DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendments filed December 19th, 2025, the following has occurred: Claims 42, 78, 86, 87 have been amended; Claims 53 and 90 are cancelled; Claims 42-52, 54-63, and 65-89 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42, 48-52, 60-61, 67, 77-78, and 85-87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase et al. (JP 2012198106 A, “Urase”) in view of Rostocki et al. (DE 102017115493 A1, “Rostocki”) and Rostocki et al. (US 20170160386 A1, “Rostocki 2”).
Regarding claim 42, Urase discloses an ultrasonic transducer comprising: a container having an opening, a base and a wall; (Fig. 1 (4)), a cover closing the container (Fig. 1 (6)).
Urase may not explicitly teach “a piezoelectric disk arranged within the container on the base and an electronics system integrated in the cover, wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk. wherein the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.”.
Rostocki teaches a piezoelectric disk (Fig. 2 (12)) arranged within the container on the base ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], In this case, the piezoelectric element, which is formed for example as a disc, usually attached to the back of the membrane base.), and an electronics system (Fig. 2 (14)) integrated in the cover, the cover being a printed circuit board, wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk (Fig. 2 (12)). ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], By means of the electrical connection device, a sensor electronics of the ultrasonic sensor can be electrically connected to the oscillatory piezoelectric element of the ultrasonic sensor via the solder connection. The sensor electronics, for example, have a printed circuit board or board, which is equipped with a plurality of components, such as electronic components. The components can be designed, for example, for signal evaluation of the ultrasonic sensor, power supply of the piezoelectric element)(Fig. 2 illustrates that the sensor electronics (14) are incorporated into a covering member for the ultrasonic sensor (4) and is in direct electrical contact with the disk shaped piezo element (12) via electrical connection device (19)) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that as the printed circuit board is integrated into the cover, the cover as a whole is interpreted to be a printed circuit board)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, to include the disk-shaped piezoelectric element and cover integrated sensor electronics of Rostocki with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of stimulating the piezo element, signal acquisition or for educating the energy supply of the sensor electronics [attached machine translation, pg. 7].
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, may not explicitly teach the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.
Rostocki 2 teaches the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container (Fig. 2, [0031] servomechanism (4) may be a piezoelectric transducer and include control electronics (12) attached to a side of the servomechanism) (Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference), and the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals. (Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, to include the housing comprising electrically conductive material as well as the control electronics of Rostocki 2 with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of shielding the control electronics from electromagnetic interference [0040].
Regarding claim 48, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches the container comprises a step along the opening in the wall. (Fig. 4 (101)) (it can be seen in Fig. 4, housing 101 contains a step along an opening in the wall similar to that of the claimed invention)
Regarding claim 49, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches the electronics system comprises a digital I/O interface on an outer side of the cover. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 2], And a pin terminal 13. The other end of the pin terminal 13 is electrically connected to an electronic circuit mounted on the circuit board 3 by being soldered in a state of being inserted into an insertion hole (not shown) provided in the circuit board 3. That is, the lead wire 12 and the pin terminal 13 constitute a conduction means for electrically connecting the wave transmitting / receiving element 10 and the electronic circuit of the circuit board 3.) (Urase discloses the claimed invention except the interfaces position on the outer side of the cover. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to arrange the terminal on the outer side of the cover, since application has not disclosed that the disposition of an interface on the outer side of the cover solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the terminal arrangement of Urase) (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C))
Regarding claim 50, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches the electronics system comprises pins on an outer side of the cover. (Implicit, [attached machine translation, Pg. 2], As shown in FIG. 1, the circuit board 3 is housed in the board housing portion 41 through the opening 41A, and the pin terminals 13 through the through holes 20 and the insertion holes 42 are connected by soldering as described above.) (Urase discloses the claimed invention except the pin terminals position on the outer side of the cover. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to arrange the pins on the outer side of the cover, since application has not disclosed that the disposition of pins on the outer side of the cover solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the pins and pin terminal arrangement of Urase) (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C))
Regarding claim 51, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches the base is thinner than 1 mm. (Fig. 1(11)) (Urase discloses the claimed invention except the thickness of the base being less than 1 mm. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to construct the base to have a thickness of less than 1 mm, since application has not disclosed that the thickness of the base solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the base of Urase) (See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A))
Regarding claim 52, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches a thickness of the wall is at least 1.5 times a thickness of the base. (Fig. 1 (4)) (Urase discloses the claimed invention except the thickness of the walls are 1.5 times a thickness of the base. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to construct the walls to have a thickness of less than 1 mm, since application has not disclosed that the thickness of the base solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the base of Urase) (See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A))
Regarding claim 60, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches a portion of the base has a greater wall thickness than a base area adjacent to the [transmitting/receiving element]. (See Fig. 1) ( the portion of housing 4 considered to be the base has a greater wall thickness on the outer edges than the area near the transmitting/receiving element)
Regarding claim 61, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostoki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches an area of the container that runs parallel to the base and does not overlap with the base has a greater wall thickness than a base area adjacent to the piezoelectric disk. (See annotated Fig. 1, below)
Regarding Claim 67, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Rostocki further teaches the printed circuit board comprises electrical components, and wherein the electrical components are arranged on an area of the printed circuit board that faces the piezoelectric disk. (Fig. 1 (11) (12) and (15) illustrates electrical components which are connected to the printed circuit board (10), which are facing the transducer element)([attached machine translation, pg. 2], transducer element is arranged within housing)
Regarding claim 77, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2 discloses a device comprising: the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42 (See basis of rejection for claim 42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, to include the disk-shaped piezoelectric element and cover integrated sensor electronics of Rostocki and the housing comprising electrically conductive material as well as control electronics of Rostocki 2 with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of stimulating the piezo element, signal acquisition or for educating the energy supply of the sensor electronics [Rostocki, attached machine translation, pg. 7] and shielding the control electronics from electromagnetic interference [Rostocki 2, [0040]].
Urase further teaches wherein the device is configured to measure a distance of the device from an object on basis of a signal ascertained by the ultrasonic transducer.([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], electronic circuit of the circuit board calculates the distance from the time from the output of the drive pulse signal to the input of the received signal to the obstacle)
Regarding claim 78, Urase discloses a method for producing an ultrasonic transducer, the method comprising: producing a container having an opening, a base and a wall; (Implicit, Fig. 1 (4), illustrates a housing having an opening, base, wall. Fig. 1 (6) illustrates a lid member).
Urase may not explicitly teach fastening a piezoelectric disk on the base of the container; and closing the container with a cover comprising an integrated electronics system, wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk; wherein the piezoelectric disk and the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.
Rostocki teaches fastening a piezoelectric disk on the base of the container; (Implicit,[attached machine translation, Pg. 3], In this case, the piezoelectric element, which is formed for example as a disc, usually attached to the back of the membrane base.), and closing the container with a cover comprising an integrated electronics system that is integrated into the cover, wherein the cover is a printed circuit board, wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], By means of the electrical connection device, a sensor electronics of the ultrasonic sensor can be electrically connected to the oscillatory piezoelectric element of the ultrasonic sensor via the solder connection. The sensor electronics, for example, have a printed circuit board or board, which is equipped with a plurality of components, such as electronic components. The components can be designed, for example, for signal evaluation of the ultrasonic sensor, power supply of the piezoelectric element)(Fig. 2 illustrates that the sensor electronics (14) are incorporated into a covering member for the ultrasonic sensor (4) and is in direct electrical contact with the disk shaped piezo element (12) via electrical connection device (19))(it is the examiner’s interpretation that as the printed circuit board is integrated into the cover, the cover as a whole is interpreted to be a printed circuit board)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urase, to include the disk-shaped piezoelectric element and cover integrated sensor electronics of Rostocki with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of stimulating the piezo element, signal acquisition or for educating the energy supply of the sensor electronics [attached machine translation, pg. 7].
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, may not explicitly teach wherein the disk and the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.
Rostocki 2 teaches the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container (Fig. 2, [0031] servomechanism (4) may be a piezoelectric transducer and include control electronics (12) attached to a side of the servomechanism)(Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference), and the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals. (Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, to include the housing comprising electrically conductive material as well as the control electronics of Rostocki 2 with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of shielding the control electronics from electromagnetic interference [0040].
Regarding claim 85, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase further teaches an area of the container that runs parallel to the base and does not overlap with the base has a greater wall thickness than a rest of the container. (See annotated Fig. 1, below)
Figure 1. Annotation #2
Regarding claim 86, Urase discloses An ultrasonic transducer comprising: a container having an opening, a base and a wall (Fig 1 (4)); and a cover closing the container (Fig. 1 (6)),.
Urase may not explicitly teach a piezoelectric disk arranged via an adhesive directly on the base of the container and wherein the cover comprises an electronics system that is integrated in the cover, wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk; wherein the piezoelectric disk and the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.
Rostocki teaches a piezoelectric disk arranged via an adhesive directly on the base of the container ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], In this case, the piezoelectric element, which is formed for example as a disc, usually attached to the back of the membrane base.)([attached machine translation, Pg. 6], (Fig. 2), the piezo element (12) may be glued on to the membrane bottom (11)) and wherein the cover comprises an electronics system that is integrated in the cover, and wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], By means of the electrical connection device, a sensor electronics of the ultrasonic sensor can be electrically connected to the oscillatory piezoelectric element of the ultrasonic sensor via the solder connection. The sensor electronics, for example, have a printed circuit board or board, which is equipped with a plurality of components, such as electronic components. The components can be designed, for example, for signal evaluation of the ultrasonic sensor, power supply of the piezoelectric element)(Fig. 2 illustrates that the sensor electronics (14) are incorporated into a covering member for the ultrasonic sensor (4) and is in direct electrical contact with the disk shaped piezo element (12) via electrical connection device (19)) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that as the printed circuit board is integrated into the cover, the cover as a whole is interpreted to be a printed circuit board)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, to include the disk-shaped piezoelectric element and cover integrated sensor electronics of Rostocki with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of stimulating the piezo element, signal acquisition or for educating the energy supply of the sensor electronics [attached machine translation, pg. 7].
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, may not explicitly teach the electronics system is arranged in an interior of the container, and the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.
Rostocki 2 teaches wherein the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container (Fig. 2, [0031] servomechanism (4) may be a piezoelectric transducer and include control electronics (12) attached to a side of the servomechanism)(Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference), and the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals. (Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, to include the housing comprising electrically conductive material as well as the printed circuit board of Rostocki 2 with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of shielding the control electronics from electromagnetic interference [0040].
Regarding claim 87, Urase discloses an ultrasonic transducer comprising: a container having an opening, a base and a wall(Fig. 1 (4)); and a cover closing the container(Fig. 1 (6)).
Urase may not explicitly teach a piezoelectric disk arranged within the container on the base; and a cover closing the container, wherein the cover comprises an electronics system integrated in the cover, wherein the electronics system is arranged on an inside of the cover, wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk wherein the piezoelectric disk and the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals..
Rostocki teaches a piezoelectric disk arranged within the container on the base ([attached machine translation, pg. 3], piezoelectric element is affixed to base and is disc shaped); and a cover closing the container, wherein the cover comprises an electronics system integrated in the cover, wherein the electronics system is arranged on an inside of the cover, and wherein the electronics system is in electrical contact with the piezoelectric disk and is configured to control and to read the piezoelectric disk.([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], By means of the electrical connection device, a sensor electronics of the ultrasonic sensor can be electrically connected to the oscillatory piezoelectric element of the ultrasonic sensor via the solder connection. The sensor electronics, for example, have a printed circuit board or board, which is equipped with a plurality of components, such as electronic components. The components can be designed, for example, for signal evaluation of the ultrasonic sensor, power supply of the piezoelectric element)(Fig. 2 illustrates that the sensor electronics (14) are incorporated into a covering member for the ultrasonic sensor (4) and is in direct electrical contact with the disk shaped piezo element (12) via electrical connection device (19). Additionally Fig. 2 illustrates a number of electrical components as part of the electrical system being arranged on the inside of the covering member)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, to include the disk-shaped piezoelectric element and cover integrated sensor electronics of Rostocki with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of stimulating the piezo element, signal acquisition or for educating the energy supply of the sensor electronics [attached machine translation, pg. 7].
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, may not explicitly teach wherein the piezoelectric disk and the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container, and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals.
Rostocki 2 teaches the electronics system are arranged in an interior of the container (Fig. 2, [0031] servomechanism (4) may be a piezoelectric transducer and include control electronics (12) attached to a side of the servomechanism)(Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference), and wherein the container consists of an electronically conductive material, or wherein a conductive layer is located on an inner surface of the container, and wherein the container is a Faraday cage shielding the piezoelectric disk and the electronic system from external interference signals. (Fig. 2, [0040] control electronics (12) are situated within the aluminum pot (2) which is used as a housing for the ultrasonic sensor device (1) in order to shield the control electronics from electromagnetic interference)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, to include the housing comprising electrically conductive material as well as the control electronics of Rostocki 2 with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of shielding the control electronics from electromagnetic interference.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Asada et al. (WO 2007069609 A1, “Asada”).
Regarding claim 43, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2 may not explicitly teach a damping element arranged between the base and the cover, the damping element fills the container.
Asada teaches a damping element arranged between the base and the cover, the damping element fills the container. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], Further, at the end of the cap body, a gap is formed in a part between the cap body and the inner frame body, the damping material is filled in the inner frame body, and between the cap body and the inner frame body. Damping material may be filled in the gap.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the damping element of Asada with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of reducing unwanted noise in order to provide the desired vibrational characteristics.
Claim(s) 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2 and Higashi et al. (WO 2016175327 A1, “Higashi”).
Regarding claim 44, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach wherein the cover is fixed by way of a re-closeable fastening mechanism.
Higashi teaches wherein the cover is fixed by way of a re-closeable fastening mechanism. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 5], removable cover is mounted on the top surface of the cylindrical body and can be mounted by engaging a threaded groove)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the cover with re-closeable fastening mechanism of Higashi with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to protect the internal components when the cover is in place, and be able to access internal components when the cover is removed.
Regarding claim 45, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the cover is arranged in the container at a distance from the opening of the container.
Higashi teaches the cover is arranged in the container at a distance from the opening of the container. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 5], removable cover is mounted on the top surface of the cylindrical body and can be mounted by engaging a threaded groove) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that when the threaded grooves are engaged, the cover is arranged in the container at a distance from the opening similar to that of the claimed invention)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the cover with re-closeable fastening mechanism located a distance from the opening of the container of Higashi with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to protect the internal components when the cover is in place, and be able to access internal components when the cover is removed.
Claim(s) 46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Boucher et al. (US 20100054084 A1, “Boucher”).
Regarding claim 46, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2 may not explicitly teach the cover comprises at least two recesses.
Boucher teaches the cover comprises at least two recesses. ([0040], top cover can include a securement structure with two tabs for engaging holes 52 with screws through holes 38 in the top cover) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that holes 38 in the top cover are equivalent to two recesses)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the cover with two recesses of Boucher with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to feed wires from the interior of the housing to the exterior of the housing while the cover is in place.
Regarding Claim 47, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Boucher, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 46. Urase further teaches a passage for a wire is formed at least in one of the recesses, and the [transmitting/receiving element] is electrically connected to the electronics system by the wire. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 2], The wave transmitting / receiving block 1 has a lead wire 12 having one end electrically connected to the wave transmitting / receiving element 10 and a rod-like shape in which one end is soldered to the other end of the lead wire 12 and the other end protrudes outside the case 11. And a pin terminal 13. The other end of the pin terminal 13 is electrically connected to an electronic circuit mounted on the circuit board 3 by being soldered in a state of being inserted into an insertion hole (not shown) provided in the circuit board 3. . That is, the lead wire 12 and the pin terminal 13 constitute a conduction means for electrically connecting the wave transmitting / receiving element 10 and the electronic circuit of the circuit board 3.)
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Nanbu (WO 2016104415 A1, “Nanbu”).
Regarding claim 54, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach an inner surface of the container is partially roughened and/or smoothed.
Nanbu teaches an inner surface of the container is partially roughened and/or smoothed. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 2], Fine irregularities are formed on the inner surface of the bottom plate 2a of the case 2 and the inner surface of the side wall 2b of the case so as to be a rough surface having a larger surface roughness than the outer surface of the side wall of the case. Of the inner surface of the case, at least the surface in contact with the filling resin is a rough surface.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the roughened inner surface of Nanbu with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a surface with better adhering capabilities in order to mount components or materials in the inner surface.
Claim(s) 55-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Nice (JP 2755405 B2, “Nice”).
Regarding claim 55, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the container is anodized.
Nice teaches the container is anodized. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 8], ) For example, anodized aluminum housing 13 'is fixed to mounting stud 12' and piston 14)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the anodized container of Nice with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of protecting the device against corrosion or environmental influences in order to increase its longevity.
Regarding claim 56, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach an inner surface of the container is anodized and an outer surface is untreated, or wherein the inner surface of the container and the outer surface of the container is anodized, or wherein the outer surface of the container is anodized and the inner surface is untreated.
Nice teaches an inner surface of the container is anodized and an outer surface is untreated, or wherein the inner surface of the container and the outer surface of the container is anodized, or wherein the outer surface of the container is anodized and the inner surface is untreated. (Implicit, [attached machine translation, Pg. 8], For example, anodized aluminum housing 13 'is fixed to mounting stud 12' and piston 14) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the inner and outer surface of the housing 13 is implicitly anodized)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the anodized container of Nice with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of protecting the device against corrosion or environmental influences in order to increase its longevity.
Regarding claim 57, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Nice, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 56. Nice further teaches the inner surface of the container comprises an anodization layer, and wherein the anodization layer comprises an aperture. (Implicit, [attached machine translation, Pg. 8]] For example, anodized aluminum housing 13 'is fixed to mounting stud 12' and piston 14) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that as the entire housing is anodized, it would implicitly have an anodization layer on the inner surface) (Implicit, [attached machine translation, Pg. 4], The housing 13 is provided with a hole 66 that fits over the front cylindrical portion 24 and forms a water seal with the O-ring 27.) ( it is the examiner’s interpretation that as the housing is anodized and therefore implicitly has an anodization layer, the hole in the housing is capable of being considered as an aperture in the anodization layer)
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Nice, and Deng et al. (US 20160211924 A1, “Deng”).
Regarding claim 58, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2 and Nice, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 57. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2 and Nice, may not explicitly teach an electrical connection from the piezoelectric disk and/or the electronics system to a reference potential is formed via the aperture.
Deng teaches an electrical connection from the piezoelectric [transducer] (Fig. 3A (8)) and/or the electronics system to a reference potential (Fig. 3A (6)). ([0057], controller 6 may include a fixed voltage reference) (It is the examiner’s interpretation that the connection between the piezoelectric transducer and fixed voltage reference is capable of being connected through the aperture of Nice)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Nice, to include connection of the piezoelectric element to a reference potential of Deng with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a reference value in order to accurately quantify voltage against.
Claim(s) 59 and 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Gerlach et al. (US 20160136689 A1, “Gerlach”).
Regarding claim 59, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42.Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach an inner surface of the container comprises a conductive layer.
Gerlach further teaches wherein an inner surface of the container comprises a conductive layer. ([0016], The support elements are preferably connected to the housing with the aid of an electrically conductive adhesive)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the conductive layer of Gerlach with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of allowing direct contacting of the piezoelectric element [0016].
Regarding claim 62, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 61. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2may not explicitly teach the container comprises an adhesive material on an outer surface of the areas that have a greater wall thickness.
Gerlach teaches the container comprises an adhesive material on an outer surface of the area that has the greater wall thickness. ([0016], The support elements are preferably connected to the housing with the aid of an electrically conductive adhesive) (Gerlach discloses the claimed invention except the exact placement of the adhesive material. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to place the adhesive material on an outer surface of the areas with greater wall thickness, if necessary. Since application has not disclosed that placement of the adhesive material solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the adhesive material placement of Gerlach) (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C))
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the conductive layer of Gerlach with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of allowing direct contacting of the piezoelectric element [0016] and for simplifying the assembly of the electroacoustic transducer [0017].
Claim(s) 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Yasuda et al. (JP 2012007975 A, “Yasuda”).
Regarding claim 63, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach vibration- damping components arranged on an outer surface of the container.
Yasuda teaches further comprising vibration- damping components arranged on an outer surface of the container. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 1], (Fig. 5 (32)), as shown in the drawing, a damping body that reduces vibration of the side wall portion is wound around the outer peripheral surface of the side wall portion of the ultrasonic transducer)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the external vibration damping components of Yasuda with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of mitigating unwanted vibrations in order to increase measurement accuracy.
Claim(s) 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Deng.
Regarding claim 65, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the printed circuit board is flexible.
Deng teaches the printed circuit board is flexible. ([0006], The acoustic tag may include a rigid or flexible printed circuit board for coupling electronic components of the device.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the flexible printed circuit board of Deng with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to manipulate the circuit board in order to customize its arrangement position.
Claim(s) 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and DeVerse (US 20170030798 A1, “DeVerse”).
Regarding claim 66, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the printed circuit board is potted in a plastic compound.
DeVerse teaches the printed circuit board is potted in a plastic compound. ([0206], PCB can be potted using an epoxy resin potting material)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the plastic potting compound of DeVerse with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to protect the circuit board in order to prevent moisture or other potential sources of damage being introduced to the circuit board.
Claim(s) 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Lee (DE 102014202144 A1, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 68, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2 may not explicitly teach the printed circuit board comprises an integrated circuit with a charge pump.
Lee teaches the printed circuit board comprises an integrated circuit with a charge pump. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 5], as the converter is not used on the PCB and space is saved on the PCB, an ultrasonic parking aid having a charge pump circuit is implemented on the PCB)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the printed circuit board with integrated charge pump with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to save space in the device in order to reduce the overall size or create space for other components while also reducing casting process and potting process costs.
Claim(s) 69-70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Goodall et al. (WO 2018071630 A1, “Goodall”).
Regarding claim 69, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the printed circuit board comprises an analog ground line and a digital ground line, and wherein the analog ground line and the digital ground line are configured such that electromagnetic interaction between the digital ground line and the analog ground line is suppressed.
Goodall teaches the printed circuit board comprises an analog ground line and a digital ground line, and wherein the analog ground line and the digital ground line are configured such that electromagnetic interaction between the digital ground line and the analog ground line is suppressed. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 44], The PCB 4100 may include separate analog ground 4111 and digital ground 4112 areas, which may avoid or reduce the introduction of noise.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the analog and digital ground lines of Goodall with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to suppress any electromagnetic interaction between them in order to increase measurement accuracy of the device.
Regarding claim 70, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Goodall, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 69. Goodall further teaches an analog ground line and a digital ground line are arranged on opposite sides of an integrated circuit. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 44], The PCB 4100 may include separate analog ground 4111 and digital ground 4112 areas, which may avoid or reduce the introduction of noise.) (Goodall discloses the claimed invention except the specific configuration of the analog and digital ground lines on opposed ends of the integrated circuit. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to place the analog and digital ground lines on opposed ends of the integrated circuit. Since application has not disclosed that disposition of the analog and digital ground lines solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the analog and digital ground areas of Goodall, as they achieve the same result) (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C))
Claim(s) 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Watanabe (WO 2018139192 A1, “Watanabe”).
Regarding claim 71, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the piezoelectric disk is a temperature sensor.
Watanabe teaches the piezoelectric disk is a temperature sensor. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 11], temperature is detected based on capacitance change of the piezoelectric element included in the ultrasonic transducer)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the temperature sensor of Watanabe with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to correct a frequency shift due to temperature characteristics of the transducer.
Claim(s) 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Watanabe, and Atlas et al. (US 20080047350 A1, “Atlas”).
Regarding claim 72, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2 and Watanabe, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 71. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Watanabe may not explicitly teach the ultrasonic transducer is configured to compensate for a temperature dependence of measured distances on account of the temperature dependence of a speed of sound on basis of measurement values from the temperature sensor.
Atlas teaches the ultrasonic transducer is configured to compensate for a temperature dependence of measured distances on account of the temperature dependence of a speed of sound on basis of measurement values from the temperature sensor. ([0061], In response to receiving the reflected ultrasound signal, ultrasonic receiver 132 produces a corresponding output signal 134, which is input to logic unit 136 for processing. A temperature sensor 150 produces a temperature signal 152 that is also input to the logic unit, so that the output signal from the ultrasonic receiver can be compensated for the temperature inside the shipping container, since this temperature affects the speed of sound in air, which will thus affect the distance or range determined for a reflected ultrasound signal.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Watanabe, to include the temperature and distance compensation capabilities of Atlas with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to compensate the measured distance to account for variations in temperature in order to ensure accurate measurement data.
Claim(s) 73 and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Atlas.
Regarding Claim 73, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the ultrasonic transducer comprises a temperature sensor.
Atlas teaches the ultrasonic transducer (Fig. 13 (124)) comprises a temperature sensor. (Fig. 13 (150))
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the temperature sensor of Atlas with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to compensate the measured distance to account for variations in temperature in order to ensure accurate measurement data.
Regarding claim 75, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Atlas, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 73. Atlas further teaches the temperature sensor (Fig. 13 (150)) is arranged in an interior of the container. (Atlas discloses the claimed invention except the placement of the temperature sensor in the container. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to place the temperature sensor in the interior of the container. Since application has not disclosed that disposition of the temperature sensor in the interior of the container solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the temperature sensor of Atlas) (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C))
Claim(s) 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Atlas, and Thelen et al. (US 5038612 A, “Thelen”).
Regarding claim 74, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Atlas, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 73. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Atlas, may not explicitly teach the temperature sensor comprises an NTC sensor or a PTC sensor.
Thelen teaches the temperature sensor comprises an NTC sensor or a PTC sensor. ([Column 4, Lines 44-50], in as sidewall of the housing, a cutout is provided for an NTC thermal sensor)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Atlas, to include the NTC temperature sensor of Thelen with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to measure the temperature through electrical resistance measurements in order to reduce size while maintaining accuracy and stability.
Claim(s) 76 and 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Efner (US 20180201011 A1, “Efner”).
Regarding claim 76, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the container is produced by an impact extrusion process.
Efner teaches the container is produced by an impact extrusion process. ([0084], The containers may also be in any state of manufacture and may be formed by a draw and ironing process or by an impact extrusion process.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the impact extrusion process created container of Efner with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to create a suitable housing while reducing material usage and machining time.
Regarding claim 79, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the method according to claim 78. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the container is produced by an impact extrusion process.
Efner teaches wherein the container is produced by an impact extrusion process. ([0084], The containers may also be in any state of manufacture and may be formed by a draw and ironing process or by an impact extrusion process.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the impact extrusion process created container of Efner with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to create a suitable housing while reducing material usage and machining time.
Claim(s) 80-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Baumann et al. (DE 102012002760 A1, “Baumann”).
Regarding claim 80, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the method according to claim 78. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach before closing the container, arranging a first silicone ring on a bearing area of the container facing away from the base, wherein closing the container comprises arranging the cover on the first silicone ring.
Baumann teaches before closing the container, arranging a first silicone ring on a bearing area of the container facing away from the base, wherein closing the container comprises arranging the cover on the first silicone ring. (Implicit, (Fig. 1 (3a) and (3b)) ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], the sealing ring and or the ring element is preferably made of a polymer, preferably a silicone) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that in order for the rings to perform their intended function, they would implicitly be arranged prior to closing the container)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the silicone ring arrangement of Baumann with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being seal the housing in order to prevent contaminants from entering the housing which could damage the internal components.
Regarding claim 81, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Baumann, teaches the method according to claim 80. Baumann further teaches arranging a second silicone ring on a side of the cover facing away from the base, wherein the cover is fixed between the first and second silicone rings. (Implicit, (Fig. 1 (3a) and (3b)) ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], the sealing ring and or the ring element is preferably made of a polymer, preferably a silicone) (Fig. 1 Illustrates two silicone rings with a housing member located inbetween) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that these rings are capable of use with the cover)
Regarding claim 82, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Baumann, teaches the method according to claim 80. Urase further teaches wherein the electronics system makes electrical contact with the [transmitting/receiving element] via a wire which is soldered to the electronics system. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 2], transmitting/receiving element 10 has one end soldered to the other end of lead wire 12 and the other end protrudes outside of the case and is connected to circuit board three by being soldered through an insertion hole in the circuit board)
Claim(s) 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Baumann, and Higashi.
Regarding claim 83, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Baumann, teaches the method according to claim 82. Urase further teaches wherein the cover comprises at least one recess in which the wire is arranged, and soldering the wire to the electronics system. (Implicit, [attached machine translation, Pg. 2], transmitting/receiving element 10 has one end soldered to the other end of lead wire 12 and the other end protrudes outside of the case and is connected to circuit board three by being soldered through an insertion hole in the circuit board)
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Baumann, may not explicitly teach and closing the container comprises pushing the cover onto the container with a translational movement
Higashi teaches and closing the container comprises pushing the cover onto the container with a translational movement ([attached machine translation, Pg. 5], removable cover is mounted on the top surface of the cylindrical body and can be mounted by engaging a threaded groove)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki, and Baumann, to include the push on cover with translational movement closing process of Higashi with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of close the housing uniformly in order to ensure a complete seal which would prevent the possibility of any gaps in the seal.
Claim(s) 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Asada and Reiche (DE 102006050037 A1, “Reiche”).
Regarding claim 84, Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, teaches the method according to claim 78. Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach further comprising filling a cavity between the cover and the base with a liquid filler material, and curing the liquid filler material to form a damping element.
Asada teaches further comprising filling a cavity between the cover and the base with a liquid filler material, ([attached machine translation, Pg. 3], Further, at the end of the cap body, a gap is formed in a part between the cap body and the inner frame body, the damping material is filled in the inner frame body, and between the cap body and the inner frame body. Damping material may be filled in the gap.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the damping material filling process of Asada with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of absorbing unwanted vibration and preventing unwanted reverberation.
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Asada, may not explicitly teach and curing the liquid filler material to form a damping element.
Reiche teaches and curing the liquid filler material to form a damping element. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 8], Then the second damping element 13 filled in the form of a liquid elastomer in the edge region around the core and thermally cured.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2 and Asada, to include the damping material curing process of Reiche with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of absorbing unwanted vibration and preventing unwanted reverberation.
Claim(s) 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Chang et al. (US 20170299751 A1, “Chang”), and Watanabe.
Regarding claim 88, Urase discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42.Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2 may not explicitly teach the piezoelectric disk is a temperature sensor, wherein the piezoelectric disk consists of a piezoelectric material, which is arranged between two electrodes, and thereby forms a capacitance, wherein the piezoelectric material is configured to expand or contract depending on an ambient temperature,
Chang teaches the piezoelectric disk consists of a piezoelectric material (Fig. 3 (50)), which is arranged between two electrodes (Fig. 3 (52)), and thereby forms a capacitance, wherein the piezoelectric material is configured to expand or contract depending on an ambient temperature,([0038], piezoelectric element (50) may expand and contract with temperature variations)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the piezoelectric element placement and thermal expansion properties of Chang with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of helping when the transducer is exposed to a wide variety of temperatures and environments [0038].
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Chang, might not explicitly teach the piezoelectric disk is a temperature sensor
Watanabe teaches the piezoelectric disk is a temperature sensor. ([attached machine translation, Pg. 11], temperature is detected based on capacitance change of the piezoelectric element included in the ultrasonic transducer)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, Chang, to include the temperature sensor of Watanabe with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of being able to correct a frequency shift due to temperature characteristics of the transducer.
Claim(s) 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urase in view of Rostocki, Rostocki 2, and Chang.
Regarding claim 89, Urase discloses the ultrasonic transducer according to claim 42. Rostocki 2 further teaches the electronics system contacts the piezoelectric disk (Fig. 2 (4)) via two wires(Fig. 2 (4) illustrates the servomechanism being connected to electronics system (12) with two wires), each of the two wires being soldered to the electronics system (Fig. 2 (12))([0032], servomechanism (piezoelectric element can be connected to control electronics via soldering of bonding wires)(Fig. 2 illustrates multiple soldered bonding wires connecting piezoelectric element and control electronics)
Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, may not explicitly teach the piezoelectric disk consists of a piezoelectric material, which is arranged between two electrodes, and thereby forms a capacitance
Chang teaches the piezoelectric disk consists of a piezoelectric material (Fig. 3 (50)), which is arranged between two electrodes (Fig. 3 (52)), and thereby forms a capacitance
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic transducer of Urase, as modified in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2, to include the piezoelectric element and electrode placement of Chang with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of supplying current across the piezoelectric element in order to vibrate and output ultrasonic pulses via the transducer [0028].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed December 19th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 42, 78, 86, and 87 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Urase in view of Rostocki and Rostocki 2.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Amble and Raza (U.S. Patent Application No. 20140276069) which discloses an ultrasonic probe having flexible printed circuit boards
Korthals (U.S. Patent Application No. 20070017807) which discloses a sensor for short range detection and parking system of a motor vehicle
Specht et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20100268503) which discloses a multiple aperture ultrasound array alignment fixture
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645