DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application/Amendment/Claims
This Office action is in response to the communications filed on August 28, 2025.
Currently, claims 44-63 are pending in the instant application.
Newly submitted claims 55, 57, and 60-63 are directed to nonelected species/invention. Note that applicant elected without traverse product claims with species election of C/EBPalpha saRNA in the reply filed on May 14, 2025.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 55, 57, and 60-63 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Accordingly, claims 44-54, 56, and 58-59 are under examination on the merits in the instant application.
The following rejections are either newly applied or are reiterated and are the only rejections and/or objections presently applied to the instant application.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Withdrawn Rejections
Any rejections/objections not repeated in this Office action are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejections of claims 16-17, 24-25, 29, 31, and 39-41, which are now cancelled, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not pertain to the new rejections necessitated by the claim amendments as set forth hereinbelow.
New Objections/Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Drawings
The drawings were received on August 28, 2025. These drawings are not accepted because Figures 1C and 2B contain new matter. The original Figures 1C and 2B contained legends for each of the four bases (A, C, G, U), which are not in the replacement drawings. Hence, the deletion of the originally contained subject matter in Figures 1C and 2B introduces new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 44 and 47 are drawn to a compound consisting of a sequence as set forth as SEQ ID NO:14 or SEQ ID NO:15.
It is noted that the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:14 and that of SEQ ID NO:15 are 100% identical. See the two sequences reproduced from the sequence listing as shown below.
In view of the identical nucleotide sequence between the two different SEQ ID NOs, it is unclear as to why two identical compounds - one comprising “a nucleic acid consisting of a sequence as set forth as” SEQ ID NO:14 and the other comprising “a nucleic acid consisting of a sequence as set forth as” SEQ ID NO:15 - should be claimed in order to claim an identical “nucleic acid consisting of a sequence”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44-46, 48-49, 51, 53-54, 56, and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims are drawn to a nucleic acid consisting of SEQ ID NO:4, SEQ ID NO:5, SEQ ID NO:11, or SEQ ID NO:12, which constitutes a pharmaceutical composition.
The terms “nucleic acid” and the “compound” comprising the nucleic acid are used to refer to a nucleic acid “capable of binding the transferrin receptor” as evidenced by paragraph 0003 of the instant specification.
The instant specification fails to describe the structure-function correlation for the 87-mer sequence of SEQ ID NO:11 and the 16-mer RNA sequence of SEQ ID NO:12 as there is no sufficient support for such correlation. In fact, SEQ ID NO:11 is only listed in the sequence listing such that the 92-page substitute specification filed on August 28, 2025 is completely silent regarding SEQ ID NO:11. Further, SEQ ID NO:12 is merely mentioned in paragraph 0164 as following: “In some embodiments, the nucleic acid sequence comprises or consists of SEQ ID NO: 12.” Such generic disclosure of SEQ ID NOs:11-12 in the instant application is far from adequately describing the function of SEQ ID NOs:11-12 as being “capable of binding the transferrin receptor” to the extent that SEQ ID NOs:11-12 can constitute a pharmaceutical composition.
Regarding SEQ ID NOs:4-5, the specification expressly discloses that “the two truncates without 5’-GGG, TR14 ST1-1 and TR14 ST1-2, were not internalized into the cells (FIG. 2C). However, interestingly, the TR14 ST1-3 was internalized in both HepG2 cells and PANC-1 (FIG. 2C).” (emphasis added). See paragraph 0331. See also paragraph 0340 disclosing that for “binding affinity” for hTFR1 assays show that “neither TR14 ST-1-1 nor TR14 ST1-2 were measurable.” It is noted that “TR14 ST1-1” is identified as SEQ ID NO:4 and “TR14 ST1-2” is identified as SEQ ID NO:5. Hence, the specification expressly discloses that SEQ ID NOs:4-5 do not have the required aptamer function of binding to the transferrin receptor.
In view of the foregoing, it is concluded that the instant specification fails to adequately describe the purported aptamer function of SEQ ID NOs:4-5 and 11-12 thus fails to reasonably convey that the instant co-inventors had possession of the aptamer nucleic acids consisting of SEQ ID NOs:4-5 and 11-12 recited in claims 44-46, 48-49, 51, 53-54, 56, and 58-59 as of the filing date sought in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44, 46, 48, 50, 56, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi et al. (US 2017/0226515 A1) in view of Saetrom (US 2016/0298113 A1, of record).
Rossi teaches making a pharmaceutical composition comprising the TfR aptamer that is “about 46 nucleotides in length” comprising SEQ ID NO:3 that is linked to a “therapeutic moiety” that is “C/EBPalpha saRNA”, which is “capable of activating the expression of a C/EBPalpha protein.” See paragraphs 0093-0094, 0096, 0106, 0111-0112.
Rossi discloses SEQ ID NO:3 in paragraph 0140 as shown below.
It is noted that the above RNA sequence is identical to the 43-mer sequence at positions 1-43 of SEQ ID NO:2 claimed in the instant case.
Rossi discloses the original, untruncated TfR aptamer sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 in paragraph 0140 as shown below, wherein underline has been added for the 40-mer sequence at positions 4-43 of Rossi’ SEQ ID NO:3.
Rossi does not expressly teach that the “46 nucleotides in length” comprising the 43-mer SEQ ID NO:3 has the additional 3-nt sequence 5’-AUG at positions 44-46. Rossi also does not disclose SEQ ID NO:9 for the “C/EBPalpha saRNA”.
Saestrom discloses C/EBPalpha saRNA “XD-03302 CEBPA” comprising SEQ ID NO:280 (5’-GCGGUCAUUGUCACUGGUCUU), wherein the saRNA activates and increases CEBPA mRNA levels in cells. See Table 18-1 and 20.
It is noted that Saestrom’s SEQ ID NO:280 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:9 claimed in the instant case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make a 46-mer RNA sequence consisting of SEQ ID NO:2 claimed in the instant case as a variant of a TfR aptamer comprising Rossi’s SEQ ID NO:3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because making a 46-mer comprising SEQ ID NO:3 was expressly taught and suggested by Rossi, and because the nucleotide sequence information available to make a 46-mer comprising the 43-mer sequence of Rossi’s SEQ ID NO:3 was expressly disclosed by Rossi as evidenced by Rossi’s SEQ ID NO:1.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Saestrom’s SEQ ID NO:280 as the “therapeutic moiety” when making Rossi’s composition comprising “C/EBPalpha saRNA” that is attached to the TfR aptamer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Saestrom’s saRNA was already demonstrated to activate/increase the CEBPA mRNA expression, which would have been reasonably deemed to increase the expression level of a CEBPA protein, thereby suggesting that Saestrom’s saRNA fully satisfies the description of Rossi’s “C/EBPalpha saRNA” that is “capable of activating the expression of a C/EBPalpha protein” thus is suitable when making Rossi’s composition.
Accordingly, claims 44, 46, 48, 50, 56, and 59 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 44, 46, 48, 50, 56, and 59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,236,341 B2 in view of Rossi et al. (US 2017/0226515 A1) and Saetrom (US 2016/0298113 A1, of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed aptamer and the aptamer attached to a C/EBPalpha saRNA would have been obvious over and encompassed by the ‘341 patent claims drawn to an aptamer “comprising” SEQ ID SEQ ID NO:3. It was known in the art to make a 46-mer RNA aptamer comprising SEQ ID NO:3 as evidenced by Rossi, wherein it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art that additional 3 bases are required in order to make a 46-mer RNA aptamer sequence comprising the 43-mer sequence of SEQ ID NO:3, wherein the untruncated, full-length aptamer sequence was known (see Rossi’s SEQ ID NO:1), from which the instantly claimed 46-mer sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 could have been more than reasonably obtained. Further, the saRNA sequence claimed in the instant case was known as evidenced by Saetrom. Accordingly, the instantly claimed subject matter would have been obvious over the ‘341 patent claims.
Claims 44, 46, 48, 52, 54, 56, and 59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,427,826 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed aptamer is anticipated by the ‘826 patent claims drawn to and require an aptamer that is “a length of 29 nucleotides or fewer” or “22 nucleotides or fewer” or “16 nucleotides in length” that “is capable of binding to a transferrin receptor (TfR)”, wherein the aptamer is linked to a C/EBPalpha saRNA moiety. It is noted that the aptamer that is “22 nucleotides” is defined to read on SEQ ID NO:1 (5’-UUUAUUCACAUUUUUGAAUUGA), which is expressly claimed in claim 3, and the aptamer that is “16 nucleotides” is defined to read on SEQ ID NO:5 (5’-AUUCACAUUUUUGAAU) in the ‘826 patent specification (see column 2), which is claimed in claim 6. It is noted that the ‘826 patent’s SEQ ID NO:1 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:6 claimed in the instant case, and SEQ ID NO:5 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:12 claimed in the instant case. It is noted that the broadly claimed C/EBPalpha saRNA moiety claimed in the ‘826 patent claims is defined to read on SEQ ID NO:9 and SEQ ID NO:10 as evidenced by column 28 of the ‘826 patent specification, wherein SEQ ID NOs:9-10 of the ‘826 patent are 100% identical to SEQ ID NOs:9-10 claimed in the instant case.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA H SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635