DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Claims 19, and 23-38 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claim 19 is amended. Claims 1-18, and 20-22 are cancelled. Claims 37-38 are new.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on April 20, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed April 20, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 19, 23-33, and 35-36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 19 to require a limitation that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “collecting the released gaseous volatile compounds from the flow of inert gas from the first extraction chamber and combining them with a liquid aerosol former to form a first solution; collecting the released gaseous volatile compounds from the flow of inert gas from the second extraction chamber and combining them with a liquid aerosol former to form a second solution.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different combination of previously applied prior art.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 23-33, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karles (US 2017/0245543 A1) in view of Buehler (WO 2017/089576 A1) and White-802 (US 5,038,802 A) as evidenced by Klipfel (US 2017/0273347 A1), Banyasz (US 4,497,330 A), Reich (US 2006/0237024 A1), and White-841 (US 6,591,841 B1).
Regarding Claim 19, Karles, directed to tobacco extraction ([0001]), teaches method of producing a blended liquid tobacco extract ([0004], a method of making a pre-vapor formulation includes heating tobacco material to a temperature ranging from about 50° C. to about 250° C. to form heated tobacco material, collecting volatiles from the heated tobacco material, and combining the volatiles with a pre-vapor formulation immediately after the collecting step. The extracted volatiles are blended with the pre-vapor formulation), the method comprising:
preparing a first tobacco starting material having a first reducing sugar content S1 and a first nicotine content N1; preparing a second tobacco starting material having a second reducing sugar content S2 and a second nicotine content N2, wherein the second reducing sugar content S2 is higher than the first reducing sugar content S1 of the first tobacco starting material, wherein the first tobacco starting material and the second tobacco starting material are different from each other and each comprise a single tobacco type ([0010], The tobacco material may comprise a blend of two or more different tobacco varieties; and [0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include, but are not limited to, Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and/or flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material); Burley tobacco has a nicotine content (N1) of less than 3.5-5%, and Bright tobacco has a nicotine content (N2) of 2.5-3%; see Reich, [0049]; Burley tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S1) of less than 5 percent, and Bright tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S2) of between about 2.5 percent and about 20 percent; see Klipfel, [0028]-[0029] and Banyasz, col 6, ln 64-65),
wherein the first tobacco starting material and the second tobacco starting material have not been subjected to a prior extraction, and wherein, in preparing the tobacco starting materials, the tobacco is not subjected to any treatment to alter the pH of the tobacco ([0038]-[0042] describe a plurality of optional treatment steps before extraction, none of which are required by the method);
loading the first tobacco material into a first extraction chamber and heating the first tobacco starting material at a first extraction temperature T1 in a flow of inert gas to release gaseous volatile compounds from the first tobacco material into the flow of inert gas ([0004], [0031]-[0035], Figs. 1-2; At step 100, the first tobacco material is loaded into vessel 12 (first extraction chamber) and heated to a first extraction temperature T1 to release gaseous volatile compounds from the first tobacco material);
collecting the released gaseous volatile compounds from the first extraction chamber and combining them with a liquid aerosol former to form a first solution ([0033], Fig. 2; At step 200, the released gaseous volatile compounds are collected and combined with a pre-vapor formulation to form a first solution. The pre-vapor formulation comprises liquid aerosol formers, such as glycerin and propylene glycol);
wherein the first extraction temperature is selected from within a range of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees Celsius ([0034], the heating step 100 includes heating tobacco material to a temperature ranging from about 50° C. to about 250° C. (e.g., about 100° C. to about 200° C. or about 125° C. to about 175° C.) to form heated tobacco material),
but does not teach the method i) comprising loading the second tobacco material into a second extraction chamber and heating the second tobacco starting material at a second extraction temperature T2 to release gaseous volatile compounds from the second tobacco material, collecting the released gaseous volatile compounds from the second extraction chamber and combining them with a liquid aerosol former to form a second solution; combining the first solution and the second solution in a ratio to form the blended liquid tobacco extract, wherein the second extraction temperature is selected from within a range of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees Celsius; ii) wherein the second extraction temperature T2 is at least 10 degrees Celsius lower than the first extraction temperature T1, wherein the steps of heating the first tobacco starting material and heating the second tobacco starting material occurs in a flow of inert gas, and iii) the ratio being selected at least in part to reduce a 2-furanmethanol content and increase a nicotine content in the blending liquid tobacco extract.
With respect to i), Buehler, directed to tobacco extraction (pg 1, ln 1-3), teaches a method of producing a blended liquid tobacco extract (pg 1, ln 19-24; The invention relates to a process to obtain tobacco flavor extracts, the process comprising: conditioning a tobacco mixture by heating the mixture to an elevated temperature; recovering emissions produced by the mixture conditioning; and obtaining at least one flavor extract from the recovered emissions; and pg 8, ln 4-6; the step of obtaining at least one flavor extract from the recovered emissions comprises condensing the emissions to obtain at least one condensed emission (liquid) as said at least one flavor extract; and pg 4, ln 26 – pg 5, ln 7; The process can be conducted wherein individual types of tobacco (Burley, Flue-Cured, Oriental) may be treated separately, and the extracts produced from each tobacco type may be blended to obtain a desired flavor), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing a first and second tobacco starting material (pg 1, ln 19-24; The invention relates to a process to obtain tobacco flavor extracts, the process comprising: conditioning a tobacco mixture by heating the mixture to an elevated temperature; and pg 4, ln 26 – pg 5, ln 7; The process can be conducted wherein individual types of tobacco (Burley, Flue-Cured, Oriental) may be treated separately, and the extracts produced from each tobacco type may be blended to obtain a desired flavor. A first and second individual type of tobacco must be obtained and prepared for the conditioning step),
heating the first tobacco starting material at a first extraction temperature T1 (pg 1, ln 19-24; The process comprises: conditioning a tobacco mixture by heating the mixture to a temperature between about 30 degrees Celsius and about 90 degrees Celsius. It is reasonably understood that the both tobacco starting materials are heated to a temperature within this range);
heating the second tobacco starting material at a second extraction temperature T2 (pg 1, ln 19-24; The process comprises: conditioning a tobacco mixture by heating the mixture to a temperature between about 30 degrees Celsius and about 90 degrees Celsius. It is reasonably understood that the both tobacco starting materials are heated to a temperature within this range);
collecting volatile compounds released from the first and the second tobacco starting materials during heating (pg 1, ln 19-24; The invention relates to a process to obtain tobacco flavor extracts, the process comprising: conditioning a tobacco mixture by heating the mixture to an elevated temperature; recovering emissions produced by the mixture conditioning; and obtaining at least one flavor extract from the recovered emissions; and pg 8, ln 4-6; the step of obtaining at least one flavor extract from the recovered emissions comprises condensing the emissions to obtain at least one condensed emission (liquid) as said at least one flavor extract); and
after the collecting of the volatile compounds, combining the collected volatile compounds released from the first and the second tobacco starting materials in a ratio to form the blended liquid tobacco extract from the combined volatile compounds (pg 1, ln 19-24; The invention relates to a process to obtain tobacco flavor extracts, the process comprising: conditioning a tobacco mixture by heating the mixture to an elevated temperature; recovering emissions produced by the mixture conditioning; and obtaining at least one flavor extract from the recovered emissions; and pg 4, ln 26 – pg 5, ln 7; The process can be conducted wherein individual types of tobacco (Burley, Flue-Cured, Oriental) may be treated separately, and the extracts produced from each tobacco type may be blended to obtain a desired flavor. The step of mixing the different extracts (volatile compounds) from different tobacco types must necessarily involve combining the extracts in a ratio to form the blended liquid tobacco extract from the combined volatile compounds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the method of Karles such that the first and second tobacco starting materials are subjected to heating at respective extraction temperatures (T1, T2) in separate extraction chambers, the released volatiles from each tobacco starting materials are separately collected combined with aerosol formers to form a first and second solution, and the first and second solutions are blended to form the blended tobacco extract similarly taught by Buehler because Karles and Buehler are directed to tobacco extraction, Buehler demonstrates that blending extracts from individually heated tobaccos may allow a very fine control on the final flavor of the extract (Buehler, pg 4, ln 26 – pg 5, ln 7; and pg 7, ln 22-27), and the teaching in Buehler would have led one of ordinary skill to modify Karles to arrive at the claimed invention.
Karles in view of Buehler does not teach the method ii) wherein the second extraction temperature T2 is at least 10 degrees Celsius lower than the first extraction temperature T1, wherein the steps of heating the first tobacco starting material and heating the second tobacco starting material occurs in a flow of inert gas, and iii) the ratio being selected at least in part to reduce a 2-furanmethanol content and increase a nicotine content in the blending liquid tobacco extract.
With respect to ii), White-802, directed to tobacco extraction (col 2, ln 5-17; A process for toasting tobacco to release (extract) volatiles), teaches a method of producing a blended liquid tobacco extract (col 2, ln 5-63; col 5, ln 39-68; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; Individual tobaccos are separately toasted to release (extract) volatiles as gases. The volatiles are blended and fractionated to form a tobacco extract. Fractionation can be performed via condensation or liquid-liquid separation, both of which result in a liquid tobacco extract), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing a first and second tobacco starting material (col 4, ln 10-13; col 5, ln 39-45; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; A first tobacco starting material is placed into a container (the tobacco in the container farthest to the left in Fig. 3B). A second tobacco starting material is placed into a container (the tobacco in the middle container in Fig. 3B). The method uses three individual tobaccos which may be selected from Burley, Flue Cured, Turkish, and/or various blends thereof);
heating the first tobacco starting material at a first extraction temperature T1 in a flow of inert gas to release gaseous volatile compounds from the first tobacco material into the flow of inert gas; heating the second tobacco starting material at a second extraction temperature T2 in a flow of inert gas to release gaseous volatile compounds from the second tobacco material into the flow of inert gas (col 5, ln 39-45; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The tobacco in the container farthest to the left in Fig. 3B is heated to 475° C (T1). The tobacco in the middle container in Fig. 3B is heated to 400° C (T2); and col 4, ln 29-34; Container 100 and its contents 90 are brought to the desired toasting temperature and an inert gas 130 is swept through the container 100 to sweep the volatile components 107 toward the condensing means 110),
wherein the second extraction temperature T2 is at least 10 degrees Celsius lower than the first extraction temperature T1 (col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; 400° C (T2) is lower than 475° C (T1));
collecting volatile compounds released from the first and the second tobacco starting materials during heating (col 5, ln 39-68; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The volatile compounds released from the first and second tobacco starting materials during heating are collected and combined prior to fractionation); and
combining the collected volatile compounds released from the first and the second tobacco starting materials in a ratio to form the blended liquid tobacco extract from the combined volatile compounds (col 5, ln 39-68; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The volatile compounds released from the first and second tobacco starting materials during heating are collected and combined prior to fractionation. Fractionation yields the blended liquid tobacco extract. The step of mixing the different volatile compounds from the first and second tobacco starting materials must necessarily involve combining the extracts in a ratio to form the blended liquid tobacco extract from the combined volatile compounds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the extract taught by Karles in view of Buehler wherein the steps of heating the first tobacco starting material and heating the second tobacco starting material occurs in a flow of inert gas as taught by White-802 because Karles, Buehler, and White-802 are directed to tobacco extraction methods, White-802 demonstrates that the inert gas can be swept through the extraction chamber to direct the volatiles to the next process step (White-802, col 6, ln 12-17), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the extract taught by Karles in view of Buehler wherein the second extraction temperature T2 is at least 10 degrees Celsius lower than the first extraction temperature T1 as taught by White-802 because Karles, Buehler, and White-802 are directed to tobacco extraction methods, Karles provides a range of extraction temperature suitable for the method (Karles, [0004]), and White-802 demonstrates that flavor substances different from those obtained in previous methods may be obtained by blending volatiles from individual tobaccos heated at different temperatures (White-802, col 6, ln 12-17).
Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 does not teach the method iii) the ratio being selected at least in part to reduce a 2-furanmethanol content and increase a nicotine content in the blended liquid tobacco extract.
With respect to iii), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to adjust a ratio of the collected volatiles from the first tobacco material and the second tobacco material to reduce a 2-furanmethanol content and increase a nicotine content in the blended liquid tobacco extract because 2-furanmethanol and nicotine are volatile compounds which can be released from tobacco (White-841, col 8, ln 31-67, Table 1, Row 17 (2-furanmethanol); and col 10, ln 22-44, Table 3, Row 27 (nicotine/solanone)), the amount of 2-furanmethanol which can be extracted varies based on the identity of the tobacco material (White-841, col 3, ln 31-46, col 7, ln 40 – col 8, ln 67, Table 1, Row 17 (2-furanmethanol); Treated tobacco suspensions extracted from cigarette dust, Burley tobacco dust, flue-cured tobacco dust, and Turkish tobacco dust under the same conditions. The amount of 2-furanmethanol is different for all of the tobacco types), the amount of nicotine which can be extracted varies based on the identity of the tobacco material (Reich, [0049]; Burley tobacco has a nicotine content (N1) of less than 3.5-5%, and Bright tobacco has a nicotine content (N2) of 2.5-3%) and the release of specific volatile compounds from a tobacco material can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated (Karles, [0057]). In light of the aforementioned properties, the volatile compounds released from the first and the second tobacco starting materials would have different values for the content of 2-furanmethanol and nicotine because on the extraction temperature and the identity of the tobacco starting materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce a 2-furanmethanol content and increase a nicotine content in the blended liquid tobacco extract by adjusting the ratio of the collected volatiles from the first tobacco material and the second tobacco material.
The ranges for the first and second extraction temperatures disclosed by Coleman overlap the claimed ranges of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees, and therefore the claimed ranges are considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding Claim 23, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. White-802 further teaches the method wherein the first extraction temperature is up to 75 degrees Celsius higher than the second extraction temperature (col 5, ln 39-45; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The tobacco in the container farthest to the left in Fig. 3B is heated to 475° C (T1). The tobacco in the middle container in Fig. 3B is heated to 400° C (T2). (475° C - 400° C) = 75° C). Coleman further teaches the method wherein the extraction temperature is selected from within a range of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees Celsius ([0068], The heating temperature of the tobacco raw material is in a range from 80° C. or more to less than 150° C). Therefore, the maximum temperature difference between the first extraction temperature and the second extraction temperature while still reading on the claim 19 is 50° C (e.g. T1=100° C, T2=150° C). The minimum temperature difference between the first extraction temperature and the second extraction temperature while still reading on the claim 19 is 10° C.
Karles further teaches the method wherein the second reducing sugar content is up to 20 percent greater than the first reducing sugar content ([0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material). Burley tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S1) of less than 5 percent (see Klipfel, [0029] and Banyasz, col 6, ln 64-65), and Bright tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S2) of between about 2.5 percent and about 20 percent (see Klipfel, [0028]). The percent difference between the first and the second reducing sugar contents is at most 20 percent). 50° C corresponds to at least 1 degree Celsius per 1 percent difference between the first and the second reducing sugar contents (S2-S1). Therefore, there must be embodiments which satisfy the claim limitation regardless of the exact reducing sugar content of the two tobacco starting materials.
Regarding Claim 24, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. White-802 further teaches the method wherein the first extraction temperature is up to 75 degrees Celsius higher than the second extraction temperature (col 5, ln 39-45; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The tobacco in the container farthest to the left in Fig. 3B is heated to 475° C (T1). The tobacco in the middle container in Fig. 3B is heated to 400° C (T2). (475° C - 400° C) = 75° C). Coleman further teaches the method wherein the extraction temperature is selected from within a range of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees Celsius ([0068], The heating temperature of the tobacco raw material is in a range from 80° C. or more to less than 150° C). Therefore, the maximum temperature difference between the first extraction temperature and the second extraction temperature while still reading on the claim 19 is 50° C (e.g. T1=100° C, T2=150° C). The percentage difference between the first and the second extraction temperatures is (T1-T2)/(T2) x 100 = (150° C - 100° C)/(100° C) = 50%). The minimum temperature difference between the first extraction temperature and the second extraction temperature while still reading on the claim 19 is 10° C.
Karles further teaches the method wherein the second reducing sugar content is up to 20 percent greater than the first reducing sugar content ([0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material). Burley tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S1) of less than 5 percent (see Klipfel, [0029] and Banyasz, col 6, ln 64-65), and Bright tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S2) of between about 2.5 percent and about 20 percent (see Klipfel, [0028]). The percent difference between the first and the second reducing sugar contents is at most 20 percent). 50% is at least 0.5 times the percentage difference between the first and the second reducing sugar contents (20%) when (S2-S1) is less than 100%. Therefore, there must be embodiments which satisfy the claim limitation regardless of the exact reducing sugar content of the two tobacco starting materials.
Regarding Claim 25, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. White-802 further teaches the method wherein the first extraction temperature is at least 10 degrees Celsius higher than the second extraction temperature (col 5, ln 39-45; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The tobacco in the container farthest to the left in Fig. 3B is heated to 475° C (T1). The tobacco in the middle container in Fig. 3B is heated to 400° C (T2). (475° C - 400° C) = 75° C). Karles further teaches the method wherein the second reducing sugar content is at least 10 percent greater than the first reducing sugar content ([0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material). Because Burley tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S1) of less than 5 percent (see Klipfel, [0029] and Banyasz, col 6, ln 64-65), and Bright tobacco has a reducing sugar content (S2) of between about 2.5 percent and about 20 percent (see Klipfel, [0028]), it is reasonably understood that Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 would have embodiments wherein the second reducing sugar content is at least 10 percent greater than the first reducing sugar content).
Regarding Claim 26, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to Claim 19. Karles further teaches the method wherein the second nicotine content N2 is lower than the first nicotine content N1 ([0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material). Because Burley tobacco has a nicotine content (N1) of less than 3.5-5% (see Reich, [0049]), and Bright tobacco has a nicotine content (N2) of 2.5-3% (see Reich, [0049]), one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the second nicotine content N2 to be lower than the first nicotine content N1 as claimed).
Regarding Claim 27, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. White-802 further teaches the method wherein the first extraction temperature is up to 75 degrees Celsius higher than the second extraction temperature (col 5, ln 39-45; col 6, ln 3-17; Figs. 2B and 3B; The tobacco in the container farthest to the left in Fig. 3B is heated to 475° C (T1). The tobacco in the middle container in Fig. 3B is heated to 400° C (T2). (475° C - 400° C) = 75° C). Coleman further teaches the method wherein the extraction temperature is selected from within a range of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees Celsius ([0068], The heating temperature of the tobacco raw material is in a range from 80° C. or more to less than 150° C). Therefore, the maximum temperature difference between the first extraction temperature and the second extraction temperature while still reading on the claim 19 is 50° C (e.g. T1=100° C, T2=150° C). The minimum temperature difference between the first extraction temperature and the second extraction temperature while still reading on the claim 19 is 10° C.
Karles further teaches the method wherein the first nicotine content is between 0.5 and 2.5% percent greater than the second nicotine content ([0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material). Because Burley tobacco has a nicotine content (N1) of less than 3.5-5% (see Reich, [0049]), and Bright tobacco has a nicotine content (N2) of 2.5-3% (see Reich, [0049]). Therefore, the difference between the first and the second extraction temperatures (T1-T2) (10 to 50° C) corresponds to at least 0.5 degrees Celsius per 1 percent difference between the second and the first nicotine contents (N1-N2) (0.5 and 2.5%) regardless of the exact nicotine contents of the first and second tobacco starting materials.
Regarding Claim 28, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 does not teach the method wherein each extraction temperature is selected such that the collected volatile compounds from the corresponding tobacco starting material contains no more than 0.8 milligrams of 2-furanmethanol per gram of tobacco starting material.
The extraction temperatures would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because the release of specific volatile compounds from a tobacco material is a variable which can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated (Karles, [0057]). As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed extraction temperatures cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized the extraction temperatures by routine experimentation to obtain the desired amount of milligrams of 2-furanmethanol per gram of tobacco starting material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding Claim 29, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 does not teach the method wherein the first and the second extraction temperatures are selected to provide a liquid tobacco extract having a nicotine content of at least 0.02 percent by weight based on the dry weight of the liquid tobacco extract.
The extraction temperatures would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because the release of specific volatile compounds from a tobacco material is a variable which can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated (Karles, [0057]). Therefore, the nicotine content of a liquid tobacco extract formed from said volatiles can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed extraction temperatures cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized the extraction temperatures by routine experimentation to obtain the desired nicotine content of liquid tobacco extract, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding Claim 30, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 does not teach the method wherein the first and the second extraction temperatures are selected to provide a ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (phenol) of at least about 0.25.
The extraction temperatures would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because the release of specific volatile compounds from a tobacco material is a variable which can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated (Karles, [0057]). Therefore, the amount of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) and phenol, and their ratio by weight in the liquid tobacco extract formed from said volatiles can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed extraction temperatures cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized the extraction temperatures by routine experimentation to obtain the desired weight ratio of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (phenol), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding Claim 31, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 does not teach the method wherein the first and the second extraction temperatures are selected to provide a ratio by weight of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100) to (nicotine) of at least about 5 x 10-4.
The extraction temperatures would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because the release of specific volatile compounds from a tobacco material is a variable which can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated (Karles, [0057]). Therefore, the amount of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100) and nicotine, and their ratio by weight in the liquid tobacco extract formed from said volatiles can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed extraction temperatures cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized the extraction temperatures by routine experimentation to obtain the desired weight ratio of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100) to (nicotine), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding Claims 29-31, the Examiner notes that the claims are directed to selecting temperatures based on an intended result. As discussed above, extraction temperature is a result effective variable that can be optimized to obtain a desired extraction of certain products. Therefore, it is obvious that the extraction temperatures can be selected based on one or more of the desired products to be extracted or not extracted from the starting material and would only take routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 32, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. Karles further teaches the method wherein the first tobacco starting material is Burley tobacco and the second tobacco starting material is Bright tobacco ([0037], Examples of suitable types of tobacco materials that may be used include Burley tobacco (first tobacco starting material) and flue-cured tobacco (Bright tobacco/second tobacco starting material).
Regarding Claim 33, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 does not teach the method wherein the step of combining the collected volatile compounds from the first and second tobacco materials comprises determining a target range for a content of 2-furanmethanol in the liquid tobacco extract and adjusting a ratio of the collected volatiles from the first tobacco material and the second tobacco material to provide the blended liquid tobacco extract with a 2-furanmethanol content within the target range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to determine a target range for a content of 2-furanmethanol in the liquid tobacco extract and adjust a ratio of the collected volatiles from the first tobacco material and the second tobacco material to provide the blended liquid tobacco extract with a 2-furanmethanol content within the target range because 2-furanmethanol is a volatile compound which can be released from tobacco (White-841, col 8, ln 31-67, Table 1, Row 17 (2-furanmethanol)), the amount of 2-furanmethanol which can be extracted varies based on the identity of the tobacco material (White-841, col 3, ln 31-46, col 7, ln 40 – col 8, ln 67, Table 1, Row 17 (2-furanmethanol); Treated tobacco suspensions extracted from cigarette dust, Burley tobacco dust, flue-cured tobacco dust, and Turkish tobacco dust under the same conditions. The amount of 2-furanmethanol is different for all of the tobacco types), and the release of specific volatile compounds from a tobacco material can be modified by the extraction temperature at which the tobacco material is heated (Karles, [0057]). In light of the aforementioned properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the 2-furanmethanol content to a target value by adjusting the ratio of the collected volatiles from the first tobacco material and the second tobacco material.
Regarding Claim 35, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. White-802 further teaches the method wherein each of the first and the second tobacco starting materials is heated in a flow of inert gas (col 4, ln 29-34; Container 100 and its contents 90 are brought to the desired toasting temperature and an inert gas 130 is swept through the container 100 to sweep the volatile components 107 toward the condensing means 110).
Regarding Claim 36, Karles teaches a blended liquid tobacco extract produced by the method according to claim 19 (col 2, ln 9-28; A tobacco blend including a first and second tobacco material is heated to an elevated temperature to extract volatile compounds. The extracted compounds form an extract of flavorful substances comprising a complex mixture of volatile, semi-volatile, and non-volatile aroma/flavor components. Karles has been modified in view of Buehler and White-802 to read on the limitations of Claim 19).
Regarding Claim 37, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. Karles further teaches the method wherein the collecting the released gaseous volatile compounds comprises condensation of the gaseous volatile compounds and collection of the condensate ([0071], the collecting step 200 may include condensing 210 the volatile flavors. The volatile flavors may be condensed by cooling the volatiles as the volatiles are extracted from the tobacco material during the heating step 100. For example, the volatiles may travel through a pipe from the vessel holding the tobacco material to the vessel holding the pre-vapor formulation, and the pipe may be cooled to promote condensation along a length of the pipe. As the volatiles are cooled, the volatiles may condense on walls and/or surfaces of the pipe where the condensation may be collected).
Regarding Claim 38, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19. Karles further teaches the method wherein the collecting the released gaseous volatile compounds comprises adsorption of the gaseous volatile compounds onto the surface of a solid adsorbent material and then transfer into a liquid solvent ([0060], the collecting step 200 may include inserting 202 a sorbent in the heated tobacco material during, before, and/or immediately after the heating step 100. Once the sorbent is inserted into the tobacco material, the sorbent material adsorbs and/or absorbs 204 the volatiles produced as the tobacco is heated; and [0066], the method may also include desorbing 206 the volatiles from the sorbent. The volatiles may be desorbed from the sorbent by extraction in an aerosol forming solvent).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman (US 6,298,858 B1, cited on the IDS dated 10/21/2022) in view of Buehler (WO 2017/089576 A1) and White-802 (US 5,038,802 A), and further in view of Fujisawa (US 2016/0360780 A1, cited on the IDS dated 12/22/2022).
Regarding Claim 34, Karles in view of Buehler and White-802 teaches the method according to claim 19, but does not teach the method wherein each of the first and the second tobacco starting materials is heated at the corresponding extraction temperature for at least 90 minutes.
Fujisawa, directed to tobacco extraction ([0009]), teaches a method of producing a liquid tobacco extract ([0033], The extraction method comprises a step A for heating a tobacco raw material; and a step B for bringing a release component released in the gas phase in the step A into contact with a collection solvent; and [0049], The collection solvent may be a liquid such as glycerin, water or ethanol. The solution of the release component (tobacco volatiles) and the collection solvent is the liquid tobacco extract), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing a first tobacco starting material ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 4 shows the extraction method according to a first embodiment. At step S10, tobacco raw material 50 is subjected to an alkali treatment),
wherein the first tobacco starting material has not been subjected to a prior extraction ([0033], [0060]-[0062], Fig. 4; It is reasonably understood that a tobacco raw material has not been subjected to a prior extraction);
heating the first tobacco starting material at a first extraction temperature T1 ([0033], [0060]-[0062], [0067]-[0068], Fig. 4; The tobacco raw material 50 which has been subjected to an alkali treatment is heated in Step S20. The heating temperature of the tobacco raw material is in a range from 80° C. or more to less than 150° C);
collecting volatile compounds released from the first tobacco starting materials during heating ([0072], Fig. 4; In Step S30, a release component (volatile compounds) which is released in the gas phase in Step S20 is brought into contact with the collection solvent 70 at normal temperature); and
forming the liquid tobacco extract from the volatile compounds ([0033], and [0049], [0060]-[0072], Fig. 4; The collection solvent may be a liquid such as glycerin, water or ethanol. The solution of the release component (tobacco volatiles) and the collection solvent resulting from the collection step S30 is the liquid tobacco extract),
wherein the first extraction temperature is selected from within a range of 100 degrees Celsius to 160 degrees Celsius ([0068], The heating temperature of the tobacco raw material is in a range from 80° C. or more to less than 150° C),
wherein the first tobacco starting material is heated at the first extraction temperature for at least 90 minutes ([0060]-[0061], [0067], [0070]-[0071], Fig. 4; At step S20, the tobacco raw material 50 subjected to a heating treatment. An aeration treatment may simultaneously be performed during the heating treatment, wherein the heating is performed under the flow of a gas for less than 300 minutes. [0118]-[0129] show an experiment wherein 500g of tobacco raw material is heated to 120 degrees Celsius for 300 minutes, It is reasonably understood that each of the first and the second tobacco starting materials is heated at the corresponding extraction temperature for the same duration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat each of the first and second tobacco starting materials to their corresponding extraction temperatures for at least 90 minutes as taught by Fujisawa because Karles and Fujisawa are directed to tobacco extraction, Fujisawa demonstrates that at about 300 minutes, the rate at which a nicotine component is volatilized from the tobacco raw material declines, and after about 120 minutes, the amount of NNN, NAT, and NAB in the collected extract gradually increases (Fujisawa, [0129]-[0130]), and this involves combining steps from prior art methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755