DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to claims 16 and 91 are withdrawn in response to the amendments.
Any outstanding rejection of canceled claims 77-79 and 90 is hereby withdrawn as moot.
The 112a enablement rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, 14-19, 30, 32 and 80-88 are withdrawn in response to the amendments. However, new grounds of rejection are set forth below under 112a written description.
The rejection of claim 91 under 103 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s argument that “[s]ubstitution of the pyridine ligands … render the compound of Lowry unsuitable for its intended purpose” (Remarks 8/19/2026 page 9 last paragraph). However, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 89 and 91-94 are withdrawn in response to the amendments.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the present application as a proper National Stage (371) entry of PCT Application No. PCT/US2020/036285, filed 06/05/2020, which claims benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119€ to provisional application No. 62/982,576, filed 02/27/2020 and to provisional application No. 62/858,539, filed 06/07/2019.
In further consideration of Applicant’s amendments, remarks and the art, a new issue of priority is raised.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119€ or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365€, or 386€ is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119€ as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos. 62/858,539 and 62/982,576 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, the limitation of “nitrene” recited in claims 1-3, 5-6, 14-19, 30, 32, 80-88 and 96-97, and subject matter of claims 16 and 91 are not disclosed in the provisional applications and therefore receive no priority benefit.
Claims 89 and 92-95 have an effective filing date of 06/07/2019, which is the filing date of Provisional Application No. 62/858,539. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 14-19, 30, 32, 80-88, 91 and 96-97 have an effective filing date of 6/05/2020, which is the filing date of Application No. PCT/US2020/036285.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 14-19, 30, 32, 80-89 and 91-97 are pending; claims 1, 16, 30, 32, 89 and 91 are amended, claims 4, 7-13, 20-29, 31, 33-79 and 90 are canceled; claims 95-97 are newly recited; no claims are withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 14-19, 30, 32, 80-89 and 91-97 are examined below.
New Rejection
In further consideration of Applicant’s amendments, remarks and the art, a new issue of written description is raised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 17, 30, 32 and 80-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
Independent claims 1 and 30 require “a transition metal photocatalyst” that “absorbs light in the visible region of the electromagnetic spectrum and comprises a triplet excited state having energy greater than 60 kcal/mol”.
However, the specification does not sufficiently describe the molecular structure present of the genus of transition metal photocatalysts encompassed by the claims. The specification fails to disclose enough structure common to all members of the genus of transition metal photocatalysts and fails to provide sufficient specific examples of agents to be used. In the absence of a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, claims which encompass variants defined by their function are generally not considered described. Applicant is directed to MPEP § 2163 for guidelines on compliance with the written description requirement.
The specification only discloses two examples of the transition metal photocatalyst claimed (“photocatalytic transition metal complex of Formula (I) is [lr(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6), [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(bpy)](PF6), or derivatives thereof” page 11 lines 4-5). However, only two examples is not enough written description to show possession of the genus of transition metal photocatalysts encompassed by the claims. The specification also discloses that “[t]he transition metal complex can have any composition and structure consistent with the foregoing principles of excitation and energy transfer to a protein labeling agent” (page 9 lines 19-20). Still, disclosing that the structure is “consistent with the foregoing principles” fails to describe the structure. A person having ordinary skill in the art would question whether Applicant was in possession of the genus of photocatalysts encompassed by the claims.
Therefore, the instant claims do not meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Maintained Rejections
Claims 5, 18, 80-88 and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 18, 82, 87 and 93 recite the term “aqueous-based”. The limitation “aqueous-based” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “aqueous-based” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Aqueous-based involves an arbitrary level of water, therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to recognize the metes and bounds of the claim. It is not clear how much water, i.e. how aqueous, an aqueous-based solution is.
Claims 80-88 recite the limitation "the composition of claim 30" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear to what composition the claims are referring to in claim 30 because claim 30 fails to recite any composition. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to recognize the metes and bounds of the claim. For this reason the claims are indefinite.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 14-15, 17-19, 89 and 92-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farney and Yoon Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2014 January 13; 53(3): 793–797. doi:10.1002/anie.201308820 -Cite No. U of PTO 892 3/19/2026 (“Farney”) as evidenced by Xue et al. dx.doi.org/10.1021/jp3025705 | J. Phys. Chem. A 2012, 116, 5325−5336 (“Xue”) and Jespersen et al. Org Process Res Dev. 2019 May 17; 23(5): 1087–1095. doi:10.1021/acs.oprd.9b00041-Cite No. V of PTO 892 3/19/2026 (“Jespersen”).
Regarding claim 1, Farney teaches a composition for proximity-based labeling (“Visible Light Sensitization of Vinyl Azides by Transition Metal Photocatalysis” Title, “[g]iven the importance of nitrene intermediates in a broad range of methods for the construction of heterocycles and C–N bonds, we anticipate that this approach could be useful in synthesis, drug discovery, and all of the various fields in which such structures are important” page 4 para. 2). Note that the limitation “for proximity-based labeling” refers to the intended use of the claimed composition and fails to impart any structural limitation to the claimed composition, therefore, this limitation is not required to be explicitly taught in the prior art in order to address the claim over the art. Farney further teaches the composition comprising: a transition metal photocatalyst absorbing light in the visible region of the electromagnetic spectrum (Title) and comprising a triplet excited state having energy greater than 60 kcal/mol (“[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)]+ complex we had found to be optimal for visible light triplet sensitization of styrenes has a significantly higher-energy triplet state (ET= 61 kcal/mol)” page 3 para. 1); and a protein labeling agent comprising a diazirine or an azide, wherein the transition metal photocatalyst activates the protein labeling agent to a reactive intermediate comprising a carbene or nitrene via triplet energy transfer from the triplet excited state (“One of the most intriguing implications of these investigations is the possibility that visible light photocatalysis might provide convenient access to the diverse reactivity of free nitrenes under exceptionally mild conditions. As a preliminary demonstration of the generality of this approach, we examined the photocatalytic activation of azidonaphthalene 15 (eq 3)… irradiation of 15 for 5 h in the presence of this Ir photocatalyst resulted in the clean production of aziridine 16, which presumably arises from intramolecular reaction of the photogenerated nitrene with the pendant allyl substituent” bridge paragraph pages 3-4, see equation 3 showing the protein labeling agent (labeled “15”) and the transition metal photocatalyst “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” page 4). Note that although Farney fails to use the language “protein-labeling agent”, the teaching of an azide inherently provides the claimed agent because the azide would be capable of protein-labeling via the nitrene, as claimed, and as disclosed in the specification (“The reactive nitrene either crosslinks with a nearby protein or is quenched in the aqueous environment” page 13 lines 3-4). In this case, the term “protein-labeling” describes the intended use of the claimed diazirine or azide and therefore fails to impart a structural limitation to the diazirine or azide.
Regarding claims 5-6, Farney further teaches wherein the reactive intermediate has a diffusion radius less than 4 nm prior to quenching in an aqueous or aqueous-based environment, wherein the reactive intermediate has a half-life (t1/2) less than 5 nanoseconds (ns) (“free nitrenes” bridge paragraph pages 3-4). Note that although Farney fails to use the language “wherein the reactive intermediate has a diffusion radius less than 4 nm prior to quenching in an aqueous or aqueous-based environment” and “wherein the reactive intermediate has a half-life (t1/2) less than 5 nanoseconds (ns)”, the teaching of nitrene inherently provides the claimed diffusion radius and lifetime because nitrene inherits the its physical characteristics. Nevertheless, as evidenced by Xue, nitrene possesses the claimed half-life which also provides the claimed diffusion radius because distance is proportional to time (“Singlet nitrenes 2b and 3b have lifetimes of 2 ns and 400 ps, respectively, in solution at ambient temperature. The singlet nitrene 4b in acetonitrile has a lifetime of about 800 ps, and reacts with water with a rate constant of 1.9 × 108 L·mol−1·s−1 at room temperature” Abstract, “a decay time constant of ∼400 ps. Less triplet nitrene 4e is generated in the presence of water as only a low intensity characteristic band is present at 1755 cm−1 in Figure 6B” bridge paragraph pages 5330 and 5331).
Regarding claims 14-15, 19, 89 and 94-96, Farney further teaches wherein the transition metal photocatalyst is of the formula
wherein M is a transition metal of the platinum group, wherein M is iridium; wherein A, D, E, G, Y and Z are independently selected from C and N; wherein R1 -R6 each represent one to four ring substituents, each of the one to four ring substituents independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, heteroalkyl, haloalkyl, halo, hydroxy, alkoxy, amine, amide, ether, -C(O)O-, -C(O)OR7, and -R8OH, wherein R7 is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen and alkyl, and R8 is alkyl; and wherein X- is a counterion, wherein R1- R6 are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, haloalkyl, halo, -C(O)O-, and -C(O)OR8, wherein R2 and R3 independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, heteroalkyl, haloalkyl, halo, hydroxy, alkoxy, amine, amide, ether, -C(O)O-, -C(O)OR7 , and -R8OH, wherein each of the one to four ring substituents of R5 and R6 are halo; wherein each of the one to four ring substituents of R1 and R4 differ and are independently selected from the group consisting of haloalkyl and -C(O)O- (“[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” equation 3, page 4). Note that [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) is the name of a transition metal photocatalyst wherein M is Iridium; A, D, E, and G are N; Y and Z are C; R1 and R4 are haloalkyl; R2 and R3 are alkyl; R5 and R6 are halo; and X- is a counter ion, namely PF6 (Hexafluorophosphate). Therefore, “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” anticipates the claim. Note also that the specification page 11 line 4 discloses “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” as an example of the transition metal photocatalyst claimed. The recitation “for proximity-based labeling”, does not impart any structural limitation to the composition comprising the transition metal photocatalyst because “for proximity-based labeling” recites the mere intended use of the composition. Therefore, although Farney fails to use the language “for proximity-based labeling”, the [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) composition would still be capable of proximity-based labeling and anticipates the claims.
Regarding claims 17 and 92, Farney further teaches wherein the transition metal photocatalyst has a visible light extinction coefficient greater than 1000 M-1cm- 1 (“[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” equation 3, page 4). Note that the Appendix of provisional application 62858539 discloses that “[t]he extinction coefficient of the photocatalyst (3) [[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) ] is five orders of magnitude larger than that of the diazirine (1) at the wavelength emitted by blue LEDs used for sensitization (450 nm)” (page 3 col. 2 para. 1). Therefore, the teaching of [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) inherently provides has a visible light extinction coefficient greater than 1000 M-1cm- 1.
Regarding claims 18 and 93, although the claim is indefinite (see 112b rejection above), in the interest of compact prosecution, an aqueous-based solution is interpreted as a solution with at least 50% water. Farney further teaches wherein the transition metal photocatalyst is soluble in an aqueous-based environment (equation 3, page 4). Note that as evidenced by Jespersen, Ir[dF(CF3)ppy]2(dtbbpy)PF6 has a solubility of “3.6×10-3” “Molar Concentration” in “1:1…Acetonitrile:Water” solvent (page 24 Table 13). Therefore, Ir[dF(CF3)ppy]2(dtbbpy)PF6 inherently provides being soluble in an aqueous-based environment.
Maintained Rejections
Claims 89 and 92-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lowry et al. Chem. Mater. 2005, 17, 5712-5719 (“Lowry”) as evidenced by Jespersen et al. Org Process Res Dev. 2019 May 17; 23(5): 1087–1095. doi:10.1021/acs.oprd.9b00041 (“Jespersen”).
Regarding claims 89 and 94-95, Lowry teaches a composition comprising a transition metal photocatalyst of the formula
wherein M is a transition metal of the platinum group, wherein M is iridium; wherein A, D, E, G, Y and Z are independently selected from C and N; wherein R1 -R6 each represent one to four ring substituents, each of the one to four ring substituents independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, heteroalkyl, haloalkyl, halo, hydroxy, alkoxy, amine, amide, ether, -C(O)O-, -C(O)OR7, and -R8OH, wherein R7 is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen and alkyl, and R8 is alkyl; and wherein X- is a counterion, wherein R1- R6 are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, haloalkyl, halo, -C(O)O-, and -C(O)OR8, wherein R2 and R3 independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, heteroalkyl, haloalkyl, halo, hydroxy, alkoxy, amine, amide, ether, -C(O)O-, -C(O)OR7 , and -R8OH, wherein each of the one to four ring substituents of R5 and R6 are halo; wherein each of the one to four ring substituents of R1 and R4 differ and are independently selected from the group consisting of haloalkyl and -C(O)O- (“a highly luminescent ionic transition metal complex [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” Abstract). See Figure 1 of Lowry showing the claimed transition metal photocatalyst. Note that [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) is the name of a transition metal photocatalyst wherein M is Iridium; A, D, E, and G are N; Y and Z are C; R1 and R4 are haloalkyl; R2 and R3 are alkyl; R5 and R6 are halo; and X- is a counter ion, namely PF6 (Hexafluorophosphate). Therefore, “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” anticipates the claim. Note that the specification page 11 line 4 discloses “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” as an example of the transition metal photocatalyst claimed. The recitation “for proximity-based labeling”, does not impart any structural limitation to the composition comprising the transition metal photocatalyst because “for proximity-based labeling” recites the mere intended use of the composition. Therefore, although Lowry fails to use the language “for proximity-based labeling”, the [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) composition would still be capable of proximity-based labeling and anticipates the claim.
Regarding claim 92, Lowry further teaches wherein the transition metal photocatalyst has a visible light extinction coefficient greater than 1000 M-1cm- 1 (“[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” Abstract). Note that the Appendix of provisional application 62858539 discloses that “[t]he extinction coefficient of the photocatalyst (3) [[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) ] is five orders of magnitude larger than that of the diazirine (1) at the wavelength emitted by blue LEDs used for sensitization (450 nm)” (page 3 col. 2 para. 1). Therefore, the teaching of [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) inherently provides has a visible light extinction coefficient greater than 1000 M-1cm- 1.
Regarding claim 93, although the claim is indefinite (see 112b rejection above), in the interest of compact prosecution, an aqueous-based solution is interpreted as a solution with at least 50% water. Lowery further teaches wherein the transition metal photocatalyst is soluble in an aqueous-based environment (Abstract). Note that as evidenced by Jespersen, Ir[dF(CF3)ppy]2(dtbbpy)PF6 has a solubility of “3.6×10-3” “Molar Concentration” in “1:1…Acetonitrile:Water” solvent (page 24 Table 13). Therefore, Ir[dF(CF3)ppy]2(dtbbpy)PF6 inherently provides being soluble in an aqueous-based environment.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sinz J. Mass Spectrom. 2003; 38: 1225–1237 Published online inWiley InterScience (www.interscience.wiley.com). DOI: 10.1002/jms.559.
Regarding claims 2-3, Farney teaches the composition for proximity-based labeling of claim 1 as discussed above.
Farney further suggests that the reactive intermediated inserts into a C (“nitrene intermediates in a broad range of methods for the construction of heterocycles and C–N bonds” page 4 para. 2).
Farney fails to teach wherein the reactive intermediate crosslinks with a protein, wherein the reactive intermediate inserts into a C-H bond of a protein.
Sinz teaches “Chemical cross-linking and mass spectrometry for mapping three-dimensional structures of proteins and protein complexes” (Title). Sinz further teaches that activation of an azide to a reactive nitrene intermediate crosslinks with a protein, wherein the reactive intermediate inserts into a C-H bond of a protein (“The most popular type of photosensitive functionality is the aryl azide group. Upon photolysis, phenyl azide groups form short-lived nitrenes that can insert non-specifically into chemical bonds of target molecules including addition reactions at double bonds and insertion reactions into active hydrogen bonds at C—H and N—H sites (Scheme 1, reaction (6))” bridge paragraph pages 1227-1228, see Scheme 1, reaction 6 showing the crosslinking and insertion into a protein). Sinz further teaches that this enables mapping of three-dimensional structures of proteins that is more detailed than traditional methods (Title, “Numerous studies have demonstrated that mass spectrometric analysis of protein cross-linking products is feasible and that novel analytical strategies can provide more detailed information on protein structures than traditional biochemical methods such as Edman degradation” page 1235 col. 2 para. 2), which is critical for basic cell biology research (“A detailed knowledge of three-dimensional protein structure and the elucidation of interacting amino acid sequences in protein complexes are of outstanding importance for the understanding of protein functions in a cell” page 1225 col. 1 para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Farney to rely on wherein the reactive intermediate crosslinks with a protein, wherein the reactive intermediate inserts into a C-H bond of a protein taught by Sinz because Sinz teaches that this enables detailed mapping of three-dimensional structures of proteins and Farney is interested in uses of the reactive intermediate. One would have been motivated to make such a modification because Sinz teaches that this helps basic cell biology research . A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Farney teaches the reactive intermediate “in a broad range of methods for the construction of heterocycles and C–N bonds” (page 4 para. 2). Furthermore, both Farney and Sinz teach the activation of an azide into a nitrene and its interaction with a carbon.
Claims 16 and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry 180 (2018) 179–185 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jinorgbio.2017.12.019-Cite No. X of PTO 892 3/19/2026 (“Wang”).
Regarding claims 16 and 91, Farney teaches the composition of claims 1 and 89 as discussed above.
Farney fails to teach wherein one of R1 - R6, wherein one of R2 and R3, comprises a
click chemistry moiety selected from the group consisting of bicyclononyne, bicyclo[6. l .0]nonyne (BCN), dibenzo-bicyclo-octyne (DBCO), trans-cyclooctene (TCO), tetrazine, alkyne, and azide.
Wang teaches “Imaging of a clickable anticancer iridium catalyst” (Title). Wang further suggests a transition metal photocatalyst (“iridium complexes” Abstract, “Next, we selected [IrH2(Me2CO)2(PPh3)2]SbF6 as the precursor organo‑iridium complex, an effective catalyst in many catalytic reactions, including C-H activation” page 180 col. 1 para. 1). Wang further suggests the transition metal photocatalyst wherein one of R1- R6, wherein one of R2 and R3, comprises a click chemistry moiety selected from the group consisting of BCN, DBCO, TCO, tetrazine, alkyne, and azide (“Complex 1-AMP exhibited the best antiproliferation activity towards human ovarian cancer A2780 cells. The azide group in complex 1-AMP” Abstract). Wang further teaches that the azide enables the imaging of cells (“After the reaction of DBCO with the azide in 1-AMP, we obtained an increasingly obvious fluorescent change in cells with time (Fig. 3a and b), while the control cells exhibited very weak fluorescence (Fig. 4a). We repeated this process and found significant fluorescence discrepancy of 1-AMP treated cells with no treated HeLa cells by both whole cells fluorescence detection and flow cytometry detection methods (Fig. 3)” page 181 col. 2 para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Farney to rely on the azide taught by Wang as one of R2 and R3 because Wang suggests this enables the imaging of cells and Farney is interested in uses of transition metal photocatalysts and reactive intermediates. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Farney and Wang teach iridium-based photocatalysts.
Claims 30, 82-88 and 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farney in view of Kuil et al. ChemBioChem 2011, 12, 1897 – 1903-Cite No. 27 of IDS 8/18/2025 ("Kuil") as evidenced by Xue and Jespersen.
Regarding claim 30, Farney teaches a system for proximity-based labeling (Title, page 4 para. 2). Note that the limitation “for proximity-based labeling” refers to the intended use of the claimed system and fails to impart any structural limitation to the claimed system, therefore, this limitation is not required to be explicitly taught in the prior art in order to address the claim over the art. Farney further teaches the system comprising: a transition metal photocatalyst absorbing light in the visible region of the electromagnetic spectrum (Title) and comprising a triplet excited state having energy greater than 60 kcal/mol (page 3 para. 1); and a protein labeling agent comprising a diazirine or an azide, wherein the transition metal photocatalyst activates the protein labeling agent to a reactive intermediate comprising a carbene or nitrene via triplet energy transfer from the triplet excited state (bridge paragraph pages 3-4, equation 3 page 4). Note that although Farney fails to use the language “protein-labeling agent”, the teaching of an azide inherently provides the claimed agent because the azide would be capable of protein-labeling via the nitrene, as claimed, and as disclosed in the specification (page 13 lines 3-4). In this case, the term “protein-labeling” describes the intended use of the claimed diazirine or azide and therefore fails to impart a structural limitation to the diazirine or azide.
Farney fails to teach a conjugate including the transition metal photocatalyst coupled to a biomolecular binding agent.
Kuil teaches “Peptide-Functionalized Luminescent Iridium Complexes for Lifetime Imaging of CXCR4 Expression” (Title). Kuil further teaches a conjugate including a transition metal photocatalyst coupled to a biomolecular binding agent (“iridium(III) 2-phenylpyridine complexes that can be functionalized with one, two or three targeting Ac-TZ14011 peptides” Abstract, Scheme 1. Synthesis of iridium complexes 4–6 and subsequent conjugation to the CXCR4 targeting peptide Ac-TZ14011 page 1898). Kuil further teaches that the conjugate enables imaging of “CXCR4 expression in tumor cells” (Abstract, Title), which is useful for diagnosis of cancer (“CXCR4 plays a critical role in tumor progression and metastatic spread.[6, 7] Because of its prominent role in oncology, over-expression of CXCR4 has been suggested to be of value in di-agnostic imaging applications.[8, 9] For CXCR4 targeting several peptidic probes have been reported, including the cyclic Ac-TZ14011 peptide, and also a chelate-based fluorescent probe” page 1897 col. 1 para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Farney to rely on the coupling of a biomolecular binding agent taught by Kuil because Kuil teaches that this enables imaging of “CXCR4 expression in tumor cells” (Abstract, Title), which is useful for diagnosis of cancer. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Farney and Kuil teach iridium-based photocatalysts.
Regarding claims 82-83, Farney in view of Kuil teach the system of claim 30 as discussed above.
Farney in view of Kuil further teach wherein the reactive intermediate has a diffusion radius less than 4 nm prior to quenching in an aqueous or aqueous-based environment, wherein the reactive intermediate has a half-life (t1/2) less than 5 nanoseconds (ns) (bridge paragraph pages 3-4 of Farney). Note that although Farney fails to use the language “wherein the reactive intermediate has a diffusion radius less than 4 nm prior to quenching in an aqueous or aqueous-based environment” and “wherein the reactive intermediate has a half-life (t1/2) less than 5 nanoseconds (ns)”, the teaching of "nitrene inherently provides the claimed diffusion radius and lifetime because nitrene inherits the its physical characteristics. Nevertheless, as evidenced by Xue, nitrene possesses the claimed half-life which also provides the claimed diffusion radius because distance is proportional to time (Abstract, bridge paragraph pages 5330 and 5331).
Regarding claims 84-85, 88, and 97, Farney in view of Kuil teach the system of claim 30 as discussed above.
Farney in view of Kuil further teach wherein the transition metal photocatalyst is of the formula
wherein M is a transition metal of the platinum group, wherein M is iridium; wherein A, D, E, G, Y and Z are independently selected from C and N; wherein R1 -R6 each represent one to four ring substituents, each of the one to four ring substituents independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, heteroalkyl, haloalkyl, halo, hydroxy, alkoxy, amine, amide, ether, -C(O)O-, -C(O)OR7, and -R8OH, wherein R7 is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen and alkyl, and R8 is alkyl; and wherein X- is a counterion, wherein R1- R6 are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, haloalkyl, halo, -C(O)O-, and -C(O)OR8 (equation 3, page 4 of Farney). Note that [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) is the name of a transition metal photocatalyst wherein M is Iridium; A, D, E, and G are N; Y and Z are C; R1 and R4 are haloalkyl; R2 and R3 are alkyl; R5 and R6 are halo; and X- is a counter ion, namely PF6 (Hexafluorophosphate). Therefore, “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” anticipates the claim. Note also that the specification page 11 line 4 discloses “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” as an example of the transition metal photocatalyst claimed. The recitation “for proximity-based labeling”, does not impart any structural limitation to the system comprising the transition metal photocatalyst because “for proximity-based labeling” recites the mere intended use of the system. Therefore, although Farney fails to use the language “for proximity-based labeling”, the [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) would still be capable of proximity-based labeling and anticipates the claims.
Regarding claim 86, Farney in view of Kuil teach the system of claim 84 as discussed above.
Farney in view of Kuil further teach wherein the transition metal photocatalyst has a visible light extinction coefficient greater than 1000 M-1cm- 1 (equation 3, page 4 of Farney). Note that the Appendix of provisional application 62858539 discloses that “[t]he extinction coefficient of the photocatalyst (3) [[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) ] is five orders of magnitude larger than that of the diazirine (1) at the wavelength emitted by blue LEDs used for sensitization (450 nm)” (page 3 col. 2 para. 1). Therefore, the teaching of [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) inherently provides has a visible light extinction coefficient greater than 1000 M-1cm- 1.
Regarding 87, although the claim is indefinite (see 112b rejection above), in the interest of compact prosecution, an aqueous-based solution is interpreted as a solution with at least 50% water. Farney in view of Kuil teach the system of claim 84 as discussed above.
Farney in view of Kuil further teach wherein the transition metal photocatalyst is soluble in an aqueous-based environment (equation 3, page 4 of Farney). Note that as evidenced by Jespersen, Ir[dF(CF3)ppy]2(dtbbpy)PF6 has a solubility of “3.6×10-3” “Molar Concentration” in “1:1…Acetonitrile:Water” solvent (page 24 Table 13). Therefore, Ir[dF(CF3)ppy]2(dtbbpy)PF6 inherently provides being soluble in an aqueous-based environment.
Claims 32 and 80-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farney in view of Kuil as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Sinz J. Mass Spectrom. 2003; 38: 1225–1237 Published online inWiley InterScience (www.interscience.wiley.com). DOI: 10.1002/jms.559.
Regarding claims 32 and 80-81, Farney in view of Kuil teach the system for proximity-based labeling of claim 30 as discussed above.
Farney further suggests that the reactive intermediated inserts into a C (page 4 para. 2).
Farney in view of Kuil further teach wherein the biomolecular binding agent comprises a ligand specific to a cell surface receptor (“The CXCR4 receptor affinity and specific cell binding of the mono-, di- and trimeric peptide derivatives were assessed by using flow cytometry. The three derivatives possessed nanomolar receptor affinity and could distinguish between cell lines with different CXCR4 expression levels” Abstract of Kuil “The chemokine receptor 4 (CXCR4) is a G protein-coupled membrane receptor” page 1897 col. 1 para. 1 of Kuil).
Farney in view of Kuil fail to teach wherein the reactive intermediate crosslinks with a cell surface receptor, protein, wherein the reactive intermediate inserts into a C-H bond of a protein.
Sinz teaches “Chemical cross-linking and mass spectrometry for mapping three-dimensional structures of proteins and protein complexes” (Title). Sinz further teaches that activation of an azide to a reactive nitrene intermediate crosslinks with a cell surface receptor, protein, wherein the reactive intermediate inserts into a C-H bond of a protein (bridge paragraph pages 1227-1228, see Scheme 1, reaction 6 showing the crosslinking and insertion into a protein, page 1231 col. 1 para. 2). Sinz further teaches that this enables mapping of three-dimensional structures of proteins that is more detailed than traditional methods (Title, page 1235 col. 2 para. 2), which is critical for basic cell biology research (page 1225 col. 1 para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Farney in view of Kuil to rely on wherein the reactive intermediate crosslinks with a cell surface protein, wherein the reactive intermediate inserts into a C-H bond of a protein taught by Sinz because Sinz teaches that this enables detailed mapping of three-dimensional structures of proteins and Farney in view of Kuil are interested in uses of the reactive intermediate and the targeting of cell surface receptors. One would have been motivated to make such a modification because Sinz teaches that this helps basic cell biology research . A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Farney teaches the reactive intermediate “in a broad range of methods for the construction of heterocycles and C–N bonds” (page 4 para. 2). Furthermore, both Farney in view of Kuil and Sinz teach the activation of an azide into a nitrene and its interaction with a carbon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112b rejections,
Applicant argues that “Applicant respectfully assert that the skilled artisan understands an aqueous-based solution to be a solution in which water is the solvent or predominant solvent, optionally including additional dissolved or dispersed components. This term is commonly used and widely understood in the chemical arts” (bridge paragraph pages 8-9).
However, contrary to Applicant’s remark, it is not clear how much water is encompassed by the term “aqueous-based” and thus the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly defined. Applicant argues that “aqueous-based” is a solution in which water is the “predominant solvent”, however, similar to above, it is not clear how much water satisfies the predominance of water in a solution. Note that the characteristics of a solution/composition/system are expected to change based on the amount of water, therefore, the term must be defined in order to clarify the scope of the claim.
Regarding the 102 rejections of claims 89 and 91-94 over Lowry,
Applicant argues that “Lowry does not disclose the transition metal photocatalyst of claim 89” (page 9 para. 3).
However, contrary to Applicant’s argument, Lowry teaches the transition metal photocatalyst of claim 89. See Figure 1 of Lowry showing the claimed transition metal photocatalyst. Note that [Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6) is the name of a transition metal photocatalyst wherein M is Iridium; A, D, E, and G are N; Y and Z are C; R1 and R4 are haloalkyl; R2 and R3 are alkyl; R5 and R6 are halo; and X- is a counter ion, namely PF6. Therefore, “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” anticipates the claim. Note also that the specification page 11 line 4 discloses “[Ir(dF(CF3)ppy)2(dtbbpy)](PF6)” as an example of the transition metal photocatalyst claimed.
Regarding the 103 rejection of claim 91 over Lowry in view of Wang,
Applicant argues that “The transition metal complex of Lowry is intended for use in electroluminescent devices. Substitution of the pyridine ligands would alter the electronic structure of the complex and/or preclude injected charge carriers from interacting with the metal center. Such scenarios would render the compound of Lowry unsuitable for its intended purpose” (page 9 last paragraph).
This argument is found persuasive and the rejection of claim 91 over Lowry in view of Wang is withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection are set forth above over Farney in view of Wang (see rejection above). The proposed modification of Farney with Wang does not affect the intended purpose of the transition metal photocatalyst of Farney. Indeed, Farney contemplates various uses of the transition metal photocatalyst and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Farney with the teachings of Wang. There is also a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Farney with Wang because both Farney and Wang teach iridium-based photocatalysts. See the rejection above for the complete analysis.
Conclusion
/Fernando Ivich/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678