Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 06/25/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection. Specifically, the applicant submits that Kuramitsu does not teach a heat conducting member disposed between the cells, and that Kuramitsu teaches away from the amended limitations.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection citing new art is made below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jennrich, US20180301771A1 and He, US20210175572A1, and Konomi, JP2010123850A.
Regarding claim 1, Jennrich teaches a battery module [0001],
comprising: a case (housing (30)); a plurality of cells (1)) being arranged in the case [fig. 1]; and a heat absorbing member (potting compound (40)) provided between the case and the plurality of cells and between the plurality of cells [fig. 1], wherein the heat absorbing member comprises a resin and a filler (resin and filler)[[0122][0116], wherein the resin comprises rubber or elastomer (rubber or elastomer resin)[0112], wherein the filler comprises aluminum hydroxide (aluminum hydroxide)[0115][0116],
wherein the aluminum hydroxide comprises: particle diameter aluminum hydroxide having an average particle diameter of more than 2 μm (size between 2 μm to 1 mm)[0117],
wherein the heat absorbing member comprises 300 parts by mass or more of the aluminum hydroxide with respect to 100 parts by mass of the resin (0 – 85% of the system comprising conductive filler and 0.1 – 35% resin)[0121]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists [MPEP2144.05 I].
wherein the heat absorbing member has an endothermic quantity Q from 150°C to 350°C of 500 J/cm3 or more (inherent property of the materials of Jennrich)[MPEP 2112 III] and
a thermal conductivity k of 0.8 W/mK or more (0. 8 – 1.8 W/mK)[0121]
Jennrich does not teach a plurality of cells being arranged in the case and having an energy density of 200 Wh/L or more wherein the aluminum hydroxide comprises: a small-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide having an average particle diameter of 2 μm or less, and a large-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide having an average particle diameter of more that 2 μm, wherein the amount of the small-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide relative to the large-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide (small-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide/large- particle diameter aluminum hydroxide) is 0.1 to 2.
He teaches a lithium battery module for use in a vehicle [0002] wherein the plurality of cells making up the module have an energy density of 200 Wh/L or more (252 Wh/L)[0188][0197] wherein a high energy density allows for a greater vehicle performance. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the energy density of He with the battery module of Jennrich to improve energy density and vehicle performance.
Konomi teaches a heat absorbing member (heat conductive sheet)[pg. 1 para. 1] wherein the sheet comprises a filler (aluminum hydroxide)[pg. 8 para. 5] and resin (silicone)[pg. 7 para. 10] wherein the aluminum hydroxide comprises a small-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide having an average particle diameter of 2 μm or less [pg. 8 para. 7 – 8] wherein the amount of the small-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide relative to the large-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide (small-particle diameter aluminum hydroxide/large- particle diameter aluminum hydroxide) is 0.1 to 2 (0.01 – 0.83)[pg. 8 para. 8]. Further, Konomi teaches that having filler of different particle sizes improves thermal conductivity and flame retardancy [pg. 8 para. 8]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the particle diameters of Konomi with the filler of Jennrich to further improve the thermal properties.
Regarding claim 2, combined Jennrich teaches the battery module according to claim 1.
Combined Jennrich does not teach wherein the heat absorbing member is provided so that an endothermic quantity Qs per unit area of the cell surface is 50 J/cm2 or more.
However, the claimed property in considered to be inherent in the materials comprising the heat absorbing member of combined Jennrich [MPEP 2112 III].
Regarding claim 3, combined Jennrich teaches the battery module according to claim 1.
Combined Jennrich does not teach wherein a product (k x Q) of the thermal conductivity k and the endothermic quantity Q is 1,000 W-J/mK-cm3 or more.
However, the claimed property in considered to be inherent in the materials comprising the heat absorbing member of combined Jennrich [MPEP 2112 III].
Regarding claim 5, combined Jennrich teaches the battery module according to claim 1.
Further, Jennrich teaches wherein the resin is a silicone rubber (silicone rubber)[0115].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724