DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-28, and 30-34 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 16, 28, and 34 are amended. Claims 1-15, and 29 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on August 26, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pgs 7-14, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 16-28, and 30-34 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 16 and 34 to require a limitation that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “wherein the nicotine composition comprises... between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight of the acetic acid.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references in combination with previously applied prior art.
On pgs. 11-13, Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not consult Karles to modify Sensabaugh because Sensabaugh teaches that the moisture content of the tobacco starting material should be reduced, such as less than about 4% and more preferably less than about 1%, while Karles states that water is present in the nicotine formulation in an amount ranging from about 5-40% by weight. Examiner does not find the argument persuasive because Sensabaugh discloses that moisture in the tobacco material should be reduced before extraction to improve the purity of the extract (Sensabaugh, col 4, ln 13-21), but does not explicitly state that the extract does not or cannot include water. As Karles demonstrates that a nicotine composition to be aerosolized by an electronic cigarette can comprise: a tobacco extract; water between about 80% and about 95% by weight; and water between about 5% and about 20% by weight (Karles, [0046]-[0054]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the nicotine composition of Sensabaugh including the non-aqueous solvent and water within the claimed ranges.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-28, 30-31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sensabaugh (US 5,235,992 A, cited on the IDS dated 3/1/2022) in view of Karles (US 2017/0245543 A1) and Atkins (US 2020/0022417 A1), as evidenced by Pontes (US 2020/0187551 A1), Fernando (US 2015/0359264 A1), Besso (US 2017/0273351 A1), White-841 (US 6,591,841 B1), and White-404 (US 6,048,404 A).
Regarding Claim 16, Sensabaugh, directed to tobacco extracts and nicotine compositions (col 2, ln 28-37, The invention is directed to flavor substances extracted from tobacco; and col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition), teaches a nicotine composition (col 2, ln 28-37, The invention is directed to extracted tobacco flavor substances; and col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles collected from a gas stream obtained by heating a natural tobacco material at a temperature of from 125°C to 140°C for at least 90 minutes under flow of an inert gas (col 2, ln 54-61, col 3, ln 32-39, col 4, ln 4-66; In the process of the invention, tobacco is heated at two different temperatures differing by 50° C under the flow of an inert carrier gas such that tobacco volatiles evolve from the tobacco. The first extraction temperature may preferably be between 100° C and 225° C. Volatiles evolved from tobacco may be collected by bubbling the carrier gas comprising the volatiles though a liquid sorbent. The volatiles are collected to form an extract of tobacco flavor substances; and col 8, ln 7-46, Example 6 shows that the tobacco is held at the first extraction temperature for 3.5 hours, then raised to the second extraction temperature for 3 hours);
water (col 4, ln 13-21; The tobacco starting material may undergo a moisture reduction process to a value less than about 4%. Residual water may remain in the extract); and
a non-aqueous solvent (col 4, ln 4-10, Volatiles evolved from tobacco may be collected by bubbling the carrier gas comprising the volatiles though a liquid sorbent such as propylene glycol; and col 5, ln 50-59, the flavor substances yielded from the bubbling step may be retained in the liquid sorbent, and incorporated into a smoking article),
wherein the natural tobacco material is not subjected to any treatment adapted to alter the pH of the natural tobacco (col 4, ln 13 – col 6, ln 19 describe the process of the invention in detail. Sensabaugh does not mention altering the pH of the natural tobacco),
a content of nicotine is at least 0.2 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition (col 13, ln 14-35, Examples 11 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition. The nicotine comprises an extract from flue cured tobacco at 1.00g, Turkish at 1.00g, Latakia at 1.00g, Burley at 1.00g, nicotine at 0.60g, and malic acid at 0.20g. Based on these masses, the content of nicotine is 12.5% by weight of-nicotine based on the weight of the nicotine composition);
prepared by a method comprising the steps of: preparing a natural tobacco starting material (col 4, ln 13-34; Natural tobacco is prepared for the process by reducing its moisture content without removing volatile flavor components);
heating the tobacco starting material under flow of an inert gas at an extraction temperature of between 125 degrees Celsius and 140 degrees Celsius for at least 90 minutes to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material (col 4, ln 35-66; The tobacco is then heated at two different toasting (extraction) temperatures differing by 50° C to distill volatile flavor substances (compounds) from the tobacco starting material. The first extraction temperature may preferably be between 100° C and 225° C; and col 8, ln 7-46, Example 6 shows that the tobacco is held at the first extraction temperature for 3.5 hours, then raised to the second extraction temperature for 3 hours; and col 3, ln 32-39, Sensabaugh further states that extraction may be performed a temperature range of 100° C to 350° C. Therefore, the first heating temperature may be 100° C, and the second heating temperature may by 150° C, for example. An inert carrier gas flows during the heating process such that the volatile gases are removed from the heating chamber);
collecting the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating under flow of the inert gas (col 3, ln 32-39, col 4, ln 60-66; An inert carrier gas flows during the heating (extraction) process such that the volatile gases are collected and removed from the heating chamber);
forming a liquid tobacco extract comprising the collected volatile compounds (col 5, ln 33-59, The flavor substances (collected volatiles compounds) are separately collected by passing the flowing gas stream sequentially through 1) a moderate temperature trap, 2) a cold temperature trap, and 3) a filter capable of collecting submicron sized aerosol particles. One or both of the moderate or cold temperature trap may comprise a liquid sorbent such as propylene glycol, and the gas stream may be bubbled through the liquid sorbent to collect the volatile compounds. The liquid sorbent comprising the volatile compounds is the liquid tobacco extract); and
forming the nicotine composition from the liquid tobacco extract (col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances (liquid tobacco extract) may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition)
wherein the natural tobacco starting material is not subjected to any treatment adapted to alter the pH of the natural tobacco (col 4, ln 13 – col 6, ln 19 describe the process of the invention in detail. Sensabaugh does not mention altering the pH of the natural tobacco),
but does not teach the composition comprising: i) between about 80 percent by weight and about 95 percent by weight of the non-aqueous solvent and between about 5 percent by weight and about 20 percent by weight of water based upon the weight of the nicotine composition, ii) between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight of the acetic acid, and iii) a first ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (phenol) of greater than 0.25; and a second ratio by weight of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100) to (nicotine) of greater than 5 x 10-4.
With respect to i), Karles, directed to nicotine compositions ([0001]-[0004], [0054], The pre-vapor formulation comprises nicotine), teaches a nicotine composition ([0003]-[0004], [0054], The invention is directed to a pre-vapor formulation. Nicotine is included in the pre-vaporization formulation in an amount ranging from about 2% by weight to about 6% by weight), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material ([0003]-[0004]; In the process of the invention, tobacco is heated such that tobacco volatiles evolve from the tobacco. The volatiles are collected and combined with a pre-vapor formulation); and
a non-aqueous solvent ([00049]-[0050], Propylene glycol and glycerin are non-aqueous solvents),
a content of nicotine is at least 0.2 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0054], Nicotine is included in the pre-vaporization formulation in an amount ranging from about 2% by weight to about 6% by weight);
prepared by a method comprising the steps of: preparing a natural tobacco starting material ([0004], [0032]-[0033], Fig. 2; Natural tobacco is mixed with at least one additive at step 75);
heating the tobacco starting material at an extraction temperature of between 100 degrees Celsius and 160 degrees Celsius to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material ([0004], [0032]-[0034], Fig. 2; At step 100, the tobacco starting material is heated to at temperature between 50° C to 250° C to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material);
collecting the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating ([0004], [0046]; At step 200, the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating are collected);
forming a liquid tobacco extract comprising the collected volatile compounds ([0004], [0047]-[0051]; At step 300, the method also includes collecting 200 volatiles from the heated tobacco material and combining 300 the volatiles with a pre-vapor formulation immediately after the collecting step 200. The pre-vapor formulation includes liquid components such as propylene glycol, glycerin, and/or water); and
forming the nicotine composition from the liquid tobacco extract ([0004], [0047]-[0051]; The composition resulting from combining the volatiles with the pre-vapor formulation is the nicotine composition)
wherein the natural tobacco starting material is not subjected to any treatment adapted to alter the pH of the natural tobacco ([0005], [0009], The pH of the natural tobacco may optionally be altered; however, there must necessarily be embodiments of the invention which do not alter the pH of the natural tobacco),
wherein the nicotine composition is suitable for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette ([0026]),
wherein the nicotine composition further comprises between about 80 percent by weight and about 95 percent by weight of the non-aqueous solvent ([0049]-[0050], The pre-vapor formulation may comprise one or more vapor formers (glycerin, propylene glycol, non-aqueous solvents) at 40%-90% by weight) and
between about 5 percent by weight and about 20 percent by weight of water, based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0051], The pre-vapor formulation comprises water at 5%-40% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the nicotine composition of Sensabaugh for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette as taught by Karles because Sensabaugh and Karles are directed to nicotine compositions, and Karles demonstrates that a nicotine composition comprising volatiles from natural tobacco heated between 100 degrees Celsius and 160 degrees Celsius is suitable for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the nicotine composition taught by Sensabaugh further comprising between about 80 percent by weight and about 95 percent by weight of the non-aqueous solvent and between about 5 percent by weight and about 20 percent by weight of water, based on the weight of the nicotine composition because Karles demonstrates that the composition may be used in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054] as applied above), and Karles demonstrates that including the non-aqueous solvent and water within the claimed ranges is preferable for a pre-vapor formulation (Karles, [0049]-[0051]).
With respect to ii), Atkins, directed to nicotine compositions ([0002]-[0003]), teaches a nicotine composition ([0135] Included herein are nicotine liquid formulations for use in electronic vaporizers, such as devices provided herein), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material ([0167], The nicotine in a nicotine liquid formulation provided herein can be naturally occurring nicotine (e.g., from extract of nicotineous species such as tobacco)); and
a content of nicotine is at least 0.2 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0179], the concentration of nicotine in the nicotine liquid formulation is from about 0.5% to about 25%, wherein the concentration is of nicotine weight to total solution weight, i.e. (w/w));
a content of acetic acid between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0168], [0173], The nicotine liquid formulation includes an organic acid. The organic acid is any one or more of acetic acid; and [0184], the concentration of organic acid in the nicotine liquid formulation is from about 0.5% to about 25%, wherein the concentration is of organic acid weight to total solution weight, i.e. (w/w)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of Sensabaugh and Karles including acetic acid at a content between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition as taught by Atkins because Sensabaugh, Karles, and Atkins are directed to nicotine compositions, Atkins demonstrates that providing a nicotine composition comprising between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight of acetic acid can be heated to yield an aerosol which causes an increased nicotine-related biological effect in the user relative to the absence of the organic acid (Atkins, [0143], [0184]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
With respect to iii), Pontes, directed to tobacco extracts ([0001]), demonstrates that β-ionone, β-damascenone, furaneol, and substituted pyrazines are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0074]).
Fernando, directed to nicotine compositions ([0001]), demonstrates that phenol is a volatile which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0013]).
Besso, directed to tobacco extracts ([0001]), demonstrates that substituted pyrazines are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0023]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the composition taught by Sensabaugh comprising phenol and 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine because β-ionone, β-damascenone, furaneol, phenol, and various substituted pyrazines are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material (Pontes, [0074]; and Fernando, [0013]; and Besso, [0023]-[0024]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect a nicotine composition prepared by the method taught by Sensabaugh to comprise β-ionone, β-damascenone, furaneol, phenol, and 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine. Further, because Sensabaugh teaches the nicotine composition prepared by the method claimed in Claim 34, and the Applicant discloses that the method results in an equivalent nicotine composition as claim 1, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the nicotine composition of the prior art to have a first ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (phenol) of greater than 0.25, and a second ratio by weight of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100)) to (nicotine) of greater than 5 x 10-4 as claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
The ranges for the nicotine amount, non-aqueous solvent amount, acetic acid amount, and the water amount disclosed by the prior art overlap the claimed ranges, and therefore the claimed ranges are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 17-21, Because Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition prepared by the method claimed in Claim 34, the Applicant discloses that the method results in an equivalent nicotine composition as claim 1 having overlapping ratios, and the specification discloses that the method results in the claimed ratios, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the nicotine composition of the prior art to provide the first ratio by weight greater than 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, and between 2 and 10, absent evidence to the contrary, since the composition of the prior art is equivalent to the claimed composition.
Regarding Claim 22, Because Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition prepared by the method claimed in Claim 34, the Applicant discloses that the method results in an equivalent nicotine composition as claim 1 having overlapping ratios, and the specification discloses that the method results in the claimed ratios, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the nicotine composition of the prior art to provide the second ratio by weight between 8 x 10-4 and 9 x 10-3, absent evidence to the contrary, since the composition of the prior art is equivalent to the claimed composition.
Regarding Claim 23, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition according to claim 16, but does not teach the composition wherein the nicotine composition comprises between 0.4 percent by weight and 3.6 percent by weight nicotine based on the weight of the nicotine composition.
The precise percent by weight nicotine based on the weight of the nicotine composition would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because the flavor, harshness, taste, and mouth feel of the nicotine composition is a variable which can be modified by the amount of the nicotine (Sensabaugh, col 14, ln 15-55). As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed nicotine amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized the nicotine amount by routine experimentation to obtain the desired flavor, harshness, taste, and mouth feel, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.05, II).
Regarding Claim 24, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins does not teach the nicotine composition according to claim 16 further comprising a third ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone + (R, S)-N-nitrosoanatabine + (R, S)-N- nitrosoanabasine + N-nitrosonornicotine + ((2-furanmethanol)/600)), wherein the third ratio by weight is greater than 1.5.
Pontes, directed to tobacco extracts ([0001]), demonstrates that β-ionone and β-damascenone are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0074]),
demonstrates that β-ionone and β-damascenone are volatile compounds of interest which responsible for a characteristic taste or flavour ([0034]-[0037], [0074]-[0075], [0087]),
and demonstrates that tobacco specific nitrosamines are undesirable for a tobacco extract (0076]).
Fernando, directed to nicotine compositions ([0001]), demonstrates that 4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone, (R, S)-N-nitrosoanatabine, (R, S)-N-nitrosoanabasine, and N-nitrosonornicotine are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0013]), and are potentially harmful constituents to a smoker ([0012]-[0013]).
White-841, directed to tobacco extraction (col 2, ln 32-67), demonstrates that 2-furanmethanol is a volatile which can evolve from heating a tobacco material (col 8, ln 31-67, Table 1, Row 17 (2-furanmethanol)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the composition taught by Sensabaugh comprising β-ionone, β-damascenone, 4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone, (R, S)-N-nitrosoanatabine, (R, S)-N- nitrosoanabasine, N-nitrosonornicotine, and 2-furanmethanol because said compounds are volatiles which can be extracted from tobacco material (Pontes, [0074]; and Fernando, [0013]; and White-841, col 8, ln 31-67, Table 1, Row 17 (2-furanmethanol)). Because Sensabaugh teaches the nicotine composition prepared by the method claimed in Claim 34, the Applicant discloses that the method results in an equivalent nicotine composition as claim 1 having overlapping ratios, and the specification discloses that the method results in the claimed ratios, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the nicotine composition of the prior art to have a third ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone + (R, S)-N-nitrosoanatabine + (R, S)-N- nitrosoanabasine + N-nitrosonornicotine + ((2-furanmethanol)/600)) greater than 1.5, absent evidence to the contrary, since the composition of the prior art is equivalent to the claimed composition. Additionally, one would have been motivated to maximize the value of the third ratio to a value above 1.5 because β-ionone and β-damascenone are volatile compounds of interest for a tobacco extract because they contribute to the tobacco flavor (Pontes, [0034]-[0037], [0074]-[0075], [0087]; β-ionone are β-damascenone are listed as volatile compounds of interest extracted from the tobacco material and provided in the tobacco extract). Further, tobacco specific nitrosamines such as 4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone, (R, S)-N-nitrosoanatabine, (R, S)-N- nitrosoanabasine, and N-nitrosonornicotine are known in the art to be potentially harmful constituents (Fernando, [0013]), and further tobacco specific nitrosamines are undesirable for a tobacco extract (Pontes, [0076).
Regarding Claim 25, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition according to claim 16. Sensabaugh further teaches the composition wherein the extract of tobacco volatiles is derived from Burley tobacco and Bright tobacco (col 3, ln 25-31, The extract can be derived from Burley, Flue-Cured, and/or Turkish tobacco. Flue-Cured and Turkish (Oriental) tobacco are forms of Bright tobacco; see instant specification pg 33, ln ln 33-34).
Regarding Claim 26, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition according to claim 25. Sensabaugh further teaches the composition wherein the Bright tobacco is one or more of Oriental tobacco and flue-cured tobacco (col 3, ln 25-31, The extract can be derived from Burley, Flue-Cured, and/or Turkish (Oriental) tobacco).
Regarding Claim 27, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition according to claim 25. Sensabaugh further teaches the composition wherein the non-aqueous solvent is glycerine, propylene glycol, triacetin, 1,3-propanediol, or a mixture thereof (col 4, ln 4-10, Volatiles evolved from tobacco may be collected by bubbling the carrier gas comprising the volatiles though a liquid sorbent such as propylene glycol; and col 5, ln 50-59, the flavor substances yielded from the bubbling step may be retained in the liquid sorbent, and incorporated into a smoking article).
Regarding Claim 28, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins does not explicitly teach the nicotine composition according to claim 16 further comprising one or more of vanillin, 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine, 2-methylbutanoic acid, 3-methylbutanoic acid, 3-methyl-2,4-nonanedione, 2-methoxyphenol, 2-phenylethanol, eugenol, and sotolone.
Atkins, directed to nicotine compositions ([0002]-[0003]), teaches a nicotine composition ([0135] Included herein are nicotine liquid formulations for use in electronic vaporizers, such as devices provided herein), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material ([0167], The nicotine in a nicotine liquid formulation provided herein can be naturally occurring nicotine (e.g., from extract of nicotineous species such as tobacco)); and
vanillin ([0179], a formulation includes an organic compound that exhibits an acid character and is capable of forming a counter ion with nicotine when in its conjugate base form. Exemplary compounds include the phenolics such as guaiacol, vanillin, protocatechualdehyde, and the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of Sensabaugh further comprising vanillin as taught by Atkins because Atkins demonstrates that vanillin ais an organic compound that exhibits an acid character and is capable of forming a counter ion with nicotine when in its conjugate base form (Atkins, [0179]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 30, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition according to claim 27. Karles further teaches the composition wherein the content of the non-aqueous solvent is between about 80 percent by weight and about 90 percent by weight ([0049]-[0050], The pre-vapor formulation may comprise one or more vapor formers (glycerin, propylene glycol, non-aqueous solvents) at 40%-90% by weight) and
the content of the water is between about 10 percent by weight and about 15 percent by weight, based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0051], The pre-vapor formulation comprises water at 5%-40% by weight).
The ranges for the non-aqueous solvent amount and the water amount disclosed by the prior art overlap the claimed ranges, and therefore the claimed ranges are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 31, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins teaches the nicotine composition according to claim 25. Sensabaugh further teaches the composition wherein the nicotine composition is a liquid nicotine composition (col 4, ln 4-10, Volatiles evolved from tobacco may be collected by bubbling the carrier gas comprising the volatiles though a liquid sorbent such as propylene glycol; and col 5, ln 50-59, the flavor substances yielded from the bubbling step may be retained in the liquid sorbent, and incorporated into a smoking article; and col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition. Therefore, the nicotine composition is provided in liquid form).
Regarding Claim 34, Sensabaugh, directed to tobacco extracts and nicotine compositions (col 2, ln 28-37, The invention is directed to flavor substances extracted from tobacco; and col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition), teaches a nicotine composition (col 2, ln 28-37, The invention is directed to extracted tobacco flavor substances; and col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material under flow of an inert gas (col 2, ln 54-61, col 3, ln 32-39, col 4, ln 13-63; In the process of the invention, tobacco is heated at an elevated temperature under the flow of an inert carrier gas such that tobacco volatiles evolve from the tobacco. The volatiles are collected and condensed to form an extract of tobacco flavor substances); and
a non-aqueous solvent (col 4, ln 4-10, Volatiles evolved from tobacco may be collected by bubbling the carrier gas comprising the volatiles though a liquid sorbent such as propylene glycol; and col 5, ln 50-59, the flavor substances yielded from the bubbling step may be retained in the liquid sorbent, and incorporated into a smoking article),
water (col 4, ln 13-21; The tobacco starting material may undergo a moisture reduction process to a value less than about 4%. Residual water may remain in the extract), and
nicotine (col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition),
wherein the nicotine composition is obtained by a method comprising: preparing a natural tobacco starting material (col 4, ln 13-34; Natural tobacco is prepared for the process by reducing its moisture content without removing volatile flavor components);
heating the tobacco starting material under flow of an inert gas at an extraction temperature of between 125 degrees Celsius and 140 degrees Celsius for at least 90 minutes to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material to obtain a distillate gas stream (col 4, ln 35-66; The tobacco is then heated at two different toasting (extraction) temperatures differing by 50° C to distill volatile flavor substances (compounds) from the tobacco starting material. The first extraction temperature may preferably be between 100° C and 225° C; and col 8, ln 7-46, Example 6 shows that the tobacco is held at the first extraction temperature for 3.5 hours, then raised to the second extraction temperature for 3 hours; and col 3, ln 32-39, Sensabaugh further states that extraction may be performed a temperature range of 100° C to 350° C. Therefore, the first heating temperature may be 100° C, and the second heating temperature may by 150° C, for example. An inert carrier gas flows during the heating process such that the volatile gases are removed from the heating chamber. The volatile gases are the distillate gas stream);
collecting the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating under flow of the inert gas from the distillate gas stream (col 3, ln 32-39, col 4, ln 60-66, col 5, ln 33-59; An inert carrier gas flows during the heating (extraction) process such that the volatile gases (distillate gas stream) are collected and removed from the heating chamber. The flavor substances (volatile compounds) are separately collected by passing the flowing gas stream sequentially through 1) a moderate temperature trap, 2) a cold temperature trap, and 3) a filter capable of collecting submicron sized aerosol particles.);
forming a liquid tobacco extract comprising the collected volatile compounds (col 5, ln 33-59, The flavor substances (collected volatile compounds) are separately collected by passing the flowing gas stream sequentially through 1) a moderate temperature trap, 2) a cold temperature trap, and 3) a filter capable of collecting submicron sized aerosol particles. One or both of the moderate or cold temperature trap may comprise a liquid sorbent such as propylene glycol, and the gas stream may be bubbled through the liquid sorbent to collect the volatile compounds. The liquid sorbent comprising the volatile compounds is the liquid tobacco extract); and
forming the nicotine composition from the liquid tobacco extract (col 13, ln 14 – col 14, ln 21, Examples 11 and 14 demonstrate that the extracted tobacco flavor substances (liquid tobacco extract) may be combined with nicotine to form a nicotine composition)
wherein the natural tobacco starting material is not subjected to any treatment adapted to alter the pH of the natural tobacco (col 4, ln 13 – col 6, ln 19 describe the process of the invention in detail. Sensabaugh does not mention altering the pH of the natural tobacco),
but does not teach the composition comprising i) between about 80 percent by weight and about 95 percent by weight of the non-aqueous solvent and between about 5 percent by weight and about 20 percent by weight of water based upon the weight of the nicotine composition, ii) between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight of the acetic acid, and iii) wherein the nicotine composition has a first ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (phenol) of greater than 0.25; and a second ratio by weight of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100) to (nicotine) of greater than 5 x 10-4.
With respect to i), Karles, directed to nicotine compositions ([0001]-[0004], [0054], The pre-vapor formulation comprises nicotine), teaches a nicotine composition ([0003]-[0004], [0054], The invention is directed to a pre-vapor formulation. Nicotine is included in the pre-vaporization formulation in an amount ranging from about 2% by weight to about 6% by weight), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material ([0003]-[0004]; In the process of the invention, tobacco is heated such that tobacco volatiles evolve from the tobacco. The volatiles are collected and combined with a pre-vapor formulation); and
a non-aqueous solvent ([00049]-[0050], Propylene glycol and glycerin are non-aqueous solvents),
a content of nicotine is at least 0.2 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0054], Nicotine is included in the pre-vaporization formulation in an amount ranging from about 2% by weight to about 6% by weight);
prepared by a method comprising the steps of: preparing a natural tobacco starting material ([0004], [0032]-[0033], Fig. 2; Natural tobacco is mixed with at least one additive at step 75);
heating the tobacco starting material at an extraction temperature of between 100 degrees Celsius and 160 degrees Celsius to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material ([0004], [0032]-[0034], Fig. 2; At step 100, the tobacco starting material is heated to at temperature between 50° C to 250° C to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material);
collecting the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating ([0004], [0046]; At step 200, the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating are collected);
forming a liquid tobacco extract comprising the collected volatile compounds ([0004], [0047]-[0051]; At step 300, the method also includes collecting 200 volatiles from the heated tobacco material and combining 300 the volatiles with a pre-vapor formulation immediately after the collecting step 200. The pre-vapor formulation includes liquid components such as propylene glycol, glycerin, and/or water); and
forming the nicotine composition from the liquid tobacco extract ([0004], [0047]-[0051]; The composition resulting from combining the volatiles with the pre-vapor formulation is the nicotine composition)
wherein the natural tobacco starting material is not subjected to any treatment adapted to alter the pH of the natural tobacco ([0005], [0009], The pH of the natural tobacco may optionally be altered; however, there must necessarily be embodiments of the invention which do not alter the pH of the natural tobacco),
wherein the nicotine composition is suitable for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette ([0026]),
wherein the nicotine composition further comprises between about 80 percent by weight and about 90 percent by weight of the non-aqueous solvent ([0049]-[0050], The pre-vapor formulation may comprise one or more vapor formers (glycerin, propylene glycol, non-aqueous solvents) at 40%-90% by weight) and
between about 10 percent by weight and about 15 percent by weight of water, based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0051], The pre-vapor formulation comprises water at 5%-40% by weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the nicotine composition of Sensabaugh for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette as taught by Karles because Sensabaugh and Karles are directed to nicotine compositions, and Karles demonstrates that a nicotine composition comprising volatiles from natural tobacco heated between 100 degrees Celsius and 160 degrees Celsius is suitable for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the nicotine composition taught by Sensabaugh further comprising between about 80 percent by weight and about 90 percent by weight of the non-aqueous solvent and between about 10 percent by weight and about 15 percent by weight of water, based on the weight of the nicotine composition because Karles demonstrates that the composition may be used in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054] as applied above), and Karles demonstrates that including the non-aqueous solvent and water within the claimed ranges is preferable for a pre-vapor formulation (Karles, [0049]-[0051]).
With respect to ii), Atkins, directed to nicotine compositions ([0002]-[0003]), teaches a nicotine composition ([0135] Included herein are nicotine liquid formulations for use in electronic vaporizers, such as devices provided herein), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material ([0167], The nicotine in a nicotine liquid formulation provided herein can be naturally occurring nicotine (e.g., from extract of nicotineous species such as tobacco)); and
a content of nicotine is at least 0.2 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0179], the concentration of nicotine in the nicotine liquid formulation is from about 0.5% to about 25%, wherein the concentration is of nicotine weight to total solution weight, i.e. (w/w));
a content of acetic acid between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0168], [0173], The nicotine liquid formulation includes an organic acid. The organic acid is any one or more of acetic acid; and [0184], the concentration of organic acid in the nicotine liquid formulation is from about 0.5% to about 25%, wherein the concentration is of organic acid weight to total solution weight, i.e. (w/w)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of Sensabaugh and Karles including acetic acid at a content between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition as taught by Atkins because Sensabaugh, Karles, and Atkins are directed to nicotine compositions, Atkins demonstrates that providing a nicotine composition comprising between about 0.03 percent and about 8 percent by weight of acetic acid can be heated to yield an aerosol which causes an increased nicotine-related biological effect in the user relative to the absence of the organic acid (Atkins, [0143], [0184]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
With respect to iii), Pontes, directed to tobacco extracts ([0001]), demonstrates that β-ionone, β-damascenone, furaneol, and substituted pyrazines are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0074]).
Fernando, directed to nicotine compositions ([0001]), demonstrates that phenol is a volatile which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0013]).
Besso, directed to tobacco extracts ([0001]), demonstrates that substituted pyrazines are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material ([0023]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the composition taught by Sensabaugh comprising phenol and 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine because β-ionone, β-damascenone, furaneol, phenol, and various substituted pyrazines are volatiles which can evolve from heating a tobacco material (Pontes, [0074]; and Fernando, [0013]; and Besso, [0023]-[0024]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect a nicotine composition prepared by the method taught by Sensabaugh to comprise β-ionone, β-damascenone, furaneol, phenol, and 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine. Further, because Sensabaugh teaches the nicotine composition prepared by the method claimed in Claim 34, and the Applicant discloses that the method results in an equivalent nicotine composition as claim 1 having the claimed ratios, which the Applicant has disclosed results in an equivalent nicotine composition as claim 1, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the nicotine composition of the prior art to have a first ratio by weight of (β-ionone + β-damascenone) to (phenol) of greater than 0.25, and a second ratio by weight of (furaneol + (2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine)*100)) to (nicotine) of greater than 5 x 10-4 as claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
The ranges for the nicotine amount, the non-aqueous solvent amount, the extraction temperature, and the extraction time disclosed by the prior art overlap the claimed ranges, and therefore the claimed ranges are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sensabaugh (US 5,235,992 A, cited on the IDS dated 3/1/2022) in view of Karles (US 2017/0245543 A1) and Atkins (US 2020/0022417 A1) as applied to Claim 16, and further in view of Dayioglu (US 2019/0200679 A1).
Regarding Claims 32-33, Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins does not teach the nicotine composition according to claim 16 wherein the nicotine composition is a gel nicotine composition. Sensabaugh in view of Karles and Atkins does not teach a cartridge comprising the nicotine composition of claim 16.
Karles, directed to nicotine compositions ([0001]-[0004], [0054], The pre-vapor formulation comprises nicotine), teaches a nicotine composition ([0003]-[0004], [0054], The invention is directed to a pre-vapor formulation. Nicotine is included in the pre-vaporization formulation in an amount ranging from about 2% by weight to about 6% by weight), comprising:
an extract of tobacco volatiles obtained by heating a natural tobacco material ([0003]-[0004]; In the process of the invention, tobacco is heated such that tobacco volatiles evolve from the tobacco. The volatiles are collected and combined with a pre-vapor formulation); and
a non-aqueous solvent ([00049]-[0050], Propylene glycol and glycerin are non-aqueous solvents),
a content of nicotine is at least 0.2 percent by weight based on the weight of the nicotine composition ([0054], Nicotine is included in the pre-vaporization formulation in an amount ranging from about 2% by weight to about 6% by weight);
prepared by a method comprising the steps of: preparing a natural tobacco starting material ([0004], [0032]-[0033], Fig. 2; Natural tobacco is mixed with at least one additive at step 75);
heating the tobacco starting material at an extraction temperature of between 100 degrees Celsius and 160 degrees Celsius to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material ([0004], [0032]-[0034], Fig. 2; At step 100, the tobacco starting material is heated to at temperature between 50° C to 250° C to distill volatile compounds from the tobacco starting material);
collecting the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating ([0004], [0046]; At step 200, the volatile compounds released from the tobacco starting material during the heating are collected);
forming a liquid tobacco extract comprising the collected volatile compounds ([0004], [0047]-[0051]; At step 300, the method also includes collecting 200 volatiles from the heated tobacco material and combining 300 the volatiles with a pre-vapor formulation immediately after the collecting step 200. The pre-vapor formulation includes liquid components such as propylene glycol, glycerin, and/or water); and
forming the nicotine composition from the liquid tobacco extract ([0004], [0047]-[0051]; The composition resulting from combining the volatiles with the pre-vapor formulation is the nicotine composition)
wherein the natural tobacco starting material is not subjected to any treatment adapted to alter the pH of the natural tobacco ([0005], [0009], The pH of the natural tobacco may optionally be altered; however, there must necessarily be embodiments of the invention which do not alter the pH of the natural tobacco),
wherein the nicotine composition is a gel nicotine composition ([0028]),
wherein the nicotine composition is suitable for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette ([0026]).
Dayioglu, directed to nicotine compositions ([0008], The cartridge comprises a nicotine composition), teaches a cartridge comprising a nicotine composition ([0008], The cartridge comprises a nicotine composition),
wherein the nicotine composition is a gel nicotine composition ([0044], [0106]),
wherein the composition is less likely to leak from an electronic cigarette if it is provided as a gel composition instead of a liquid composition ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the nicotine composition of Sensabaugh for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette as taught by Karles because Sensabaugh and Karles are directed to nicotine compositions, and Karles demonstrates that a nicotine composition comprising volatiles from natural tobacco heated between 100 degrees Celsius and 160 degrees Celsius is suitable for use as a pre-vapor formulation in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the nicotine composition as a gel because Sensabaugh, Karles, and Dayioglu are directed to nicotine compositions, Karles demonstrates that the composition may be used in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054] as applied above), and Dayioglu demonstrates that if the composition is a gel, the composition is less likely to leak from an electronic cigarette than a liquid composition (Dayioglu, [0044]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cartridge comprising the nicotine composition of claim 16 because Sensabaugh, Karles, and Dayioglu are both directed to nicotine compositions, Karles demonstrates that the composition may be used in an electronic cigarette (Karles, [0032]-[0034], [0046]-[0051], [0054] as applied above), and Dayioglu demonstrates that an electronic cigarette can comprise a cartridge comprising a nicotine composition ([0002], [0005], [0102], [0110]; It is reasonably understood that the aerosol generating device having control electronics coupled to a heating element for heating an e-liquid is an electronic cigarette).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755