DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Claims 1-3, 6-17 are currently pending. Claims 4-5 are canceled. Claims 1, 13-14 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been considered but are not found persuasive because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Dougherty teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of apertures distributed evenly around the external surface of the battery cell to evenly cool the circumference of each battery cell [0064]. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-7,12-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiki (JP2014197452A, equivalent to IDS cited WO2013018151A1, previously cited), in view of Yang (WO2018034471, previously cited, translation attached, equivalent to IDS cited KR20180021265A on 12/01/2021) and Dougherty (US20080220315A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Toshiki discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising:
a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (unit cells 100) including an electrode terminal (terminal plate 8 and negative electrode lead 6 [0017-0018]; Fig 1) in each of an upper end and a lower end, and arranged in a horizontal direction;
a module housing (see Fig 3) including an upper wall (cover 270), a sidewall (i.e., heat transfer member 220), and a lower wall (a negative electrode connector 240) to receive the plurality of cylindrical battery cells,
the upper wall (cover 270) and the lower wall (a negative electrode connector 240) having a plurality of cooling holes (through holes 272 and 243) through which a coolant flows in and out [0036]
Toshiki does not disclose wherein the upper wall has “at least two of the cooling holes having different sizes” and further does not disclose wherein “at least two of the plurality of cooling holes are configured such that a cooling hole closer to a center has a larger diameter than a cooling hole disposed at an outer side” {claim 2}.
In this regard, Yang is also directed to a battery module 1000 comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 700, an upper outer frame cover 200a, a lower outer frame cover 200b, and cell frames 100a and 100b. Yang further teaches wherein the upper outer frame cover 200a comprises at least two of the cooling holes having different sizes (i.e., cooling hole 220a and heat dissipation groove 240; Fig 6), wherein the cooling hole 220a (i.e., cooling hole closer to a center) has a larger diameter than a cooling hole disposed at an outer side (i.e., heat dissipation groove 240; see Fig 6) to facilitate air flow or cooling in the center of the cell and along the circumference of the battery insertion groove [0033,0039 Yang].
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the cooling holes of Toshiki, such that the cooling hole closer to a center has a larger diameter than a cooling hole disposed at an outer side as taught by Yang to facilitate effective air flow or cooling of heat generated in the center of the cell and along the circumference of the battery insertion groove [0033, 0039 Yang].
Toshiki further discloses:
a cell frame (positive electrode side holder 250 and a negative electrode side holder 260) received in the module housing and including:
an upper case (i.e., a positive electrode side holder 250) defining a plurality of upper insertion portions (i.e., the positive electrode holder 250 having through holes of the same size and dimensions at the same position as the battery housing 222 [0032]) and a plurality of upper cooling passages (i.e., positive electrode holder 250 having through holes at the same positions as the through hole 221 [0029]; i.e., through-hole 254; see Fig 7,8), and
a lower case (i.e., negative electrode side holder 260) coupled to a bottom of the upper case (i.e., see Fig 8),
the lower case defining a plurality of lower insertion portions (i.e., the negative electrode holder 260 having through holes of the same size and dimensions at the same positions as the battery housing 222 [0032]) and a plurality of lower cooling passages (negative electrode holder 260 having through holes at the same positions as the through hole 221 [0029]; i.e., through hole 262; see Fig 7,8),
wherein the plurality of upper insertion portions each have a respective inner wall to wrap around at least part of an outer surface of each of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells at upper portions thereof (see Fig 7 wherein the positive electrode side holder 250 wraps around at least part of an outer surface of base cell 100),
wherein the plurality of lower insertion portions (i.e., the negative electrode holder 260 having through holes of the same size and dimensions at the same positions as the battery housing 222 [0032]) each have a respective inner wall to wrap around at least part of the outer surface of each of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells at lower insertion portions thereof (see Fig 7 wherein the electrode holder 260 wraps around an outer surface of base cell 100)
wherein the plurality of the upper cooling passages (through-hole 254 [0029]) each have an extension of a tubular shape extending in a vertical direction from an upper outward surface of the cell frame toward the module housing (i.e., through hole 254 extending towards the positive electrode connector 230; see Fig 7,8),
the extension of each upper cooling passage (i.e., through hole 254) to be connected to inserted into and in communication with a respective one of the cooling holes (through hole 272; see Fig 7-8; [0029]),
wherein the plurality of the lower cooling passages (through hole 262) each have an extension of a tubular shape extending in a vertical direction from a lower outward surface of the cell frame toward the module housing (i.e., through hole 262 extending in a direction towards the negative electrode connector 240; see Fig 7-8),
the extension of each lower cooling passage (through hole 262) to be inserted into and in communication with a respective one of the cooling holes (through hole 243; see Fig 7-8, [0029]),
wherein the plurality of upper cooling passages (through hole 254) and the plurality of lower cooling passages (through hole 262) are spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (see Fig 7-8),
wherein the plurality of upper cooling passages (through hole 254) and the plurality of lower cooling passages (through hole 262) of the lower case are vertically aligned with respect to each other on a one-to-one basis (see Fig 7,8 [0029]),
wherein the plurality of cylindrical battery cells are spaced apart from each other to define gap portions at central portions of the cylindrical battery cells between the upper portions and the lower portions of the cylindrical battery cells (i.e., through hole 221; see annotated Fig below).
Toshiki further discloses wherein the through hole 221 comprising the gap portions surround outer circumferential surface of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells at the central portions thereof (see Fig 5(a); at 60° intervals around the unit battery or six through holes arranged around the periphery [0028]) for heat dissipation.
However, Toshiki does not disclose wherein the gap portions surround an entire outer circumferential surface of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells at the central portions thereof, as claimed.
In this regard, Dougherty is also directed to a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells, wherein the housing that envelops the battery cells has apertures (451, 551 in Fig 13, 17) through which fluid flows [0064, 0070], wherein the apertures are evenly distributed around the perimeter of the battery cell to facilitate equal cooling. Since an equal portion of the fluid flows through each aperture, it is possible to evenly cool the circumference of each battery cell (see Fig 13, 17; [0064, 0070] - Dougherty).
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the module such that it includes through holes 221 (comprising the gap portions) around the outer circumferential surface of the plurality of the cylindrical battery cells at the central portions thereof, with a reasonable expectation to evenly distribute fluid around the perimeter of the battery cell, thereby facilitating equal cooling [0064, 0070- Dougherty].
Toshiki further discloses wherein:
the upper and lower cooling passages (through holes 262 and 254) being vertically aligned with respective gap portions (see through hole 221 in Figs 7-8)
wherein the upper insertion portions and the lower insertion portions are absent at the central portions of the cylindrical battery cells (i.e., positive electrode side holder 250 and 260 do not extend towards the central portions of the battery cell).
Regarding the limitation of “so that the gap portions directly communicate with the outer surface of respective ones of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells at the central portion thereof”, Examiner notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114-II). Since Toshiki discloses all the claimed structural limitations (i.e., upper and lower insertion portions that are absent at the central portions of the cylindrical battery cells) that are required to carry out such communication between the cylindrical battery cell and the gap, the limitation is considered met.
Alternatively, Yang teaches an upper and lower insertion frame (200a,b in Fig 2) also comprising a plurality of holes for air flow and heat dissipation (i.e., 220a, 240a in Fig 5), and a gap formed between the two insertion frames at the central portion of the cylindrical battery cells for facilitating air flow or cooling of heat generated during charging and discharging [0040-0041 Yang]. As such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery module of Toshiki such that it includes a gap at the central portion of the battery cell, wherein the gap directly communicates with the outer surfaces of the battery cells at the central portion, with a reasonable expectation to facilitate air flow for heat dissipation [0040-0041].
Toshiki further discloses:
wherein the plurality of upper cooling passages (through hole 254), the gap portions (i.e., through hole 221), and the plurality of lower cooling passages (through hole 262) being configured to allow the coolant to flow in and out along a vertical length of the cylindrical batteries (see arrows in Fig 7-8; [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein the upper and lower cooling passages (through holes 254, 262) each have a size corresponding to a diameter of the respective cooling hole (through holes 272, 243) connected thereto (see Fig 7-8, [0021, 0036]-Toshiki).
Regarding claim 6, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 1 comprising the plurality of cooling holes in the upper wall (through hole 272) of the module housing.
While Toshiki does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of cooling holes in the upper hole is “configured to allow the coolant to flow from outside to inside”, Examiner notes that the statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to limit the claim (MPEP 2112.02, II). Here, “configured to allow the coolant to flow from outside to inside” does not additional structure to the claimed battery module and therefore any cooling hole capable of flowing coolant are interpreted as reading on the limitation. Since Toshiki discloses wherein cooling air flows through the through hole 272, the limitation is considered met.
Toshiki further discloses wherein cooling air flows through the plurality of holes provided in the lower wall of the module housing (i.e., through hole 243) and is discharged from the through-hole 272 [0036]. Thus, the limitation of “the plurality of cooling holes provided in the lower wall of the module housing is configured to force the coolant fed into the module housing out” is considered met.
Examiner further notes that the statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to limit the claim (MPEP 2112.02, II). Here, the limitation of “the plurality of cooling holes provided in the lower wall of the module housing is configured to force the coolant fed into the module housing out” does not impart any additional structure to the claimed battery module. Therefore, any cooling holes provided in the lower wall of the module housing capable of forcing the fed coolant out is interpreted as reading on the limitation. Since Toshiki discloses wherein the through hole 243 of the module housing is capable of flowing cooling air which is exhausted through the through hole 272 [0036], the limitation is considered met.
Regarding claim 7, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein at least some of the upper cooling passages (through hole 254) of the upper case include a guide portion (i.e., the walls of the through hole 254).
Examiner further notes that the statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to limit the claim (MPEP 2112.02, II). Here, the limitation of “configured to change a flow direction of the coolant to a horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells” is an intended use limitation that does not impart any additional structure to the claimed battery module. Therefore, any guide portion of the upper cooling passages is interpreted as reading on the limitation. Here, since Toshiki discloses wherein the cooling air flows upward following the walls of the through hole 254 (see Figs 11-12), the limitation is considered met.
Regarding claim 12, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 1,
wherein the cell frame (positive electrode side holder 250 and a negative electrode side holder 260) has an exposure hole to expose the electrode terminal to the an outside (i.e., the insertion portions are through-holes that would expose the electrode terminals [0032]; see Fig 2),
wherein the battery module further includes a connecting plate having a connection hole (i.e., the horizontal portion of the connection body 230, 240 having opening to accommodate cell 100; see Fig 7-8), mounted on each of the upper and lower frames (see Fig 2),
the connection hole in communication with the exposure hole (see Fig 2),
a connection terminal (positive output terminal 232 and the negative output terminal 242; see Fig 8) extending from an inner side of the connection hole to electrically connect the plurality of cylindrical battery cells (see Fig 8)
the connecting plate (i.e., the horizontal portion of the connection body 230, 240) having an insertion groove (i.e., through hole 233 and 243) in which extensions of the upper and lower cooling passages (i.e., through-hole 254, 262) are inserted (see Fig 8).
Regarding claim 13, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 12, wherein each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the cell frame (positive electrode side holder 250 and a negative electrode side holder 260) has a partition wall extending in the vertical direction and extending linearly in a horizontal direction (see annotated Fig 8 below).
Examiner notes that the limitation of “to connect respective ones the plurality of upper and lower cooling passages” is intended use which does not impart additional structure to the battery module. Since Toshiki discloses wherein the partition wall surrounds the upper and lowering cooling passages such that they are linearly aligned, thus connecting respective ones of the plurality of upper and lowering cooling passages, the limitation is considered met.
Toshiki further discloses wherein the partition wall is disposed corresponding to an outer periphery of the connecting plate (the horizontal portion of the connection body 230, 240) in the horizontal direction (see Fig 8 wherein the horizontal portion of the connection body 230 is disposed on the partition wall of side holder 250 and the horizontal portion of the connection body 240 is disposed on the partition wall of side holder 260)
Regarding claim 15, modified Toshiki discloses a battery pack comprising at least one battery module according to claim 1 ([0050]; Fig 16).
Regarding claim 16, modified Toshiki discloses the battery pack according to claim 15. Toshiki does not explicitly disclose an electronic device comprising the battery pack according to claim 15. However, Toshiki discloses that the battery module is useful as a battery module of an automobile battery pack, and a home storage battery unit [Toshiki 0050]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the battery module in an automobile battery pack and/or a home storage battery unit as Toshiki discloses that such battery module is safe, small, and light weight [Toshiki 0050].
Regarding claim 17, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein:
the at least two of the plurality of cooling holes (plurality of through holes 272 in Fig 3) includes first and second cooling holes with the first cooling hole being closer to a center of the module housing and the second cooling hole being disposed near an outer side of the module housing (see Fig 3)
Toshiki does not disclose wherein “the first cooling hole having a larger diameter than the second cooling hole” as claimed.
In this regard, Yang teaches wherein the upper outer frame cover 200a comprises at least two of the cooling holes having different sizes (i.e., cooling hole 220a and heat dissipation groove 240; Fig 6), wherein the cooling hole 220a (i.e., cooling hole closer to a center) has a larger diameter than a cooling hole disposed at an outer side (i.e., heat dissipation groove 240; see Fig 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the cooling holes of Toshiki, such that the cooling hole closer to a center has a larger diameter than a cooling hole disposed at an outer side as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation to facilitate effective air flow or cooling of heat generated in the center of the cell and along the circumference of the battery insertion groove [0033, 0039 Yang].
Toshiki further discloses wherein each upper and lower cooling passage of the cell frame (i.e., through holes 254, 262) is connected to a respective cooling hole of the module housing (i.e., through hole 272; see Fig 6)
each upper and lower cooling passage having a size corresponding to a diameter of the respective cooling hole (see Figs 6-7; [0032]-Toshiki).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiki (JP2014197452A, equivalent to IDS cited WO2013018151A1, previously cited), in view of Yang (WO2018034471, previously cited, equivalent to IDS cited KR20180021265A on 12/01/2021), Dougherty (US20080220315A1), and Kozu (US20110293986A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 7, wherein the guide portion (i.e., walls of through hole 254) vertically extends. However, Toshiki does not disclose “wherein the guide portion includes a guide protrusion extending in the horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells” (claim 8).
In this regard, Kozu teaches a battery module 1 comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells 20, and a holder 3 for holding the cells, wherein the holder comprises refrigerant passages 34, wherein side walls of the upper refrigerant passage include “a protrusion extending in the horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells” as claimed (see Fig 4 wherein refrigerant passages 34 have curvatures that protrude horizontally in the direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the guide portion of Toshiki, such that it includes a protrusion extending in the horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells as taught by Kozu, as Kozu teaches that when the cooling passage in such shape is in close contact with the cell, the thermal resistance between the cell and the refrigerant can be further reduced and further allows efficient conduction of the heat of the cell to the refrigerant [0073 Kozu].
Regarding claim 9, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 7, wherein the guide portion (i.e., walls of through hole 254) vertically extends. However, Toshiki does not disclose wherein the guide portion “has a bent structure in which the cooling passages of the upper case are bent in the horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells” as claimed.
In this regard, Kozu teaches a battery module 1 comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells 20, and a holder 3 for holding the cells, and a lid 14 with a plurality of refrigerant passages 14d, wherein the holder further comprises refrigerant passages 34, wherein side walls of the upper refrigerant passage “has a bent structure in which the cooling passages of the upper case are bent in the horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells” (see Fig 4 wherein refrigerant passages 34 have curvatures, wherein the curvatures are “bent horizontally inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells” as claimed).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the guide portion of Toshiki, such that it has a bent structure in which the cooling passages of the upper case are bent in the horizontal inward direction of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells as taught by Kozu, as Kozu teaches that when the cooling passage in such shape is in close contact with the cell, the thermal resistance between the cell and the refrigerant can be further reduced and further allows efficient conduction of the heat of the cell to the refrigerant [0073 Kozu].
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 7, comprising the plurality of cooling holes provided in the upper wall and the lower wall of the module housing (i.e., through holes 272 and 243, respectively).
However, Toshiki does not disclose wherein the plurality of cooling holes provided in the upper wall of the module housing (claim 10) and the plurality of cooling holes provided in the lower wall of the module housing (claim 11) includes “a tapered structure having an inner diameter gradually decreasing in the horizontal inward direction” as claimed.
In this regard, Kozu teaches wherein the plurality of refrigerant passages 14d of the lid 14 (i.e., upper cooling hole) and the plurality of openings 13e of a rectangular bottom 13a (i.e., lower cooling holes) has a tapered structure having an inner diameter gradually decreasing in the horizontal inward direction (see Fig 2) providing a flow refrigerant flow path between the upper wall and the lower wall of the module housing [0054-0055 Kozu]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the cooling holes provided in the upper wall and the lower wall of the module housing such that it has a tapered structure as taught by Kozu, with a reasonable expectation to provide a flow refrigerant flow path between the upper wall and the lower wall of the module housing [0054-0055 Kozu]
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiki (JP2014197452A, equivalent to IDS cited WO2013018151A1, previously cited, translation attached), in view of Yang (WO2018034471, previously cited, translation attached, equivalent to IDS cited KR20180021265A on 12/01/2021), Dougherty (US20080220315A1), and Chuang (US8920955B1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 14, modified Toshiki discloses the battery module according to claim 12, but does not disclose:
a thermally conductive pad mounted on an outer side of the connecting plate and including a fixing groove into which the extensions of the upper and lower cooling passages are inserted.
In this regard, Chuang teaches a battery module (Fig 1) comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 11 in a primary retaining frame 12 and a secondary retaining frame 13, top common electrode 15, bottom common electrode 16, and a pair of thermal conductive pads 14 are disposed on the outer surface of the common electrodes 15 and 16 and pressed towards the retaining frames 12, 13. Chuang teaches that the thermal conductive pads can effectively dissipate the heat dissipated by the battery cells (Col 6, lines 19-24).
Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a pair of thermally conductive pads mounted on an outer side of the connecting plates (i.e., positive and negative electrode side holders 250 and 260) such that the thermal conductive pads are fixed into the extensions of the upper and lower cooling passages in the battery module of Toshiki with a reasonable expectation to effectively dissipate the heat dissipated by the battery cells (Col 6, lines 19-24).
Toshiki further does not disclose:
a heat sink mounted on an outer side of the thermally conductive pad and including a fixing hole into which the upper and lower cooling passage is passages are inserted.
In this regard, Chuang teaches wherein the thermal conductive pads 14 function as a heat sink (Col 3, lines 64-67). Chaung teaches that when a heatsink device abuts against the top common electrode and/or bottom common electrode of the battery cells, the electrical connection among the battery cells will be adversely affected by severe shock or vibration and prevent the occurrence of accidental cell damage or short circuit (Col 4, lines 7-17). Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added another layer of the thermal conductive pads to the battery module (modified above) with a reasonable expectation to prevent the occurrence of accidental cell damage or short circuit (Col 4, lines 7-17).
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/13/2026