DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the papers filed on January 9, 2026. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 12-13 have been canceled.
Therefore, claims 1-11 and 14-22 are currently under examination.
Priority
This application is claiming the benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) of prior-filed U.S. provisional 62/855,241 filed May 31, 2019, filed prior to PCT application PCT/IB20/55148 on May 30, 2020.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is May 31, 2019.
Maintained- Abstract objection
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract of an application must be a brief abstract of the technical disclosure in the specification. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
The purpose of the abstract is to enable the Office and the public generally to determine quickly from a cursory inspection the nature and gist of the technical disclosure. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should sufficiently describe the disclosure to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 112(a)
In view of Applicant’s amendment of claim 1, deleting the recitation of viable, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections -35 USC§ 112(b)
In view of Applicants' amendment to claim 1, deleting the recitation of viable, the rejections of claims 1-22 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1 and, by dependence, 2-11, 14-22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “said solution comprising said virus and an alcohol at a concentration of greater than 2%.” It is unclear whether the phrase “at a concentration of greater than 2%” refers to only “an alcohol,” “said virus,” or to the combined concentration of the virus and alcohol. Hence, the metes and bounds of the claimed composition cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Applicant may obviate the rejection by amending claim 1 to clarify that the recited concentration of greater than 2% refers to the concentration of the alcohol in the aqueous solution. For example, the claim may be amended to recite “said solution comprising said virus and an alcohol, wherein said alcohol is present at a concentration of greater than 2%,” or other language that clearly defines the intended concentration limitation.
Claims 2-11 and 14-22 are rejected for being dependent from the rejected claim 1 and for failing to further clarify the basis of the rejection.
Withdrawn Claim Rejection-35 USC§ 103
In view of Applicants amendment to the instant claims, requiring that the method specifically delivery biologically active lentiviral vectors, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 to claim 4 as being unpatentable over Maguire (US 11,332,757 B2), in view of Gonda et al. (US 6,227,195 B1), and further in view of Naldini et al. (US 5,994,136) has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with the specification, the limitation that the “virus is biologically active” encompasses a viral vector that retains sufficient functional activity to effect transduction or transfection of a target cell. Applicant’s specification expressly uses “transfection (or transduction) efficiency” interchangeably and evaluates successful viral delivery by measures such as viral uptake, gene transfer, and transgene expression. Thus, the claim does not reasonably require replication competence or retention of any particular level of infectivity, but is met where the delivered viral vector remains functionally capable of introducing genetic material into the target cell and producing a detectable transduction/transfection result. Additionally, for the purposes of examination, the phrase “said solution comprising said virus and an alcohol at a concentration of greater than 2%” is interpreted broadly as requiring the aqueous solution to comprise a virus and an alcohol, wherein the recited concentration limitation of greater than 2% is read as applying to the alcohol component. This interpretation is consistent with the specification, which describes the aqueous solution as comprising ethanol at concentrations greater than 2%, including greater than 10% and 20-30% (pg. 2, para. 4).
Maintained- Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 14-22 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire (citations to US 11,332,757 B2; corresponding to WO 2016.065341 A1), in view of Gonda et al. (US 6,227,195 B1, patented May 8, 2001) and Naldini et al. (US 5,994,136, patented November 30, 1999). This is a modified rejection necessitated by amendment of the claims in the response filed January 9, 2026.
Regarding claims 1 and 14-16, Maguire teaches methods utilizing chemical polarities and aqueous particle spray to promote cell permeability to enable the uptake of various kinds of molecular cargo, and then reseals the cells, after which they can continue proliferating and expressing the newly incorporated material (column 1, lines 42-65), using gas propelling to form a spray (claim 1). The aqueous solution is disclosed to include a payload, including nucleic acids, peptides or proteins greater than 5,000,000 DA (column 7, lines 9-12), protein complexes (column 9, lines 30-32), as well as an alcohol content greater than 5 percent concentration or 5, 10, 20, 25, 30, or 40% (v/v), no greater than 50% (v/v) (column 20, last para.). The spray droplets are disclosed to be 30-100 μm (column 3, lines 1 and column 9, lines 52-58), where spraying provides a means for contacting a population of cells with the aqueous solution and other sizes are possible and some variations are expected (column 17, lines 21-30).
Concerning the size of the droplet, Maguire teaches what constitutes droplets that are too large and too small may vary based on application (e.g., materials to be delivered and type of target cell) (column 26, lines 64-66), and wherein the spray comprises a colloidal suspension comprising a diameter of 1 nm to 100 μm (claim 19). Maguire does not teach where spray comprising a droplet comprising a diameter of greater than or equal to 150 μm.
However, Gonda teaches methods of coarse spray delivery of functional biological material into a biological system using a liquid carrier or suspension, delivered in relatively large droplet (Abstract) containing an Adenovirus vector, where the droplets have a volume median diameter ranging from 130 μm to 225 μm (claim 14 and column 14, lines 31-33). Gonda specifically teaches where the virus remained functionally active (column 14, Section: Effect of Spraying on the Survival of the Adenovirus Vector).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the known technique of delivering functional biological viral vectors in discrete droplets ranging from 130 μm to 225 μm to improve the similar methods of Maguire, in the same way.
Regarding the limitation of wherein the alcohol comprises ethanol, Maguire additionally teaches wherein said aqueous solution comprises an ethanol concentration of 5 to 30% (v/v) or 2 to 45% ethanol (column 3, para. 2).
Regarding the limitations of wherein the method is ex vivo and the virus is biologically active, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the methodological utility of delivering biologically active viral vectors using the methods taught in the prior art, further in view of the teachings of Gonda and Naldini. Gonda teaches the evaluation of the “survival” of an adenovirus vector following spraying and determines viral activity in plaque-forming units (pfu) using a plaque assay on 293 cells (column 14, lines 35-45). Gonda further teaches that the sprayed low-dose virus retained measurable plaque-forming activity and that “virus survival was unaffected by being sprayed through, or being in contact with the washing pipe” (column 16, para. 2-3). Hence, Gonda teaches that the viral vector remains biologically active following spray delivery, as demonstrated by retained infectivity measured by plaque-forming activity.
Furthermore, Naldini teaches recombinant lentivirus that is capable of infecting cells and is expressly useful for both in vivo and ex vivo transfer and expression of nucleic acids sequences (column 2, lines 36-40). Naldini further teaches producer cells that release “infectious viral particles carrying the foreign gene of interest”, demonstrating biological activity of the viral particles (column 3, para. 1). Moreover, Naldini teaches determining viral titter by infecting NIH 3T3 or HeLa cells and assaying transduction efficiency and states that the resulting virus particle preparations may be used to infect target cells in ex vivo gene therapy applications, wherein target cells are removed from a host and transformed in culture (column 10, para. 5).
Gonda teaches that a virus remains biologically active following spray delivery, while Naldini further teaches biologically active lentiviral vectors capable of infection and transduction of target cells in an ex vivo method. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have found it obvious to utilize the biologically active viral vector delivery method taught by Gonda in an ex vivo method, as taught by Naldini, in order to provide biologically active virus to target cells for infection and transduction, with a reasonable expectation of success since Gonda demonstrates retention of viral biological activity following spray delivery and Naldini demonstrates that such biologically active viral vectors successfully infect and transduce target cells ex vivo.
Regarding claim 2, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini render claim 1 obvious. The teachings of Maguire and Gonda teach droplet ranges. Furthermore, it is not inventive to find optimal workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). Where a variable is disclosed in a range in the prior art is taught, there exists a prima facie case of obviousness based on optimization where the variable was recognized in the prior art to be a result-effective variable. That is to say that the particular parameter was taught and known to affected the result. The relative size of the droplet diameter was known in the art, as taught by Maguire (column 26, para. 2) and Gouda (column 3, para. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini render claim 1 obvious. Moreover, Gonda teaches wherein the virus is an adenovirus (column 14, para. 1).
Regarding claims 5-11, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini render claim 1 obvious. Maguire additionally teaches methods are applied to mammalian cells, adherent cells or nonadherent cells (column 3, para. 3), T-lymphocyte (column 42, last line), human embryonic kidney (HEK) cells, natural killer cells (column 3, para. 3). Moreover, the parameters were fine tuned to maximize delivery efficiency while minimizing toxicity (column 36, lines 48-56 [60-65]), such as dose response and the relationship between increasing concentration along with increasing
efficiency (column 43, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 17-18, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini render claim 1 obvious. Maguire additionally teaches all components of the aqueous solution, H20, ethanol, sucrose, KCl, ammonium acetate, and HEPES (column 17, last para.), with specific concentrations throughout, such as:
"43 mM sucrose, 16 mM potassium chloride, 16 mM ammonium acetate and 7 mM Hepes in molecular grade water, adjusted to pH 7.4 by adding 1.15 ml 1 M NaOH and filter sterilised using a filter with pore size 0.2 μm, before combining with ethanol in a ratio of 3:1" (column 20, lines 30-35)."
"wherein said aqueous solution comprises one or more of 75 to 98% H20, 2 to 45% ethanol, 6 to 91 mM sucrose, 2 to 35 mM potassium chloride, 2 to 35 mM ammonium acetate, and 1 to 14 mM (4-(2-hydroxyethyl)- 1-piperazineethanesulfonic acid) (HEPES) (claim 5)."
Moreover, it is noted that there is no evidence that using the claimed concentrations leads to unexpected results. As per MPEP § 716.02, [a]ny differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding claim 19-20, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini render claim 1 obvious. Maguire additionally teaches where non-adherent cells form a layer on a substrate (claims 1 and 11; column 2, para. 1; column 5, para. 1; column 11 through column 12, para, 1).
Regarding claims 21-22, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini render claim 1 obvious. Additionally, with respect to the claimed viscosity, the instant specification makes clear that the dynamic viscosity of the droplet is an implicit result of the applied method. Specifically, the viscosity arises from the combination of factors including the volume of the isotonic aqueous solution, the presence of virus and alcohol, and the use of gas pressure to form a spray, which together generate droplets of a particular size and viscosity (see instant specification, pg. 21, para. 3 through pg. 22, para. 1). A “whereby” clause that merely expresses the intended result of a process step without positively reciting the step in itself. Ex parte Attig, 7 USPQ2d 1092 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). MPEP 2173.05 III E. A "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that viscosity is an important and result-effective variable in spray atomization, and would have recognized that the viscosity of viral particles, such as lentiviral preparations, approximately 6913 mPas to ~7000 mPas, would influence droplet formation. This is consistent with the specification and supported by known fluid dynamics principles (see instant specification, pg. 21, para. 3 through pg. 22, para. 1).
The ordinary artisan would have found it obvious to optimize such parameters, known to affect viscosity of the droplet. Gonda teaches that the solution composition of the droplet can vary and includes representative therapeutic ranges that imply a range of viscosities, stating “the solution composition of the droplet should be representative of a range of viscosities that should be typical for therapeutic purposes” (column 10; line 4-5). Where the prior art teaches a range or a result-effective variable, the optimization of that variable is considered prima facie obvious. That is, the droplet viscosity, like droplet size and composition, is an implicit result of the known spray formulation and is therefore implicitly suggested by the combination of Maguire and Gouda. As the droplet size, solution components, and method are all taught, the viscosity of the droplet is an implicit property of the droplet.
New- Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1 and 4 are newly, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire (US 11,332,757 B2; corresponding to WO 2016.065341 A1), in view of Gonda et al. (US 6,227,195 B1, patented May 8, 2001) and Naldini et al. (US 5,994,136, patented November 30, 1999), and further in view of Alton (WO 2015/177501 A1, published November 26, 2015).
Regarding claim 1, Maguire teaches methods utilizing chemical polarities and aqueous particle spray to promote cell permeability to enable the uptake of various kinds of molecular cargo, and then reseals the cells, after which they can continue proliferating and expressing the newly incorporated material (column 1, lines 42-65), using gas propelling to form a spray (claim 1). The aqueous solution is disclosed to include a payload, including nucleic acids, peptides or proteins greater than 5,000,000 DA (column 7, lines 9-12), protein complexes (column 9, lines 30-32), as well as an alcohol content greater than 5 percent concentration or 5, 10, 20, 25, 30, or 40% (v/v), no greater than 50% (v/v) (column 20, last para.). The spray droplets are taught to be 30-100 μm (column 3, lines 1 and column 9, lines 52-58), where spraying provides a means for contacting a population of cells with the aqueous solution and other sizes are possible and some variations are expected (column 17, lines 21-30).
Concerning the size of the droplet, Maguire teaches what constitutes droplets that are too large and too small may vary based on application (e.g., materials to be delivered and type of target cell) (column 26, lines 64-66), and wherein the spray comprises a colloidal suspension comprising a diameter of 1 nm to 100 μm (claim 19). Maguire does not teach where spray comprising a droplet comprising a diameter of greater than or equal to 150 μm.
However, Gonda teaches methods of coarse spray delivery of functional biological material into a biological system using a liquid carrier or suspension, delivered in relatively large droplet (Abstract) containing an Adenovirus vector, where the droplets have a volume median diameter ranging from 130 μm to 225 μm (claim 14 and column 14, lines 31-33). Gonda specifically teaches where the virus remained functionally active (column 14, Section: Effect of Spraying on the Survival of the Adenovirus Vector).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the known technique of delivering functional biological viral vectors in discrete droplets ranging from 130 μm to 225 μm to improve the similar methods of Maguire, in the same way.
Regarding the limitation of wherein the alcohol comprises ethanol, Maguire additionally teaches wherein said aqueous solution comprises an ethanol concentration of 5 to 30% (v/v) or 2 to 45% ethanol (column 3, para. 2).
Regarding the limitations of wherein the method is ex vivo and the virus is biologically active, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the methodological utility of delivering biologically active viral vectors using the methods taught in the prior art, further in view of the teachings of Gonda and Naldini. Gonda teaches the evaluation of the “survival” of an adenovirus vector following spraying and determines viral activity in plaque-forming units (pfu) using a plaque assay on 293 cells (column 14, lines 35-45). Gonda further teaches that the sprayed low-dose virus retained measurable plaque-forming activity and that “virus survival was unaffected by being sprayed through, or being in contact with the washing pipe” (column 16, para. 2-3). Hence, Gonda teaches that the viral vector remains biologically active following spray delivery, as demonstrated by retained infectivity measured by plaque-forming activity.
Furthermore, Naldini teaches recombinant lentivirus that is capable of infecting cells and is expressly useful for both in vivo and ex vivo transfer and expression of nucleic acids sequences (column 2, lines 36-40). Naldini further teaches producer cells that release “infectious viral particles carrying the foreign gene of interest”, demonstrating biological activity of the viral particles (column 3, para. 1). Moreover, Naldini teaches determining viral titter by infecting NIH 3T3 or HeLa cells and assaying transduction efficiency and states that the resulting virus particle preparations may be used to infect target cells in ex vivo gene therapy applications, wherein target cells are removed from a host and transformed in culture (column 10, para. 5).
Gonda teaches that a virus remains biologically active following spray delivery, while Naldini further teaches biologically active lentiviral vectors capable of infection and transduction of target cells in an ex vivo method. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have found it obvious to utilize the biologically active viral vector delivery method taught by Gonda in an ex vivo method, as taught by Naldini, in order to provide biologically active virus to target cells for infection and transduction, with a reasonable expectation of success since Gonda demonstrates retention of viral biological activity following spray delivery and Naldini demonstrates that such biologically active viral vectors successfully infect and transduce target cells ex vivo.
Regarding claim 4, the teachings of Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini do not teach wherein the virus is a lentivirus retaining biological activity delivered utilizing the gas propelled spray method.
However, prior to the effective filing date, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that lentiviral delivery was known to be effective utilizing spray delivery methods. Alton teaches that lentiviral vectors demonstrate resistance to shear forces with only a modest reduction in transduction ability when sprayed through clinically relevant delivery devices, including spray bottles and nebulizers (pg. 12, lines 26-28). Alton additionally teaches nasal formulations comprising droplets having approximate diameters of 100-5000 µm (pg. 23, para. 1-3), as well as effective ex vivo delivery of the lentivirus to transduce cells (pg. 9, para. 2).
Thus, the ordinary artisan would have found it obvious to simply substitute the lentivirus, as taught by Naldini and Alton, for the adenovirus taught by Gonda in the spray-delivery method of Maguire and Gonda because Alton expressly demonstrates that lentiviral vectors retain biological activity, as evidenced by retained transduction ability, following passage through spray delivery devices. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully delivering a biologically active lentivirus using the claimed spray method.
Response to Applicants’ arguments as they apply to the rejection of Claims 1-22 under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments filed January 9, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At pages 6-11 of the remarks filed on January 9, 2026, Applicants essentially argue the following:
Applicant argues that Maguire, Gonda, and Naldini fail to teach or suggest all limitations of claim 1 because Maguire does not teach delivery of a virus, Gonda teaches an in vivo adenoviral method rather than the claimed ex vivo method, and Naldini merely describes lentiviral vectors. Applicant further argues that no cited reference teaches delivery of a biologically active virus according to the claimed combination of conditions.
This argument is not persuasive because the rejection is based on the combined teachings of the references rather than on any single reference individually. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s argument that the cited references fails to teach the claimed combination is not persuasive because Maguire teaches the ex vivo alcohol containing gas propelled spray method for delivery biological payloads across the plasma membrane and into cells, Gonda supplies the teaching of biologically active viral vector delivery by spray droplets, and Alton further establishes that lentiviral vectors were known to retain transduction activity following passage through shear force inducing spray delivery devices and to be useful for ex vivo cellular transduction. These are established, conventional, and routine viral vector delivery methods.
Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would be deterred to utilize a solution comprising any concentration of ethanol for delivery a virus to a cell, the method is complex, difficult, and a simple substitution would not have been reasonably expected to succeed by a skilled artisan, and Gonda does not use any alcohol.
This argument is not persuasive because this is the applicant’s opinion. The rejection does not rely upon an unsupported substitution of a viral vector for the payload of Maguire. Rather, the rejection is based upon the combined teachings of the cited references. Maguire teaches the claimed ex vivo cellular delivery framework, including contacting cells with an ethanol-containing aqueous solution by gas-propelled spray for delivery payloads including nucleic acids, mRNA, peptides, proteins, protein complexes, and other large biomolecular cargo. Gonda teaches that a viral vector may be delivered by coarse spray while retaining biological activity. Alton further teaches that lentiviral vectors exhibit resistance to shear forces with only a modest reduction in transduction ability when passed through clinically relevant delivery devices, including spray bottles and nebulizers (pg. 12, para. 6). Additionally, Applicant’s argument regarding the distinction between in vivo and ex vivo delivery is also not persuasive. Gonda is not relied upon for teaching the claimed ex vivo environment. Rather, Gonda is relied upon for teaching the ability of a biologically active viral vector to withstand spray delivery. Maguire teaches the ex vivo cellular treatment environment. Moreover, Alton also teaches ex vivo transduction. The combined teachings provide a strong technical basis and a reasonable expectation of success for delivery a biologically active vector using the claimed ex-vivo ethanol-containing spray method.
Applicant argues that the experimental results demonstrate unexpected properties, including lentiviral stability during spray delivery, effective gene transfer, larger lentivirus-containing droplets, and cell viability following delivery.
This argument is not persuasive because the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). Examples of attorney statements which are not evidence, and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.
Additionally, this argument is not persuasive because Alton expressly teaches prior to the effective filing date that lentiviral vectors retain transduction activity following passage through spray delivery devices and are stable in aerosols, including droplet diameters encompassing the claimed range. Further, the asserted results are not commensurate in scope with the claims, which are not limited to the particular 12% ethanol formulation, lentiviral viscosity, 150-600 µm droplet range, or experimental conditions relied upon by Applicant. Thus, Applicant has not sufficiently demonstrated unexpected results sufficient to outweigh the evidence of obviousness, commensurate in scope with the claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11 and 14-22 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/J.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699