DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (page 8-9):
Independent claim 1 as amended herein is directed to a method for controlling a cooking appliance with a temperature sensor, wherein the method includes
1) determining if a variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is equal to or lower than a certain temperature variation value;
2) providing temperature lock information to the user if the variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is equal to or lower than the certain temperature variation value; and then
3) receiving a temperature lock confirmation from the user after providing the temperature lock information.
Egenter discloses a cooking system (see FIG. 1, reproduced below) wherein a hob controller 17 and temperature probe 35 for a cooking vessel 30 are in radio communication with a mobile telephone 25 via a radio module 18, such the mobile telephone 25 can carry out an automatic cooking program based on temperature information from the temperature probe 35 and user inputs (see paragraphs [0038] and [0041]). Paragraph [0042] of Egentr further discloses that "if the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself" The Advisory Action mailed on December 12, 2025 contends that this disclosure corresponds to providing temperature lock information to the user (see page 8).
However, Egenter fails to disclose or suggest determining if a variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is equal to or lower than a certain temperature variation value. Rather, Egenter merely discloses determining temperature with its probe 35 (see paragraph [0040]), which does not correspond to or disclose determining a variation of temperature. It certainly does not teach or suggest determining whether a variation of temperature is equal to or lower than a certain temperature variation value. Indeed, Egenter is totally silent regarding any threshold temperature variation value.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because Egenter anticipates a continuous range of temperature variation in relation to expected values from power applied in relation to predicted temperature, the detection resulting in action/confirmation thereto in either continuing operation of maintaining heat/heating up or halting operation “It is also possible to determine, for example, whether the practice of increasing the power by means of corresponding control commands from the external control device results in an increased temperature in the heating device or in the cooking vessel. If this is not the case, there is an error and the power should be reduced or completely switched off.” Emphasis added [0019] temperature control/monitoring is a time dependent variable as known to PID / feedback type monitoring/controlling as disclosed above [0019], additionally in reaching a setpoint temperature the controller is determining if the temperature is at or below said setpoint, see relation of reaching setpoint and temperature lock with user query for confirmation as currently responded to in arguments of claim 1 below [0042] and in rejection of claim 1.
Applicant secondly argues (page 9):
Moreover,Egenter also fails to disclose or suggest receiving a temperature lock confirmation from the user after providing the temperature lock information cited in paragraph [0042].
The Advisory action on page 5 argues that "Egenter provides automating a manual activity of the monitoring/controlling of cooking appliance/processes, wherein the user is replaced by a control unit... An automatic or mechanical means in replacement to a manual activity which accomplishe[s] the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 B. III. Automating a manual activity)." However, the claimed temperature lock confirmation is not automating a manual activity. To the contrary, the claimed lock confirmation is a manual activity provided by the user. Egenter does not disclose any such manual activity, and therefore cannot anticipate the claim. Moreover, it would not have been obvious to automate a manual activity that Egenter does not even disclose.
However Examiner notes that automation functions cited by Egenter are exchangeable between user/ human operator of the cookware (see [0045] of rejection and below and [0025] emphasis added –“If the external control device is classified as a manual control device and this also still applies after each check, provision may preferably be made for no restrictions or changes to be made to the control commands given by the external control device. This is because it is then assumed that the operation is actually carried out manually by an operator who is then present or is in the vicinity of the cooking appliance. The operator will probably be able to determine and avoid a possible critical state on the cooking appliance, which is why no safety measures have to be taken.”). In either instance of a human performing a process or automation performing said process, obviousness to said process is being recited. Automating a manual activity (MPEP 2144.04 B. III) obviating the bridge therebetween in view of Egenter anticipating interchangeability between human user operations and automation user operations “If an external control device registers with the cooking appliance controller for the first time, it must be distinguished or classified as an automatic control device, on the one hand, or as a manual control device, on the other hand.” [0045]. Because the system of Egenter notifies the user of system status (“The mobile telephone 25 then carries out an automatic program with the temperature information, for example for boiling noodles, as mentioned above. This automatic program can run on an app on the mobile telephone 25, which also allows operator inputs. These operator inputs may be different, for example the boiling of noodles as a main issue. A boiling time for the noodles, for example 10 minutes, can then be input as a subtopic. Alternatively, this could also be captured by a camera of the mobile telephone 25 by means of character recognition or as easily readable preparation information by means of a QR code or the like. Information or specifications can be input to the mobile telephone in a manner known per se using operating elements 27. Information can be displayed to an operator on a display 28.” [0041]) and receives confirmation/detection of action of temperature lock via corresponding action of user “The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25” emphasis added [0042], the automation for control is therefore a predictable and known variation to a system that notifies human user for the “keep alive” confirmation step as disclosed in rejection (see [0045]) and further/alternatively confirmation to temperature lock as provided by human user in response to system reaching a steady temperature as disclosed in rejection, see [0042] in response to claim 1 as currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 11, 12, 16, 17, 19, 20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Egenter (US 2019/0154266).
Regarding claim 1, Egenter discloses a method for controlling a cooking appliance (13) with a temperature sensor (35), the cooking appliance comprising at least one heating power transferring element (22) for heating a cookware item (30) placed on a cooking support (16), the method comprising the steps of:
Performing a heat-process in which the cookware item is heated up (process to temperature reaching setpoint, see below [0045]);
gathering temperature information with the temperature sensor (temperature of sensor 35 is recording in providing temperature adjustment based thereon, “setpoint” of temperature disclosed below [0045]), said temperature information being correlated with a temperature of the cookware item or a cookware content of the cookware item (placement of correlating temperature detection limited only in reference to areas heated “In yet another configuration, in the case described above, it is also possible for additional information from the external control device to be compared during ongoing operation of the heating device. In particular, this may be an item of temperature information which comes from a temperature probe on the heating device or for the heating device or alternatively for the cooking vessel” [0019]);
-after the heat-up process (for example “boil” heat process, see below [0042]), lowering a heating power provided to the cookware item in response to a power reduction input provided by a user (operator various input may be initiation of a temperature drop, emphasis added “In order to quickly boil water, the power specification will usually be very high so that the water 32 boils quickly. If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C.” [0042] temperature may also be manually adjusted “In one configuration of the invention, provision may be made for the external control device to be an additional device, possibly also a device which can be subsequently added, or a user interface which can be subsequently connected. The external control device then has conventional operating elements, in particular buttons for adjusting the power.” [0020]);
-providing temperature lock information to the user if the variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is equal to or lower than the certain temperature variation value (temperature maintained, raised or lowered, see above [0042][0008], if temperature predicted range is out of spec error is recognized “It is also possible to determine, for example, whether the practice of increasing the power by means of corresponding control commands from the external control device results in an increased temperature in the heating device or in the cooking vessel. If this is not the case, there is an error and the power should be reduced or completely switched off.” Emphasis added [0019], information of function of device displayed to user “Information can be displayed to an operator on a display 28” [0041]),
-after providing the temperature lock information, receiving a temperature lock confirmation from the user (operator of appliance queried “during ongoing operations” that include constant temperatures such as “boiling process” and/or “predefined setpoint temperature” in order to confirm operator has awareness of the cooking state for safety, less the cooking operation is terminated, emphasis added “If an external control device registers with the cooking appliance controller for the first time, it must be distinguished or classified as an automatic control device, on the one hand, or as a manual control device, on the other hand. For this purpose, it can initially transmit a particular signal containing the information relating to what type of device the external control device may actually be or is in this case. If it is classified as an automatic control device, additional information may be requested during ongoing operation, for example with respect to the type of process as a boiling process or roasting process or alternatively with respect to a predefined setpoint temperature for the temperature control, as has been described above. If this additional information is available, a continuous keep-alive query of this information or else simply only of the operating state of the cooking appliance or of the external control device can be carried out. It is therefore checked whether the radio connection still exists and the external automatic control device still operates properly. Meanwhile, the operation of the heating device continues. However, if the keep-alive query reveals that the radio connection or communication with respect to the hob is disrupted or the process-relevant additional information no longer properly arrives, the previously controlled heating device is switched off as a safety measure.” [0045]);
- in response to receiving the temperature lock confirmation from the user, controlling a provision of heating power to the cookware item or the cookware content based on the temperature information provided by the temperature sensor such that the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is maintained within a given temperature range (cooking operations set to prescribed/setpoint temperatures, see above “keep alive query” [0045] and confirmation received by various user inputs (cooking action or direct controller inputs) after query/ confirmation request from automated system in regards to a detected preselected temperature, so that additional automated cooking may commence, in this instance at a reduced constant temperature “If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C., generally by reducing the power specification after a minute, on the basis of the temperature information.” Emphasis added [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 1, Egenter further discloses wherein the temperature information at a point of time at which said temperature lock information is received is used as a temperature control target value (nature of setting/adjusting temperature, see above previous citation to holding/adjusting temperature automatically or manually [0008][0020][0045]), and/or
wherein the temperature lock information received from the user may be to hold a current temperature (as disclosed above [0008][0020][0045]), and/or wherein the temperature lock information received from the user may be to adjust the current temperature by a predetermined adjustment value (as disclosed above [0008][0020][0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 2, Egenter further discloses wherein the provision of heating power to the cookware item is controlled such that the temperature information provided by the temperature sensor is kept in a temperature range provided around the temperature control target value (range of temperature control nature of temperature control see [0008][0020][0045] as cited previously above).
Regarding claim 4, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 1, Egenter further discloses wherein the temperature lock information provided to the user is visual information provided at a user interface (information of the apparatus anticipated to display 28 “Information can be displayed to an operator on a display 28” emphasis added [0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 1, Egenter further discloses wherein the cooking appliance is an induction cooking appliance (induction anticipated “The hob 13 also has heating devices 22 in the housing which are applied to the underside of the hob panel 14. These are advantageously induction heating coils 22 here, but may be any type of heating device, including radiation heating devices and gas or mixed forms thereof.” [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Egenter discloses a cooking system comprising a temperature sensor (35) and a cooking appliance (13), the cooking appliance comprising at least one heating power transferring element (22) for heating a cookware item placed on a cooking support (14) and a user interface (information of the apparatus anticipated to display 28 “Information can be displayed to an operator on a display 28” [0041] operator elements 27) at least for receiving a command input of a user (via operator elements 27),
the temperature sensor being configured to provide information regarding a temperature correlated with the cookware item (“The temperature probe 35 has precisely at least one temperature sensor which is not illustrated and is advantageously in contact with the cooking vessel or the lid 31” [0041]) or its a cookware item content (“the temperature probe 35 can be used to capture the temperature of the water 32.” [0042]), the user interface being configured to allow the user to control the heating power supplied by the at least one heating power transferring element (nature of control interface to cooking apparatus), to provide temperature lock information and to receive a temperature lock confirmation (user queried to set/confirm desired temperature lock “additional information may be requested during ongoing operation, for example with respect to the type of process as a boiling process or roasting process or alternatively with respect to a predefined temperature for the temperature control, as has been described above” [0045]), the cooking appliance further comprising:
a control unit (25/17) configured to perform the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Egenter discloses a cooking system according to claim 11, Egenter further discloses wherein the control unit (8) is configured to control the provision of heating power to the cookware item (nature of controller to cooking apparatus) such that said temperature information provided by the temperature sensor is kept in a temperature range (nature of setting temperature, eg cooking) provided around a temperature control target value, said temperature control target value being a temperature value at a point of time at which the temperature lock information is receipt received (temperature lock/ setting temperature, may occur at point within an ongoing cooking operation “In order to quickly boil water, the power specification will usually be very high so that the water 32 boils quickly. If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C.” [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Egenter discloses the cooking system according to claim 11, Egenter further discloses the cooking appliance being an induction cooking appliance (induction anticipated “The hob 13 also has heating devices 22 in the housing which are applied to the underside of the hob panel 14. These are advantageously induction heating coils 22 here, but may be any type of heating device, including radiation heating devices and gas or mixed forms thereof.” [0039]).
Regarding claim 17, Egenter discloses the cooking system according to claim 11, Egenter further discloses wherein the temperature sensor is part of the cooking appliance, and is provided below the cooking support, or wherein the temperature sensor is a food sensor wirelessly, coupled with the control unit and/or the internet (wireless connection of temperature sensor to control system anticipated “The temperature probe 35 has a radio connection or is designed for such a connection and has an integrated radio module which is not illustrated, wherein a radio standard corresponds to that of the radio module 18.” [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Egenter discloses the cooking system according to claim 11, Egenter further discloses wherein the temperature sensor is part of a-the cookware item or is configured to be placed into the cookware item (anticipation to operator placement of temperature sensor “A temperature probe 35 is arranged, for example magnetically or clamped, on the lid 31.” [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Egenter discloses a method for controlling a cooking appliance (13) comprising a heating power transferring element (22) adapted to supply heating power for cooking, and a control unit (17/25) adapted to control the heating power transferring element, the method comprising:-
operating the heating power transferring element to heat a cookware (32) during a heating procedure (nature of cooking appliance with cookware relation);
- receiving sensor temperature values from a temperature sensor (35) during the heating procedure (nature of temperature control in relation to temperature sensor of cooking appliance), wherein said sensor temperature values correlate to an actual temperature of the cookware (nature of temperature sensor to cookware, see sensor 35 on cookware 32 figures 1-2);
-determining whether a variation of the sensor temperature values over a predetermined time period is equal to or lower than a certain temperature variation value (target temperature determination, see below [0042], temperature control/monitoring is a time dependent variable as known to PID / feedback type monitoring/controlling “It is also possible to determine, for example, whether the practice of increasing the power by means of corresponding control commands from the external control device results in an increased temperature in the heating device or in the cooking vessel. If this is not the case, there is an error and the power should be reduced or completely switched off.” [0019]); and
- upon determining that the variation of the sensor temperature values over the predetermined time period is equal to or lower than the certain temperature variation value (evaluation of temperature as necessary in automated cooking during raising/lowering or maintaining temperatures within ranges/temperature profiles “Another possibility for an automatic control device is such an external control device which has a temperature sensor or is connected to such a temperature sensor which is then arranged either in an oven muffle or in or on a cooking vessel for a hob. On the basis of the temperature signals provided, the external control device as an automatic control device can either keep a temperature constant by respectively adjusting the power or, as described above, can run through particular temperature profiles” [0008], temperature profiles may be more than one constant temperatures that is varied at different stages of cooking “In order to quickly boil water, the power specification will usually be very high so that the water 32 boils quickly. If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C.” [0042]), providing temperature lock information to a user indicating that the temperature of the cookware (information of function of device displayed to user “Information can be displayed to an operator on a display 28” [0041]), which is correlated to the sensor temperature, has achieved an essentially constant temperature (constant temperature / “temperature profiles” disclosed above [0008]);
- wherein after providing the temperature lock information to the user, the user interface receives a temperature lock confirmation from the user (as disclosed above/below [0042]), wherein the temperature lock confirmation activates a temperature lock mode during which the control unit operates the heating power transferring element to maintain the temperature of the cookware at the essentially constant temperature (confirmation to temperature lock received by various user inputs (cooking action or direct controller inputs) after query/ confirmation request from automated system in regards to a detected preselected temperature, so that additional automated cooking may commence, in this instance at a reduced constant temperature lock “If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C., generally by reducing the power specification after a minute, on the basis of the temperature information.” Emphasis added [0042]).
Regarding claim 23, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is defined as a difference between an upper temperature boundary of the temperature and lower temperature boundary of the temperature over a period of time (temperature control/monitoring is a time dependent variable as known to PID / feedback type monitoring/controlling “It is also possible to determine, for example, whether the practice of increasing the power by means of corresponding control commands from the external control device results in an increased temperature in the heating device or in the cooking vessel. If this is not the case, there is an error and the power should be reduced or completely switched off.” [0019]).
Regarding claim 24, Egenter discloses a method for controlling a cooking appliance with a temperature sensor (35), the cooking appliance comprising a cooking support (16) and at least one heating power transferring element for heating a cookware item placed on the cooking support, the method comprising the steps of:
operating the heating power transferring element (22) to provide heating power to the cookware item (nature of heating element in cooking appliance “In order to quickly boil water, the power specification will usually be very high so that the water 32 boils quickly. If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C.” [0042]);
gathering temperature information with the temperature sensor (evaluation of temperature as necessary in automated cooking during raising/lowering or maintaining temperatures “Another possibility for an automatic control device is such an external control device which has a temperature sensor or is connected to such a temperature sensor which is then arranged either in an oven muffle or in or on a cooking vessel for a hob. On the basis of the temperature signals provided, the external control device as an automatic control device can either keep a temperature constant by respectively adjusting the power or, as described above, can run through particular temperature profiles” [0008]), said temperature information being correlated with a temperature of the cookware item or a cookware content of the cookware item (temperature of cooking device evaluated in maintaining or adjusting temperature, see above [0042][0008]);
determining if a variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is equal to or lower than a certain temperature variation value (target temperature determination, see above [0042]);
providing temperature lock information to a user (target temperature reached results in notifying user and requiring confirmation as input and or action from user, see above [0042]) in response to the variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content being equal to or lower than the certain temperature variation value (as disclosed above [0042]);
after providing the temperature lock information to the user, receiving a temperature lock confirmation from the user (as disclosed above [0042]); and
in response to receiving the temperature lock confirmation from the user, controlling the provision of heating power to the cookware item based on the temperature information provided by the temperature sensor such that the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware item content is maintained within a given temperature range (after query from automated system in regards to detected temperature, so that additional automated cooking at temperature range may commence, in this instance at a reduced temperature, see above [0042]).
Regarding claim 25, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 24, Egenter further discloses wherein the variation of the temperature of the cookware item or the cookware content is defined as a difference between an upper temperature boundary of the temperature and a lower temperature boundary of the temperature over a period of time (temperature control/monitoring is a time dependent variable as known to PID / feedback type monitoring/controlling “It is also possible to determine, for example, whether the practice of increasing the power by means of corresponding control commands from the external control device results in an increased temperature in the heating device or in the cooking vessel. If this is not the case, there is an error and the power should be reduced or completely switched off.” [0019]).
Claims 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egenter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon (US 2018/0199401).
Regarding claim 5, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 1, Egenter is silent regarding wherein the temperature sensor comprises a resistor changing its resistance value depending on its temperature.
However Moon teaches wherein the temperature sensor comprises a resistor changing its resistance value depending on its temperature “The NTC thermistor 44 is located within the heating assembly 20, just below and in contact with the upper surface 32.” [0036].
The advantage of the temperature sensor comprising a resistor changing its resistance value depending on its temperature, is to provide a sensor that is accurate for greater temperature control “The thermistor 44 is able to accurately detect the temperature of the surface 32 for greater temperature control.” [0036].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Egenter and Moon before him or her, to modify the undisclosed structural means of temperature sensor of Egenter to include the NTC resistance thermistor temperature sensor of Moon, because providing a disclosed and known structure temperature sensing that provides accurate temperature readings enables enhanced accuracy of temperature control.
Regarding claim 6, Egenter as modified teaches the method according to claim 5, Egenter as already modified teaches wherein the temperature sensor is an NTC-thermistor (“The NTC thermistor 44 is located within the heating assembly 20, just below and in contact with the upper surface 32.” Moon [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Egenter as modified teaches the method according to claim 5, Egenter as already modified teaches wherein the temperature information is derived by sampling an electrical value (nature of NTC thermistor as modified by Moon), specifically by periodic sampling of a voltage value provided at the temperature sensor (nature of maintaining temperature over time).
Regarding claim 14, Egenter discloses the cooking system according to claim 11, wherein the temperature sensor comprises an NTC-thermistor.
However Moon teaches wherein the temperature sensor comprises an NTC-thermistor “The NTC thermistor 44 is located within the heating assembly 20, just below and in contact with the upper surface 32.” [0036].
The advantage of the temperature sensor comprises an NTC-thermistor, is to provide a sensor that is accurate for greater temperature control “The thermistor 44 is able to accurately detect the temperature of the surface 32 for greater temperature control.” [0036].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Egenter and Moon before him or her, to modify the undisclosed structure of temperature sensor of Egenter to include the NTC resistance thermistor temperature sensor of Moon, because providing a disclosed and known structure temperature sensing that provides accurate temperature readings enables greater accuracy of temperature control.
Claims 8, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egenter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lyszus (US 2020/0260536).
Regarding claim 8, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 1, Egenter is silent regarding wherein a heating procedure of the cooking appliance is recorded in a recording mode and information regarding the heating procedure is stored in order to reuse said information for a further heating procedure.
However Lyszus teaches a heating procedure of the cooking appliance is recorded in a recording mode (use of learning and therefor memory storage is anticipated to optimizing heating “The use of an intelligent algorithm includes in this context preferably algorithms that are provided and/or linked with tools of artificial intelligence, such as for example neural networks, expert systems, machine learning and/or fuzzy logic. The intelligent algorithm is preferably self-learning, in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of the boiling state and to adapt to changing or new application conditions.” [0010]) and information regarding the heating procedure is stored in order to reuse said information for a further heating procedure
(emphasis added “The set of comparison spectra preferably contains frequency spectra for different boiling states of a liquid during a heating process. In addition or alternatively, the set of comparison spectra preferably includes frequency spectra for different types of liquid, different amounts of liquid and/or different liquid receiving containers. The more extensive the set of comparison spectra, and the more variables that are taken into account in the various comparison spectra, the more accurate and the more reliable the determination of the boiling state by a comparison of the sensed frequency spectrum with the set of comparison spectra.” [0012]).
The advantage of a heating procedure of the cooking appliance is recorded in a recording mode and information regarding the heating procedure is stored in order to reuse said information for a further heating procedure, is to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of cooking state while learning/adapting to changes that may include different types of cooking mediums or cooking vessels “The use of an intelligent algorithm includes in this context preferably algorithms that are provided and/or linked with tools of artificial intelligence, such as for example neural networks, expert systems, machine learning and/or fuzzy logic. The intelligent algorithm is preferably self-learning, in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of the boiling state and to adapt to changing or new application conditions.” [0010], “The set of comparison spectra preferably contains frequency spectra for different boiling states of a liquid during a heating process. In addition or alternatively, the set of comparison spectra preferably includes frequency spectra for different types of liquid, different amounts of liquid and/or different liquid receiving containers. The more extensive the set of comparison spectra, and the more variables that are taken into account in the various comparison spectra, the more accurate and the more reliable the determination of the boiling state by a comparison of the sensed frequency spectrum with the set of comparison spectra.” [0012].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Egenter and Lyszus before him or her, to modify the automated cooking procedures of Egenter to include the learned heating profiles of container properties or cooking medium properties of Lyszus, because providing learning/memory to a cooking program in regards to mediums being heated enhances accuracy/control/reliability of cooking temperatures.
Regarding claim 15, Egenter discloses cooking system according to claim 11, Egenter is silent regarding comprising a storage configured to store information regarding a heating procedure of the cooking appliance in a recording mode, the cooking appliance being further configured to reuse stored information for a further heating procedure.
However Lyszus teaches a heating procedure of the cooking appliance is recorded in a recording mode (use of learning and therefor memory storage is anticipated to optimizing heating “The use of an intelligent algorithm includes in this context preferably algorithms that are provided and/or linked with tools of artificial intelligence, such as for example neural networks, expert systems, machine learning and/or fuzzy logic. The intelligent algorithm is preferably self-learning, in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of the boiling state and to adapt to changing or new application conditions.” [0010]) and information regarding the heating procedure is stored in order to reuse said information for a further heating procedure
(emphasis added “The set of comparison spectra preferably contains frequency spectra for different boiling states of a liquid during a heating process. In addition or alternatively, the set of comparison spectra preferably includes frequency spectra for different types of liquid, different amounts of liquid and/or different liquid receiving containers. The more extensive the set of comparison spectra, and the more variables that are taken into account in the various comparison spectra, the more accurate and the more reliable the determination of the boiling state by a comparison of the sensed frequency spectrum with the set of comparison spectra.” [0012]).
The advantage of a heating procedure of the cooking appliance is recorded in a recording mode and information regarding the heating procedure is stored in order to reuse said information for a further heating procedure, is to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of cooking state while learning/adapting to changes that may include different types of cooking mediums or cooking vessels “The use of an intelligent algorithm includes in this context preferably algorithms that are provided and/or linked with tools of artificial intelligence, such as for example neural networks, expert systems, machine learning and/or fuzzy logic. The intelligent algorithm is preferably self-learning, in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of the boiling state and to adapt to changing or new application conditions.” [0010], “The set of comparison spectra preferably contains frequency spectra for different boiling states of a liquid during a heating process. In addition or alternatively, the set of comparison spectra preferably includes frequency spectra for different types of liquid, different amounts of liquid and/or different liquid receiving containers. The more extensive the set of comparison spectra, and the more variables that are taken into account in the various comparison spectra, the more accurate and the more reliable the determination of the boiling state by a comparison of the sensed frequency spectrum with the set of comparison spectra.” [0012].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Egenter and Lyszus before him or her, to modify the automated cooking procedures of Egenter to include the learned heating profiles of container properties or cooking medium properties of Lyszus, because providing learning/memory to a cooking program in regards to mediums being heated enhances accuracy/control/reliability of cooking temperatures.
Regarding claim 22, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 20, Egenter is silent regarding wherein the heating procedure is recorded in a storage of said appliance, said control unit recalling control parameters, including user inputs, from said heating procedure and re-executing the same to thereby reproduce a similar cooking function in a future heating procedure.
However Lyszus teaches wherein the heating procedure is recorded in a storage of said appliance, said control unit recalling control parameters, including user inputs, from said heating procedure and re-executing the same to thereby reproduce a similar cooking function in a future heating procedure. (use of learning and therefor memory storage and use thereof is anticipated to optimizing heating profiles “The use of an intelligent algorithm includes in this context preferably algorithms that are provided and/or linked with tools of artificial intelligence, such as for example neural networks, expert systems, machine learning and/or fuzzy logic. The intelligent algorithm is preferably self-learning, in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of the boiling state and to adapt to changing or new application conditions.” [0010], all variables incurred to cooking operation/profiles anticipated to learning “The set of comparison spectra preferably contains frequency spectra for different boiling states of a liquid during a heating process. In addition or alternatively, the set of comparison spectra preferably includes frequency spectra for different types of liquid, different amounts of liquid and/or different liquid receiving containers. The more extensive the set of comparison spectra, and the more variables that are taken into account in the various comparison spectra, the more accurate and the more reliable the determination of the boiling state by a comparison of the sensed frequency spectrum with the set of comparison spectra.” [0012]).
The advantage of wherein the heating procedure is recorded in a storage of said appliance, said control unit recalling control parameters, including user inputs, from said heating procedure and re-executing the same to thereby reproduce a similar cooking function in a future heating procedure, is to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of cooking state while learning/adapting to changes that may include different types of cooking mediums or cooking vessels “The use of an intelligent algorithm includes in this context preferably algorithms that are provided and/or linked with tools of artificial intelligence, such as for example neural networks, expert systems, machine learning and/or fuzzy logic. The intelligent algorithm is preferably self-learning, in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of the detection of the boiling state and to adapt to changing or new application conditions.” [0010], “The set of comparison spectra preferably contains frequency spectra for different boiling states of a liquid during a heating process. In addition or alternatively, the set of comparison spectra preferably includes frequency spectra for different types of liquid, different amounts of liquid and/or different liquid receiving containers. The more extensive the set of comparison spectra, and the more variables that are taken into account in the various comparison spectra, the more accurate and the more reliable the determination of the boiling state by a comparison of the sensed frequency spectrum with the set of comparison spectra.” [0012].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Egenter and Lyszus before him or her, to modify the automated cooking procedures of Egenter to include the learned heating profiles of container properties or cooking medium properties of Lyszus, because providing learning/memory to a cooking program in regards to mediums being heated enhances accuracy/control/reliability of cooking temperatures.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egenter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boccuni (NPL).
Regarding claim 21, Egenter discloses the method according to claim 20, further comprising detecting whether the user manually lowers the heating power of the heating power transferring element during the heating procedure, wherein said predetermined time period for determining whether the sensor temperature values are confined within the predetermined temperature variation range commences after detecting that the user has manually lowered said heating power (as disclosed above, temperature profiles may be more than one constant temperatures that is varied at different stages of cooking, operator may initiate temperature change of cooking cycle “In order to quickly boil water, the power specification will usually be very high so that the water 32 boils quickly. If the temperature probe 35 has detected that the boiling point of the water 32 has been reached, it provides the cooking appliance controller 17 with this information via the automatic program. The cooking appliance controller then either generates a signal for the operator or the mobile telephone 25 itself. The operator can then put the noodles into the boiling water. The temperature probe 35 either detects this on the basis of a considerable temperature drop or the operator inputs it to the mobile telephone 25. The automatic program then adjusts the temperature of the water 32 to just below 100° C.” [0042], ongoing cooking operations may be user queried/initiated “additional information may be requested during ongoing operation, for example with respect to the type of process as a boiling process or roasting process or alternatively with respect to a predefined temperature for the temperature control, as has been described above” [0045], the detection of temperature expected range is in relation to power input, regardless of power change source “It is also possible to determine, for example, whether the practice of increasing the power by means of corresponding control commands from the external control device results in an increased temperature in the heating device or in the cooking vessel. If this is not the case, there is an error and the power should be reduced or completely switched off.” Emphasis added [0019] manual and automated control may swap automatedly “If the continuous check of the operating characteristic, explained in detail above, reveals that the classification as a manual control device no longer applies or has never applied, the external control device is reclassified as an automatic control device.” [0048]);
Egenter is silent regarding wherein the temperature sensor is disposed adjacent to the cookware so that said temperature sensor values provide an indirect measure of the actual temperature of the cookware, and that changes in said temperature sensor values are time delayed compared to changes in the actual temperature of said cookware during the heating procedure.
However Boccuni teaches the temperature sensor is disposed adjacent to the cookware so that said temperature sensor values provide an indirect measure of the actual temperature of the cookware (emphasis added “This paper discusses the possible implementation of a block estimating the thermal state of an induction cooktop, see, for example, Lu et al. [2009]. To this purpose, the signal of electrical power fed into the primary coil and the temperature of the lower face of the glass of the cooking system, are acquired.” (page 1, first paragraph)), and that changes in said temperature sensor values are time delayed compared to changes in the actual temperature of said cookware during the heating procedure (estimation of internal temp of cookware comprising external temp as variable therein “The problem of estimating the thermal state of an induction cooking system is analyzed. The first step is to model the thermal system composed by the cooktop, the pot, and the pot content. Then, by relying on the formulated model, the aim is to design a suitable state observer, so that an estimation of the temperature of the cooking vessel content can be made online. Two kinds of observers are proposed. An Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) and a Sliding Mode Observer (SMO). A comparison of the performances which can be obtained with these two solutions is then made by relying on experimental results obtained on a real induction cooktop heating a pot containing a certain quantity of water.” (page 1, abstract).
The advantage of the temperature sensor is disposed adjacent to the cookware so that said temperature sensor values provide an indirect measure of the actual temperature of the cookware, and that changes in said temperature sensor values are time delayed compared to changes in the actual temperature of said cookware during the heating procedure, is to provide monitoring/control of a substrate heating process through available information within the cooking appliance, “this paper proposes the design of two observer schemes that are in charge of estimating the state variables of system (1) by exploiting the available information coming from the power absorbed by the coil, the current flowing inside it and the temperature of the glass.” (page 3, second paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Egenter and Boccuni before him or her, to modify the temperature monitoring/control system of Egenter to include the within cooking appliance temperature sensor temperature monitoring/control of Boccuni, because providing an internal to cooking appliance body sensor based temperature monitoring/control, eliminates additional components outside of the cooking appliance body while also providing enhanced accuracy and control of cooking operations.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761