compound of instant formula (I), clofazimine, and clarithromycin (instant claims 1, 22, and 24).
Ferro teaches that multidrug therapy is a standard practice when treating mycobacterial infections (page 1097, paragraph 2). Ferro discloses a synergistic interaction between clofazimine and clarithromycin against mycobacteria in which clarithromycin was the potent antibacterial and clofazimine prevented regrowth of the bacterial (figure 4(b) and (d) and page 1104, paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Miller ‘321 and Ferro before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by combining HT-21 with clarithromycin and clofazimine to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combine HT-21 with clarithromycin and clofazimine because Miller ‘321 teaches that HT-21 is useful for combination with other antimicrobials and Ferro teaches that clarithromycin and clofazimine act synergistically against mycobacteria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Miller ‘321 teaches that HT-21 is useful for combination with other antimicrobials including clarithromycin and clofazimine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Figure 1 of Exhibit 1, which provides studies on the antimicrobial activity of Q203 alone in an M avium mouse infection model, shows that Q203 alone does not cause a statistically significant effect in reducing the number of colony-forming units such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that adding Q203 to the combination of CFZ and CAM would not induce a statistically significant effect in reducing CFU (Remarks, page 10, paragraph 1). This is not persuasive.
Applicant provides Exhibit 1, but this is new data not found in the prior art or the specification and also not presented in the form of a declaration. MPEP 716.01(c) section II states that Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record, and that examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results. As such Exhibit 1 cannot overcome any rejection. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner notes that the statistical calculations in Figure 1 of Exhibit 1 compare treatment of Q203 with a control, rather than comparing treatment of Q203 against the claimed combination. In order to show unexpected results for these compounds, a comparison of the claimed invention to the closest prior art must be given. In this case Ferro and Andries are equally close prior art references. Thus there must be a comparison showing a statistically significant difference between the claimed invention versus combination of clarithromycin and clofazimine as taught of Ferro, as well as Q203 alone as taught by Andries. MPEP 716.02(b) states that the evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. MPEP 716.02(e) states that an affidavit or declaration must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 716.02(e)II states that showing unexpected results over one of two equally close prior art references will not rebut prima facie obviousness unless the teachings of the prior art references are sufficiently similar to each other that the testing of one showing unexpected results would provide the same information as to the other.
Thus, even if the data were in a declaration it would not be possible to determine from this data whether the instantly claimed composition provides any unexpected results in comparison to the composition of Andries, and the argument would not be persuasive.
Applicant argues that Figure 2 of Exhibit 1, provides the studies on antimicrobial activity ofHT-21 alone, the combination of CAM and CFZ, and the combination ofHT-21, CAM, and CFZ in an M avium mouse infection model. It shows that HT-21 alone does not cause a statistically significant effect in reducing the number of CFU in a vehicle control (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 1). This is not persuasive.
Applicant provides Exhibit 1, but this is new data not found in the prior art or the specification and also not presented in the form of a declaration. As such it cannot overcome any rejection.
Examiner also notes that additional compounds 1-3 in combination with clarithromycin and clofazimine were tested for CFU decrease (Declaration, paragraphs 8-10), however, these compounds were not tested alone, and so there is no way to determine whether the difference in CFU is due a synergistic effect or merely the presence of compounds 1-3 in the treatment.
Because Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the instant claims are rejected for the reasons of record.
Double Patenting
Instant claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, 17, 22, and 24, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,767 (Miller ‘767) in view of Miller et al. (WO 2017/049321 Al; IDS 03/01/2022) and Ferro et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother, 2016; IDS 03/01/2022).
Miller ‘767 claims a method of treating mycobacterial infectious disease comprising administering a compound of the following structure, which is a compound of instant formula (I) in which R2 is an unsubstituted alkyl, r is 0, R6 is substituted alkyl, q is 0, X is N, p is 2, n is 1, m is 1, and R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl and in which Y is N (claim 10), (hereafter referred to as HT-21).
Miller ‘767 does not expressly claim a three-component combination of a compound of instant formula (I), clarithromycin, and clofazimine.
Miller ‘321 discloses antibacterial benzylamine-containing heterocyclic compounds and teaches combinations useful for the treatment of diseases caused by mycobacterial infections (Abstract, claim 17). Miller ‘321 teaches that there is an urgent need for new treatments against Mycobacterial infections both as single drugs and in combination therapy, especially against resistant strains (page 1, background).
Miller ‘321 discloses a compound according to formula 1 in which R2 is an unsubstituted alkyl, r is 0, R6 is substituted alkyl, q is 0, X is N, p is 2, n is 1, m is 1, and R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl and in which Y is N (claim 14, compound ND-011598), (hereafter referred to as HT-21).
Miller ‘321 further teaches the disclosed compounds in composition further comprising additional antimicrobials including, among others, clarithromycin and clofazimine (page 38, paragraph 1). Miller ‘321 teaches that the disclosed compounds are suitable for use in combination with additional antimicrobials, either concurrently or with delayed administration (page 38, paragraph 1), and that drug combinations are possible (page 38, paragraph 2). Miller ‘321 further teaches that the disclosed compositions may be provided as a kit (page 42, paragraph 3).
Ferro teaches that multidrug therapy is a standard practice when treating mycobacterial infections (page 1097, paragraph 2). Ferro also discloses a synergistic interaction between clofazimine and clarithromycin against mycobacteria in which clarithromycin was the potent antibacterial and clofazimine prevented regrowth of the bacterial (figure 4(b) and (d) and page 1104, paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the claims of Miller ‘767 with the teachings of Miller ‘321 and Ferro before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by combining HT-21 with clarithromycin and clofazimine to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combine HT-21 with clarithromycin and clofazimine because Miller ‘321 teaches that HT-21 is useful for combination with other antimicrobials and Ferro teaches that clarithromycin and clofazimine act synergistically against mycobacteria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Miller ‘321 teaches that HT-21 is useful for combination with other antimicrobials including clarithromycin and clofazimine.
Instant claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, 17, 22, and 24, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,919,888 (Miller ‘888) in view of Miller et al. (WO 2017/049321 Al; IDS 03/01/2022) and Ferro et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother, 2016; IDS 03/01/2022).
Miller ‘888 discloses a compound according to formula 1 in which R2 is an unsubstituted alkyl, r is 0, R6 is substituted alkyl, q is 0, X is N, p is 2, n is 1, m is 1, and R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl and in which Y is N (claim 1), (hereafter referred to as HT-21).
Miller ‘888 further claims a method of treating mycobacterial infectious disease comprising administering HT-21 (claim 3).
Miller ‘888 does not expressly claim a three-component combination of a compound of instant formula (I), clarithromycin, and clofazimine.
Miller ‘321 discloses antibacterial benzylamine-containing heterocyclic compounds and teaches combinations useful for the treatment of diseases caused by mycobacterial infections (Abstract, claim 17). Miller ‘321 teaches that there is an urgent need for new treatments against Mycobacterial infections both as single drugs and in combination therapy, especially against resistant strains (page 1, background).
Miller ‘321 discloses a compound according to formula 1 in which R2 is an unsubstituted alkyl, r is 0, R6 is substituted alkyl, q is 0, X is N, p is 2, n is 1, m is 1, and R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl and in which Y is N (claim 14, compound ND-011598), (hereafter referred to as HT-21).
Miller ‘321 further teaches the disclosed compounds in composition further comprising additional antimicrobials including, among others, clarithromycin and clofazimine (page 38, paragraph 1). Miller ‘321 teaches that the disclosed compounds are suitable for use in combination with additional antimicrobials, either concurrently or with delayed administration (page 38, paragraph 1), and that drug combinations are possible (page 38, paragraph 2). Miller ‘321 further teaches that the disclosed compositions may be provided as a kit (page 42, paragraph 3).
Ferro teaches that multidrug therapy is a standard practice when treating mycobacterial infections (page 1097, paragraph 2). Ferro also discloses a synergistic interaction between clofazimine and clarithromycin against mycobacteria in which clarithromycin was the potent antibacterial and clofazimine prevented regrowth of the bacterial (figure 4(b) and (d) and page 1104, paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the claims of Miller ‘888 with the teachings of Miller ‘321 and Ferro before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by combining HT-21 with clarithromycin and clofazimine to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combine HT-21 with clarithromycin and clofazimine because Miller ‘321 teaches that HT-21 is useful for combination with other antimicrobials and Ferro teaches that clarithromycin and clofazimine act synergistically against mycobacteria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Miller ‘321 teaches that HT-21 is useful for combination with other antimicrobials including clarithromycin and clofazimine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that for the same reasons provided in response to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 the claimed combination yielded an unexpectedly synergistic effect, supporting the non-obviousness over the nonstatutory double patenting rejections (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 3). This is not persuasive.
As discussed above regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the data provided in Exhibit 1 cannot be considered because it is new data not found in the prior art or the specification and also not presented in the form of a declaration. As such it cannot overcome any rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sarah Grace Hibshman whose telephone number is (703)756-5341. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:30am-5:30pm (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scarlett Goon can be reached on (571) 270-5241. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693