DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments, filed 9 April 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 has been amended to include the following requirement.
The examiner understands this limitation to require that
upon storage of the claimed composition for twelve months at 25°C, there is no occurrence of crystallization; and
upon storage of the composition for twelve months at any temperature, the free hydrazine level remains below 28 ppb.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – New Matter
Claims 1, 7, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended in the following manner.
There does not appear to be adequate support for this newly added claim limitation. The examiner presents the following rationale in support of this position.
The examiner reviewed the instant specification as filed for a disclosure of the term “crystallization” and for “28 ppb” of free hydrazine. Upon such a search and consideration, the examiner cites the instant specification on page 8, bottom paragraph, which is reproduced below.
The above-reproduced paragraph discloses a lack of crystallization and free hydrazine in an amount below 28 ppb. However, the above-reproduced paragraph does not disclose that this lack of crystallization occurs after storage for twelve months at 25°C, or that the 28 ppb of free hydrazine occurs after a year of storage. As such, this is insufficient to adequately support the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1, 7, 24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (CN 107087454 A).
As an initial matter, Ge et al. (CN 107087454 A) was not written in English. The examiner has provided an English translation. The English translation was obtained through Google Patents at https://patents.google.com/patent/CN107087454A/en?oq=CN+107087454 on 7 January 2026 and is 6 printed pages.
Ge et al. (hereafter referred to as Ge) is drawn to a sprouting inhibitor of the rice spike, as of Ge, title and abstract. Ge teaches the following composition, as of page 2 of the translation.
Ge is not anticipatory because the amount of copper in Ge appears to be higher than what is required by the instant claims. Also, Ge does not teach the storage stability as measured by the lack of crystallization after a year of storage at 25°C or the required less than 28 ppb of free hydrazine after a year of storage.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a low-toxicity composition. The skilled artisan would have understood that the composition of Ge would have met this requirement because it is sufficiently non-toxic to be used for agricultural purposes.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a concentration of copper ions of less than 1000 ppm. Ge teaches the following composition, as of page 2 of the translation.
This composition differs from the claimed invention for at least the following reasons. First, the minimum amount of copper taught by Ge in the above example appears to be the following:
2
p
a
r
t
s
c
o
p
p
e
r
6
+
2
+
18
+
9
+
3
+
60
+
9
+
8
+
2
+
3
+
364
p
a
r
t
s
t
o
t
a
l
=
2
p
a
r
t
s
c
o
p
p
e
r
484
p
a
r
t
s
t
o
t
a
l
This is between 0.41 and 0.42% copper sulfate, which is about 4100-4200 ppm copper sulfate. The amount of copper ion can therefore be calculated in the following manner:
0.42
%
c
o
p
p
e
r
s
u
l
f
a
t
e
1
×
63.546
g
m
o
l
c
o
p
p
e
r
(
a
t
o
m
i
c
w
e
i
g
h
t
)
159.6
g
m
o
l
c
o
p
p
e
r
s
u
l
f
a
t
e
This is between about 0.16% and 0.17% copper ion. This is equivalent to between about 1600-1700 ppm of copper ion at minimum. This amount is more than what is required. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the claimed invention and prior art will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). No evidence of criticality appears to have been provided so far in prosecution. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of an agricultural composition comprising maleic hydrazide and copper has been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of copper via routine experimentation.
As to claim 1, the claim requires that the composition is a liquid configured as an agricultural treatment. This appears to have been taught by Ge in that Ge is drawn to preventing paddy rice spike sprouting, as of the title of Ge, which is an agricultural use.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a particular storage stability measured by lack of crystallization after 12 months at 25°C and less than 28 ppb free hydrazine after 12 months of storage. Ge is silent as to these features. Nevertheless, the USPTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same. See MPEP 2112(V). In this case, the examiner takes the position that there is sufficient evidence to shift the burden to applicant to show that the composition of Ge does not possess the required storage stability in accordance with MPEP 2112(V). This is because the composition of Ge, like the claimed invention, contains both maleic hydrazide and copper. As such, there is a sufficiently high likelihood that the copper of Ge, although present in higher quantities than copper in the claimed invention, would have been sufficient to have stabilized the maleic hydrazide in Ge to shift the burden to applicant in accordance with MPEP 2112(V).
As to claim 7, the composition of Ge is present in water and is therefore a liquid composition.
As to claim 24, the optimization rationale of claim 1 regarding the amount of copper would appear to also be applicable to claim 24.
As to claim 27, Ge teaches that the composition is present in water, which is an agrochemically acceptable excipient.
The examiner has not rejected claims 25 and 26 over this ground of rejection. This is because the amount of copper ions taught by Ge appears to exceed the claimed amount of copper ions by almost three orders of magnitude. This is because Ge teaches a minimum amount of copper ions of about 1600-1700 ppm, which is almost three orders of magnitude greater than the maximum of 2 ppm taught by claim 25, and more than three orders of magnitude greater than the 1 ppm taught by claim 26. In view of this large difference, it is the examiner’s position that it would not have been routine optimization for the skilled artisan to have reduced the amount of copper taught by Ge to have been 2 ppm or less.
Withdrawn Rejection
Previously in the prosecution history, the examiner rejected the instant claims as obvious over the combination of Sedun et al. (US 2003/0181332 A1) in view of IPCS Inchem (https://www.inchem.org/documents/jmpr/jmpmono/v84pr28.htm obtained by examiner on 8 July 2025, originally published 1984, pages 1-11). The examiner has made the decision to withdraw this rejection in view of the claim amendment. The examiner takes the following position regarding this decision.
Sedun et al. (hereafter referred to as Sedun) is drawn to an herbicide composition, as of Sedun, title and abstract. Sedun teaches compositions comprising maleic hydrazide, as of all of the examples of Sedun.
The examiner notes that Sedun does teach copper sulfate, as well as copper ions generically, as of Sedun, paragraphs 0011, 0025, as well as claims 10, 14, 18, and 27 of Sedun. However, all of the examples of Sedun utilize iron ions rather than copper ions. As such, combining maleic hydrazide with copper ions would, at best, appear to be a result of optimization of the conditions of Sedun. The fact that a certain result or characteristic may occur or be present in the prior art is not sufficient to establish the inherency of that result or characteristic; specifically, inherency must be based upon what is necessarily present in the prior art rather than what would have resulted due to optimization of conditions. See MPEP 2112(IV). In this case, a combination of maleic hydrazide with copper ions would have resulted from optimization of the conditions of Sedun. As such, the examiner takes the position that there is insufficient evidence in Sedun for there to be a case that the required stability is inherent in Sedun.
Additionally, there would have been no evidence that the composition of Sedun could have been optimized to have achieved the claimed stability with a reasonable expectation of success. The examiner makes the following arguments in support of this position.
As an initial matter, in order to make a prima facie case of obviousness by routine optimization, there must be a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B), first paragraph. In this case, it is the examiner’s position that there would have been no such reasonable expectation of success. This is at least because the instant specification and file record appears to provide substantial evidence that maleic hydrazide is unstable. See e.g. page 1 of the specification, which indicates that maleic hydrazide degrades over time and liberates free hydrazine during storage, as well as elsewhere in the specification and applicant’s arguments. As nothing in Sedun indicates that copper is useful to stabilize maleic hydrazide, there would have been no reasonable expectation that the composition of Sedun could have been successfully stabilized in the manner required by the instant claims by addition of copper ions in the claimed amount.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612