DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 9,751,970, 970 from hereon) in view of Gao et al (WO 2015/188157, ‘157 from hereon), for the reasons set forth in the previous action filed 5/3/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants assert that there is no motivation to select the specific ICG fluorophore block in ‘157 from the other dye conjugates and substitute it with PDBA from the primary reference ‘970.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the examiner did not use a ridged motivational analysis in making the rejection but on the knowledge that the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results. Clearly the primary reference Gao ‘970 teaches the same type of block copolymers except the dye blocks did not include ICG, however ICG dye blocks are taught in Gao ‘157. Since the two references are close in their teachings of similar polymer-fluorescent conjugates one of ordinary skill would have a high expectation of success in substituting the fluorescent labels of ‘970 with the ICG block of ‘157. Obviousness stems from the notion that ‘970 already teaches the genus of fluorescent markers to ICG and ‘970 already teaches the use of the claimed ICG block. The artisan would recognize that, based on the disclosure of ‘970 that numerous fluorescent markers, including ICG could be substituted into the polymer with similar results.
Applicants assert ‘157 does not teach Cy5 and ICG can be interchangeable as suggested because Cy5 was optimized for the transition pH of PEG-PDBA micelles. Applicants assert ‘157 teaches three separate polymers each having different pH transitions and none of those polymers contained ICG.
The examples within ‘157 were given solely for the purpose of illustration and were not to be construed as being limiting to their invention since many variations are possible without departing from the spirit and scope of the invention. The reference clearly teaches an ICG polymer block and the other alternatives and examples does not discredit the clear teaching of its use.
Applicants assert dibutyl polymer display favorable properties that are unexpected with regards to particle size, strong on/off ratio high sensitivity, selectivity and median contrast ratio compared to dipropyl block copolymers.
While the results are noted, Gao ‘970 is not deficient with respect to teaching dibutyl block copolymers said to yield the superior properties. Furthermore ‘970 in view of ‘157 is considered a very strong obviousness type of rejection in that ‘970 teaches the same exact copolymer claimed except for the dye block which is taught by ‘157. The ‘157 reference used the ICG dye block claimed in similar polymers featuring dialkylamino methacrylate blocks as in ’970. Since the two references are similar and ‘970 already teaches use of dye blocks with the dialkylamino methacrylate blocks one of ordinary skill would have a very high expectation of success in adding the ICG dye of ‘157 to ‘’970. The obviousness rejection is so strong secondary considerations may not be able to overcome this strong prima fascia case of obviousness. See Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007) ("[W]e hold that even if Pfizer showed that amlodipine besylate exhibits unexpectedly superior results, this secondary consideration does not overcome the strong showing of obviousness in this case. Although secondary considerations must be taken into account, they do not necessarily control the obviousness conclusion. Newell Cos., Inc. v. Kenney Mfg. Co., 864 F.2d 757, 768 (Fed.Cir.1988)").
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618