DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed on 2/24/2026 in response to the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 3/20/2026 is acknowledged. This listing of claims replaces all prior listings of claims in the application.
Claims 1-19, 24, 26, 28, 31, 36-80, 90, 92, 94, 96 are canceled.
Claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 81-89, 91, 93, 95 are pending.
Applicant’s remarks filed on 6/9/2026 in response to the Nonfinal Rejection mailed on 3/20/2026 have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive to overcome at least one of the rejections and/or objections as previously applied.
Withdrawn Rejection
The rejection of claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 91 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO2021055874 A1, Date Filed: 18 September 2020, cited on IDS dated 10/14/2025) {herein Zhang ‘20} in view of DE VASCONCELOS et at (WO2004/056960, Filing Date: 16 December 2003, cited on PTO-892 dated 3/20/2026) {herein DE VASCONCELOS} is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s remarks that Zhang does not disclose, nor suggest, (iii) a Class 2 Type VI CRISPR-Cas endonuclease comprising at least two HEPN motif sequences selected from the entire amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, 97, 99, 102, 104, 105, 107, 108, 110, 111, or 113, and with the proviso that the at least two HEPN sequences are not both selected from SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, and 111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 91 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated over Zhang et al (WO2021055874 A1, Date Filed: 18 September 2020, cited on IDS dated 10/14/2025) {herein Zhang ‘20} in view of DE VASCONCELOS et at (WO2004/056960, Filing Date: 16 December 2003, cited on PTO-892 dated 2/24/2026) {herein DE VASCONCELOS}. The new rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s recitation of ‘with the proviso that the at least two HEPN sequences are not both selected from SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, and 111’ in the instant application claim 20.
Claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 91 are drawn to a method of modifying a target DNA or RNA, the method comprising contacting the target DNA with (a} a Class 2 CRISPR-Cas endonuclease or a nucleic acid encoding the endonuclease, wherein the Class 2 CRISPR-Cas endonuclease is: (i) a Class 2 Type II CRISPR-Cas endonuclease comprising at least one RuvC motif sequence selected from the entire amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 116, 117, 118, 121, 122, 123, 126, 127, 128, 131, or 132; (ii) a Class 2 Type V CRISPR-Cas endonuclease comprising at least two RuvC motif sequence selected from the entire amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs:62, 63, 64, 67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 73, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 85, 86, 87, 89, 90, 91, 135, 136, or 137; or (iii) a Class 2 Type VI CRISPR-Cas endonuclease comprising at least two HEPN motif sequences selected from the entire amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, 97, 99, 102, 104, 105, 107, 108, 110, 111, or 113, and with the proviso that the at least two HEPN sequences are not both selected from SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, and 111; (b) a guide RNA (gRNA} or a nucleic acid encoding the gRNA, wherein the gRNA and the Class 2 CRISPR-Cas endonuclease do not naturally occur together, wherein the gRNA is capable of hybridizing to a target sequence in a target DNA or RNA, and the gRNA is capable of forming a complex with the Class 2 CRISPR-Cas endonuclease, wherein the gRNA hybridizes with the target sequence whereby modification of the target DNA or RNA occurs.
With respect to claims 20, 21, 35, 91, Zhang ’20 teaches a method of modifying a target sequence via Class 2 Type VI Cas proteins that contain one or more-higher eukaryotes and prokaryotes nucleotide-binding (HEPN) domains (para 0114, claim 4). Said HEPN domains are 100% identical to the instant application SEQ ID Nos: 94, 95, 99, 111 (appendix A, B, C, D respectively). Specifically, the instant application SEQ ID NO: 94 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4424; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 95 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4627; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 111 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4569; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 99 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4389 (Zhang ’20 claim 4, appendix A, B, C, D respectively). Regarding the recitation ‘with the proviso (provision) that the at least two HEPN sequences are not both selected from SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, and 111’ in claim 20 of the instant application, it is the Examiner’s position that one of the HEPN sequences (SEQ ID NO: 94, 95, or 111) and SEQ ID NO: 99 taught by Zhang ’20 meet said claim limitation.
Zhang ’20 further teaches the method comprises contacting a target RNA or DNA (para 0024) with one or more non-naturally occurring or engineered compositions comprising a mutated Cas13 effector protein and a crRNA, wherein the crRNA comprises a guide sequence that hybridizes to a target RNA or DNA (para0024) sequence in a cell (para 0191). The Cas13 effector protein forms a complex with the crRNA (para 0161), of which comprises DNA (para 0191), along with the guide sequence and directs sequence-specific binding to the target RNA sequence in a cell, whereby forming a CRISPR complex comprising the Cas13 effector protein complexed with the guide sequence that is hybridized to the target sequence, modifying the expression of the target locus of interest (apar 0161). Zhang ’20 further teaches a donor RNA can be mRNA (para 0123). As such, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that the mRNA taught by Zhang ’20 is a donor polynucleotide of which DNA binds. In addition, Zhang ’20 teaches the exogenous RNA template (mRNA) comprises a sequence to be integrated into the target sequence (para 0123). The exogenous RNA template (mRNA) has about 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99%, or 100% sequence identity with the targeted RNA sequence (para 0123), of which Examiner is interpreting said teaching to be the same as ‘about 50% or more complimentary to the target DNA’ as recited in instant application claims 20 and 81. The modification of target sequence may comprise a deletion of nucleotides (para 0097). The complex can be formed in vitro or ex vivo and introduced into a cell or contacted with RNA; or can be formed in vivo (para 0124, 0161).
With respect to claim 22, Zhang ’20 teaches a method comprising a non-naturally occurring or
engineered composition consisting of an mRNA encoding the Cas protein, and a guide
sequence capable of forming a complex with the Cas protein and directing the complex to
bind to a target sequence (para 0009).
With respect to claim 23, Zhang ’20 teaches the target nucleic acid is a DNA molecule and the
method further comprises contacting the target DNA molecule with a primer comprising an
RNA polymerase site and RNA polymerase (para 0024).
With respect to claim 25, Zhang ’20 teaches a method wherein the CRISPR-Cas system is utilized for the targeting of the genome of eukaryotic organisms (para 0109). It is known by those of ordinary skill in the art that all Eukaryotes have chromosomal DNA, as such Examiner is interpreting said teaching by Zhang ‘20 to be the CRISPR-Cas system targeting DNA that is part of the chromosome since all Eukaryotes have chromosomes.
With respect to claims 27, 29, Zhang ’20 teaches the method of modifying a target RNA can be in a eukaryotic cell, which may be in vivo, ex vivo or in vitro (para 0124), such as a plant cell (para 0019).
With respect to claim 30, Zhang ’20 teaches a method of providing a Cas13 transgenic cell in which one or more nucleic acids encoding one or more guide RNAs are provided or introduced operably connected in the cell with a regulatory element comprising a promoter of one or more genes of interest (para 0130).
With respect to claim 32, Zhang ’20 teaches a method wherein a strand break may be a double-strand break (para 0110, 0209) of target DNA (para 0109).
With respect to claim 33, Zhang ’20 teaches a method of Cas9-mediated genome editing via non-homologous end joining (NHEJ) (page 31, para 2).
With respect to claim 34, Zhang ’20 teaches a method comprising contacting one or more target sequences with the CRISPR-Cas system (para 0161).
For the reasons stated herein, the teachings of Zhnag ’20 anticipate claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 91.
RESPONSE TO REMARKS: Beginning on p. 4 of Applicant’s remarks, in summary,
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner that the selection of one of SEQ ID NO: 94, 95, or 111 would meet the claim limitation. The claimed invention recites that the Class 2 Type VI CRISPR-Cas endonuclease must contain two HEPN motif sequences and that the endonuclease can only contain one of SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, or 111. Therefore, each element of the claim is not disclosed in the prior art reference, as Zhang does not disclose, nor suggest, that an endonuclease could contain one of SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, or 111 with one of SEQ ID NOs: 97, 99, 102, 104, 105, 107, 108, 110, or 113, to arrive at the claimed invention.
The argument is not persuasive. Examiner contends that Zhang teaches the combination of the instant application SEQ ID NO: 94 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4424; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 95 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4627; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 99 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4389; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 111 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4569 (Zhang ’20 claim 4, appendix A, B, C, D respectively). Examiner contends that regarding the recitation, ‘with the proviso (provision) that the at least two HEPN sequences are not both selected from SEQ ID NOs: 94, 95, and 111’ in claim 20 of the instant application, it is the Examiner’s position that one of the HEPN sequences instant application SEQ ID NO: 94 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4424; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 95 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4627; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 99 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4389; the instant application SEQ ID NO: 111 has 100% homology to Zhang ’20 SEQ ID NO: 4569; (Zhang ’20 claim 4, appendix A, B, C, D respectively). As such, Zhang ’20 meets the limitations of claim 20 with an HEPN sequence selected from SEQ ID NO: 94, 95, or 111, representing one HEPN sequence and SEQ ID NO: 99 representing the second HEPN sequence.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 81-89, 93, 95 are allowed as there is no prior art that teaches ‘(a) a Class 2 CRISPR-Cas endonuclease, wherein the Class 2 CRISPR-Cas endonuclease is: (i) a Class 2 Type II CRISPR-Cas endonuclease comprising at least one RuvC motif sequence selected from the entire amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 116, 117, 118, 121, 122, 123, 126, 127, 128, 131, or 132; or (ii) a Class 2 Type V CRISPR-Cas endonuclease comprising at least two RuvC motif sequence selected from the entire amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 62, 63, 64,67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 73, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 85, 86, 87, 89, 90, 91, 135, 136, or 137; and (b) a gRNA encoding the gRNA’ (claims 81 and 95) .
Conclusion
Status of claims
Claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 81-89, 91, 93, 95 are pending.
Claims 1-19, 24, 26, 28, 31, 36-80, 90, 92, 94, 96 are cancelled.
Claims 20-23, 25, 27, 29-30, 32-35, 91 are rejected.
Claims 81-89, 93, 95 are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA NICOLE JONES-FOSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/MANJUNATH N RAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1656 (n.a.)
Appendix A
Zhang ’20 et al SEQ ID NO: 4424 vs Instant Application SEQ ID NO: 94
Query Match 100.0%; Score 38; Length 323;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 6; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RNYYTH 6
||||||
Db 111 RNYYTH 116
Appendix B
Zhang ’20 et al SEQ ID NO: 4627 (claim 4) vs Instant Application SEQ ID NO: 95
Query Match 100.0%; Score 34; Length 386;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 6; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RNKFSH 6
||||||
Db 337 RNKFSH 342
Appendix C
Zhang ’20 et al SEQ ID NO: 4389 vs Instant Application SEQ ID NO: 99 (Result #5)
Query Match 100.0%; Score 36; Length 378;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 6; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RNDYSH 6
||||||
Db 125 RNDYSH 130
Appendix D
Zhang ’20 et al SEQ ID NO: 4569 vs Instant Application SEQ ID NO: 111
Query Match 100.0%; Score 34; Length 308;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 6; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RNKAFH 6
||||||
Db 220 RNKAFH 225