DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are pending and are examined. Claims 19, 20, 22, and 23 are withdrawn and are not examined. Claims 17, 18, and 21 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdershoven (US Pub 2014/012288), in view of Gottlieb (US Pub 2010/0025238).
Regarding Claim 1, Widdershoven teaches an apparatus comprising: a substrate;an array of sensors disposed on the substrate ([0018] The term "substrate" may denote any suitable material, such as a semiconductor, glass, plastic, etc. According to an exemplary embodiment, the term "substrate" may be used to define generally the elements for layers that underlie and/or overlie a layer or potions of interest. Also, the substrate may be any other base on which a layer is formed, for example a semiconductor wafer such as s silicon wafer or silicon chip. Also a layer sequence may fall under the term substrate as used herein. Such a layer sequence may be formed on and/or in a substrate, that is may be a part thereof. [0041] The plurality of (for instance electrically interconnected) sensors constituting the sensor array may be arranged in rows and columns (that is to say in a matrix-like configuration). The rows and columns may be arranged to be aligned perpendicular to one another resulting in a rectangular or matrix-like pattern. Alternatively, it is possible to arrange the sensors in rows and columns forming a hexagonal pattern or the like.), individual sensors of the array of sensors having a dimension that is no greater than 750 nanometers (nm) ([0026] Such an architecture may be particularly advantageous when nanoelectrodes are employed which are manufactured sufficiently small. For example, such nanoelectrodes can be made with dimensions of 250 nm, 130 nm or less, and may for instance be realized as sensing pockets having dimensions close to dimensions of biological molecules to the detected.); and circuitry electronically coupled to the array of sensors and disposed on the substrate, the circuitry to activate or deactivate at least one sensor of the array of sensors ( [0049] The sensor array may comprise a selection unit adapted for selecting one of the rows (at a time) for sensing, wherein the selection unit may be further adapted for disabling all other rows from sensing by opening the first switch element and the second switch element of the all other rows. Therefore, the non active rows may be simply biased to be non active, whereas a single row may be activated at a time. [0050] Alternatively, a selection unit may be provided which is adapted for selecting one of the rows for sensing, but is further adapted for disabling all other rows from sensing and for closing the second switch element of at least a part of the all other rows to provide a counter electrode functionality. Only the discharge switch may be closed to include the corresponding electrodes in the reconfigurable counter electrode. This is not possible with the transfer switch because then the corresponding electrode would be connected in parallel with the active sensors element in the same row. In such a configuration, the electrodes which are presently not used for sensing may be not simply made inactive, but may be controlled to serve as a counter electrode to provide the sensor array with a constant electric potential at a position where it is coupled to an electrolyte. Therefore, the presently non-used electrodes may be synergetically used as configurable counter electrode members, which may make a separate counter electrode dispensable and may promote the miniature manufacturability of the sensor array.).
and wherein the apparatus comprises: first circuitry disposed on the substrate, the first circuitry being coupled to the first connector and the first circuitry including a first plurality of switches; and second circuitry disposed on the substrate, the second circuitry being coupled to the second connector and the second circuitry including a second plurality of switches ([0141] Apart from an efficient segmentation it may also be important to consider power dissipation. In capacitive biosensor arrays modulation voltages have to be applied to the electrodes or to the counter electrode(s), and the AC currents induced in the electrodes have to be measured. In straightforward array architectures, where electrodes are selected with selection switches, the AC voltages and/or currents have to be transported through long row and/or column connection lines. This may lead to cross-talk between neighbouring lines or to loss of sensitivity because of large parasitic capacitances of the lines. Furthermore, modulating the voltages of long lines with large parasitic capacitance leads to high dynamic power dissipation. [0052] It is noted that the previously described aspect of the invention can be implemented separately from the architecture described in the independent claims, however can be combined with any embodiment described herein. In other words, the previously described aspect is an independent aspect of the invention, which can be implemented without the other provisions disclosed herein. According to such an aspect, a sensor array me be provided comprising an arrangement of a plurality of sensors arranged in rows and columns, the sensor array further comprising a row periphery circuit comprising a number of multiplexers adapted for gating the rows. The row periphery circuit may comprise five (or another appropriate number of) multiplexers for each pair of rows, the five multiplexers being configured to provide clock signals to operate switch elements of the sensors and being configured to provide electric potentials to the sensors of a respective pair of rows.).
and control circuitry disposed on the substrate and coupled to the first circuitry and the second circuitry, wherein the control circuitry operates at least one switch of the first plurality of switches and at least one second switch of the second plurality of switches to individually activate the individual sensors of the array of sensors ([0034] According to an exemplary embodiment, a clock generator may be provided for providing the first switch element and the second switch element with clock signals to operate the first switch element and the second switch element to alternate between an operation mode in which the first switch element is closed (that is to say is coupled to the first electric potential) and the second switch element is simultaneously opened (that is to say is decoupled from the second electric potential), and an operation mode in which the first switch element is opened (that is to say is decoupled from the first electric potential) and the second switch element is simultaneously closed (that is to say is coupled to the second electric potential). Therefore, the clock signals generated by the clock unit (which may be controlled by or which may be a CPU, central processing unit) allow to operate the two switch elements complementary to one another to enable a non-overlapping sequence of "coupling" and "decoupling" phases. Thus, the clock signals provided with the two gates of the switch transistors may be inverse to one another. This may ensure that, with low effort, a reliable sequence of coupling/decoupling phases of the capacitor sensor with one of the two electric potentials is ensured, and that the pulsed or oscillating switching operation can be repeated several times.).
Widdershoven is silent to calibration circuitry that (i) determines one or more first baseline characteristics corresponding to detection of a substance by a first sensor of the array of sensors and (ii) determines one or more second baseline characteristics corresponding to detection of the substance by a second sensor of the array of sensors, wherein the one or more second baseline characteristics are different from the one or more first baseline characteristics such that the second sensor detects a presence of the substance at a different threshold electrical signal than the first sensor detects the presence of the substance.
Gottlieb teaches in the related art of sensors and detecting analytes. [0143] at least two in the plurality of sensors in the sensor apparatus are designed to measure signals generated by the different characteristics, for example a first characteristic comprising a background or interfering signal that is unrelated to blood glucose (e.g. "noise") and a second characteristic comprising blood glucose concentrations. In an illustrative embodiment of this invention, a first sensor is designed to measure glucose oxidase and comprises one or more working electrodes coated with glucose oxidase while a second comparative sensor is designed to measure a background or interfering signal that is unrelated to blood glucose has no working electrode (or electrodes) coated with glucose oxidase. [0144] at least two electrochemical sensors having at least one electrode for determining at least one body characteristic of the patient at a first sensor placement site, a second piercing member coupled to and extending from the base element and also operatively coupled to at least two electrochemical sensors having at least one electrode for determining at least one body characteristic of the patient at a second sensor placement site. In some embodiments of the invention, the at least two electrochemical sensors that are coupled to a piercing member are designed to measure a signal generated by the same characteristic, for example blood glucose concentration. Alternatively, the at least two electrochemical sensors that are coupled to a piercing member are designed to measure signals generated by the different characteristics, for example a first characteristic comprising a background or interfering signal that is unrelated to blood glucose (e.g. "noise") and a second characteristic comprising blood glucose concentrations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added circuitry that (i) determines one or more first baseline characteristics corresponding to detection of a substance by a first sensor of the array of sensors and (ii) determines one or more second baseline characteristics corresponding to detection of the substance by a second sensor of the array of sensors, wherein the one or more second baseline characteristics are different from the one or more first baseline characteristics, as taught by Gottlieb, in the device, as taught by Widdershoven, to allow for measuring multiple physiological characteristics, as taught by Gottlieb, in [0143].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein individual sensors of the array of sensors are arranged in a grid including a first number of columns and a second number of rows ([0050] Alternatively, a selection unit may be provided which is adapted for selecting one of the rows for sensing, but is further adapted for disabling all other rows from sensing and for closing the second switch element of at least a part of the all other rows to provide a counter electrode functionality. Only the discharge switch may be closed to include the corresponding electrodes in the reconfigurable counter electrode. This is not possible with the transfer switch because then the corresponding electrode would be connected in parallel with the active sensors element in the same row. In such a configuration, the electrodes which are presently not used for sensing may be not simply made inactive, but may be controlled to serve as a counter electrode to provide the sensor array with a constant electric potential at a position where it is coupled to an electrolyte. Therefore, the presently non-used electrodes may be synergetically used as configurable counter electrode members, which may make a separate counter electrode dispensable and may promote the miniature manufacturability of the sensor array.), first sensors included in an individual column of the first number of columns are electrically coupled via a first connector, and second sensors included in an individua row of the second number of rows are electrically coupled via a second connector, the second connector being disposed substantially perpendicular with respect to the first connector;
Regarding Claim 3, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a protective layer disposed over individual sensors of the array of sensors and sensor protection circuitry that causes electrical signals to be applied to the protective layer disposed over one or more sensors of the array of sensors such that the one or more sensors are exposed to an environment in which the apparatus is located ([0046] According to an exemplary embodiment, the sensor array may be monolithically integrated in a substrate. Such a substrate may be a semiconductor substrate or any other substrate. It is also possible that such a substrate is formed by a sequence of layers provided on top of each other. [0060] For any method step, any conventional procedure as known from semiconductor technology may be implemented. Forming layers or components may include deposition techniques like CVD (chemical vapour deposition), PECVD (plasma enhanced chemical vapour deposition), ALD (atomic layer deposition), electroplating, or sputtering. The limitation beginning with “such” is directed to intended use of the device.).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause the at least one switch of the first plurality of switches and the at least one switch of the second plurality of switches to operate to deactivate the sensor of the array of sensors ([0049] The sensor array may comprise a selection unit adapted for selecting one of the rows (at a time) for sensing, wherein the selection unit may be further adapted for disabling all other rows from sensing by opening the first switch element and the second switch element of the all other rows. Therefore, the non active rows may be simply biased to be non active, whereas a single row may be activated at a time.).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a silicon-containing material or a glass-containing material ([0018] The term "substrate" may denote any suitable material, such as a semiconductor, glass, plastic, etc. According to an exemplary embodiment, the term "substrate" may be used to define generally the elements for layers that underlie and/or overlie a layer or potions of interest. Also, the substrate may be any other base on which a layer is formed, for example a semiconductor wafer such as s silicon wafer or silicon chip. Also a layer sequence may fall under the term substrate as used herein. Such a layer sequence may be formed on and/or in a substrate, that is may be a part thereof.).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the individual sensors of the array of sensors include at least one of a semiconductor-based sensor, a carbon nanotube-based sensor, or a wire- based sensor ([0026] Such an architecture may be particularly advantageous when nanoelectrodes are employed which are manufactured sufficiently small. For example, such nanoelectrodes can be made with dimensions of 250 nm, 130 nm or less, and may for instance be realized as sensing pockets having dimensions close to dimensions of biological molecules to the detected. This may allow to obtain a significant improvement of the signal-to-noise ratio. For instance, on a copper nanoelectrode, a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) may be provided which may be specifically designed to attach capture molecules such as antibodies. The copper electrode may then serve, in combination with a second electrode which can be another metallization layer of the semiconductor layer sequence or which can be a counter electrode which may be provided apart from the semiconductor layer sequence, as a capacitor. Sensor events (such as hybridization events between capture molecules immobilized on the SAM layer and target molecules in the sample) may then modify the value of the capacitance of the capacitor.).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the semiconductor-based sensor includes an n- type ZnO-containing field effect transistor, a p-type Ge-containing field effect transistor, an n-type Ge-containing field effect transistor, a p-type Si-containing field effect transistor, or an n-type Si- containing field effect transistor ([0032] The first switch element and/or the second switch element may be a transistor. Such a transistor may have a gate region and may have two source/drain regions. The gate region of such switch transistors may be coupled to clock signals operating the transistor ins "high" or in a "low" operation mode, thereby selectively rendering the channel region between the two source/drain regions of a respective transistor conductive or not. One of the source/drain regions of a respective one of the two switch transistors is coupled to the respective first or second electric potential, wherein the other two source/drain regions of the two switch transistors are coupled to one another and to the electrode, which may also be denoted as a capacitor plate of the capacitor like sensor region. The transistors may be field effect transistors, bipolar transistors, etc. The transistors may be configured as an N-transistor or a P-transistor, for instance a P-MOS or an N-MOS. [0038] The biosensor device may be monolithically integrated in a semiconductor substrate, particularly comprising one of the group consisting of a group IV semiconductor (such as silicon or germanium), and a group III-group V semiconductor (such as gallium arsenide).).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the array of sensors includes a plurality of sensors that detect the substance, (A sensor device, comprising an arrangement of a plurality of sensors for sensing an analyte. See Claim 1), and the apparatus comprises additional circuitry to: detect an amount of use of a first sensor of the plurality of sensors, the amount of use including at least one of a number of activations of the first sensor of the plurality of sensors or an amount of time that the first sensor has been in an activated state; based on the amount of use of the first sensor being at least the threshold amount of use, determine that the amount of use of the first sensor is at least a threshold amount of use; the apparatus: disable the first sensor with respect to detection of the substance; and enables detection of the substance of the substance by a second sensor of the plurality of sensors to detect the substance ([0051] The sensor array may further comprise a row periphery circuit comprising a number of multiplexers adapted for gating the rows. Particularly, such a row periphery circuit may comprise five multiplexers for each pairs of rows, the five multiplexers being configured to provide clock signals to operate the first switch element and the second switch element and to provide the first electric potential or the second electric potential to the sensors of a respective pair of rows. The examiner notes that the claim language following “to detect” is directed to intended use of the device without further recitation of what the circuitry is).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, calibration circuitry determines the one or more first baseline characteristics and the one or more second baseline characteristics based on one or more environmental conditions detected by one or more additional sensors disposed on the substrate ([0143] at least two in the plurality of sensors in the sensor apparatus are designed to measure signals generated by the different characteristics, for example a first characteristic comprising a background or interfering signal that is unrelated to blood glucose (e.g. "noise") and a second characteristic comprising blood glucose concentrations. In an illustrative embodiment of this invention, a first sensor is designed to measure glucose oxidase and comprises one or more working electrodes coated with glucose oxidase while a second comparative sensor is designed to measure a background or interfering signal that is unrelated to blood glucose has no working electrode (or electrodes) coated with glucose oxidase.)
Regarding Claim 15, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, comprising communication circuitry to transmit first signals to one or more first devices according to at least one wireless communication standard and receive second signals from one or more second devices according to the at least one wireless communication standard ([0051] The sensor array may further comprise a row periphery circuit comprising a number of multiplexers adapted for gating the rows. Particularly, such a row periphery circuit may comprise five multiplexers for each pairs of rows, the five multiplexers being configured to provide clock signals to operate the first switch element and the second switch element and to provide the first electric potential or the second electric potential to the sensors of a respective pair of rows. The examiner notes that the claim language following “to transmit” is directed to intended use of the device).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, comprising: an interface to physically couple the apparatus to an additional device; and an energy storage device including at least one of a battery or a supercapacitor ([0207] FIG. 16 shows a system-level architecture 1600 according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention. [0208] The sensor array 500 is controlled by a row peripheral circuit 1602, and the average charge transfer currents of the columns are measured by a column peripheral circuit 1604. The row peripheral circuit 1602 and the column peripheral circuit 1604 connect to a wave form generator (WG) and control block 1606 that is connected to an input-output (IO) bus 1608. The IO bus 1608 inputs the addresses and other control signals and outputs the read currents and other optional output signals. Alternatively, the wave form generator may be off-chip.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdershoven (US Pub 2014/012288), in view of Gottlieb (US Pub 2010/0025238), and further in view of Liu (US Pub 2011/0159481).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Widdershoven is silent to one or more additional sensors disposed on the substrate, the one or more additional sensors including at least one of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a pH sensor, a mechanical stress sensor, a moisture sensor, or an electromagnetic radiation sensor.
Liu teaches in the related art of sensors. [0035] FIG. 9 provides a side-view of an exemplary sensor device according to embodiments of the invention. In FIG. 9, the sensor device 905 comprises a plurality of sensor units 910 that make up an array of sensor units 910 housed in substrate 915. Substrate 915 contains electronics (not shown) capable of individually addressing sensor units 910. [0036] FIG. 10 diagrams an exemplary system apparatus for biosensing that is optionally fabricated as a portable device. In FIG. 10 a sensor device 1005 is electronically coupled to electronic circuitry for signal detection and thermal control 1030. The sensing device 1005 has sensing elements 1015 that are electronic sensors having attached PPi chelators. Recognition and binding sites for molecules of interest (not shown) are provided within the sensor device 1005 in proximity to the electronic sensors 1015.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added one or more additional sensors, as taught by Liu, to the device of modified Widdershoven, to allow for detecting biomolecules, as taught by Liu, in the Abstract.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdershoven (US Pub 2014/012288), in view of Gottlieb (US Pub 2010/0025238), and further in view of Clark (US Pub 2010/0221188).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Widdershoven is silent to the substrate includes a polymeric material including at least one of a polyamide, a polyethylene terephthalate, or a paper material.
Clark teaches in the related art of sensors. [0105] In certain embodiments, the subject sensors comprise a polymer matrix, e.g., as a body or substrate in which one or more functional components are disposed, e.g., within the coating layer. In certain embodiments, the polymer comprises polyamides.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a coating of polyamide, as taught by Clark, to the substrate in the device of modified Widdershoven, to allow for detecting analytes, as taught by Clark, in the Abstract.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdershoven (US Pub 2014/012288), in view of Gottlieb (US Pub 2010/0025238), and further in view of Cheng (US Pub 2016/0320337).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Modified Widdershoven is silent to the semiconductor-based sensor includes a fin field effect transistor (FET), a bioFET, or an ion-sensitive FET.
Cheng teaches in the related art of sensors. [0006] FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view of an embodiment of a BioFET device according to one or more aspects of the present disclosure. [0010] In a BioFET, the gate of a MOSFET (metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor), which controls the conductance of the semiconductor between its source and drain contacts, is replaced by a bio- or biochemical-compatible layer or a biofunctionalized layer of immobilized probe molecules that act as surface receptors. Essentially, a BioFET is a field-effect biosensor with a semiconductor transducer. An advantage of BioFETs is the prospect of label-free operation. Use of BioFETs avoids costly and time-consuming labeling operations such tagging analytes with fluorescent or radioactive probes. [0056] Some embodiments of the BioFETs are arranged in an array form. The gate structures may be built on silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrates. This may provide advantages in some embodiments of operation at a higher speed and/or consumption of less power. The inverted transistor provided on an SOI substrate may achieve improved fabrication uniformity, have improved process control, and increase the BioFET density.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a bioFET, as taught by Cheng, to the device of modified Widdershoven, to allow for sensing and detecting biomolecules, as taught by Cheng, in [0003].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdershoven (US Pub 2014/012288), in view of Gottlieb (US Pub 2010/0025238), and further in view of Kohler (US Pub 2013/0302832).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Modified Widdershoven is silent to the wire-based sensor includes a wire having a diameter no greater than 250 nm and formed from at least one Au, an Au-containing alloy, Pt, or a Pt-containing alloy.
Kohler teaches in the related art of detecting a target molecule. [0047] FIG. 3 shows an example of the action of linamarase produced cyanide on the gold wire within an inventive electrode (1 µU of linamarase). In this graph, the X-axis denotes the time [minutes], the Y-axis denotes the electrical resistance [Ohm]. [0118] The inventive electrode containing a gold wire (1 µm, 50 nm thick and about 3 mm long).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a wire with a thickness of 50 nm thick, as taught by Kohler, to the sensor in the device of modified Widdershoven, since electrical properties of the electrode depend on the cross section, length of the wire and the behavior of the electrode towards changes in the chemical composition, as taught by Kohler, in [0017].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdershoven (US Pub 2014/012288), in view of Gottlieb (US Pub 2010/0025238), and further in view of Paulus (US Pub 2008/0073225).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Widdershoven teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Widdershoven is silent to the array of sensors includes a first number of sensors to detect a first substance and a second number of sensors to detect a second substance.
Paulus teaches in the related art of sensors. [0062] The electrodes in the sensor array according to at least one embodiment of the invention can be designed to detect substances which can be oxidized or reduced. These sensor arrays may have 50 to 1 000 000, preferably 100 to 250 000, individual sensor electrodes. In the sensor array according to at least one embodiment of the invention, the sensor pixels can be arranged essentially in the form of a matrix, that is to say in rows and columns.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a first number of sensors to detect a first substance and a second number of sensors to detect a second substance, as taught by Paulus, to the device of modified Widdershoven, to allow for a particularly high integration density for the sensor pixels, and this is advantageous in particular for high throughput analyses, in which each sensor electrode is sensitive to a different biomolecule, for example to oligonucleotides with a different base sequence, as taught by [0062].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues on page 9 that the Widdershoven does not teach or suggest the features of claim 1. Applicant argues that the prior art of Gottlieb does not make up for these deficiencies.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes the prior art of Widdershoven teaches calibration circuitry ([0055] a calibration row may be provided having one or more calibration units each of which being constituted as each of the plurality of sensors but being free of as electrode and a sensor active region. In other words, such a calibration row may have sensors which are only void of the electrode and the sensor active regions. However, all the other components of a sensor may be present in such a calibration unit, so that the measurement of a signal at such a calibration unit may be a proper measure for an unspecific underground signal which is detected by the other sensors as well. Since only the interaction with the particles to be detected lacks for the calibration unit, the use of a calibration row may allow to improve the accuracy of the signals by allowing to calibrate the measured signals on the basis of the underground signal determined by the calibration unit. Alternatively two or more calibration rows may be operated simultaneously to create a larger calibration signal (this may be advantageous to compensate for the effect of the lacking electrodes in the calibration rows). Additionally or alternatively to a calibration row, it is also possible to provide a single calibration cell or a calibration column.
The prior art of Gottlieb teaches ([0144] In some embodiments of the invention, the at least two electrochemical sensors that are coupled to a piercing member are designed to measure a signal generated by the same characteristic, for example blood glucose concentration).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Second, Applicant argues on pages 10 and 11 that claim 13 does not provide any teaching or suggestion having the features of claim 13.
In response, the examiner notes that regarding the limitation “determines that the amount…”, there is no controller or processor positively recited. The computer or processor would be doing the calculation. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JB/
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798