Priority
Acknowledgments are made that this application claims the priority to the following:
.
DETAILED ACTION
For reasons internal to the USPTO, this application has been reassigned. The present examiner regrets if this is inconvenience to applicant(s).
Applicant's response to restriction requirement and election of group I corresponding to in the reply filed on 11/05/2025 is acknowledged.
However, in light of applicants claim amendments and arguments, previous restriction requirement is withdrawn.
The claims 1-6 and 8-21 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites ‘the textile or surface’ in the claim language, whereas independent claim does not have these components. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites ‘article’ in the claim language, whereas independent claim does not have this component. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is vague. Claim may not refer to the Specification. Verily, claims that refer to the specification are improper. See Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ.2d 1608 (BPAI 1993). Claim improperly refers to Example 1 in the specification.
Claim 20 recites ‘the textile’ in the claim language, whereas independent claim does not have these components. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (WO2018/020435A1) in view of Alekseyev (US 2016/0060611 A1).
For claims 1:
Shi teaches a method of reducing or eliminating a bacterial biofilm on a non-biological surface, the method comprising administering to the non-biological surface a composition comprising thermolysin [see claim 15], wherein thermolysin is a thermostable metalloproteinase made by a fermentation process from a bacterial species called Bacillus thermoproteolyticus rokko that cleaves at the N-terminus of the hydrophobic residues leucine, phenylalanine, valine, isoleucine, alanine, and methionine and the CAS No. for thermolysin is 9073-78-3 [see 00029].
Shi also teach a method of treating a surface of an article of manufacture to prevent or reduce the likelihood of biofilm formation on said surface, the method comprising coating the surface with a composition comprising thermolysin, wherein article is a medical device [see claims 20-21].
Difference is that Shi is silent on applicants recited sequences with respect to SEQ ID NO:1. However, this can be cured by the teachings of following art:
Alekseyev teaches a cleaning compositions and its utility comprising thermolysin and its variants, wherein variants having one or more substitutions as compared to a reference or parent sequence, which is represented by SEQ ID NO:3 [see abstract, 0003-0004, 0038 and 0142], wherein utility comprising contacting a surface or an item with a cleaning composition [0024].
The SEQ ID NO:3 of Alekseyev is identical to applicants claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and the variants of SEQ ID NO:3 of Alekseyev are interpreted as applicants polypeptide having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1.
In the above teachings, cleaning surface can be interpreted as surface comprising biofilm and since the sequence is identical in both cases, the sequence of Alekseyev expected to remove biofilm on the surface. Even if the surface does not have biofilm, since the sequence is identical in both cases, and so, the sequence of Alekseyev expected to treat or prevent biofilm formation on the surface. In addition, thermolysins are known as highly thermostable zinc-metalloproteinase produced by Bacillus thermoproteinolyticus that functions as a robust protease, specifically cleaving peptide bonds at the N-terminus of hydrophobic amino acids (Leu, Phe, Val, Ile, Ala, Met), and so, in light of common properties, these thermolysins are equivalents and so, are exchangeable. Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958).
For claims 2-3:
Shi silent on hard surface is selected from laundry machine surface, dish surface or a dishwasher surface.
Shi teaches a method of treating a surface of an article of manufacture to prevent or reduce the likelihood of biofilm formation on said surface, the method comprising coating the surface with a composition comprising thermolysin, wherein article is a medical device [see claims 20-21].
In this case, both medical device and applicants claimed surfaces are hard surfaces, and so teachings of Shi expected to treat applicants surfaces, absent evidence to the contrary.
For claim 4:
Shi teaches the concentration of thermolysin in their composition ranges from 0.00001 mg/mL to 10 mg/mL [see 00030 and example 1].
For claim 5:
Though Shi explicitly does not teach that their composition is laundry composition, however, the composition expected to clean biofilm on the surface of laundry machine and so, it can be a laundry composition and can be included in the laundry composition.
In addition, Alekseyev teaches their composition is laundry detergent composition [see claim 37].
For claim 6:
Shi teaches cleaning non-biological surface, and after cleaning, rinsing is a common sense and so this limitation is trivial.
For claims 8-9:
Shi teaches that their method reduces or eliminates a bacterial biofilm on a non-biological surface [see claim 15].
For claims 10-11:
Shi exemplified and quantified the amount of biofilm left on the surface after the treatment [see Fig.1], wherein more than 50% biofilm is removed with an amount ranges from 0.01 to 10 mg/mL.
For claim 12:
Shi is silent on pH in their disclosure. However, pH of composition is directly associated with the stability of active ingredient. Therefore, a skilled person in the art would determine suitable pH for the composition through a routine experimentation and arrive at applicants pH with a reasonable expectation of success.
Alternatively, Alekseyev teaches pH of 6 and 8 for their thermolysin compositions [see 0004 and claim 7], wherein the thermolysin sequence of Alekseyev is identical applicants claimed sequence.
For claim 13:
See For claim 1 above.
For claim 14:
Shi teaches that administering their composition comprising thermolysin by spraying or dipping [see 00046], that means thermolysin must be in the wash liquor.
For claims 15-16:
Shi teaches 16 hours of contact time and temperature at 37oC [see Example 1].
For claims 17-18:
Shi teaches that their composition further comprises surfactants [see 00033].
Alekseyev also teaches that their compositions comprises surfactants [0135 and 0224].
For claim 19:
Shi teaches that their composition is applied on surfaces to lower biofilm, and so, the composition is interpreted as detergent composition.
Alekseyev also teach their thermolysin composition is detergent composition [see 36].
For claim 20:
Shi silent on additional enzymes in their composition. However, Alekseyev teach that their thermolysin composition further comprises additional enzyme selected from acyl transferases, alpha-, beta-amylases etc. [see claim 44].
For claim 21:
Shi silent on contacting step takes place in a washing machine or a dishwasher.
Shi teaches a method of treating a surface of an article of manufacture to prevent or reduce the likelihood of biofilm formation on said surface, the method comprising coating the surface with a composition comprising thermolysin, wherein article is a medical device [see claims 20-21].
In this case, both medical device and applicants claimed surfaces are hard surfaces, and so teachings of Shi expected to treat applicants claimed surfaces, absent evidence to the contrary.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants sequences and their utility in treating biofilm, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
SUDHAKAR KATAKAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658