DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on January 27, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 has been amended. Thus, claims 1 and 4-18 are presently pending in this application with claims 11-18 presently withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 27, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive, specifically in regards to Matson not teaching or disclosing a first passage slit at the distal tip of the distal end of the first passage. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lareau (US 20110172642) in view of McDermott (US 20150273130).
Regarding claim 1, Lareau discloses a double lumen catheter (fig. 7) comprising:
a circumferential wall forming a lumen extending from a proximal end to a distal end (tubular sidewall 130 in fig. 1A and 7); and
a partition (dividing wall 125 in fig. 7) dividing the lumen into a first passage and a second passage extending in a longitudinal direction (first lumen 141 and second lumen 142 in fig. 7),
distal ends of the first passage and the second passage of the circumferential wall being aligned with each other (fig. 7),
the first passage having, at a distal tip of the distal end, a first passage slit provided on a center portion of the circumferential wall between two connections of the circumferential wall and the partition (cut 150 in fig. 7; paragraph 26), and
the second passage having no slit (paragraph 26 discloses that the cut is provided over either the first and second lumen so that it is understood that Lareau discloses an embodiment in which only one passage has a slit).
However, Lareau does not teach or disclose the partition including a projection projecting beyond the distal end of the circumferential wall.
McDermott teaches a similar double lumen catheter (fig. 1) having a circumferential wall (outer wall 34 in fig. 4) and a partition dividing the wall into two lumens (septum 40 in fig. 4). McDermott further teaches the partition including a projection projecting beyond the distal end of the circumferential wall (septum extension 52 in fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the partition of Lareau to include a projection projecting beyond the distal end of the circumferential wall, as taught by McDermott, for the purpose of facilitate passage of the catheter through the vasculature (paragraph 36).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lareau in view of McDermott, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sansoucy (US 10143822).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lareau teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. Lareau further teaches that the number of slits is not limited to that shown in the drawings and that there is no limit to the number of slits that may be included in the catheter (paragraph 25). However, modified Lareau does not explicitly teach or disclose the first passage has a first passage through-hole being closer to the proximal end than the first passage slit is and penetrating the circumferential wall.
Sansoucy teaches a double lumen catheter (fig. 1) comprising a slit at the distal tip of the distal end (valve 118 in fig. 3A/B forms a slit) and further teaches that a first passage (first lumen 114 in fig. 3A) which comprises a first passage through-hole (valves 120 in fig. 3A/B) which is positioned closer to the proximal end than the first passage is (fig. 3A/B shows valves 120 positioned more proximally than valve 118) and penetrating the circumferential wall (fig. 3B). Since Lareau makes it clear that the catheter can comprise any number of slits (paragraph 25), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first passage to comprise a first passage through-hole being closer to the proximal end than the first passage slit is and penetrating the circumferential wall, as taught by Lareau, since this modification appears within the scope of Lareau and in order to achieve a desired flow rate through the catheter (5:64-66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
See reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in the Final Rejection mailed on 10/31/2025.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783